Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 8-13, 17,18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 14-16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2023/0300355 is a national stage entry of PCT/KR2020/011337 which was published as WO 2022/045389 with a publication date of March 03, 2022) in view of Sun (US 2021/0358453).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a wireless transmitting device, comprising:
A compression chip (fig. 4(130)) configured to compress image data ([0097]);
A transmitter (fig. 4(151,153,155)) configured to wirelessly transmit the compressed image data to a wireless receiving device ([0097]);
A processor configured to:
Obtain an ambient brightness of a display provided in the wireless receiving device (fig. 7, [0154-0161]);
Adjust a compression rate of the image data based on the obtained ambient brightness state (fig. 7, [0154-0161] The compression rate is based on the detected ambient brightness).
Kim does not specifically disclose obtaining a light blocking state.
However, Sun discloses obtaining a light blocking state of a display ([0006, 0043, 0053, 0082]). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the light blocking state of the display into the system of Kim in order to determine the amount of light in order to adjust the picture accordingly.
Regarding claim 2, 16, Kim in view of Sun discloses wherein the light blocking state indicates a degree of light blocking for an area of the display,
Wherein the processor is further configured to: decrease the compression rate as the degree of the light blocking increases, and
Increase the compression rate as the degree of the light blocking decreases (fig. 7, [0160] of Kim, [0006, 0043, 0053, 0082] of Sun).
Regarding claim 5, 19, Kim in view of Sun discloses wherein the processor is further configured to:
Obtain an ambient brightness of the display, and re-adjust the compression rate based on the obtained ambient brightness ([0160, 0097] of Kim).
Regarding claim 6,20, Kim in view of Sun discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
Decrease the compression rate as the ambient brightness becomes brighter, and increase the compression rate as the ambient brightness becomes darker (fig. 7, [0160] of Kim).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Sun discloses wherein the light blocking state is one of:
A full light blocking state in which an entire area of the display is light-blocked,
A partial light blocking state in which a partial area of the display is light-blocked,
Or a non-blocking state in which the entire area of the display is not light-blocked (fig. 1, [0043] of Sun).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Sun discloses wherein the processor is further configured to:
Receive information on the light blocking state of the display from the wireless receiving device through the wireless communication interface (fig. 4 of Kim. [0006, 0082] of Sun).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a wireless display system including a wireless transmitting device and a wireless receiving device,
Wherein the wireless transmitting device is configured to (fig. 4(151, 153, 155));
Transmit a compressed image data to a wireless receiving device ([0097]);
Obtain an ambient brightness of a display provided in the wireless receiving device (fig. 7, [0154-0161]);
Adjust a compression rate of the image data based on the obtained ambient brightness (fig. 7, [0154-0161]);
Wherein the wireless receiving device is configured to :
Restore the compressed image data received from the wireless transmitting device and (fig. 4(230));
Display an image based on the restored image data on the display (fig. 4(230), [0063-0066]);
Kim does not specifically disclose obtaining a light blocking state; wherein the wireless receiving device includes a light blocking film disposed on one side of the display, and the light blocking film blocks light from an entire area or a partial area of the display using either a non-electronic light blocking method or an electronic light blocking method.
However, Sun discloses obtaining a light blocking state ([0006, 0043, 0053, 0082]); wherein the wireless receiving device includes a light blocking film disposed on one side of the display, and the light blocking film blocks light from an entire area or a partial area of the display using either a non-electronic light blocking method or an electronic light blocking method (figs. 1-4, [0041, 0043, 0068]). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the light blocking state of the display into the system of Kim in order to determine the amount of light in order to adjust the picture accordingly.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL H HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426