Double Patenting
Claim 1, 9, 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,932 in view of Momeyer. Claims 9, and 17, and claims 9 and 15 of the Parent are analyzed with using the same analysis below.
Application 18/985,772
1. A method comprising:
determining, by a computing device, that the computing device is presenting media;
in response to the determining that the computing device is presenting media, collecting data from a sensor of the computing device while the computing device is presenting the media;
detecting, by the computing device based on the data, a spatial condition change of the computing device;
determining, by the computing device based on the spatial condition change, an attention level; and
transmitting, by the computing device, the attention level to a remote computing system.
U.S. Patent No. 12.184,932
1. An audience measurement computing system comprising:
at least one processor; and
memory having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the audience measurement computing system to perform a set of operations comprising:
accessing audience attentiveness data obtained from a plurality of portable devices presenting media, wherein the audience attentiveness data from each portable device of the plurality of portable devices is based at least on a spatial condition change of the portable device detected by one or more sensors of the portable device;
determining, for the plurality of portable devices presenting the media, respective extents of audience attentiveness based on the audience attentiveness data;
combining the respective extents of audience attentiveness to generate a measure of user attentiveness associated with the media; and outputting the measure of user attentiveness associated with the media.
The parent claim does not explicitly disclose determining, by the computing device based on the spatial condition change, an attention level; and transmitting, by the computing device, the attention level to a remote computing system.
Momeyer discloses determining, by a computing device, that the computing device is presenting media (See [0009-0012] a mobile platform uses real time motion data to adjust the CPM or used with additional factors to generate an attention level which is then used to adjust the CPM. The system uses real-time motion of a mobile platform during the time than an advertisement is served.);
in response to the determining that the computing device is presenting media, collecting data from a sensor of the computing device while the computing device is presenting the media (See [0009-0010], [0025] sensor data indicating motion level of the mobile platform);
detecting, by the computing device based on the data, a spatial condition change of the computing device (See [0009-0010], [0025] sensor data indicating motion level of the mobile platform is indicative of change. Note the motion detected is read on a spatial condition change as motion is defined as an act, process, or instance of changing place.);
determining, by the computing device based on the spatial condition change, an attention level (See [0010] determining a high level of motion of the mobile platform; See [0025], motion is indicative of spatial condition change); and
transmitting, by the computing device, the attention level to a remote computing system (See [0022] the mobile platform may provide the sensor data to the server and the server may then determine the attention level).
Prior to the invention being made it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the known system of the parent claim with the known methods of Momeyer predictably resulting in computing device based on the spatial condition change, an attention level; and transmitting, by the computing device, the attention level to a remote computing system by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of allowing a server to make adjustments to advertisement CPM as suggested by Momeyer.
Claim 1, 9, and 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,792,477. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the features of the parent claims anticipate the features of the current claims. Claims 9, and 17, and claims 7 and 14 of the Parent are analyzed with using the same analysis below.
Application 18/985,772
1. A method comprising:
determining, by a computing device, that the computing device is presenting media;
in response to the determining that the computing device is presenting media, collecting data from a sensor of the computing device while the computing device is presenting the media;
detecting, by the computing device based on the data, a spatial condition change of the computing device;
determining, by the computing device based on the spatial condition change, an attention level; and
transmitting, by the computing device, the attention level to a remote computing system.
U.S. Patent No. 11,792,477
1. (Currently Amended) A portable device comprising:
at least one processor;
and
having stored therein processor circuitry to execute the computer readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the portable device to at least:
download an exposure measurement application from a first server via a network;
and execute the exposure measurement application to:
detect at least one of a first orientation change of the portable device or a first position change between the portable device and a user;
compare the at least one of the first orientation change or the first position change to a plurality of spatial condition change combinations associated with respective likelihoods indicative of user attentiveness related to the portable device to determine user attentiveness data associated with a presentation on the portable device, the plurality of spatial condition change combinations including a plurality of orientation changes from respective starting orientations to respective ending orientations and a plurality of position changes from respective starting positions to respective ending positions; and
cause the user attentiveness data to be transmitted via the network to at least one of the first server or a second server.
Claim 1, 9, and 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,986,405. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the features of the parent claims anticipate the features of the current claims. Claims 9, and 17, and claims 7 and 14 of the Parent are analyzed using the same analysis below.
Application 18/985,772
1. A method comprising:
determining, by a computing device, that the computing device is presenting media;
in response to the determining that the computing device is presenting media, collecting data from a sensor of the computing device while the computing device is presenting the media;
detecting, by the computing device based on the data, a spatial condition change of the computing device;
determining, by the computing device based on the spatial condition change, an attention level; and
transmitting, by the computing device, the attention level to a remote computing system.
U.S. Patent No. 10,986,405
1. A system comprising:
a data collection facility to distribute an exposure measurement application to a plurality of handheld computing devices via a network; and
a first handheld computing device of the plurality of the handheld computing devices, the first handheld computing device to execute the exposure measurement application to:
detect at least one of a first orientation change of the first handheld computing device or a first position change between the first handheld computing device and a user;
and compare the at least one of the first orientation change or the first position change to a plurality of spatial condition change combinations associated with respective likelihoods indicative of user attentiveness related to the first handheld computing device to determine user attentiveness data associated with a presentation on the first handheld computing device, the plurality of spatial condition change combinations including a plurality of orientation changes from respective starting orientations to respective ending orientations and a plurality of position changes from respective starting positions to respective ending positions; and
transmit the user attentiveness data to the data collection facility via the network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 13-14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Momeyer et al. (US 2012/0158520 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 9 and 17, Momeyer discloses a method, a sensor and display, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium (See Fig 1, Fig 4, and Fig 5) comprising:
determining, by a computing device, that the computing device is presenting media (See [0009-0012] a mobile platform uses real time motion data to adjust the CPM or used with additional factors to generate an attention level which is then used to adjust the CPM. The system uses real-time motion of a mobile platform during the time than an advertisement is served.);
in response to the determining that the computing device is presenting media, collecting data from a sensor of the computing device while the computing device is presenting the media (See [0009-0010], [0025] sensor data indicating motion level of the mobile platform);
detecting, by the computing device based on the data, a spatial condition change of the computing device (See [0009-0010], [0025] sensor data indicating motion level of the mobile platform is indicative of change. Note the motion detected is read on a spatial condition change as motion is defined as an act, process, or instance of changing place.);
determining, by the computing device based on the spatial condition change, an attention level (See [0010] determining a high level of motion of the mobile platform; See [0025], motion is indicative of spatial condition change); and
transmitting, by the computing device, the attention level to a remote computing system (See [0022] the mobile platform may provide the sensor data to the server and the server may then determine the attention level).
Regarding claim 2, 10, and 18, Momeyer further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the attention level is indicative of a user of the computing device beginning to disengage from the media during the presenting of the media (See [0010] the motion level is indicative of attention level with a higher motion level suggesting the user is less likely to pay attention).
Regarding claim 5 and 13, Momeyer further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the attention level is indicative of a confidence that the user of the computing device is beginning to disengage from the media (See [0010] a high motion is indicative of a user being less likely to pay attention).
Regarding claim 6 and 14, Momeyer further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: collecting media identifying information associated with the media; and transmitting the media identifying information to the remote computing system (See [0023] the mobile platform provides the server with a descriptor of the advertisement displayed as well as wither the attention level or the CPM based on the attention level. Whether the mobile platform or the server determines the attention level may vary.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 3, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Momeyer et al. (US 2012/0158520 A1) in view of Morris (US 2012/0206268 A1).
Regarding claim 3, 11 and 19, Momeyer discloses the method of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the attention level is indicative of the user of the computing device putting the computing device down.
Morris discloses that it was known to detect when a portable electronic device has been put down (See [0073]).
Prior to the invention being made it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the known system of Momeyer with the known methods of Morris predictably resulting in the attention level is indicative of the user of the computing device putting the computing device down by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of detecting when a portable device is put down when determining an attention of a user as suggested by Morris.
Claim 4, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Momeyer et al. (US 2012/0158520 A1) in view of Perez et al. (US 2012/0124456 A1).
Regarding claim 4, 12, and 20, Momeyer discloses the method of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the attention level is indicative of the user of the computing device turning the computing device away from view.
Perez discloses that it was known to determine user attentiveness and determining when a users head was turned away from a device presenting content (See [0052]).
Prior to the invention being made it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the known system of Momeyer where motion of a mobile platform is detected with the known methods of Perez predictably resulting in modifying Momeyer to determine that the motion of a portable platform causes a users head to be turned away. The combination further resulting in attention level being indicative of the user of the computing device turning the computing device away from view by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of further refining user attentiveness information as suggested by Perez.
Claim 7 and 15 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Momeyer et al. (US 2012/0158520 A1) in view of Nagaya et al. (US 2010/0295839 A1).
Regarding claim 7 and 15, Momeyer discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein detecting the spatial condition change comprises detecting a change in a proximity to a user of the computing device.
Nagaya discloses that it was known to detect a users distance to a display in order to determine attentiveness (See [0041-0042]).
Prior to the invention being made it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the known system of Momeyer with the known methods of Nagaya predictably resulting in detecting the spatial condition change comprises detecting a change in a proximity to a user of the computing device by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of determining a user is within a threshold distance to be attentive as suggested by Nagaya.
Claim 8 and 16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Momeyer et al. (US 2012/0158520 A1) in view of Hamynen et al. (US 2010/0161658 A1).
Regarding claim 8 and 16, Momeyer discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein detecting the spatial condition change comprises detecting a change in angular orientation of the computing device.
Hamynen discloses that it was known to detect an orientation of a mobile device and determining one or more rotation angles of the device relative to the earth’s surface (See [0007] [0043]).
Prior to the invention being made it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the known system of Momeyer with the known methods of Hamynen predictably resulting in detecting the spatial condition change comprises detecting a change in angular orientation of the computing device by applying the court recognized rational of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The modification would have the benefit of being able to an angular position of a computing device as suggested by Hamynen.
Conclusion
FERNANDO . ALCON
Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/FERNANDO ALCON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425