DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12211318. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of instant application are anticipated by claims of U.S. Patent No. 12211318 as shown below.
Instant claim 1 <= '318 claims 1, 8
Instant claim 2 <= '318 claims 1, 8
Instant claim 3 <= '318 claims 1, 8
Instant claim 4 <= '318 claims 1, 8
Instant claim 5 <= '318 claims 1, 5, 8
Instant claim 6 <= '318 claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 8
Instant claim 7 <= '318 claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 8
Instant claim 8 <= '318 claims 1, 8, 11
Instant claim 9 <= '318 claims 1, 8, 10
Instant claim 10 <= '318 claims 12, 8
Instant claim 11 <= '318 claims 13, 8
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2023/0040994) in view of Wen (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2021/0406679).
-Regarding claim 1, Matsunaga discloses a processing apparatus comprising: a storage device configured to store instructions (read only memory (ROM) 401, a random access memory (RAM) 402, [0103]); and one or more processors (central processing unit (CPU) 400, [0103]), wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions stored in the storage device to: convert a first image into a second image with a lower resolution than a resolution of the first image (reduces the number of pixels of the captured image (reduces the resolution), [0063]), and specify a target region including a predetermined objective target in the second image on the basis of the second image (attention map 130 includes, for example, information indicating a detection window for limiting a target region for the object recognition with respect to a range indicated in the image data 100, [0109]), and estimate an objective target of tracking target among a plurality of objective targets using at least some of the feature amounts of the objective target from obtained the target region in the first image (the object recognition processing is performed on the region limited by the attention map 130, leading to the reduction in the processing amount of the object recognition processing, [0111]).
Matsunaga is silent to teaching that specify a target region including the objective target in the first image on the basis of the specified target region in the second image. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Wen.
In the same field of endeavor, Wen teaches specify a target region including the objective target in the first image on the basis of the specified target region in the second image (the source area determiner 112 may define a region 116 as a subset of an image 106 that is downsampled by the downsampler 114 to generate a multi-resolution patch 108, [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Matsunaga with the teaching of Wen in order to improve performance while simplifying programming.
-Regarding claim 2, the combination further discloses wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to: estimate the objective target as the tracking target, in a case in which at least some of the feature amounts of the objective target obtained from the target region in the first image conform to the registered feature amounts by amounts equal to or greater than a threshold value (Matsunaga, The region information includes information indicating a position in the layer image #1 and a value indicating the object likelihood at the position, [0117]).
-Regarding claim 3, the combination further discloses wherein the registered feature amounts are stored in a storage in advance (Matsunaga, [0087]).
-Regarding claim 8, the combination further discloses wherein the processing apparatus is included in a moving object (Matsunaga, vehicle-exterior-information detection unit 10, [0048]).
-Regarding claim 9, the combination further discloses wherein the processing apparatus is included in a device different from a moving object (Wen, server 978, [0198]).
-Regarding claim 10, Matsunaga discloses a processing method comprising, by a computer: converting a first image into a second image with a lower resolution than a resolution of the first image reduces the number of pixels of the captured image (reduces the resolution), [0063]); and specifying a target region including a predetermined objective target in the second image on the basis of the second image (attention map 130 includes, for example, information indicating a detection window for limiting a target region for the object recognition with respect to a range indicated in the image data 100, [0109]) and, estimating an objective target of tracking target among a plurality of objective targets using at least some of the feature amounts of the objective target from obtained the target region in the first image (the object recognition processing is performed on the region limited by the attention map 130, leading to the reduction in the processing amount of the object recognition processing, [0111]).
Matsunaga is silent to teaching that specifying a target region including the objective target in the first image on the basis of the specified target region in the second image. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Wen.
In the same field of endeavor, Wen teaches specifying a target region including the objective target in the first image on the basis of the specified target region in the second image (the source area determiner 112 may define a region 116 as a subset of an image 106 that is downsampled by the downsampler 114 to generate a multi-resolution patch 108, [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Matsunaga with the teaching of Wen in order to improve performance while simplifying programming.
-Regarding claim 11, Matsunaga discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing instructions (read only memory (ROM) 401, a random access memory (RAM) 402, [0103]) causing a computer to execute: converting a first image into a second image with a lower resolution than a resolution of the first image (reduces the number of pixels of the captured image (reduces the resolution), [0063]); and specifying a target region including a predetermined objective target in the second image on the basis of the second image (attention map 130 includes, for example, information indicating a detection window for limiting a target region for the object recognition with respect to a range indicated in the image data 100, [0109]) and estimating an objective target of tracking target among a plurality of objective targets using at least some of the feature amounts of the objective target from obtained the target region in the first image (the object recognition processing is performed on the region limited by the attention map 130, leading to the reduction in the processing amount of the object recognition processing, [0111]).
Matsunaga is silent to teaching that specifying a target region including the objective target in the first image on the basis of the specified target region in the second image. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Wen.
In the same field of endeavor, Wen teaches specifying a target region including the objective target in the first image on the basis of the specified target region in the second image (the source area determiner 112 may define a region 116 as a subset of an image 106 that is downsampled by the downsampler 114 to generate a multi-resolution patch 108, [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Matsunaga with the teaching of Wen in order to improve performance while simplifying programming.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2023/0040994) in view of Wen (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2021/0406679) and further in view of Ren (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2018/0247117).
-Regarding claim 4, the combination is silent to teaching that wherein the objective target is a person, and the one or more processors execute the instructions to estimate the person of the tracking target using feature amounts of the person's face obtained from a region including the person in the first image. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Ren.
In the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches wherein the objective target is a person, and the one or more processors execute the instructions to estimate the person of the tracking target using feature amounts of the person's face obtained from a region including the person in the first image (face detection and identification may proceed in processing block 285, [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Ren as applying a known technique to improve a similar device, with the predictable result of resolving target identify among several persons.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2023/0040994) in view of Wen (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2021/0406679) and further in view of Lin (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2021/0197384).
-Regarding claim 5, the combination is silent to teaching that wherein the objective target is a person, and the one or more processors execute the instructions to estimate the person of the tracking target using feature amounts of the person obtained by performing skeleton processing on a region including the person in the first image. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Lin.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches wherein the objective target is a person, and the one or more processors execute the instructions to estimate the person of the tracking target using feature amounts of the person obtained by performing skeleton processing on a region including the person in the first image (the preset key point can be determined according to the main body part included in the human posture image, which are points for representing human body parts, [0023]; light weight open pose (LWOP) detection model, [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Lin in order to improve image processing efficiency.
-Regarding claim 6, the combination further discloses wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to use a plurality of features amounts among feature amounts of the face, feature amounts of the upper body, and feature amounts of the lower body of the person obtained on the basis of a result of the skeleton (Lin, the pixel information of 17 preset key points of the human body is obtained, where 6 of them are on the arm, 6 of them are on the leg, and 5 of them are located from the head to the abdomen, [0023]).
-Regarding claim 7, the combination further discloses wherein feature amounts of the upper body of the person include a color of the upper body part, and feature amounts of the lower body of the person include a color of the lower body part (Lin, the pixel information of 17 preset key points of the human body is obtained, where 6 of them are on the arm, 6 of them are on the leg, and 5 of them are located from the head to the abdomen, [0023]).
/PING Y HSIEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664