DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/24, 02/06/25, 05/19/26 and 06/08/26 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant is claiming “two transmitting-type optical articles”, however, is it unclear what type of two optical articles because the phrase “transmitting-type” is indefinite. For purposes of expediting prosecution, the Examiner interprets the claimed “two transmitting-type optical articles” to be read --two transmitting optical articles--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kats et al. (US 2018/0041737; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kats discloses, a transmitting optical article set for eyes (Figs. 1-2) comprising two transmitting-type optical articles for eyes (14, 16), wherein, when a two-degree field of view CIE standard light source D65 (see 26) is used as reference light (Para. 0046-0047), a color difference AE00 between the two transmitting optical articles for eyes (Para. 0039-0045) calculated based on CIEDE2000 is more than 0.23 and less than 33.8 (Para. 0046 and 0055).
Regarding claim 2, Kats discloses, a lens set for eyes comprising two lenses for eyes (Figs. 1-2), wherein, when a two-degree field of view CIE standard light source D65 (see 26) is used as reference light (Para. 0046-0047), a color difference AE00 between the two lenses for eyes calculated based on CIEDE2000 is more than 0.23 and less than 33.8 (Para. 0046 and 0055).
Regarding claim 3, Kats discloses, the lenses for eyes are spectacle lenses or contact lenses (Para. 0037-0039 and see 14, 16).
Regarding claim 4, Kats discloses, a transmitting optical article for eyes (Figs. 1-2) comprising two regions having different colors (Para. 0037-0039 and 14, 16), wherein, when a two-degree field of view CIE standard light source D65 (see 26) is used as reference light (Para. 0046-0047), a color difference AE00 between the two regions calculated based on CIEDE2000 is more than 0.23 and less than 33.8 (Para. 0046 and 0055).
Regarding claim 5, Kats discloses, spectacles (Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a spectacle lens (Para. 0039) for left eye (14); and a spectacle lens (Para. 0039) for right eye (16), wherein, when a two-degree field of view CIE standard light source D65 (see 26) is used as reference light (Para. 0046-0047), a color difference LE00 between the two spectacle lenses calculated based on CIEDE2000 is more than 0.23 and less than 33.8 (Para. 0046 and 0055).
Regarding claim 6, Kats discloses, a binocular (Figs. 1-2) comprising:
an optical system for left eye (Para. 0039 and 14); and an optical system for right eye (Para. 0039 and 16), wherein, when a two-degree field of view CIE standard light source D65 (see 26) is used as reference light (Para. 0046-0047), a color difference LE00 between the two spectacle lenses calculated based on CIEDE2000 is more than 0.23 and less than 33.8 (Para. 0046 and 0055).
Conclusion
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 07/27/2026