DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of its improper use of reference characters in parenthesis. Correction is required. See MPEP 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 22, the phrase “maintainS” appears that it should be “maintains”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkins (United States Patent Application US 2014/0360844A1) in view of Taylor (United States Patent Application US 2006/0272929 A1) in further view of Albrecht (German Patent Application DE3120412A1).
Claims 9, 10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkins (United States Patent Application US 2014/0360844A1) in view of Taylor (United States Patent Application US 2006/0272929 A1) and in further view of Albrecht (German Patent Application DE3120412A1) and Johnson (United States Patent Application US 2003/0173187A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wilkins discloses A package conveyor system, comprising: a main frame; a plurality of conveyor rollers held in place by the main frame;(Figure 1: Sides 24 and conveyor rollers 26)an accumulation section comprising a first accumulation subsection, a second accumulation subsection, (Figure 2: Actuator assemblies 34a-34d)a driven roller, a drive belt, and a selectably-activated motor;(Paragraph 0022: "FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.", wherein a driven roller and motor system is a common and obviously known to the art power source for drive belts)the first accumulation subsection comprising: a first movable frame, the first movable frame being at least partially within the main frame;(Figures 11-12: Shows how the piezoelectric lift assembly 60 lifts and lowers actuator assembly 34)a first plurality of idler rollers held in place by the first movable frame;(Figure 3: Pressure rollers 44)a first actuator connected to the first movable frame;(Figure 6: Actuator 70) and the second accumulation subsection comprising: a second movable frame, the second movable frame being at least partially within the main frame;(Figures 11-12: Shows how the piezoelectric lift assembly 60 lifts and lowers actuator assembly 34)a second plurality of idler rollers held in place by the second movable frame;(Figure 3: Pressure rollers 44)a second actuator connected to the second movable frame;(Figure 6: Actuator 70)the drive belt being in contact with the first plurality of idler rollers, the second plurality of idler rollers, the belt tensioning device, and the driven roller,(Figure 11: Drive belt 22 in contact with roller 44)and the selectably-activated motor drives the driven roller;(Paragraph 0022: "FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.", wherein a driven roller and motor system is a common and obviously known to the art power source for drive belts)wherein the drive belt is urged into contact with a first set of conveyor rollers of the plurality of conveyor rollers when the first actuator is in a first position, and the drive belt is removed from contact with the first set of conveyor rollers when the first actuator is in a second position; and wherein the drive belt is urged into contact with a second set of conveyor rollers of the plurality of conveyor rollers when the second actuator is in a first position, and the drive belt is removed from contact with the second set of conveyor rollers when the second actuator is in a second position.(Paragraph 0022: " FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.", wherein the independent control of the actuator assemblies can allow for a plurality of contact positions).
However, Wilkins does not disclose and a belt tensioning device; wherein the belt tensioning device maintains the drive belt in a desired state of tension; the driven roller being positioned between the first accumulation subsection and the second accumulation subsection.
Albrecht discloses a similar package conveyor system comprising a belt tensioning device;(Figure 1: Spring elements 9) wherein the belt tensioning device maintains the drive belt in a desired state of tension; (Figure 1: Spring elements 9)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilkins to include the belt tensioning device as taught by Albrecht. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for an easy pressure force adjustment of the pressure rollers on the belt by making the spring tension adjustable (Paragraph 0022).
Taylor discloses a similar package conveyor system comprising the driven roller being positioned between the first accumulation subsection and the second accumulation subsection;(Figure 1: Driven roller 58 located in the center of each zone A, B, C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilkins to include the drive system as taught by Taylor. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a driving force that can be selectively applied to a conveying surface which provides each package with a stopping position to properly accumulate packages or goods in successive zone for eventual discharge from the conveyor (Paragraph 0004).
Regarding Claim 2, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor discloses the package conveyor system of claim 1, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses wherein: the first set of conveyor rollers is driven when the first actuator is in the first position and the motor is activated.(Figure 12: Belt 22 contacting conveyor rollers 26 to drive them)
Regarding Claim 3, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor discloses the package conveyor system of claim 1, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses wherein: the first set of conveyor rollers is braked when the first actuator is in the first position and the motor is not activated.(Paragraph 0022: " FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.", wherein stopping or keeping off the driving power will inherently brake/stop the conveyor rollers)
Regarding Claim 4, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor discloses the package conveyor system of claim 1, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses wherein: the first set of conveyor rollers freerolls when the first actuator is in the second position.(Figure 11: Belt 22 not contacting conveyor rollers 26 allowing the rollers to freeroll)
Regarding Claim 5, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor discloses the package conveyor system of claim 1, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses wherein: the first accumulation subsection has a length of approximately two feet.(Paragraph 0022: "FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.")
Regarding Claim 6, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor discloses the package conveyor system of claim 1, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses wherein: the selectably-activated motor is a 24 VCD motor.(Paragraph 0047: "The power supply panel 23 may include one, or more, connections 48 for attachment of the corresponding number of power supply lines 46, allowing the panel to be positioned in any selected upstream (single output as shown in FIG. 1) or downstream position with controllers 21 in either, or both (dual output as shown in FIG. 4), the upstream and downstream directions. The power supply panel 23 is a 208/230 volt, 3 phase, 60 Hz power supply for 1-5 zones at single output, or 1-10 zones at dual output. The zone capacity may be doubled with a 460 volt, 3 phase, 60 Hz motor for 1-10 zones at single output, or 1-20 zones dual output. Despite the aforementioned preferences, the voltage rating, and other capabilities, of the power supply panel 23 can be changed to suit increased zone and load requirements of the conveyor and, in particular, increased capacity of the drive motors.")
Regarding Claim 7, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor discloses the package conveyor system of claim 1, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses further comprising: a plurality of accumulation sections.(Figure 2: Actuator assemblies 34a-34d)
Regarding Claim 8, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor discloses the package conveyor system of claim 1, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses wherein: the main frame comprises a plurality of main frame sections each main frame section holding at least some of the conveyor rollers in place.(Figure 2: A plurality of sections 30)
Regarding Claim 11, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor discloses the package conveyor system of claim 1, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses further comprising: a plurality of accumulation sections, wherein an accumulation subsection of a first accumulation section of the plurality of accumulation sections is operable independently of an accumulation subsection of a second accumulation section of the plurality of accumulation sections.(Paragraph 0022: "FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.")
Regarding Claim 12, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor discloses the package conveyor system of claim 11, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses wherein: the accumulation subsection of the first accumulation section is driven when the accumulation subsection of the second accumulation section is braked.(Paragraph 0022: "FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.")
Regarding Claim 13, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor discloses the package conveyor system of claim 1, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses "wherein the belt tensioning device is a first belt tensioning device and is included in the first accumulation subsection; and further comprising: a second belt tensioning device included in the second accumulation subsection; wherein the drive belt is also in contact with the second belt tensioning device.(Paragraph 0024: "" Fig. 1 shows a schematic view of a section of an accumulation roller conveyor according to the invention, Fig. 2 shows a section along line II-II in Fig. 1, Fig. 3 shows a schematic view of a second embodiment of an accumulation roller conveyor, of which only a section is shown, and Fig. 4 shows a schematic view of a section of a third embodiment of an accumulation roller conveyor. The accumulation roller conveyor shown in Figs. 1 and 2 has conveyor rollers 2 mounted in side profiles 1 of the frame."", wherein there could be a plurality of sections)"
Regarding Claim 9, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor discloses the package conveyor system of claim 1, as seen above.
However, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor does not disclose further comprising: a discharge section, the discharge section comprising: a discharge section frame; a portion of the conveyor rollers; a discharge section motor, the discharge section motor selectably driving at least one of the conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers; and a blade stop actuator to selectively extend a blade stop between two conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers; wherein a blade stop may be selectively extended to block movement of a package on the discharge section.
Johnson discloses a similar package conveyor system comprising further comprising: a discharge section, the discharge section comprising: a discharge section frame; a portion of the conveyor rollers; a discharge section motor, the discharge section motor selectably driving at least one of the conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers; and a blade stop actuator to selectively extend a blade stop between two conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers; wherein a blade stop may be selectively extended to block movement of a package on the discharge section.(Paragraph 0003: "In order to control the flow of articles in a conveyor system, conveyor systems often incorporate one or more accumulation conveyors. The accumulation conveyors either slow down or stop the flow of articles over a preselected zone or predetermined location along the path of the conveyor system. In roller accumulation conveyors, the accumulation conveyor includes case stops or stops which are actuated to extend between the rollers above the conveying surface to limit or stop the movement articles conveyed on the conveying surface of the rollers. Typically, the stops are moved by mechanical linkages or the like which extend through the roller conveyor from below the conveyor to above the conveyor to thereby extend the stop to its extended position. Thus, the stops and their linkages increase the overall height of the accumulation conveyor and, hence, the space requirements for the accumulation conveyor, which often can create clearance problems in the field and, therefore, limits the flexibility of the accumulation conveyor. In addition, when conveying relatively heavy articles, the weight of the articles against the stop often causes the stop to bind in its extended position.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilkins in view of Albrecht and Taylor to include the discharge section as taught by Johnson. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for an accumulation conveyor with a low-profile stop assembly that controls the flow of packages across the conveying surface when actuated. Furthermore, when actuated, the stop member of the stop assembly is locked in position. In addition, the stop member is adapted to minimize binding even when articles are tightly pressed against the stop (Paragraph 0005).
Regarding Claim 10, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor and Johnson discloses the package conveyor system of claim 9, as seen above. Johnson further discloses wherein: the discharge section frame is a continuation of the main frame.(Paragraph 0003: "In order to control the flow of articles in a conveyor system, conveyor systems often incorporate one or more accumulation conveyors. The accumulation conveyors either slow down or stop the flow of articles over a preselected zone or predetermined location along the path of the conveyor system. In roller accumulation conveyors, the accumulation conveyor includes case stops or stops which are actuated to extend between the rollers above the conveying surface to limit or stop the movement articles conveyed on the conveying surface of the rollers. Typically, the stops are moved by mechanical linkages or the like which extend through the roller conveyor from below the conveyor to above the conveyor to thereby extend the stop to its extended position. Thus, the stops and their linkages increase the overall height of the accumulation conveyor and, hence, the space requirements for the accumulation conveyor, which often can create clearance problems in the field and, therefore, limits the flexibility of the accumulation conveyor. In addition, when conveying relatively heavy articles, the weight of the articles against the stop often causes the stop to bind in its extended position.")
Regarding Claim 14, Wilkins discloses A package conveyor system, comprising: a main frame; a plurality of conveyor rollers held in place by the main frame;(Figure 1: Sides 24 and conveyor rollers 26)a plurality of accumulation sections, each accumulation section of the plurality of accumulation sections comprising a first accumulation subsection, a second accumulation subsection, (Figure 2: Actuator assemblies 34a-34d)a driven roller, a drive belt, and a selectably-activated motor;(Paragraph 0022: "FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.", wherein a driven roller and motor system is a common and obviously known to the art power source for drive belts)the first accumulation subsection of an accumulation section comprising: a first movable frame, the first movable frame being at least partially within the main frame;(Figures 11-12: Shows how the piezoelectric lift assembly 60 lifts and lowers actuator assembly 34)a first plurality of idler rollers held in place by the first movable frame;(Figure 3: Pressure rollers 44)a first actuator connected to the first movable frame; (Figure 6: Actuator 70)and the second accumulation subsection of the accumulation section comprising: a second movable frame, the second movable frame being at least partially within the main frame;(Figures 11-12: Shows how the piezoelectric lift assembly 60 lifts and lowers actuator assembly 34)a second plurality of idler rollers held in place by the second movable frame;(Figure 3: Pressure rollers 44)a second actuator connected to the second movable frame; (Figure 6: Actuator 70)the drive belt being in contact with the first plurality of idler rollers, the second plurality of idler rollers, the belt tensioning device, and the driven roller, (Figure 11: Drive belt 22 in contact with roller 44)and the selectably-activated motor drives the driven roller; (Paragraph 0022: "FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.", wherein a driven roller and motor system is a common and obviously known to the art power source for drive belts) wherein the drive belt is urged into contact with a first set of conveyor rollers of the plurality of conveyor rollers when the first actuator is in a first position, and the drive belt is removed from contact with the first set of conveyor rollers when the first actuator is in a second position; wherein the drive belt is urged into contact with a second set of conveyor rollers of the plurality of conveyor rollers when the second actuator is in a first position, and the drive belt is removed from contact with the second set of conveyor rollers when the second actuator is in a second position; (Paragraph 0022: " FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.", wherein the independent control of the actuator assemblies can allow for a plurality of contact positions)
However, Wilkins does not disclose and a belt tensioning device; wherein the belt tensioning device maintains the drive belt in a desired state of tension; the driven roller being positioned between the first accumulation subsection and the second accumulation subsection; and a discharge section, the discharge section comprising: a discharge section frame; a portion of the conveyor rollers; a discharge section motor selectably driving at least one of the conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers; and a blade stop actuator to selectively extend a blade stop between two conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers; and wherein a blade stop is selectively extended to block movement of a package on the discharge section.
Albrecht discloses a similar package conveyor system comprising a belt tensioning device;(Figure 1: Spring elements 9)wherein the belt tensioning device maintains the drive belt in a desired state of tension; (Figure 1: Spring elements 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilkins to include the belt tensioning device as taught by Albrecht. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for an easy pressure force adjustment of the pressure rollers on the belt by making the spring tension adjustable (Paragraph 0022).
Taylor discloses a similar package conveyer system comprising the driven roller being positioned between the first accumulation subsection and the second accumulation subsection;(Figure 1: Driven roller 58 located in the center of each zone A, B, C)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilkins to include the drive system as taught by Taylor. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a driving force that can be selectively applied to a conveying surface which provides each package with a stopping position to properly accumulate packages or goods in successive zone for eventual discharge from the conveyor (Paragraph 0004).
Johnson discloses a similar package conveyor system comprising a discharge section, the discharge section comprising: a discharge section frame; a portion of the conveyor rollers; a discharge section motor selectably driving at least one of the conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers; and a blade stop actuator to selectively extend a blade stop between two conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers;(Paragraph 0003: "In order to control the flow of articles in a conveyor system, conveyor systems often incorporate one or more accumulation conveyors. The accumulation conveyors either slow down or stop the flow of articles over a preselected zone or predetermined location along the path of the conveyor system. In roller accumulation conveyors, the accumulation conveyor includes case stops or stops which are actuated to extend between the rollers above the conveying surface to limit or stop the movement articles conveyed on the conveying surface of the rollers. Typically, the stops are moved by mechanical linkages or the like which extend through the roller conveyor from below the conveyor to above the conveyor to thereby extend the stop to its extended position. Thus, the stops and their linkages increase the overall height of the accumulation conveyor and, hence, the space requirements for the accumulation conveyor, which often can create clearance problems in the field and, therefore, limits the flexibility of the accumulation conveyor. In addition, when conveying relatively heavy articles, the weight of the articles against the stop often causes the stop to bind in its extended position.")and wherein a blade stop is selectively extended to block movement of a package on the discharge section.(Paragraph 0003: "In order to control the flow of articles in a conveyor system, conveyor systems often incorporate one or more accumulation conveyors. The accumulation conveyors either slow down or stop the flow of articles over a preselected zone or predetermined location along the path of the conveyor system. In roller accumulation conveyors, the accumulation conveyor includes case stops or stops which are actuated to extend between the rollers above the conveying surface to limit or stop the movement articles conveyed on the conveying surface of the rollers. Typically, the stops are moved by mechanical linkages or the like which extend through the roller conveyor from below the conveyor to above the conveyor to thereby extend the stop to its extended position. Thus, the stops and their linkages increase the overall height of the accumulation conveyor and, hence, the space requirements for the accumulation conveyor, which often can create clearance problems in the field and, therefore, limits the flexibility of the accumulation conveyor. In addition, when conveying relatively heavy articles, the weight of the articles against the stop often causes the stop to bind in its extended position.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilkins to include the discharge section as taught by Johnson. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for an accumulation conveyor with a low-profile stop assembly that controls the flow of packages across the conveying surface when actuated. Furthermore, when actuated, the stop member of the stop assembly is locked in position. In addition, the stop member is adapted to minimize binding even when articles are tightly pressed against the stop (Paragraph 0005).
Regarding Claim 15, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor and Johnson discloses the package conveyor system of claim 14, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses wherein: the first set of conveyor rollers is driven when the first actuator is in the first position and the motor is activated.(Figure 12: Belt 22 contacting conveyor rollers 26 to drive them)
Regarding Claim 16, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor and Johnson discloses the package conveyor system of claim 14, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses wherein: the first set of conveyor rollers freerolls when the first actuator is in the second position.(Figure 11: Belt 22 not contacting conveyor rollers 26 allowing the rollers to freeroll)
Regarding Claim 17, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor and Johnson discloses the package conveyor system of claim 14, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses wherein the belt tensioning device is a first belt tensioning device and is included in the first accumulation subsection; and further comprising: a second belt tensioning device included in the second accumulation subsection; wherein the drive belt is also in contact with the second belt tensioning device.(Figure 2: Actuator assemblies 34a-34d)
Regarding Claim 18, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor and Johnson discloses the package conveyor system of claim 14, as seen above. Wilkins further discloses wherein: the first accumulation subsection has a length of approximately two feet.(Paragraph 0022: "FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.")
Regarding Claim 19, Wilkins in view of Albrecht in further view of Taylor and Johnson discloses the package conveyor system of claim 14, as seen above. Taylor further discloses wherein: at least one of the selectably-activated motor or the discharge section motor is a 24 VDC motor.(Paragraph 0047: "The power supply panel 23 may include one, or more, connections 48 for attachment of the corresponding number of power supply lines 46, allowing the panel to be positioned in any selected upstream (single output as shown in FIG. 1) or downstream position with controllers 21 in either, or both (dual output as shown in FIG. 4), the upstream and downstream directions. The power supply panel 23 is a 208/230 volt, 3 phase, 60 Hz power supply for 1-5 zones at single output, or 1-10 zones at dual output. The zone capacity may be doubled with a 460 volt, 3 phase, 60 Hz motor for 1-10 zones at single output, or 1-20 zones dual output. Despite the aforementioned preferences, the voltage rating, and other capabilities, of the power supply panel 23 can be changed to suit increased zone and load requirements of the conveyor and, in particular, increased capacity of the drive motors.").
Regarding Claim 20, Wilkins discloses A package conveyor system, comprising: a main frame; a plurality of conveyor rollers held in place by the main frame;(Figure 1: Sides 24 and conveyor rollers 26)a plurality of accumulation sections, each accumulation section of the plurality of accumulation sections comprising a first accumulation subsection, a second accumulation subsection, (Figure 2: Actuator assemblies 34a-34d)a driven roller, a drive belt, and a selectably-activated motor, (Paragraph 0022: "FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.", wherein a driven roller and motor system is a common and obviously known to the art power source for drive belts)each accumulation subsection having a length of approximately two feet;(Paragraph 0022: "FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.")the first accumulation subsection of an accumulation section comprising: a first movable frame, the first movable frame being at least partially within the main frame;(Figures 11-12: Shows how the piezoelectric lift assembly 60 lifts and lowers actuator assembly 34)a first plurality of idler rollers held in place by the first movable frame;(Figure 3: Pressure rollers 44)a first actuator connected to the first movable frame; (Figure 6: Actuator 70)the second accumulation subsection of the accumulation section comprising: a second movable frame, the second movable frame being at least partially within the main frame;(Figures 11-12: Shows how the piezoelectric lift assembly 60 lifts and lowers actuator assembly 34)a second plurality of idler rollers held in place by the second movable frame;(Figure 3: Pressure rollers 44)a second actuator connected to the second movable frame; (Figure 6: Actuator 70)the drive belt being in contact with the first plurality of idler rollers, the second plurality of idler rollers, the first belt tensioning device, the second belt tensioning device, and the driven roller,(Figure 11: Drive belt 22 in contact with roller 44)wherein the drive belt is urged into contact with a first set of conveyor rollers of the plurality of conveyor rollers when the first actuator is in a first position, and the drive belt is removed from contact with the first set of conveyor rollers when the first actuator is in a second position; wherein the drive belt is urged into contact with a second set of conveyor rollers of the plurality of conveyor rollers when the second actuator is in a first position, and the drive belt is removed from contact with the second set of conveyor rollers when the second actuator is in a second position;(Paragraph 0022: " FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.", wherein the independent control of the actuator assemblies can allow for a plurality of contact positions) wherein the first set of conveyor rollers is driven when the first actuator is in the first position and the motor is activated;(Figure 12: Belt 22 contacting conveyor rollers 26 to drive them) wherein the first set of conveyor rollers is braked when the first actuator is in the first position and the motor is not activated; (Paragraph 0022: " FIG. 2 shows section 30 of accumulation conveyor 20 with conveyor rollers 26 removed for clarity. Accumulation conveyor section 30 comprises a plurality of individually controllable zones 32 , identified in FIG. 2 as individual zones 32 a, 32 b, and 32 c. Each zone 32 is defined by a respective actuator assembly 34 , identified in FIGS. 2 as 34 a , 34 b , and 34 c , each of which is controllable independent of the other actuator assemblies. FIG. 2 shows section 30 including a portion of drive belt 22 . Drive belt 22 is a single, endless belt within the portion of accumulation conveyor 20 driven by a power source (not shown), which drives zones 32 of accumulation conveyor 20 . Drive belt 22 includes upper run 22 a that is urged into driving contact with the lower tangent edge of conveyor rollers 26 in a selected zone 32 upon actuation of that zone 32 . Drive belt 22 further comprises a lower run (not shown), which is the return portion of drive belt 22 . Although the length of zones 32 may vary, in the embodiment depicted, each zone 32 a -d is about 36 inches long. Additional accumulation conveyor sections may be attached to either end of accumulation conveyor section 30 to form a single power source, single drive belt accumulation conveyor 20 having the desired overall length and number of controlled zones.", wherein stopping or keeping off the driving power will inherently brake/stop the conveyor rollers)and wherein the first set of conveyor rollers freerolls when the first actuator is in the second position.(Figure 11: Belt 22 not contacting conveyor rollers 26 allowing the rollers to freeroll).
However, Wilkins does not disclose a first belt tensioning device; and a second belt tensioning device; wherein the first and second belt tensioning devices maintain the drive belt in a desired state of tension; the driven roller being positioned between the first accumulation subsection and the second accumulation subsection; and the selectably-activated motor being a 24 VDC motor and driving the driven roller; and a discharge section, the discharge section comprising: a discharge section frame; a portion of the conveyor rollers; a discharge section motor, the discharge section motor being a 24 VDC motor and selectably driving at least one of the conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers; and a blade stop actuator to selectively extend a blade stop between two conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers; wherein a blade stop is selectively extended to block movement of a package on the discharge section.
Albrecht discloses a similar package conveyor system comprising and a first belt tensioning device;(Figure 1: Spring elements 9)and a second belt tensioning device;(Figure 1: Spring elements 9) wherein the first and second belt tensioning devices maintain the drive belt in a desired state of tension; (Figure 1: Spring elements 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilkins to include the belt tensioning device as taught by Albrecht. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for an easy pressure force adjustment of the pressure rollers on the belt by making the spring tension adjustable (Paragraph 0022).
Taylor discloses a similar package conveyer system comprising the driven roller being positioned between the first accumulation subsection and the second accumulation subsection;(Figure 1: Driven roller 58 located in the center of each zone A, B, C)and the selectably-activated motor being a 24 VDC motor and driving the driven roller;(Paragraph 0047: "The power supply panel 23 may include one, or more, connections 48 for attachment of the corresponding number of power supply lines 46, allowing the panel to be positioned in any selected upstream (single output as shown in FIG. 1) or downstream position with controllers 21 in either, or both (dual output as shown in FIG. 4), the upstream and downstream directions. The power supply panel 23 is a 208/230 volt, 3 phase, 60 Hz power supply for 1-5 zones at single output, or 1-10 zones at dual output. The zone capacity may be doubled with a 460 volt, 3 phase, 60 Hz motor for 1-10 zones at single output, or 1-20 zones dual output. Despite the aforementioned preferences, the voltage rating, and other capabilities, of the power supply panel 23 can be changed to suit increased zone and load requirements of the conveyor and, in particular, increased capacity of the drive motors.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilkins to include the drive system as taught by Taylor. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a driving force that can be selectively applied to a conveying surface which provides each package with a stopping position to properly accumulate packages or goods in successive zone for eventual discharge from the conveyor (Paragraph 0004).
Johnson discloses a similar package conveyor system comprising a discharge section, the discharge section comprising: a discharge section frame; a portion of the conveyor rollers; a discharge section motor, the discharge section motor being a 24 VDC motor and selectably driving at least one of the conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers; and a blade stop actuator to selectively extend a blade stop between two conveyor rollers of the portion of conveyor rollers; (Paragraph 0003: "In order to control the flow of articles in a conveyor system, conveyor systems often incorporate one or more accumulation conveyors. The accumulation conveyors either slow down or stop the flow of articles over a preselected zone or predetermined location along the path of the conveyor system. In roller accumulation conveyors, the accumulation conveyor includes case stops or stops which are actuated to extend between the rollers above the conveying surface to limit or stop the movement articles conveyed on the conveying surface of the rollers. Typically, the stops are moved by mechanical linkages or the like which extend through the roller conveyor from below the conveyor to above the conveyor to thereby extend the stop to its extended position. Thus, the stops and their linkages increase the overall height of the accumulation conveyor and, hence, the space requirements for the accumulation conveyor, which often can create clearance problems in the field and, therefore, limits the flexibility of the accumulation conveyor. In addition, when conveying relatively heavy articles, the weight of the articles against the stop often causes the stop to bind in its extended position.") wherein a blade stop is selectively extended to block movement of a package on the discharge section;(Paragraph 0003: "In order to control the flow of articles in a conveyor system, conveyor systems often incorporate one or more accumulation conveyors. The accumulation conveyors either slow down or stop the flow of articles over a preselected zone or predetermined location along the path of the conveyor system. In roller accumulation conveyors, the accumulation conveyor includes case stops or stops which are actuated to extend between the rollers above the conveying surface to limit or stop the movement articles conveyed on the conveying surface of the rollers. Typically, the stops are moved by mechanical linkages or the like which extend through the roller conveyor from below the conveyor to above the conveyor to thereby extend the stop to its extended position. Thus, the stops and their linkages increase the overall height of the accumulation conveyor and, hence, the space requirements for the accumulation conveyor, which often can create clearance problems in the field and, therefore, limits the flexibility of the accumulation conveyor. In addition, when conveying relatively heavy articles, the weight of the articles against the stop often causes the stop to bind in its extended position.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilkins to include the discharge section as taught by Johnson. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for an accumulation conveyor with a low-profile stop assembly that controls the flow of packages across the conveying surface when actuated. Furthermore, when actuated, the stop member of the stop assembly is locked in position. In addition, the stop member is adapted to minimize binding even when articles are tightly pressed against the stop (Paragraph 0005).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
International Patent Application WO 2015/126619 A1 (Depaso, Joseph): Depaso discloses a similar low energy roller belt accumulator comprising in line roller belts, actuators to lift and lower roller sets, deactuators systems and a controller, as seen in Figures 2 and 3.
United States Patent US 4,919,255 (Morgan, Steven): Morgan discloses a similar zero pressure accumulating conveyor comprising control valves, actuators, racks, roller conveyors and a control valve to control accumulation with load separation, as seen in Figure 2.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651