DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 and Specie A in the reply filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 and 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group 2 and Specie B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/14/2026.
The restriction requirement has been made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase et al. (US 2015/0362634 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites a plurality of concavities or convexities at the beginning, but then seems to recite concavities are what is required in the last limitation. Iwase teaches a master/mold for making an antireflective optical member. This means the corresponding optical member taught in Iwase is the inverse of the master. Iwase teaches the master comprises a plurality of concave-convex groups provided on a base material, where the concave-convex group each including a plurality of convexities or concavities. Iwase teaches the average widths of the protrusions of the optical member are less than the visible wave length (Paragraph 0040); therefore, the average width of the areas occupied by the concavities or convexities at a surface of the base material are smaller than or equal to a visible light band wavelength. Iwase teaches the respective concave-convex groups are laid out regularly. (Fig. 3-4).
Iwase teaches the protrusions of the optical member are spaced apart from each other such that protrusions are not provided continuously and are spaced apart from each other at an interval wider than an interval between the protrusions (Fig. 8; Paragraph 0065). Therefore, Iwase teaches the concave-convex groups are spaced apart from each other such that concavities are not provided continuously and are spaced apart from each other at an interval wider than an interval between the concavities within the convex groups.
Iwase teaches the protrusions can have different heights in a group (Fig. 5, 6, 9-10). Iwase teaches a group of protrusions can have different heights, thereby creating formed lengths of convexities from the surface of the base material in each the concave-converse groups each belong to any of least two or more groups having different central values. (Paragraph 0063, 0070-0072). Iwase teaches these different lengths can be used to set specific quality at specific viewing angles or to improve visual quality. Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to set the formed lengths of convexities from the surface of the base material in each the concave-converse groups each belong to any of least two or more groups having different central values in the embodiment recited in Fig. 8 for varying the quality at specific viewing angles or to improve visual quality.
Regarding Claim 2, Iwase teaches the average widths of the areas occupied by the respective concavities or convexities at the surface of the base material in each of the concave-convex groups belong to any of at least two or more groups having different central values. (Fig. 5, 9-10).
Regarding Claim 3, Iwase teaches the average widths of the areas occupied by the concavities or convexities at the surface of the base material increase as the formed lengths of the concavities or convexities at the surface of the base material increase. (Fig. 5, 9-10).
Regarding Claim 4, Iwase teaches the areas occupied by the respective concavities or convexities at the surface of the base material have a circular planar shape. (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Iwase teaches interval at which each of the concave-convex groups is provided is larger than the wavelength belonging to a visible light band. (Paragraph 0065).
Regarding Claim 7, Iwase teaches the formed lengths of the respective concavities or convexities from the surface of the bas material are changed gradually within each of the concave-convex groups. (Fig. 5-10)
Regarding Claim 9, Iwase teaches a transfer object comprising a transferred concave-convex structure including the plurality of concave-convex groups provided in the master has been transferred. (Abstract; Fig. 2A-2C).
Regarding Claim 14, Iwase teaches interval at which each of the concave-convex groups are spaced apart is larger than the wavelength belonging to a visible light band. (Paragraph 0065).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase in view of Hayashibe et al. (US 2011/0102900 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Iwase does not specifically teach the respective concavities or convexities in each of the concave-convex groups are provide in a closet-packed arrangement. 18.
However, Hayashibe teaches that arranging nanostructures in a closest-packing pattern produces a reflection-reducing result (Paragraph 0019). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to ensure the concavities and convexities in the groups of Iwase are also in closest packed arrangement to ensure anti-reflective properties.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,352,926. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a master and concave-convex structure can be considered the same type of product.
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781