This office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 01/22/2026. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and being examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, 10 and 12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection (Stone, US 2019/0055902). The allowability of claim 9 has been withdrawn in view of this new reference. Since the examiner has applied new grounds of rejection, this office action is being made non-final to afford the applicant the opportunity to respond to the new grounds of rejection.
Regarding, independent claim 1 applicant argues “Patsouris fails to teach, suggest or disclose the locking device that connects the linking device to the movable surface, and the locking device comprises a connecting element on which the linking device is mounted as claimed in Claim 1”, refer to pages 8-10 of the 01/22/2026 remarks.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because as explained below, Patsouris discloses the argued limitations.
Patsouris discloses a locking device (10/6/screw portion of 8, 11/7/nut-screw device 9 in figures 3-5) configured to adjust a position of the movable surface 2 relative to the stationary surface 1,
the locking device connects the linking device (sleeve 5 and the nut portion of the nut and screw link 8; referring marked-up to figure 4 above, the unlabeled triangular protrusions “threads” pointing towards the axis X’ is the nut portion of the nut and screw link 8, notice the sleeve 5 and nut portion are connected together as one element) to the movable surface 2,
the locking device comprising a connecting element (the screw portion of the nut and screw link 8; referring to marked-up figure 4 above, the unlabeled triangular protrusions “threads” pointing towards the threads of the nut portion of the nut and screw link 8) on which the linking device is mounted (the sleeve/nut are mounted on the screw portion of the nut and screw link 8).
The examiner has provided below a list of evidentiary references to show that the nut and screw links 8 and 9 “ball screws” of Patsouris typically comprise a nut portion, a screw portion and balls (pars. 10, 20, abstract of Patsouris).
US 2010/0170360; ball screw 1, nut portion 10, screw portion 20, balls 80.
US 2019/0353231; ball screw 100, nut portion 11, screw portion 90, balls 12.
US 2020/0124146; ball screw 1, nut portion 40, screw portion 30, balls 10.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12 line 9 the recitation “maintain the movable cowl closed.; and ” is presumed to be -- maintain the movable cowl closed; and -- for proper clarity. Appropriate correction is required (remove the period).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Patsouris et al. (US 2019/0195170).
In regards to Independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figures 3-6, Patsouris discloses an assembly for an aircraft propulsion unit (turbojet in title and refer to figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a stationary surface 1;
a movable surface 2 that is movable relative to the stationary surface and configured to surround a turbomachine (at least a portion of the turbomachine is within the structure 2, refer to figures 1 and 2) of the aircraft propulsion unit; and
a linking system 4 configured to link the stationary surface 1 and the movable surface 2 and configured to accommodate a movement of the movable surface relative to the stationary surface (movement of the movable surface 2 relative to the stationary surface 1 shown in figures 3-5), the linking system comprising:
a linking device (sleeve 5 and the nut portion of the nut and screw link 8; referring marked-up to figure 4 above, the unlabeled triangular protrusions “threads” pointing towards the axis X’ is the nut portion of the nut and screw link 8, notice the sleeve 5 and nut portion are connected together as one element) connected to the stationary surface 1 and configured to facilitate the movement (motor 12 turns the sleeve 5 and nut portion of the nut-screw link 8 turn, as shown in figures 3-5, pars, 20, 21) of the movable surface 2 relative to the stationary surface 1, and
a locking device (10/6/screw portion of 8, 11/7/nut-screw device 9 in figures 3-5) configured to adjust a position of the movable surface 2 relative to the stationary surface 1, the locking device connects the linking device (5/nut of 8) to the movable surface 2, the locking device comprising a connecting element (the screw portion of the nut and screw link 8; referring to marked-up figure 4 above, the unlabeled triangular protrusions “threads” pointing towards the threads of the nut portion of the nut and screw link 8) on which the linking device is mounted (the sleeve/nut are mounted on the screw portion of the nut and screw link 8),
wherein the locking device is configured,
in an unlocking position (when lock 10 is disengaged from the hollow rod 6 as shown in figure 3, 4), to allow a displacement of the connecting element (the screw portion of the nut-screw link 8) relative to the movable surface 2 during a movement of the movable surface relative to the stationary surface, and,
in a locking position (when lock 10 is engaged into the hollow rod 6 as shown in figure 5), to inhibit the displacement of the connecting element relative to the movable surface 2 (as shown in figure 5, when the lock 10 is engaged, the connecting element “the screw portion of the nut-screw link 8” is not moving relative to the movable surface2, only the screw portion of the link 9 is moving along with element 7).
Regarding dependent Claim 7, Patsouris discloses wherein the locking device (10/6/screw portion of 8, 11//7/nut-screw device 9 in figures 3-5) is configured to, in the unlocking position (when lock 10 is disengaged from the hollow rod 6 as shown in figure 3, 4), allow the displacement of the connecting element (the screw portion of the nut-screw link 8) by translation (movement along the axis X’ as shown in figures 3 and 4) relative to the movable surface 2 during a movement of the movable surface 2 relative to the stationary surface 1, as shown in figures 3-5.
Regarding dependent Claim 10, Patsouris discloses a propulsion unit comprising a nacelle, and an assembly according to Claim 1, wherein the nacelle comprises a movable cowl 2, the movable cowl forming the movable surface movable relative to the stationary surface 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patsouris in view of Stone et al. (US 2019/0055902).
In regards to Independent Claim 12, and with particular reference to Figures 3-6, Patsouris discloses an assembly for an aircraft propulsion unit (turbojet in title and refer to figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a stationary surface 1;
a movable surface 2 that is movable relative to the stationary surface and configured to surround a turbomachine (at least a portion of the turbomachine is within the structure 2, refer to figures 1 and 2) of the aircraft propulsion unit; and
a linking system 4 configured to link the stationary surface 1 and the movable surface 2 and configured to accommodate a movement of the movable surface relative to the stationary surface (movement of the movable surface 2 relative to the stationary surface 1 shown in figures 3-5), the linking system comprising:
a linking device (sleeve 5 and the nut portion of the nut and screw link 8; referring marked-up to figure 4 above, the unlabeled triangular protrusions “threads” pointing towards the axis X’ is the nut portion of the nut and screw link 8, notice the sleeve 5 and nut portion are connected together as one element) connected to the stationary surface 1 and configured to facilitate the movement (motor 12 turns the sleeve 5 and nut portion of the nut-screw link 8 turn, as shown in figures 3-5, pars, 20, 21) of the movable surface 2 relative to the stationary surface 1, and
a locking device (10/6/screw portion of 8, 11/7/nut-screw device 9 in figures 3-5) configured to adjust a position of the movable surface 2 relative to the stationary surface 1, the locking device connects the linking device (5/nut of 8) to the movable surface 2, the locking device comprising a connecting element (the screw portion of the nut and screw link 8; referring to marked-up figure 4 above, the unlabeled triangular protrusions “threads” pointing towards the threads of the nut portion of the nut and screw link 8,) on which the linking device is mounted (the sleeve/nut are mounted on the screw portion of the nut and screw link 8),
wherein the locking device is configured,
in an unlocking position (when lock 10 is disengaged from the hollow rod 6 as shown in figure 3, 4), to allow a displacement of the connecting element (the screw portion of the nut-screw link 8) relative to the movable surface 2 during a movement of the movable surface relative to the stationary surface, and,
in a locking position (when lock 10 is engaged into the hollow rod 6 as shown in figure 5), to inhibit the displacement of the connecting element relative to the movable surface 2 (as shown in figure 5, when the lock 10 is engaged, the connecting element “the screw portion of the nut-screw link 8” is not moving relative to the movable surface2, only the screw portion of the link 9 is moving along with element 7).
Patsouris further teaches wherein the movable surface 2 is a movable cowl of a nacelle (1/2; refer to abstract).
Patsouris does not teach the assembly further comprises a hinge arranged in a first part of the movable cowl, the hinge configured to allow an opening of the movable cowl for maintenance operations, the assembly further comprising a lock arranged in a second part of the movable cowl, the lock configured to selectively maintain the movable cowl closed.
Stone teaches (particularly figures 1, 2, 4a, 4b) an assembly for an aircraft propulsion system similar to Patsouris, where the assembly comprises a hinge (412b or 412a) arranged in a first part of the movable cowl (upper part of the movable cowl 410b or 410a), the hinge configured to allow an opening of the movable cowl for maintenance operations (as shown in figure 4B; pars.42, 52), the assembly further comprising a lock 420 arranged in a second part of the movable cowl (lower part of the movable cowl), the lock configured to selectively maintain the movable cowl closed (as shown in figure 4a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Patsouris with a hinge and lock, as taught by Stone, in order to permit maintenance personnel access to the interior of the engine for maintenance (par. 42, 52 in Stone).
Regarding dependent Claim 9, Patsouris teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above for claim 1 and Patsouris further teaches wherein the movable surface 2 is a movable cowl of a nacelle (1 and 2; refer to abstract).
Patsouris does not teach the assembly further comprises a hinge arranged in a first part of the movable cowl, the hinge configured to allow an opening of the movable cowl for maintenance operations, the assembly further comprising a lock arranged in a second part of the movable cowl, the lock configured to selectively maintain the movable cowl closed.
Stone teaches (particularly figures 1, 2, 4a, 4b) an assembly for an aircraft propulsion system similar to Patsouris, where the assembly comprises a hinge (412b or 412a) arranged in a first part of the movable cowl (upper part of the movable cowl 410b or 410a), the hinge configured to allow an opening of the movable cowl for maintenance operations (as shown in figure 4B; pars.42, 52), the assembly further comprising a lock 420 arranged in a second part of the movable cowl (lower part of the movable cowl), the lock configured to selectively maintain the movable cowl closed (as shown in figure 4a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Patsouris with a hinge and lock, as taught by Stone, in order to permit maintenance personnel access to the interior of the engine for maintenance (par. 42, 52 in Stone).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 is allowed in view of the amendments to the claims filed on 01/22/2026. In this amendment, applicant incorporated the previously indicated allowable subject matter of claim 4 and intervening claim 3 into independent claim 11.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to independent claim 11, the prior art of record neither discloses nor makes obvious the combination set forth in the independent claim, and especially does not show "the locking device includes a clamping device that connects the connecting element to the movable surface, the clamping device configured to: in the unlocking position, allow the connecting element to be disengaged from the movable surface to allow the displacement of the connecting element relative to the movable surface during a movement of the movable surface relative to the stationary surface, and in the locking position, maintain the connecting element engaged with the movable surface to inhibit the displacement of the connecting element relative to the movable surface, the locking device further includes a retaining device configured to maintain the clamping device and the connecting element connected when the locking device is in the unlocking position", in combination with the other claim limitations.
Contact Information
/William H Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741