DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “derivation unit”, “space configuration model generation unit”, “tile modeling unit”, “indoor space model generation unit “ in claims 1, “vectorization unit” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shapiro et al (US 20210409903 A1) in view of Vandenbrouck et al (US 20200193700 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Shapiro discloses an indoor space model generation apparatus for generating an indoor space model ([0021] computerized mapping system), comprising:
a derivation unit configured to derive, from a vectorized drawing image, information about space configuration objects included in the drawing image ([0025] generate map data 34 that is organized into a series of tiles 40 of varying levels of detail);
a tile modeling unit configured to perform tile modeling on the generated space configuration model ([0025] Each tile 40 may include an associated bitmap image 44 of a portion of a map rendered at a specified level of detail); and
an indoor space model generation unit configured to generate the indoor space model by using the space configuration model on which the tile modeling has been performed ([0048] e client device 14 may be configured to display a map image 76 including a plurality of tiles 40 within a map view of the client map program).
Vandenbrouck discloses a space configuration model generation unit configured to generate a space configuration model for each space configuration object in a tile unit based on the information about the space configuration objects ([0021] space hierarchy 120 is a tree or graph that models the relationships between space elements such as buildings, floors, and rooms)
Shapiro and Vandenbrouck are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computerized mapping system of Shapiro to include a space configuration model generation unit configured to generate a space configuration model for each space configuration object in a tile unit based on the information about the space configuration objects as described by Vandenbrouck
The motivation for doing so would have been to map-to-model service producing a space model from a map file (Vandenbrouck, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shapiro and Vandenbrouck to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Shapiro discloses is silent to a vectorization unit configured to vectorize the drawing image by analyzing 2D vector graphics in an SVG (Scalable Vector Graphics) format.
Vandenbrouck discloses a vectorization unit configured to vectorize the drawing image by analyzing 2D vector graphics in an SVG (Scalable Vector Graphics) format ([0035] map file is a mesh model of a building or other space. In other embodiments, the map file is a CAD file, an SVG file, a geoJSON (geospatial javascript Object Notation) file, or the like)
Shapiro and Vandenbrouck are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computerized mapping system of Shapiro to include a vectorization unit configured to vectorize the drawing image by analyzing 2D vector graphics in an SVG (Scalable Vector Graphics) format as described by Vandenbrouck
The motivation for doing so would have been to map-to-model service producing a space model from a map file (Vandenbrouck, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shapiro and Vandenbrouck to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Shapiro discloses is silent to wherein the space configuration objects include at least one of a floor object, a wall object, and a door object.
Vandenbrouck discloses wherein the space configuration objects include at least one of a floor object, a wall object, and a door object (Scalable Vector Graphics) format ([0037] Space elements that can be identified may include elements other than geometric features such as rooms and floors. Identified space elements may be devices, building fixtures, furniture, and the like.)
Shapiro and Vandenbrouck are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computerized mapping system of Shapiro to include wherein the space configuration objects include at least one of a floor object, a wall object, and a door object as described by Vandenbrouck
The motivation for doing so would have been to map-to-model service producing a space model from a map file (Vandenbrouck, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shapiro and Vandenbrouck to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Shapiro discloses wherein the space configuration model generation unit is further configured to calculate size information of a floor surface of the floor object based on coordinate information corresponding to the space configuration objects, and generate a space configuration model for the floor object based on the calculated size information of the floor surface ([0032] client map program 28 may send a request for tiles 40 to be displayed, the request including an address or coordinates for a location to be displayed to the map server).
Regarding claim 5, Shapiro discloses wherein the space configuration model generation unit is further configured to generate a space configuration model for the floor object in a grid format corresponding to the calculated floor surface by using a tile of a predetermined size ([0085] displaying a map image including a plurality of tiles, each tile including a server-side rendered bitmap image including building footprints.).
Regarding claim 6, Shapiro discloses is silent to wherein the space configuration model generation unit is further configured to separate a wall object in a room unit from the vectorized drawing image, and generate a space configuration model for the separated wall object of the room unit
Vandenbrouck discloses wherein the space configuration model generation unit is further configured to separate a wall object in a room unit from the vectorized drawing image, and generate a space configuration model for the separated wall object of the room unit ([0039] Nodes may also be inferred from the presence of objects such as devices or fixtures. If a floor is discerned in a map file and a commode is found in the map of the floor, then a bathroom room node may be inferred and added as a child node of the floor node (and containing the object that prompted its insertion))
Shapiro and Vandenbrouck are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computerized mapping system of Shapiro to include wherein the space configuration model generation unit is further configured to separate a wall object in a room unit from the vectorized drawing image, and generate a space configuration model for the separated wall object of the room unit as described by Vandenbrouck
The motivation for doing so would have been to map-to-model service producing a space model from a map file (Vandenbrouck, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shapiro and Vandenbrouck to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Shapiro discloses wherein when a first wall object of a first space and a second wall object of a second space adjacent to the first space among spaces included in the drawing image are inner walls that adjoin each other and coordinate information of the first wall object does not match coordinate information of the second wall object, the space configuration model generation unit is further configured to correct the coordinate information of the first wall object and the coordinate information of the second wall object by vector correction ([0029] the bitmap image 44 would include image data for both the outdoor map, graphical depictions of building footprints 48, and indoor maps 52 that are geospatially located in the portion of the map covered by that tile)
Regarding claim 8, Shapiro discloses wherein when the first space and the second space adjacent to each other among the spaces included in the drawing image are connected by the door object, the space configuration model generation unit is further configured to generate a space configuration model for an adjacent wall object connected by the door object by using a first wall vector from the first space and a second wall vector from the second space ([0030] each client-side renderable geometric element 54 is associated with one or more tiles 40 that include the building 50 for the indoor map 52 associated with that client-side renderable geometric element 54. In some cases, a building 50 may be split across multiple tiles).
Regarding claim 9, Shapiro discloses wherein when the wall object among the space configuration objects includes a door object and ssthere is no a shared wall that includes the door object,
the space configuration model generation unit is further configured to divide a wall vector of the wall object into vectors ([0062] the metadata associated with the indoor map 52 may indicate notable locations within the building such as bathrooms, entrances, exits).
Regarding claim 10, Shapiro discloses wherein when the wall object among the space configuration objects includes a door object and there is a shared wall that includes the door object,
the space configuration model generation unit is further configured to divide a wall vector of the wall object into a wall vector of a space adjacent to the shared wall ([0062] the metadata associated with the indoor map 52 may indicate notable locations within the building such as bathrooms, entrances, exits).
Regarding claim 11, Shapiro discloses A method for generating an indoor space model by an indoor space model generation apparatus ([0021] computerized mapping system), comprising:
deriving, from a vectorized drawing image, information about space configuration objects included in the drawing image ([0025] generate map data 34 that is organized into a series of tiles 40 of varying levels of detail);
performing tile modeling on the generated space configuration model ([0025] Each tile 40 may include an associated bitmap image 44 of a portion of a map rendered at a specified level of detail); and
generating the indoor space model by using the space configuration model on which the tile modeling has been performed ([0048] e client device 14 may be configured to display a map image 76 including a plurality of tiles 40 within a map view of the client map program).
Vandenbrouck discloses generating a space configuration model for each space configuration object in a tile unit based on the information about the space configuration objects ([0021] space hierarchy 120 is a tree or graph that models the relationships between space elements such as buildings, floors, and rooms)
Shapiro and Vandenbrouck are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computerized mapping system of Shapiro to include generating a space configuration model for each space configuration object in a tile unit based on the information about the space configuration objects as described by Vandenbrouck
The motivation for doing so would have been to map-to-model service producing a space model from a map file (Vandenbrouck, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shapiro and Vandenbrouck to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Shapiro discloses is silent to vectorizing the drawing image by analyzing 2D vector graphics in an SVG (Scalable Vector Graphics) format (Scalable Vector Graphics) format.
Vandenbrouck discloses vectorizing the drawing image by analyzing 2D vector graphics in an SVG (Scalable Vector Graphics) format ([0035] map file is a mesh model of a building or other space. In other embodiments, the map file is a CAD file, an SVG file, a geoJSON (geospatial javascript Object Notation) file, or the like)
Shapiro and Vandenbrouck are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computerized mapping system of Shapiro to include vectorizing the drawing image by analyzing 2D vector graphics in an SVG (Scalable Vector Graphics) format as described by Vandenbrouck
The motivation for doing so would have been to map-to-model service producing a space model from a map file (Vandenbrouck, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shapiro and Vandenbrouck to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Shapiro discloses is silent to wherein the space configuration objects include at least one of a floor object, a wall object, and a door object.
Vandenbrouck discloses wherein the space configuration objects include at least one of a floor object, a wall object, and a door object (Scalable Vector Graphics) format ([0037] Space elements that can be identified may include elements other than geometric features such as rooms and floors. Identified space elements may be devices, building fixtures, furniture, and the like.)
Shapiro and Vandenbrouck are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computerized mapping system of Shapiro to include wherein the space configuration objects include at least one of a floor object, a wall object, and a door object as described by Vandenbrouck
The motivation for doing so would have been to map-to-model service producing a space model from a map file (Vandenbrouck, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shapiro and Vandenbrouck to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Shapiro discloses wherein the generating a space configuration model for each space configuration object in a tile unit includes: calculating size information of a floor surface of the floor object based on coordinate information corresponding to the space configuration objects; and generating a space configuration model for the floor object based on the calculated size information of the floor surface.([0032] client map program 28 may send a request for tiles 40 to be displayed, the request including an address or coordinates for a location to be displayed to the map server).
Regarding claim 15, Shapiro discloses wherein the generating a space configuration model for each space configuration object in a tile unit includes: generating a space configuration model for the floor object in a grid format corresponding to the calculated floor surface by using a tile of a predetermined size.e ([0085] displaying a map image including a plurality of tiles, each tile including a server-side rendered bitmap image including building footprints.).
Regarding claim 16, Shapiro discloses is silent to wherein the generating a space configuration model for each space configuration object in the tile unit includes: separating a wall object in a room unit from the vectorized drawing image; and generating a space configuration model for the separated wall object of the room unit.
Vandenbrouck discloses wherein the generating a space configuration model for each space configuration object in the tile unit includes: separating a wall object in a room unit from the vectorized drawing image; and generating a space configuration model for the separated wall object of the room unit [0039] Nodes may also be inferred from the presence of objects such as devices or fixtures. If a floor is discerned in a map file and a commode is found in the map of the floor, then a bathroom room node may be inferred and added as a child node of the floor node (and containing the object that prompted its insertion))
Shapiro and Vandenbrouck are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computerized mapping system of Shapiro to include wherein the generating a space configuration model for each space configuration object in the tile unit includes: separating a wall object in a room unit from the vectorized drawing image; and generating a space configuration model for the separated wall object of the room unit as described by Vandenbrouck
The motivation for doing so would have been to map-to-model service producing a space model from a map file (Vandenbrouck, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shapiro and Vandenbrouck to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Shapiro discloses when a first wall object of a first space and a second wall object of a second space adjacent to the first space among spaces included in the drawing image are inner walls that adjoin each other and coordinate information of the first wall object does not match coordinates information of the second wall object, correcting the coordinate information of the first wall object and the coordinate information of the second wall object by vector correction. ([0029] the bitmap image 44 would include image data for both the outdoor map, graphical depictions of building footprints 48, and indoor maps 52 that are geospatially located in the portion of the map covered by that tile)
Regarding claim 18, Shapiro discloses when the first space and the second space adjacent to each other among the spaces included in the drawing image are connected by the door object, generating a space configuration model for each space configuration object in the tile unit includes: generating a space configuration model for an adjacent wall object connected by the door object by using a first wall vector from the first space and a second wall vector from the second space. ([0030] each client-side renderable geometric element 54 is associated with one or more tiles 40 that include the building 50 for the indoor map 52 associated with that client-side renderable geometric element 54. In some cases, a building 50 may be split across multiple tiles).
Regarding claim 19, Shapiro discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program including a sequence of instructions to generate an indoor space model, which when executed by a computing device, causes the computing device to:
derive, from a vectorized drawing image, information about space configuration objects included in the drawing image ([0025] generate map data 34 that is organized into a series of tiles 40 of varying levels of detail);
perform tile modeling on the generated space configuration model ([0025] Each tile 40 may include an associated bitmap image 44 of a portion of a map rendered at a specified level of detail); and
generate the indoor space model by using the space configuration model on which the tile modeling has been performed ([0048] e client device 14 may be configured to display a map image 76 including a plurality of tiles 40 within a map view of the client map program).
Vandenbrouck discloses generate a space configuration model for each space configuration object in a tile unit based on the information about the space configuration objects ([0021] space hierarchy 120 is a tree or graph that models the relationships between space elements such as buildings, floors, and rooms)
Shapiro and Vandenbrouck are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computerized mapping system of Shapiro to include generate a space configuration model for each space configuration object in a tile unit based on the information about the space configuration objects as described by Vandenbrouck
The motivation for doing so would have been to map-to-model service producing a space model from a map file (Vandenbrouck, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shapiro and Vandenbrouck to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Conclusion
/SHIVANG I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615