Other Refs: Neufeld (US 20200004671) – Non-volatile storage system with dynamic allocation of applications to memory based on usage monitoring.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
For Claims 9-11, the prior art discloses and/or renders obvious the limitations from Claim 7. The prior art does not appear to disclose the limitations from Claims 9-11.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No.12/182,406. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-20 of the instant application anticipate Claims 1-20 of the reference application.
For Claim 1, the claim limitations in the instant application (memory device, controller configured to program video data, perform wear leveling…) are generic to (broader than) Claim 1 of the reference patent (refence patent recites other limitations).
For Claims 2,3, the claim limitations of the instant application are generic to (broader than) Claim 2,4 of the reference patent, respectively.
For Claim 4-6 are rejected based on dependency from Claim 1, and are broader than the respective claims of the reference patent.
For Claim 7, the claim limitations in the instant application (storing, programming, performing wear leveling) are generic to (broader than) Claim 5 of the reference patent (refence patent recites other limitations).
For Claim 8, the claim limitations of the instant application are generic to (broader than)
Claim 6 of the reference patent.
For Claim 9 the claim limitations of the instant application are generic to (broader than) Claim 7 of the reference patent, respectively.
For Claim 10 the claim limitations of the instant application are generic to (broader than) Claim 8 of the reference patent, respectively.
For Claim 11 the claim limitations of the instant application are generic to (broader than) Claim 9 of the reference patent, respectively.
For Claim 12 the claim limitations of the instant application are generic to (broader than) Claim 10 of the reference patent, respectively.
For Claim 13 the claim limitations of the instant application are generic to (broader than) Claim 11 of the reference patent, respectively.
For Claim 14 the claim limitations of the instant application are generic to (broader than) Claim 12 of the reference patent, respectively.
For Claim 15, the claim limitations in the instant application (storing, programming, performing wear leveling) are generic to (broader than) Claim 13 of the reference patent (refence patent recites other limitations).
For Claim 16 the claim limitations of the instant application are generic to (broader than) Claim 14 of the reference patent, respectively.
Claim 17, 18 are rejected based on dependency from Claim 15, and are broader than the respective claims of the reference patent.
For Claim 19 the claim limitations of the instant application are generic to (broader than) Claim 16 of the reference patent, respectively.
For Claim 20 the claim limitations of the instant application are generic to Claim 17 of the reference patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 7, 12-14, 15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (US 20210055864 A1) and in view of Kim (US 20130346676 A1) and further in view of Golov (US 20190287319 A1)
Claim 1. Noh discloses A system (eg., 0057 Fig. 4, system 1100), comprising:
a host interface (eg., a host interface 210,);
a memory device having a first portion and a second portion (eg., 0063 - volatile memory 300 and that is a marginal space outside of a system region of the volatile memory 300. In an embodiment, the backup zone 100a ),
wherein the first portion is separate from the second portion, and wherein the first portion has a first mapping table and the second portion has a second mapping table that is separate from the first mapping table, such that a condition of the first portion does not affect performance of the second portion (eg., [0085] Fig. 7 - Furthermore, the backup zone 100a may include a first region (Index 0, Index 1) onto which data written in the random access zone 300b is backed up in a one-to-one way and a second region (Index 2) onto which the latest data updated in the random access zone 300b is backed up when power is turned off or interrupted. Each of the first region and the second region may be matched with each virtual backup index. One or more backup indices may be assigned to each backup zone. For example, two backup indices, such as Index 0 and Index 1, may be assigned to the first region, and one backup index, such as Index 2, may be assigned to the second region.); and
a controller coupled to the host interface and the memory device, wherein the controller is configured to:
program data received via the host interface to the first portion of the memory device using the first mapping table (eg., [0074] The controller 200 may identify a zone index matched with the start logical address of an operation based on the zone mapping table 600, and may identify whether the zone index is the random access zone 300b or the sequential zone 100b. ; [0076] The controller 200 may differently apply a process of identifying a physical address when a write command or read command for the random access zone 300b is received because the random access zone 300b corresponds to a volatile memory and the sequential zone 100b corresponds to a non-volatile memory.) ;
Noh does not disclose, but Kim discloses
program, using the second mapping table, data received via the host interface to the second portion of the memory device instead of to the first portion of the memory device;
perform wear leveling operations on the first portion of the memory device using the first mapping table; and perform wear leveling operations on the second portion of the memory device using the second mapping table such that the wear leveling operations performed on the first portion of the memory device are separate from the wear leveling operations performed on the second portion of the memory device (eg., 0055 - wear-leveling module 135_3 may manage wear levels of the first area 141 and the second area 143 of FIG. 2. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, providing the benefit of managing a storage area of a data storage device (see Kim, 0003).
Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
Video (eg., [0025] FIG. 3 is a flowchart of describing a method of recording data from an autonomous driving vehicle to a black box data recorder,… video… raw vehicle sensor data is placed into the first cyclic buffer 306, 0025 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claim 2. Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
wherein the system further includes a buffer configured to store the video data received via the host interface before the video data is programmed. (eg., [0025] FIG. 3 is a flowchart of describing a method of recording data from an autonomous driving vehicle to a black box data recorder,… video… raw vehicle sensor data is placed into the first cyclic buffer 306, ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claim 3. Noh does not disclose, but Kim discloses
wherein: the first portion of the memory device comprises a number of blocks of memory cells configured to store more than one bit per memory cell; and the second portion of the memory device comprises a number of blocks of memory cells configured to store one bit per memory cell. (eg., 0041 - each of the memory cells belonging to the first area 141 may store one-bit data, and each of the memory cells belonging to the second area 143 may store two-bit data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, providing the benefit of managing a storage area of a data storage device (see Kim, 0003).
Claim 4. Noh discloses
wherein the data is programmed to the second portion of the memory device in response to a trigger event (eg., [0085] Fig. 7 - Furthermore, the backup zone 100a may include a first region (Index 0, Index 1) onto which data written in the random access zone 300b is backed up in a one-to-one way and a second region (Index 2) onto which the latest data updated in the random access zone 300b is backed up when power is turned off or interrupted. Each of the first region and the second region may be matched with each virtual backup index. One or more backup indices may be assigned to each backup zone. For example, two backup indices, such as Index 0 and Index 1, may be assigned to the first region, and one backup index, such as Index 2, may be assigned to the second region.).
Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
Video (eg., [0025] FIG. 3 is a flowchart of describing a method of recording data from an autonomous driving vehicle to a black box data recorder,… video… raw vehicle sensor data is placed into the first cyclic buffer 306, ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claim 5. Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
wherein the controller includes trigger circuitry configured to receive sensor information in association with a particular event occurring and determine whether a trigger event has occurred (eg., 0008, 0030 - an improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claim 6. Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
wherein it is determined that a trigger event has occurred when the received sensor information is equal to or above a threshold value (eg., 0030 - trigger a signal from one or more inertia sensors, or other types sensors detecting a measurement above a preset threshold.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claim 7. Noh discloses A method (eg., 0057 Fig. 4, system 1100), comprising:
using a first mapping table included in the first portion of the memory device; programming, using a second mapping table included in a second portion of the memory device that is separate from the first portion of the memory device, the video data in the buffer to the second portion of the memory device instead of to the first portion of the memory device, wherein the second mapping table is separate from the first mapping table, such that a condition of the first portion does not affect performance of the second portion; (eg., [0085] Fig. 7 - Furthermore, the backup zone 100a may include a first region (Index 0, Index 1) onto which data written in the random access zone 300b is backed up in a one-to-one way and a second region (Index 2) onto which the latest data updated in the random access zone 300b is backed up when power is turned off or interrupted. Each of the first region and the second region may be matched with each virtual backup index. One or more backup indices may be assigned to each backup zone. For example, two backup indices, such as Index 0 and Index 1, may be assigned to the first region, and one backup index, such as Index 2, may be assigned to the second region.)( [0074] The controller 200 may identify a zone index matched with the start logical address of an operation based on the zone mapping table 600, and may identify whether the zone index is the random access zone 300b or the sequential zone 100b. ; [0076] The controller 200 may differently apply a process of identifying a physical address when a write command or read command for the random access zone 300b is received because the random access zone 300b corresponds to a volatile memory and the sequential zone 100b corresponds to a non-volatile memory.) ;
Noh does not disclose, but Kim discloses
performing wear leveling operations on the first portion of the memory device using the first mapping table; and performing wear leveling operations on the second portion of the memory device using the second mapping table such that the wear leveling operations performed on the first portion of the memory device are separate from the wear leveling operations performed on the second portion of the memory device (eg., 0055 - wear-leveling module 135_3 may manage wear levels of the first area 141 and the second area 143 of FIG. 2. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, providing the benefit of managing a storage area of a data storage device (see Kim, 0003).
Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
storing video data received from a host in a buffer; Video; programming the video data stored in the buffer to a first portion of a memory device (eg., [0025] FIG. 3 recording data from an autonomous driving vehicle to a black box data recorder,… video… raw vehicle sensor data is placed into the first cyclic buffer 306, 0025 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claim 12. Noh discloses wherein the buffer is a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) buffer (eg., [0048] The controller 200 may control data to be written to or read from the non-volatile memory 100 or the volatile memory 300 in response to a write command or read command transmitted by a host apparatus 20 (refer to FIG. 4). ).
Claim 13. Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
wherein the video data programmed to the second portion of the memory device comprises video data associated with a trigger event (e.g., In the case of an accident, collision, or near collision involving the vehicle, there may be a benefit from reviewing the sensor data recorded just prior to and/or during the accident to assist in potentially determining the cause of the accident, and/or whether there may have been a vehicle failure., 0002, accident.. loss of power.. NVM, 0019; slc, mlc, 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claim 14. Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
wherein the method includes operating the memory device to provide storage for a black box application for a vehicle (eg., 0008 - an improved black box data recorder for use with autonomous driving vehicles (AVD). (e.g., In the case of an accident, collision, or near collision involving the vehicle, there may be a benefit from reviewing the sensor data recorded just prior to and/or during the accident to assist in potentially determining the cause of the accident, and/or whether there may have been a vehicle failure., 0002, accident.. loss of power.. NVM, 0019; slc, mlc, 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claim 15. Noh discloses A non-transitory machine readable medium storing instructions executable to (eg., 0057 Fig. 4, system 1100), comprising:
using a first mapping table included in the first portion of the memory device; programming, using a second mapping table included in a second portion of the memory device that is separate from the first portion of the memory device, instead of to the first portion of the memory device, wherein the video data is programmed to the second portion of the memory device using a second mapping table included in the second portion of the memory device that is separate from the first mapping table, such that a condition of the first portion of the memory device does not affect performance of the second portion of the memory device (eg., [0085] Fig. 7 - Furthermore, the backup zone 100a may include a first region (Index 0, Index 1) onto which data written in the random access zone 300b is backed up in a one-to-one way and a second region (Index 2) onto which the latest data updated in the random access zone 300b is backed up when power is turned off or interrupted. Each of the first region and the second region may be matched with each virtual backup index. One or more backup indices may be assigned to each backup zone. For example, two backup indices, such as Index 0 and Index 1, may be assigned to the first region, and one backup index, such as Index 2, may be assigned to the second region.)( [0074] The controller 200 may identify a zone index matched with the start logical address of an operation based on the zone mapping table 600, and may identify whether the zone index is the random access zone 300b or the sequential zone 100b. ; [0076] The controller 200 may differently apply a process of identifying a physical address when a write command or read command for the random access zone 300b is received because the random access zone 300b corresponds to a volatile memory and the sequential zone 100b corresponds to a non-volatile memory.) ;
Noh does not disclose, but Kim discloses
perform wear leveling operations on the first portion of the memory device using the first mapping table; andperform wear leveling operations on the second portion of the memory device using the second mapping table such that the wear leveling operations performed on the first portion of the memory device are separate from the wear leveling operations performed on the second portion of the memory device (eg., 0055 - wear-leveling module 135_3 may manage wear levels of the first area 141 and the second area 143 of FIG. 2. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, providing the benefit of managing a storage area of a data storage device (see Kim, 0003).
Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
storing video data received from a host in a buffer; Video; program data received from a host to a first portion of a memory device; programming the data stored in the buffer (eg., 0025 - This data is generated upon start-up 304. The raw vehicle sensor data is placed into the first cyclic buffer 306. The first cyclic buffer may receive sensor data directly from the sensors.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claim 18. Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
wherein the video data programmed to the second portion of the memory device includes urgent video data associated with a trigger event. (eg., [0023] The event that results in a signal sent to the Black Box via the controller 134, may include a collision or near collision involving the ADV as detected by an inertia sensor, sudden activation of the Braking system, failure of the engine or other components within the ADV, such as G-sensors (acceleration) activations, Automatic Emergency Breaking activation, a signal from the Advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) or autonomous computer that indicates an accident/collision or near collision.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claim 19. Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
wherein the video data received from the host comprises data from a camera associated with a vehicle (eg., 0025 Fig. 3 - sensors may include GPS data, video or other cameras,). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claim 20. Noh in view of Kim does not disclose, but Golov discloses
wherein the video data is programmed to the second portion of the memory device in response to receiving a signal that a trigger event has occurred, and wherein the trigger event comprises a vehicle accident (eg., 0019 - if the accident is more involved and there is a power disruption to the first cyclic buffer 206, the content of 206 may be lost due to the loss of power and unable to be flushed. However, even in the event of a power loss, the compressed data stored in second cyclic buffer 208 (comprising of NVM) would still be retained and accessible via the second cyclic buffer 208 (e.g., in the case of a power interruption) or accessible via the storage NVM 214, provide there was no power interruption and the data was flushed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, providing the benefit of improved solution for recording vehicle sensor data generated immediately prior to and possibly during an event (e.g., collision or near collision involving the respective vehicle or vehicle nearby), while also providing a solution for recording the vehicle sensor data in the event of a power loss (see Golov, 0008).
Claims 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (US 20210055864 A1) and in view of Kim (US 20130346676 A1) and further in view of Golov (US 20190287319 A1) and Gunda (US 20210064280 A1)
Claim 8. Noh in view of Kim and Golov does not disclose, but Gunda discloses
wherein the method includes erasing the second portion of the memory device (eg., 0038 - a subset of the video frames in a partition of the memory separate from the portion of the memory. For instance, the controller 123 may allocate the partition 121 to be separate from the locations of the plurality of video frames 119 and L2P mapping table 120, as illustrated, e.g., in FIG. 1. If one or more of the plurality of video frames 119 needs to be erased or overwritten (e.g. the NVM 110 becomes full, the footage becomes outdated, etc.), the controller 123 may further be configured to erase one or more logical addresses (and lengths) for the one or more video frames in the subset of video frames 302. For example, the controller 123 may remove or overwrite the entries in the logical address table 305 corresponding to any logical addresses removed or overwritten in the L2P mapping table 205.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, with Gunda, providing the benefit of providing a separate partition for storing the logical addresses for the subset of video frames, the host may continue to read from and write video frames to the remaining memory of the storage device in usual operation, without affecting the logical addresses in the partition (see Gunda, 0019).
Claim 16. Noh in view of Kim and Golov does not disclose, but Gunda discloses
wherein the second portion of the memory device has no data stored therein prior to the video data being programmed thereto (e.g., in FIG. 1. If one or more of the plurality of video frames 119 needs to be erased or overwritten (e.g. the NVM 110 becomes full, the footage becomes outdated, etc.), the controller 123 may further be configured to erase one or more logical addresses (and lengths) for the one or more video frames in the subset of video frames 302.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, with Gunda, providing the benefit of providing a separate partition for storing the logical addresses for the subset of video frames, the host may continue to read from and write video frames to the remaining memory of the storage device in usual operation, without affecting the logical addresses in the partition (see Gunda, 0019).
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (US 20210055864 A1) and in view of Kim (US 20130346676 A1) and further in view of Golov (US 20190287319 A1) and Wakchaure (US 9570159 B1)
Claim 17. Noh in view of Kim and Golov does not disclose, but Wakchaure disclose
wherein the instructions are executable to:program the video data received from the host to the first portion of the memory device by sending a first command to the memory device; andprogram the video data received from the host to the second portion of the memory device by sending a second command to the memory device. (e.g., TLC, SCL… the second memory block 133 is not used to store information during normal operation of the SSD 110 but, instead, is utilized upon detection of the power loss event. Col 8:30-40),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory device with mapping tables in respective portions as disclosed by Noh, with Kim, with Golov, with Wakchaure, providing the benefit of reduce an amount of time and/or energy used for completion of existing write instructions (see Wakchaure, col 3:1-5) to preserve data in flash memories of solid state drives during power loss events (col 1:7-10).
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135