Detailed Action
This office Action is in response to an application filed on 12/18/2024 is a CON of 17/518,923 11/04/2021 PAT 12212743, which is a CON of PCT/CN2020/088389 04/30/2020, which has PRO 62/843,431 05/04/2019, in which claims 1-20 are pending and are being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
This information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2024, 11/20/2025, and 12/31/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 9, and similar dependent claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Conflicting Patent PAT US 12,212,743 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is anticipated by the Conflicting Patent and is covered by the Patent since the Patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, below is a list of limitations that perform the same function, however, different terminology may be used in both sets to describe the limitations, as follows, Claim 1 is used as an example to analyze the common subject matter:
Conflicting Patent No. US 12,212,743 B2
Instant Application:-18/985,922
1. A method, comprising: obtaining a bitstream, wherein at least one bit in the bitstream represents a syntax element for a current block, wherein the at least one bit comprises two bits, wherein the syntax element specifies a clipping index of a clipping value for an adaptive loop filter (ALF), and wherein the syntax element is coded using a fixed length code; parsing the bitstream to obtain a value of the syntax element for the current block, wherein the value of the syntax element for the current block comprises one of four clipping values, and wherein the one of four clipping values is a numeric value that is used to determine a clipping range for adaptive loop filtering; and applying, based on the value, the adaptive loop filtering on the current block.
1. A method, comprising: obtaining a bitstream, wherein at least one bit in the bitstream represents a syntax element, and wherein the syntax element is an adaptive loop filter (ALF) coefficient parameter; parsing the bitstream to obtain a value of the syntax element; determining, based on the ALF coefficient parameter, an ALF coefficient; and applying, based on the ALF coefficient, adaptive loop filtering.
As demonstrated, the claim of US patent US 12,212,743 B2 anticipate the features of the claim of instant application 18/985,922. Similar rejections can be presented for US 12,069,284 B2, US 12,058,378 B2, US 11,889,030 B2, US 11,870,986 B2, US 12,301,800 B2, and US 11,368,696 B2.
A nonstatutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope or filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Examiner’s Note
Claims 1-4 refer to "A method”, Claims 5-8 refer to "A method”, and Claims 9-20 refer to "A non-transitory storage medium”. Claims 1-8 are similarly rejected in light of rejection of claims 9-20, any obvious combination of the rejection of claims 9-20, or the differences are obvious to the ordinary skill in the art. It is well known in the art that encoding and decoding are reverse processes of video coding method/system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 20200053358 B1), hereinafter Moon in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 20190297320 A1), hereinafter Yamamoto,.
Regarding claim 9, Moon discloses a non-transitory storage medium, comprising (Abstract, [0281]): an encoded bitstream for a video signal stored therein (Fig. 2), wherein the encoded bitstream comprises a syntax element ([0255]), and wherein adaptive loop filtering is applied based on the ALF coefficient ([0006], [0267]-[0269]).
Moon discloses all the elements of claim 1 but Jahid does not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section wherein the syntax element is an adaptive loop filter (ALF) coefficient parameter, wherein the ALF coefficient parameter determines an ALF coefficient.
However, Yamamoto from the same or similar endeavor teaches wherein the syntax element is an adaptive loop filter (ALF) coefficient parameter, wherein the ALF coefficient parameter determines an ALF coefficient ([0073], [0120]-[0123]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon to incorporate the teachings of Yamamoto to achieve high coding efficiency (Yamamoto, [0014]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Regarding claim 10, Moon in view of Yamamoto discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 9, wherein the syntax element is configured to be applied to a set of blocks (Moon, [0281], [0006], [0267]-[0269], Yamamoto, [0065], [0073], [0120]-[0123], [0259]).
Regarding claim 11, Moon in view of Yamamoto discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 9, wherein the syntax element is at a slice level (Moon, [0281], [0006], [0267]-[0269], Yamamoto, [0065], [0073], [0120]-[0123], [0293]).
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Yamamoto further in view of Yin et al. (US 20100118940 A1), hereinafter Yin,.
Regarding claim 12, Moon in view of Yamamoto all the elements of claim 12 but they do not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section the non-transitory storage medium of claim 9, wherein the encoded bitstream is configured to be parsed to obtain a value of the syntax element, and wherein the value is an unsigned integer.
However, Yin from the same or similar endeavor teaches wherein the encoded bitstream is configured to be parsed to obtain a value of the syntax element, and wherein the value is an unsigned integer ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon in view of Yamamoto to incorporate the teachings of Yin to improve coding cost (Yin, [0003]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Regarding claim 13, Moon in view of Yamamoto further in view of Yin discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 9, wherein the video signal corresponds to broadcast digital television (TV) (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 14, Moon in view of Yamamoto further in view of Yin discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 9, wherein the video signal corresponds to video transmission over Internet (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 15, Moon in view of Yamamoto further in view of Yin discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 9, wherein the video signal corresponds to video transmission over mobile networks (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 16, Moon in view of Yamamoto further in view of Yin discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 9, wherein the video signal corresponds to a real-time conversational application (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 17, Moon in view of Yamamoto further in view of Yin discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 9, wherein the video signal corresponds to a video chat (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 18, Moon in view of Yamamoto further in view of Yin discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 9, wherein the video signal corresponds to video conferencing.
Regarding claim 19, Moon in view of Yamamoto further in view of Yin discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 9, wherein the video signal corresponds to a digital versatile disc (DVD) (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 20, Moon in view of Yamamoto further in view of Yin discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 9, wherein the video signal corresponds to a BLU-RAY disc (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 1-8, See Examiner’s Note.
Conclusion
/Mohammad J Rahman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487