DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sloane (US 2023/00006691).
Regarding claim 1, Sloane discloses data compression architecture in figure 2 that teaches: compressing, via a processing circuit (114, figure 1), the data at a compression rate (201) and storing the data into a memory (116, figure 1) ; calculating (202), via the processing circuit, a compression rate adjustment parameter, based on each time duration for reading or writing the memory in a first specific period of time and a time threshold; and adjusting (203 and 204), via the processing circuit, the compression rate based on the compression rate adjustment parameter (see para. 0041, figure 2 and its descriptions).
Regarding claim 9, Sloan further teaches in figure 1 that teaches: wherein the memory is shared by a plurality of applications implemented via the processing circuit (see figure 1 and descriptions).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is similar to claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected as well as claim 1, such as: Sloane discloses data compression architecture in figure 2 that teaches: compressing, via a processing circuit (114, figure 1), the data at a compression rate (201) and storing the data into a memory (116, figure 1) ; calculating (202), via the processing circuit, a compression rate adjustment parameter, based on each time duration for reading or writing the memory in a first specific period of time and a time threshold; and adjusting (203 and 204), via the processing circuit, the compression rate based on the compression rate adjustment parameter (see para. 0041, figure 2 and its descriptions).
Regarding claim 19, Sloan further teaches in figure 1 that teaches: wherein the memory is shared by a plurality of applications implemented via the processing circuit (see figure 1 and descriptions).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the compression rate adjustment parameter is equal to a total number of times that the time duration for reading or writing the memory is higher than the time threshold in the first specific period of time divided by a total number of times that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time.
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the operation of adjusting the compression rate based on the compression rate adjustment parameter comprises: increasing the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than a first threshold; keeping the compression rate unchanged when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than a second threshold and lower than the first threshold; and decreasing the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is lower than the second threshold.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the operation of calculating the compression rate adjustment parameter comprises: calculating a time margin for each time that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time, wherein the time margin is equal to the time threshold minus the time duration for reading or writing the memory; wherein the compression rate adjustment parameter is equal to the sum of all of the time margins of each time that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the operation of adjusting the compression rate based on the compression rate adjustment parameter comprises: increasing the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is lower than a first threshold; keeping the compression rate unchanged when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than the first threshold and lower than a second threshold; and decreasing the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than the second threshold.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the operation of adjusting the compression rate based on the compression rate adjustment parameter comprises: increasing the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is negative; keeping the compression rate unchanged when the compression rate adjustment parameter is equal to zero; and decreasing the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is positive.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the operation of calculating the compression rate adjustment parameter comprises: calculating a time margin for each time that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time, wherein the time margin is equal to the time threshold minus the time duration for reading or writing the memory; calculating a total time margin, wherein the total time margin is equal to the sum of all of the time margins of each time that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time; and calculating a normalization parameter, wherein the normalization parameter is equal to a total number of times that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time multiplied by the time threshold; wherein the compression rate adjustment parameter is equal to the total time margin divided by the normalization parameter.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the operation of adjusting the compression rate based on the compression rate adjustment parameter comprises: increasing the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is lower than a first threshold; keeping the compression rate unchanged when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than the first threshold and lower than a second threshold; and decreasing the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than the second threshold.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: compressing, via the processing circuit, the data at the compression rate which has been adjusted and storing the data into the memory, in a second specific period of time preceding the first specific period of time.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the compression rate adjustment parameter is equal to a total number of times that the time duration for reading or writing the memory is higher than the time threshold in the first specific period of time divided by a total number of times that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: increase the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than a first threshold; keep the compression rate unchanged when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than a second threshold and lower than the first threshold; and decrease the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is lower than the second threshold.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: calculate a time margin for each time that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time, wherein the time margin is equal to the time threshold minus the time duration for reading or writing the memory; wherein the compression rate adjustment parameter is equal to the sum of each of the time margins of each time that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: increase the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is lower than a first threshold; keep the compression rate unchanged when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than the first threshold and lower than a second threshold; and decrease the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than the second threshold.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: increase the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is negative; keep the compression rate unchanged when the compression rate adjustment parameter is equal to zero; and decrease the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is positive.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: calculate a time margin for each time that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time, wherein the time margin is equal to the time threshold minus the time duration for reading or writing the memory; calculate a total time margin, wherein the total time margin is equal to the sum of each of the time margins of each time that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time; and calculate a normalization parameter, wherein the normalization parameter is equal to a total number of times that the memory is read or written in the first specific period of time multiplied by the time threshold; wherein the compression rate adjustment parameter is equal to the total time margin divided by the normalization parameter.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: increase the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is lower than a first threshold; keep the compression rate unchanged when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than the first threshold and lower than a second threshold; and decrease the compression rate when the compression rate adjustment parameter is higher than the second threshold.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to compress the data at the compression rate which has been adjusted and storing the data into the memory, in a second specific period of time preceding the first specific period of time.
Cited References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited references are related to instant application subject matters.
Conclusion
/LAM T MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845