DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are:
The applicant has not clearly defined how the claimed “sample chamber” is structurally connected with respect to the other claimed components.
Suggested claim limitation:
(From claim 4) “…wherein the circulation chamber at least partially surrounds the sample pump, and wherein the circulation chamber and the sample pump are in direct physical contact.”
Claims 2, 4-7 & 9-10 are rejected due to their dependency on rejected claim 1.
Claims 3 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3 the limitation “….the sample pump is substantially cylindrical.… “, is ambiguous and overly broad. With emphasis on the term “substantially cylindrical”, this is a relative phrase; with respect to the structure and / or description of the claimed invention, the applicant has not clearly established (i.e dimensional characteristics etc) how “substantially” is defined. Therefore, the claim is rendered indefinite.
Suggested claim limitation:
--“…the sample pump is cylindrical.… “--
Regarding claim 8 the recitation “…an outlet in communication with the source such that undesirable samples can be returned to the source…”, is ambiguous and overly broad. With emphasis on the phrase “can be”, this is an indefinite and / or relative phrase. It is not clear as to whether all undesirable samples are returned or predetermined and raises the question as to whether the claimed valve undesirable samples are returned or not?
Suggested claim limitation:
--“…an outlet in communication with the source such that undesirable samples are returnable to the source…”,--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bombulie et al. (US 8,800,394 B2).
Regarding claim 11 Bombulie et al teaches a body (Figs. 1-4 & 9) defined by a first end 18 and a second end 40; a chamber 66 positioned proximate to the first end 18; a piston 46 movably positioned within the chamber 66; a circulation chamber 32 in communication with the source positioned proximate to the second end and surrounding at least a portion of the pump (col. 3 lines 20-39) ; a sample inlet 70 in communication with the circulation chamber 32; and a collection chamber 66 90 in communication with the sample inlet 70, wherein actuation of the piston 46 causes the pump to direct a small-volume sample of the hydrocarbon fluid from the circulation chamber 32 to the collection chamber 66 90 via the sample inlet 70.
Regarding claim 12 Bombulie et al teaches the circulation chamber 32 is in thermal contact with at least a portion of the pump (col. 3 lines 20-39) (Figs. 1-4 & 9).
Regarding claim 13 Bombulie et al teaches refrigerated hydrocarbon fluid within the circulation chamber cools the pump (Interpreted as a pre-cool cycle)(col. 3 lines 42-65, Col. 4 lines 65-col. 5 lines 1-5)(Col. 6 lines 14-27).
Regarding claim 14, Bombulie et al teaches the collection chamber66 90 is in communication with a sample outlet 62.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bombulie et al. (US 8,800,394 B2) in view of Pierre (EP 4445113 B1).
Regarding claim 19, Bombulie et al. teaches all the basic features of the claimed invention. Bombulie et al. however does not teach a volume adjustment nut configured to facilitate adjustment of a volume of the collection chamber. Pierre teaches a variable pressure sampling container comprising a volume adjustment nut configured to facilitate adjustment of a volume of the collection chamber. [Abstract][0037][0042].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of sampling containers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sampling chamber as taught by Bombulie et al. with a variable pressure sampling container comprising a volume adjustment nut configured to facilitate adjustment of a volume of the collection chamber as taught by Pierre for the purpose of maximizing volume usage when processing the sampling of fluids.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Mueller US 12,055,465 B2 discloses, a cryogenic sample handle assembly configured to couple with a cryogenic storage vessel containing a cryogenic fluid; a transfer and vaporization tubular loop in fluid communication with the cryogenic sample handle assembly; and a sample vessel removably connected to and in fluid communication with the transfer and vaporization tubular loop and configured to accommodate a gaseous sample having a pressure lower than about 200 kPa. (Summary of Invention)
Thompson et al. (US 2022/0018737 A1) discloses, A cryogenic liquid sampling system including a chamber having affixed therein a sample pump to proportionally pull a cryogenic liquid sample from an external source to a constant pressure piston accumulator and an enclosure. The enclosure includes a supply port to receive an input stream of a gas, an input port connected to the chamber via a vacuum line, a sample pump port connected to the chamber via a pump line and configured to feed therethrough gas received at the supply port to the sample pump, a vacuum device connected to the input port and configured to generate a vacuum within the chamber by pulling air from the vacuum line, and processing circuitry to control the vacuum device and the sample pump to perform transfer of a cryogenic liquid sample from the external source to an external device. (Abstract)
Meneses et al. (US 7,337,616 B2) discloses a system for sampling cryogenic liquids, and an air separation unit provided with at least one such system. The cryogenic liquid is introduced into a vaporizer, through heat exchange with the compressed air. The liquid passes through the vaporizer generally downwards. The walls of the vaporizer that are intended to come into contact with the cryogenic liquid are maintained at a temperature above the sublimation temperature or the boiling point of the least volatile impurity contained in this liquid. Downstream of the vaporizer, a gaseous phase coming from the vaporization of the cryogenic liquid is withdrawn and at least some of the gaseous phase is sent to an analyzer. (Abstract)
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15 the cited pertinent art of record does not anticipate nor render obvious the sample outlet is in communication with a sample chamber configured to retain the hydrocarbon fluid sampled by the pump, the sample chamber supplied with a back pressure to maintain the sampled hydrocarbon fluid in its liquid phase.
Regarding claim 16 the cited pertinent art of record does not anticipate nor render obvious a sample inlet and a sample outlet each having a check valve configured to prevent a reverse flow of hydrocarbon fluid.
Regarding claim 17 the cited pertinent art of record does not anticipate nor render obvious a circulation chamber that includes at least one inlet for receiving hydrocarbon fluid from the source and at least one outlet for returning hydrocarbon fluid to the source.
Claim 18 is objected to due to its dependency on claim 17.
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The cited pertinent art of record does not anticipate nor render obvious
A cryogenic sampling system comprising a circulation chamber is in thermal contact with a sample pump such that a refrigerated hydrocarbon fluid within the circulation chamber cools the sample pump, and wherein a collection chamber is supplied with a back pressure to prevent vaporization of the sampled product.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12055465 B2 Low pressure cryogenic fluid sampling system
US 11988582 B2 Cryogenic liquid composite sampling systems and methods
US 20220018737 A1 CRYOGENIC LIQUID COMPOSITE SAMPLING SYSTEMS AND METHODS
WO 2019132657 A1 SAMPLING DEVICE AND METHOD FOR SAMPLING A CRYOGENIC FLUID FOR MEASURING AT LEAST ONE PROPERTY
US 7337616 B2 System for sampling cryogenic liquids, and air separation unit provided with at least one such system
/ANDRE J ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855