DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 2 discusses a “preset threshold” with respect to a weight sensor being used to provide audio or visual indicator feedback to a user. This is not explicitly discussed in the specification. The specification discusses using the vehicle weight in such determinations (fully loaded on platform vs not fully loaded) but not a preset threshold, as in a value that is not specifically associated with a given/particular vehicle.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,180,739. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued claims include the same limitations but merely vary in scope.
Claims 1, 3-17 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,781,335. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued claims include the same limitations but merely vary in scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 202194412, hereafter referred to as CN412.
Regarding claim 9 CN412 discloses a multi-level parking apparatus, comprising: a plurality of support elements (6), each including a top end and a bottom end; a plurality of support arms (8), each including a first end and a second end; at least one base (9); and a platform (see figure 1); wherein the bottom end of each of the plurality of support elements is attached to the at least one base (see figure 1); wherein the top end of each of the plurality of support elements is attached to the first end of one of the plurality of support arms (see figure 1 and element 7); wherein the second end of each of the plurality of support arms is attached to the platform (see figure 1); wherein the multi-level parking apparatus is operable to move between a stacked configuration and an unstacked configuration; and wherein, in moving from the stacked configuration to the unstacked configuration, the plurality of support arms rotate about the top ends of the plurality of support elements (see figure 1 and 7, 7’).
Regarding claim 13 CN412 discloses the platform remains substantially parallel with a ground surface when the multi-level parking apparatus moves between the stacked configuration and the unstacked configuration (see figure 1 and 7, 7’).
Regarding claim 14 CN412 discloses the at least one base is fixedly attached to a ground surface (page 2 of translation provided by Applicant).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN412 in view of US 5,129,776 to Peng.
Regarding claim CN412 discloses all the limitations of the claim except the multi-level parking apparatus is in network communication with at least one remote device, and wherein the multi-level parking apparatus is operable to receive a command from the at least one remote device.
Peng teaches a system including the multi-level parking apparatus is in network communication with at least one remote device (col. 4 lines 5-10), and wherein the multi-level parking apparatus is operable to receive a command from the at least one remote device (col.4 lines 5-10) in order to control the apparatus and secure payment from the user (col. 4 lines 5-10 and col. 5 lines 10-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claim to have modified CN412 to include the multi-level parking apparatus is in network communication with at least one remote device, and wherein the multi-level parking apparatus is operable to receive a command from the at least one remote device, as taught by Peng, in order to control the apparatus and secure payment from the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
At least claims 1 and 15, as well as those claims that depend therefrom would be allowable over the prior art if the double patenting (and any 112) rejections are overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The configuration required by both claims 1 and 15 with the support arms parallel to the support elements and extending outwardly therefrom differentiates the claims from the prior art when considered in combination with the other limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652