DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old appears to be illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the beam splitter is disposed such that an incident angle >a reflection angle upon the light representing the design being made incident thereon.” However the angles include no reference or necessary definition for clarity. For examination, and in accordance with originally presented para. [0028], the limitation is considered to be “wherein the beam splitter is disposed such that an incident angle >a reflection angle, each angle with respect to an axis passing through a center of curvature of the beam splitter, upon the light representing the design being made incident thereon.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al. (US 2018/0284470), of record in IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a display device (Fig. 13) capable of displaying an aerial image (I) by using retroreflection (paras. [0164-0167]), the display device comprising:
a generator (D1) configured to generate light (L1) representing a design of the aerial image as an original image;
a retroreflective member (2A) configured to retroreflect the light (L2) representing the design; and
a beam splitter (4) including a curved surface (Fig. 13), wherein
the beam splitter is disposed such that a concave side thereof faces the retroreflective member (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto discloses wherein the beam splitter (4) is disposed such that an incident angle >a reflection angle upon the light representing the design being made incident thereon (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto discloses wherein the retroreflective member (2A) has a principal surface thereof disposed obliquely with respect to an axis passing through a center of curvature of the beam splitter (4) (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto discloses wherein the generator includes a display light source (D1) for emitting a video image as the design (para. [0164]).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto discloses wherein an optical axis (J1) of the display light source (D1) is disposed obliquely with respect to an axis passing through a center of curvature of the beam splitter (4) (Fig. 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2018/0284470), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamada et al. (US 2024/0295749), of record in IDS.
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose wherein the retroreflective member includes an opening for generating the design, the generator includes a light source for illuminating the retroreflective member, and the light source illuminates the retroreflective member to generate light representing the design.
However, Yamada discloses a display device (Figs. 1-3, 11-21), wherein
the retroreflective member (5) includes an opening (5a) for generating the design (I),
the generator includes a light source (4b) for illuminating the retroreflective member, and
the light source (4b) illuminates the retroreflective member (5) to generate light representing the design (I) (para. [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the retroreflective member includes an opening for generating the design, the generator includes a light source for illuminating the retroreflective member, and the light source illuminates the retroreflective member to generate light representing the design, as in Yamada, into the display device of Yamamoto to effectively produce a geometric image.
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose wherein the generator further includes a diffuser plate and a polarizing plate between the light source and the retroreflective member, the light representing the design is polarized light, and the beam splitter is a polarized-beam splitter.
However, Yamada discloses wherein
the generator further includes a diffuser plate (5f, Fig. 20) and a polarizing plate (11, Figs. 13-18) between the light source (4b) and the retroreflective member (5),
the light (L3) representing the design (I) is polarized light (para. [0062]), and
the beam splitter is a polarized-beam splitter (13) (para. [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the generator further includes a diffuser plate and a polarizing plate between the light source and the retroreflective member, the light representing the design is polarized light, and the beam splitter is a polarized-beam splitter, as in Yamada, into the display device of Yamamoto to improve contrast.
Regarding claim 5, Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose in the embodiment of Fig. 13 wherein the retroreflective member is disposed such that a principal surface thereof is orthogonal to an axis passing through a center of curvature of the beam splitter.
However, Yamada discloses wherein the retroreflective member (5) is disposed such that a principal surface thereof is orthogonal to an axis (Z) passing through a center of the beam splitter (13) (Figs. 13-18).
Yamamoto further discloses a center of curvature of the beam splitter (4, Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the retroreflective member is disposed such that a principal surface thereof is orthogonal to an axis passing through a center of curvature of the beam splitter, as in Yamada, into the display device of Yamamoto to produce a flat, thin display.
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871