DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manne (US 20050028819 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Manne teaches a belt comprising: a band having a plurality of scent reservoirs (Figure 2a belt “22” with scent containers “30”), wherein each of the plurality of scent reservoirs releases a scent when heated (heater mounted near belt for heating the scent to be released, paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 2, Manne teaches wherein each of the plurality of scent reservoirs contains a different scent (belt can have multiple scents, paragraph [0124]).
Regarding claim 3, Manne teaches wherein adjacent scent reservoirs of the plurality of scent reservoirs have different scents (belt can have multiple scents, paragraph [0124]).
Regarding claim 4, Manne teaches wherein each of the plurality of scent reservoirs comprises a scent source material that emits a vapor when heated (releasing scent selectively heats the microcapsules so that the desired scent source is heated a certain portion of the scent molecules are liberated and allowed to diffuse to the olfactory receptors, paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Manne teaches wherein the vapor from the scent source material escapes the scent reservoir upon heating of the scent source material (releasing scent selectively heats the microcapsules so that the desired scent source is heated a certain portion of the scent molecules are liberated and allowed to diffuse to the olfactory receptors, paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Manne teaches wherein the band comprises a continuous band (endless belt rotatably mounted in housing, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 9, Manne teaches wherein the band comprises a plurality of belt sections, each belt section comprising a first attachment at a first end of the belt section and second attachment feature at a second end of the belt section, wherein the first attachment feature of a first belt section is configured to attach to the second attachment feature of a second belt section (belt can be a chain, paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 10, Manne teaches wherein the plurality of scent reservoirs are embedded in the band (belt is pre-formed with encapsulated scent, paragraph [0124]).
Regarding claim 11, Manne teaches one or more identifying markers configured to provide information on one or more scent reservoirs or a position of the belt (sensors are employed to provide feedback as to the location of the scent containers to allow the processor to control the placement and know the location of the scent container, paragraph [0132]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manne in view of Edwards (US 20140377130 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Manne teaches all aspects of the current invention as discussed above except wherein the scent source material, as held in each scent reservoir, is in a mixture of wax. However, Edwards teaches wherein the scent source material, as held in each scent reservoir, is in a mixture of wax (temperature activated scent media may take the form of a wax impregnated with a scent substance, paragraph [0014]).
Manne and Edwards are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the scent release device taught by Manne with the scent source of wax as taught by Edwards because Edwards teaches that wax has a neutral scent and low melting point making is good choice for scent carrying (paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Manne and Edwards teaches wherein the scent source material is held in each scent reservoir at least in part by a semi-permeable material that permits the vapor from the scent source material to escape (scent cartridge bears a volatile scent media is held in wax that is transformed into a liquid to release scent, paragraph [0018], Edwards).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 10-20 of copending Application No. 18/423,755 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/K.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799