Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 6, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-4 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection does not rely on any single reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. EP 3190034 A1, in view of Nakano et al. US 20170267304 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Maeda et al. disclose a windshield device (Maeda et al. 378; Maeda et al. Fig. 20), comprising:
a fixing member (Maeda et al. 394) configured to be fixed to a vehicle body (Maeda et al. 1; Maeda et al. Fig. 1) and having a first guide hole (Maeda et al. 399R) and a second guide hole (Maeda et al. 399L) that are laterally spaced from each other (Maeda et al. Fig. 21; Maeda et al. paragraph 0267);
a shaft (Maeda et al. 388) extending laterally and movably inserted in the first guide hole and the second guide hole (Maeda et al. Fig. 23; Maeda et al. paragraph 0267);
a holding member (Maeda et al. 385) supported on the shaft (Maeda et al. paragraph 0261); and
a screen (Maeda et al. 80) supported by the holding member (Maeda et al. paragraph 0259),
wherein the first guide hole is provided with multiple first lock holes (see annotated Maeda et al. Fig. 23),
the second guide hole is provided with multiple second lock holes at positions laterally corresponding to the first lock holes (see annotated Maeda et al. Fig. 23), and
a first fitting part (Maeda et al. 312R) that can be selectively fitted in one of the first lock holes is fixed to the shaft (Maeda et al. paragraph 0276), and a second fitting part (Maeda et al. 312L) that can be selectively fitted in one of the second lock holes is supported on the shaft to be movable in an axial direction of the shaft within a predetermined range (Maeda et al. Fig. 23; Maeda et al. paragraphs 0278 and 0281).
Maeda et al. do not disclose the first guide hole and the second guide hole each extending in an up-down direction, the shaft being movable in the up-down direction along the first guide hole and the second guide hole.
However, Nakano et al. disclose a first guide hole (Nakano et al. 48b) and a second guide hole (Nakano et al. 48b – note there are right and left elements) each extending in an up-down direction (Nakano et al. paragraph 0025 and 0065; Nakano et al. Fig. 7), and a shaft (Nakano et al. 46) being movable in the up-down direction along the first guide hole and the second guide hole (Nakano et al. Figs. 7 and 12; Nakano et al. paragraph 0090).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the windshield device with the extending guide holes as taught by Nakano et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of adjusting a movable windshield to a desired position given a simplified design configuration (Nakano et al. paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 3, Maeda et al. do not disclose the windshield device according to claim 1, wherein the multiple first lock holes are provided at intervals in an extension direction of the first guide hole, and the multiple second lock holes are provided at intervals in an extension direction of the second guide hole.
However, Nakano et al. disclose wherein multiple first lock holes (Nakano et al. 68; Nakano et al. paragraph 0025) are provided at intervals in an extension direction of a first guide hole (Nakano et al. 48b) (Nakano et al. Fig. 7; Nakano et al. paragraph 0109), and multiple second lock holes (Nakano et al. 68; Nakano et al. paragraph 0025) are provided at intervals in an extension direction of a second guide hole (Nakano et al. 48b) (Nakano et al. Fig. 7; Nakano et al. paragraph 0109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the windshield device of Maeda et al. with the lock holes as taught by Nakano et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of adjusting the height of a movable windshield in a stepwise manner (Nakano et al. paragraph 0115). The design of Nakano et al. ensures that a windscreen is rigidly supported by the lock hole engagements while operability of the device is simplified for a user (Nakano et al. paragraphs 0138 and 0140).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 has been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for wherein in a state in which the first fitting part is fitted in one of the first lock holes and the second fitting part is fitted in one of the second lock holes corresponding to the one of the first lock holes, a fitting margin of the first fitting part with respect to the one of the first lock holes is set to be greater than a total of a fitting margin of the second fitting part with respect to the one of the second lock holes and a play length between the second fitting part and the shaft in a release direction.
Claim 4 is allowed.
Claim 4 has been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for wherein in a state in which the first fitting part is fitted in one of the first lock holes and the second fitting part is fitted in one of the second lock holes corresponding to the one of the first lock holes, a fitting margin of the first fitting part with respect to the one of the first lock holes is set to be greater than a total of a fitting margin of the second fitting part with respect to the one of the second lock holes and a play length between the second fitting part and the shaft in a release direction.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Maeda et al. EP 3190034 A1 disclose a windshield device (Maeda et al. 78) with a fixing member (Maeda et al. 94) and shaft (Maeda et al. 388) that can move in a release direction (Maeda et al. R) with a state in which a first fitting part (Maeda et al. 312R) is fitted in one of multiple first lock holes (see annotated Maeda et al. Fig. 23 above) and a second fitting part (Maeda et al. 312L) is fitted in one of multiple second lock holes corresponding to the one of the first lock holes (see annotated Maeda et al. Fig. 23 above) (Maeda et al. paragraph 0278). However, Maeda et al. do not disclose a fitting margin of the first fitting part with respect to the one of the first lock holes is set to be greater than a total of a fitting margin of the second fitting part with respect to the one of the second lock holes and a play length between the second fitting part and the shaft in a release direction. This would not be modified as Maeda et al. teach a windshield device that may be repositioned by using the translating second fitting part to operate the axial movement of the shaft (Maeda et al. paragraphs 0286).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KTM AG discloses elongated guides holes with locking holes therein.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Anayansi Santiago/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612