DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In accordance with Applicant’s amendment, claims 1-3, 5, and 9 are amended. Claims 1-9 are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the previously presented objections to the specification.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the previously presented rejections under 35 USC 112(b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that “the device regulating the position of the sledge support 13 in Fazzari is not a locking/unlocking device, but simply a worm screw 16 that regulates the position of the sledge support 13” (Remarks, page 8). Examiner respectfully disagrees, and submits that the prior art teaches the limitation insofar as claimed. The claim has not defined what a “single locking/unlocking device” is in terms of structure, nor has the argument explained why a worm screw is not suitable to meet the limitation. Paragraph 34 of Fazzari states, “a single third servo control then drives said sledge support 13 by means of a worm screw 16 and a screw/female screw coupling, in a manner well known per se, for moving the electromagnetic weft yarn stopping device 10, integral with the sledge 13, in a desired position” and paragraph 33 states, “when the diameter of the weft-feeder drum is changed, by adjusting the position of the fixed sensors B, the position of the aforesaid weft yarn stopping device 10 must therefore be changed simultaneously” which implies that the change/movement is only occurring when the diameter of the weft-feeder drum is changed, and otherwise the position is maintained or “locked”. Applicant acknowledges this configuration on pages 8-9 of the Remarks, but states “this configuration is different from the locking/unlocking mechanism as disclosed in the claimed invention” and goes on to describe “the claimed invention discloses screws that are screwed into the mobile guides along an axis that is horizontal to the drum axis and perpendicular to the mobile guides” (Remarks, page 9). However, no screws are ever recited in claim 1, and the particular orientations as described in the arguments are never recited in the claims. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “screws that are screwed into the mobile guides along an axis that is horizontal to the drum axis and perpendicular to the mobile guides” (Remarks, page 9)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues that Fazzari teaches a “constantly braked device, because the friction force exerted by the wedge shaped sliding blocks (14) is always identical, both during processing and during the displacement of the sledge support 13” (Remarks, page 9). However, as described in the arguments above, the claimed “locking/unlocking device” has minimal structure defined, and Fazzari teaches a “locking/unlocking device” insofar as claimed because the servo moves the device to change the position at certain times (i.e., the position is “unlocked”) and does not move it at other times (i.e., the position is “locked”). Examiner maintains that Fazzari reads on the claims as written.
Applicant argues that the Fazzari reference “qualifies as a 35 USC 102(a)(2) prior art reference” and alleges that because the reference and the claimed invention are “commonly owned”, the 35 USC 102 rejection should be “removed” (Remarks, page 10). Examiner acknowledges that the Fazzari reference and the instant application have the same Applicant; however, this is not relevant to the rejection as presented, which was a rejection under 35 USC 102(a)(1), not 35 USC 102(a)(2). Therefore, the exceptions under 35 USC 102(b)(2)(C) (which only applies to “prior art to a claimed invention under subsection (a)(2)”, see 35 USC 102(b)(2)) do not apply to the rejection that was made. Further, the Fazzari reference was published on November 13, 2019, which is more than 4 years before the effective filing date of the instant application (December 27, 2023) which qualifies it as under prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1) (“the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention”), so it also would not qualify for any exception even under 35 USC 102(b)(1) which only makes exceptions if the prior art disclosure is “made 1 year or less before the effective filing date of a claimed invention” (see 35 USC 102(b)(1)). Examiner therefore maintains that Fazzari qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1).
Applicant submits that the dependent claims are allowable based on their dependency from independent claim 1; however, as described in the arguments above and rejections below, claim 1 is not allowable over the prior art. The dependent claims remain rejected or objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fazzari (EP 3567144 A1).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood by Examiner, Fazzari discloses: Weft feeder for weaving looms with thread coil separation, comprising a winding group to wind a weft thread on a drum of the weft feeder (“the weft-feeder with yarn coil separation, of the type in which the separation of the coils subsequently wound on a drum formed by a plurality of fixed sectors B is obtained by driving fingers D, integral with moving sectors C housed within said drum formed by the fixed sectors B” paragraph 15), and an electromagnet unit (electromagnetic weft yarn stopping device 10) to control the movement of a stop pin (pin 11) which prevents the weft thread from being released from said drum (“a moving pin 11 which, by inserting itself in a corresponding hole of said fixed sector B under the action of a spring 12, prevents exit of the weft yarn coils from the weft-feeder drum until it is brought into a retracted position by the action of said electromagnetic drive” paragraph 33), wherein said electromagnet unit is movable in a radial direction with respect to an axis of the weft feeder drum, along guide means provided in the base body of said weft feeder and in said electromagnet unit, respectively, and wherein said guide means comprises a pair of fixed guides (14) and a pair of mobile guides (side walls of sledge 13; as they are part of the sledge, which moves, they are considered mobile guides), the pair of fixed guides and the pair of mobile guides being parallel to said radial direction (each of the guides in the pair of fixed guides and each of the guides in the pair of mobile guides are individually located in a position which can be considered parallel to the radial direction; Examiner notes that the claim has not specified what part of the guides are supposed to be parallel, therefore the claim has been interpreted as referring to the overall component and its general position), the pair of fixed guides being mutually coupled to the pair of mobile guides (“the sledge support 13 is provided with slanting lateral walls which cooperate with a pair of opposed wedge-shaped sliding block 14 having inclined vertical walls matching with the side walls of the sledge 13” paragraph 34; see figure 5), at least one of said fixed guides and a mobile guide coupled therewith having flat contact surfaces inclined with respect to the weft feeder axis (“the sledge support 13 is provided with slanting lateral walls which cooperate with a pair of opposed wedge-shaped sliding block 14 having inclined vertical walls matching with the side walls of the sledge 13” paragraph 34; see figure 5), characterized in that a single locking/unlocking means is also included, having an axis parallel to the drum axis, for stably fixing said electromagnet unit in a predefined position along said guide means, so that upon tightening said single locking/unlocking means said guide means automatically cause centering of the electromagnet unit with respect to the weft feeder axis, and prevent its rotation about the axis of said locking/unlocking means (“a single third servo control then drives said sledge support 13 by means of a worm screw 16 and a screw/female screw coupling, in a manner well known per se, for moving the electromagnetic weft yarn stopping device 10, integral with the sledge 13, in a desired position, overcoming the friction force developed on the sledge support 13 by the wedge-shaped sliding blocks 14 preloaded by the springs 15” paragraph 34), wherein said single locking/unlocking means includes a pawl (13) housed in an undercut recess provided between said pair of fixed guides or in the weft feeder base body (see figure 5), and a tie-rod (16) connected to said pawl (“a single third servo control then drives said sledge support 13 by means of a worm screw 16 and a screw/female screw coupling, in a manner well known per se” paragraph 34; see figure 6).
Annotated part of figure 5 showing the pawl (13) being housed in a recess between the fixed guides
Regarding claim 2, Fazzari discloses: The weft feeder for weaving looms with thread coil separation as in claim 1, wherein said tie-rod is a screw (worm screw 16) engaged with said pawl (female screw part on 13; “a single third servo control then drives said sledge support 13 by means of a worm screw 16 and a screw/female screw coupling, in a manner well known per se” paragraph 34; see figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fazzari as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tholander (US 6164580).
Regarding claim 9, Fazzari is silent as to specific materials for the fixed guides and mobile guides and therefore does not explicitly disclose: The weft feeder for weaving looms with thread coil separation as in claim 1, wherein said pair of fixed guides and said pair of mobile guides are made of self-lubricating material.
However, Tholander teaches the use of self-lubricating material on contacting surfaces of elements in a weaving machine (“at least the contacting surfaces of both joint elements U1’’’, U2’’’ could be made from plastic material, preferably from a self-lubricating plastic material” column 8, lines 13-15).
Tholander teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of weaving machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the contacting surfaces of both the pair of fixed guides and the pair of mobile guides of Fazzari out of a self-lubricating plastic material, as taught by Tholander, in order to “assure extremely low motional resistance” (col. 4, l. 34, Tholander) which would allow the components to move more smoothly and easily. Moreover, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP 2144.07.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Reasons for indicating allowable subject matter were presented in the Office action mailed 4/21/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIANNA T. DUCKWORTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/PATRICK J. LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732