The annotated Fig 3 of this application describes the claimed limitations:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (US 11115036).
Regarding independent claim 1, Zhao discloses an oscillator circuit (FIG 1-7, see FIG 2A), comprising: a temperature and mechanical stress compensated current source (206, 216 compensates in some degrees) configured to provide a first electrical current (I2); a switched capacitor (205) configured to provide a second electrical current (I1); an integrator (220) configured to perform an integration based on a difference of the first electrical current and the second electrical current and to provide an integration signal (Vc) based on the integration; and an oscillator (225) configured to provide an output frequency signal (CLK), wherein the output frequency signal is controlled based on the integration signal (Vc) provided by the integrator (225), and wherein the second electrical current provided by the switched capacitor (205) is controlled in a feedback loop (230, 240) based on the output frequency signal (CLK) of the oscillator (225).
Regarding claim 6|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit further comprising:
a frequency divider(230) configured to provide a switching frequency signal (VDRV) based on the output frequency signal (CLK) provided by the oscillator (225), wherein the switching frequency signal (VDRV) is configured to control the second electrical current (I1) provided by the switched capacitor (205).
Regarding claim 7|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit further comprising:
a reference voltage source (VREF) configured to provide a reference voltage, wherein a first input of the integrator (negative input terminal of 222) is electrically coupled to the temperature and mechanical stress compensated current source (206) and the switched capacitor(205), and wherein a second input of the integrator (positive input terminal of 222) is electrically coupled to the reference voltage source (VREF).
Regarding independent claim 19, Zhao discloses (FIG 1-7) a method for providing a periodic frequency signal, the method comprising: providing a first electrical current (I2) using a temperature and mechanical stress compensated current source (206, 216 compensates in some degrees); providing a second electrical current (I1) using a switched capacitor (205); performing an integration based on a difference of the first electrical current and the second electrical current using an integrator (220), thereby providing an integration signal (Vc) based on the integration; controlling an output frequency signal (CLK) provided by an oscillator (225) based on the integration signal (Vc); and controlling the second electrical current provided by the switched capacitor (205) based on the output frequency signal (CLK) provided by the oscillator (225).
Regarding claim 20|19, Zhao discloses the method further comprising: providing a switching frequency signal (VDRV) based on the output frequency signal (CLK) using a frequency divider (230), and controlling the second electrical current provided by the switched capacitor (205) based on the switching frequency signal (VDRV).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 8-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Nolan (US 6,356,161) and Caffee (US 2015/00915537).
Regarding claim 2|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except wherein the temperature and mechanical stress compensated current source comprises a proportional to absolute temperature (PTAT) voltage source configured to provide a voltage proportional to absolute temperature (VPTAT), wherein the PTAT voltage source comprises at least one of a silicided resistor or a metal resistor. As known in the art, such temperature mechanical stress compensation circuits and types of resistors are used in oscillators and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding claim 3|2|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except wherein the temperature and mechanical stress compensated current source comprises a PTAT current source configured to provide a current proportional to absolute temperature (IPTAT), and wherein the PTAT current source comprises a bandgap reference circuit. As known in the art, such temperature mechanical stress compensation circuits and bandgap circuits are used in oscillators and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding claim 4|3|2|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except wherein: a value of the IPTAT depends on a first temperature coefficient based on the VPTAT, a value of the silicided resistor or the metal resistor depends on a second temperature coefficient, and the first temperature coefficient substantially matches the second temperature coefficient. As known in the art, such temperature mechanical stress compensation circuits and types of resistors are used in oscillators and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding claim 5|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except wherein the silicided resistor or the metal resistor forms an L-shaped resistor. As known in the art, such types of resistors are used in oscillators and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding claim 8|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except wherein the oscillator comprises a ring oscillator or a relaxation type oscillator. As known in the art, such types of oscillators are used in VCO and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent VCO.
Regarding claim 9|2|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except wherein the temperature and mechanical stress compensated current source further comprises a constant voltage source configured to provide a substantially constant voltage, wherein the constant voltage source comprises a non-silicided polysilicon resistor. As known in the art, such temperature mechanical stress compensation circuits and types of resistors are used in oscillators and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding claim 10|9|2|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except wherein: the first electrical current provided by the temperature and mechanical stress compensated current source is generated based on a third electrical current and a fourth electrical current, the third electrical current depends on the VPTAT and the value of the silicided resistor or the metal resistor, and the fourth electrical current depends on the constant voltage and the value of the non-silicided polysilicon resistor. As known in the art, such temperature mechanical stress compensation circuits and types of resistors are used in oscillators and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding claim 11|10|9|2|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except wherein: the first electrical current provided by the temperature and mechanical stress compensated current source depends on a subtraction or summation of the fourth electrical current weighted by a weighting factor and the third electrical current, and the weighting factor is adjusted to reduce a mechanical stress dependence of the first electrical current provided by the temperature and mechanical stress compensated current source. As known in the art, such temperature mechanical stress compensation circuits and weighting factor circuits are used in oscillators and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding claim 12|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except further comprising: at least one of a temperature sensor or a mechanical stress sensor, wherein the temperature sensor is configured to provide a first sensor signal representative of a temperature of the oscillator circuit, and wherein the mechanical stress sensor is configured to provide a second sensor signal representative of a mechanical stress in the silicided resistor or the metal resistor, and a processing circuit configured to adjust at least one of the reference voltage, the VPTAT, a division factor of the frequency divider, or the switched capacitor based on at least one of the first sensor signal or the second sensor signal. As known in the art, such temperature mechanical stress compensation circuits and types of resistors and sensors are used in oscillators and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding claim 13|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except further comprising: a further voltage source or a further current source, wherein an output voltage or an output current provided by the further voltage source or the further current source is controlled based on the integration signal of the integrator, and wherein the output voltage or the output current is configured to control the output frequency signal of the oscillator. As known in the art, such additional current sources are used in oscillators and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding claim 14|13|1, Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except wherein the integrator comprises an operational transconductance amplifier electrically coupled to the further voltage source or the further current source. As known in the art, such additional current sources are used in oscillators and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding claim 15|13|1. Zhao discloses the oscillator circuit except wherein the integrator comprises a digital integrator electrically coupled to the further voltage source or the further current source. As known in the art, such type of integrator with use of additional current sources are used in oscillators and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding independent claim 16, Zhao discloses an oscillator circuit comprising: REF) configured to provide a reference voltage (VREF); a resistor-capacitor (RC) element (210) comprising a switched capacitor (205) and F), and a second input of the integrator (negative input terminal of 222) is configured to receive a second input signal based on the C) based on the integration; and an oscillator (225) configured to provide an output frequency signal (CLK),wherein the output frequency signal (CLK) is controlled based on the integration signal (VC) provided by the integrator (220), and wherein the switched capacitor(205) is controlled in a feedback loop (230 and 240) based on the output frequency signal (CLK) of the oscillator (225).
Zhao does not disclose the strikethrough features.
As known in the art, such features are used in the oscillator, for example Nolan discloses PTAT circuit for temperature compensation and Caffee discloses types of resistors – silicided resistor and metal resistors used in PTAT circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding independent claim 17, Zhao discloses a current source (206 and 216) configured to provide a temperature and mechanical stress compensated electrical current (I1 and I2), the current source comprising
Zhao does not disclose the strikethrough features.
As known in the art, such features are used in the oscillator, for example Nolan discloses PTAT circuit for temperature compensation and Caffee discloses types of resistors – silicided resistor and metal resistors used in PTAT circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Regarding claim 18|17, Zhao discloses the current source except wherein: a value of the VPTAT depends on a first temperature coefficient, a value of the silicided polysilicon resistor or the metal resistor depends on a second temperature coefficient, and the first temperature coefficient substantially matches the second temperature coefficient.
As known in the art, such features are used in the oscillator, for example Nolan discloses PTAT circuit for temperature compensation and Caffee discloses types of resistors – silicided resistor and metal resistors used in PTAT circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such configuration because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent circuit.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “a furth” appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Motz (US 2022/0244322) discloses temperature coefficient resistors – silicided resistors and metal resistors.
Bahr (US 2024/0113717) discloses VCO, integrator and switched capacitor.
Del Cesta (US 11,831,314) discloses current source and voltage source circuits.
/JOSEPH CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849