DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:(Note: Patent Publication US 2025/0233508 A1 of the immediate application is used to point out the issues within the specification for purposes of clarity)
Paragraph 0006, “Thereof is due” should be changed to “Thereof due”.
Paragraph 0040, “an method” should be changed to “a method”.
Paragraph 0087, “Greg” should be changed to “Gout”.
Paragraph 0101 states that OR logic gate is high when both Vc1 and Va have a high logic level and have a low logic level otherwise, however, this is incorrect because an OR gate requires only one to be high for the output to be high.
Paragraph 0115 states comparator 54 compares Vd1 and Vd3 but that is incorrect it compares Vd1 and Vd2.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-22 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1, “apt” should be changed to “configured”.
Claim 1, the terms “substantially” should be deleted.
Claims 2-22 in the preamble each recite “The device according to claim” which should be changed to “The electronic device according to claim”.
Claim 13, line 3, “the first switch in the closed” should be changed to “the first switch is in the closed”.
Claims 16 and 17, lines 1, each recite “the multiple” which is not an element recited in claim 14 from which both of these claims depend upon. Rather, claim 15 recites the limitation regarding “a multiple” therefore the dependency of claims 16 and 17 should be changed to claim 15 instead of claim 14.
Claim 22, lines 1-2, recites limitations regarding “the auxiliary capacitor” which lacks antecedent basis due to the dependency of claim 22 on claim 21. Claim 21 recites alternatives and if any one of those alternatives is selected without the auxiliary capacitor then a lack of antecedent basis is present.
Claim 23 is a dependent upon claim 1 and recites similar elements to those already recited in claim 1 but introduces them without proper antecedent basis. For example, “an electric energy converter” is already claimed in claim 1 therefore this should be changed to “the electric energy converter” or properly recite whether this is a different element by reciting a different set of words to describe it. However, it seems to the Examiner that these elements are one in the same. Other elements within the claim that have the same issue are “a piezoelectric resonator” and “a plurality of switches”.
Claim 24, line 1, “apt” should be changed to “configured”.
Claim 24, the terms “substantially” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12, 18-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (US 2021/0399638 A1) in view of Stolt (“Forward-Zero Cycle Closed-Loop Control of Piezoelectric Resonator DC-DC Converter”).
Regarding claim 1, Xia teaches an electronic device (Figure 1A) for driving an electric energy converter (Figure 1A Component 100) configured to convert an input voltage (Figure 1A Component Vin) into an output voltage (Figure 1A Component Vout), the converter including two input terminals for receiving the input voltage (Figure 1A Component Vin positive and negative terminals), two output terminals for delivering the output voltage (Figure 1A Component Vout positive and negative terminals), a piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1A Component 110; Paragraph 0024 “piezoelectric resonator 110”) having two terminals (Figure 1A Components 102 and 104 which have terminals V+ and V-), and a plurality of switches (Figure 1A Components 120 and 122) connected to the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1A Components 120 and 122 are connected to Component 110; Paragraph 0027), one of the switches, called first switch (Figure 1A Component 120), being connected between one of the input terminals and the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1A Component 120 is connected between the positive terminal of Component Vin and Component 110), the first switch being switchable between an open position and a closed position (Figure 1A Component 120 is switchable to be open and closed) wherein the input voltage is applied at the terminals of the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1A Component 120 connects the input voltage to the terminals when closed; Figure 1C shows when the input voltage is connected; Paragraph 0026-0027; Figure 2 shows a more detailed figure of each component within Figure 1A as pointed out in Paragraph 0030; Figure 2 shows that the first switch 220 (equivalent of 120) connects both terminals to the input voltage when closed), the electronic device comprising: a measuring module (Figure 2 shows Figure 1A in further detail; Figure 2 Component 240 is seen in further detail in Figure 3) configured to measure an output variable of the converter (Figure 3 Component 310 or 306 receives a value of Vout from a measuring module); a control module (Figure 2 Component 240) configured to control a switching of each of the switches (Figure 2 Component 240 controls the switching of Components 220 and 222), to alternate substantially constant voltage phases at the terminals of the piezoelectric resonator and substantially constant load phases at the terminals of the piezoelectric resonator (Paragraph 0039 “controller circuitry 240 carries out closed loop control to determine the turn-on time of signal G1, the duration of the “on” state of signal G1, the turn-on time of signal G2, and the duration of the “on” state of signal G2, all subject to certain constraints. Example constraints include energy conservation and charge conservation considering the resonant circuit behavior of piezoelectric resonator 210 (as may be calculated by Fourier analysis, for example), and the intended efficiency of energy transfer from input voltage Vin to output voltage Vout”; Paragraphs 0067-0070 and Figure 4; “constant load phases” was broadly interpreted as being the open switch interval when the resonator is not coupled to the input voltage); and a detection module configured to detect at least one characteristic event depending on the measured output variable (Figure 3 Component 310; Paragraph 0056 “if output voltage Vout across load 235 is greater than the reference level based on reference voltage Vo_ref, controller circuitry 240 controls G1 driver circuit 304 to shorten the duration of signal G1 and thus shorten the charging time of piezoelectric resonator 210”), the control module being configured to, upon detection of the at least one characteristic event, command the first switch to shorten the on time (Paragraph 0056).
Xia does not teach the control module being configured to, upon detection of the at least one characteristic event, command the first switch into the open position for at least one resonance cycle of the piezoelectric resonator.
Stolt teaches an electronic device for driving a converter (Figure 1; Abstract), comprising: a converter (Figure 1 Converter) that converts an input voltage (Figure 1 Component Vin) into an output voltage (Figure 1 Component Vout); a piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Component BVD Model; Introduction Section); a plurality of switches connected to the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Components S1-S4); a first switch connected between the input voltage and the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Component S1); the first switch is switchable between an open and closed position (Figure 1 Component S1 switches on and off; Table 1) and when the first switch is closed the input voltage is applied to the resonator terminals (Figure 1 Component S1 turns on to connect the resonator to the input voltage; Table 1); a measuring module to measure an output voltage (Figure 1 Comparator receives the output voltage showing that a measuring module is present); a control module to control the switching of the plurality of switches (Figure 1 Component Controller); and a detection module configured to detect at least one characteristic event depending on the measured output voltage (Figure 1 Component Comparator; Page 2 Right Col. Third Paragraph “A comparator senses the output voltage and a reference voltage to determine if the controller should send a forward or zero cycle the next resonant period”); the control module configured to, upon detection of the at least one least one characteristic event, command the first switch into the open position for at least one resonance cycle of the piezoelectric resonator (Page 2, Right Col. First Paragraph “zero cycle shorts the resonator (turns on switches S2 and S3 in the stacked topology) for an entire resonant period and does not send any power to the load”; This passage shows that when the zero cycle is selected based on the comparator feedback S1 is kept in the open position for at least one resonance cycle; Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xia to incorporate keeping the first switch open for a resonance cycle as taught by Stolt. The advantage of this design is with Stolt’s zero cycle technique is that it would provide further power reduction which would extend the low power regulation range, reduce energy supplied during light load or overvoltage conditions while improving transient response.
Regarding claim 24, Xia teaches a method (Figure 1A) for driving an electric energy converter (Figure 1A Component 100) configured to convert an input voltage (Figure 1A Component Vin) into an output voltage (Figure 1A Component Vout), the converter including two input terminals for receiving the input voltage (Figure 1A Component Vin positive and negative terminals), two output terminals for delivering the output voltage (Figure 1A Component Vout positive and negative terminals), a piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1A Component 110; Paragraph 0024 “piezoelectric resonator 110”) having two terminals (Figure 1A Components 102 and 104 which have terminals V+ and V-), and a plurality of switches (Figure 1A Components 120 and 122) connected to the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1A Components 120 and 122 are connected to Component 110; Paragraph 0027), one of the switches, called first switch (Figure 1A Component 120), being connected between one of the input terminals and the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1A Component 120 is connected between the positive terminal of Component Vin and Component 110), the first switch being switchable between an open position and a closed position (Figure 1A Component 120 is switchable to be open and closed) wherein the input voltage is applied at the terminals of the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1A Component 120 connects the input voltage to the terminals when closed; Figure 1C shows when the input voltage is connected; Paragraph 0026-0027; Figure 2 shows a more detailed figure of each component within Figure 1A as pointed out in Paragraph 0030; Figure 2 shows that the first switch 220 (equivalent of 120) connects both terminals to the input voltage when closed), the method being implemented by an electronic device (Figure 1A) and comprising: measuring an output variable of the converter (Figure 2 shows Figure 1A in further detail; Figure 2 Component 240 is seen in further detail in Figure 3; Figure 3 Component 310 or 306 receives a value of Vout from a measuring module); controlling a switching of each of the switches (Figure 2 Component 240; Figure 2 Component 240 controls the switching of Components 220 and 222), to alternate substantially constant voltage phases at the terminals of the piezoelectric resonator and substantially constant load phases at the terminals of the piezoelectric resonator (Paragraph 0039 “controller circuitry 240 carries out closed loop control to determine the turn-on time of signal G1, the duration of the “on” state of signal G1, the turn-on time of signal G2, and the duration of the “on” state of signal G2, all subject to certain constraints. Example constraints include energy conservation and charge conservation considering the resonant circuit behavior of piezoelectric resonator 210 (as may be calculated by Fourier analysis, for example), and the intended efficiency of energy transfer from input voltage Vin to output voltage Vout”; Paragraphs 0067-0070 and Figure 4; “constant load phases” was broadly interpreted as being the open switch interval when the resonator is not coupled to the input voltage); and detecting at least one characteristic event dependent on the measured output variable (Figure 3 Component 310; Paragraph 0056 “if output voltage Vout across load 235 is greater than the reference level based on reference voltage Vo_ref, controller circuitry 240 controls G1 driver circuit 304 to shorten the duration of signal G1 and thus shorten the charging time of piezoelectric resonator 210”), wherein the controlling includes, in event of detection of the at least one characteristic event, a command to the first switch to shorten the on time (Paragraph 0056).
Xia does not teach wherein the controlling includes, in event of detection of the at least one characteristic event, a command of the first switch into the open position for a duration of at least one resonance cycle of the piezoelectric resonator
Stolt teaches an electronic device for driving a converter (Figure 1; Abstract), comprising: a converter (Figure 1 Converter) that converts an input voltage (Figure 1 Component Vin) into an output voltage (Figure 1 Component Vout); a piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Component BVD Model; Introduction Section); a plurality of switches connected to the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Components S1-S4); a first switch connected between the input voltage and the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Component S1); the first switch is switchable between an open and closed position (Figure 1 Component S1 switches on and off; Table 1) and when the first switch is closed the input voltage is applied to the resonator terminals (Figure 1 Component S1 turns on to connect the resonator to the input voltage; Table 1); a measuring module to measure an output voltage (Figure 1 Comparator receives the output voltage showing that a measuring module is present); a control module to control the switching of the plurality of switches (Figure 1 Component Controller); and a detection module configured to detect at least one characteristic event depending on the measured output voltage (Figure 1 Component Comparator; Page 2 Right Col. Third Paragraph “A comparator senses the output voltage and a reference voltage to determine if the controller should send a forward or zero cycle the next resonant period”); the control module configured to, upon detection of the at least one least one characteristic event, command the first switch into the open position for at least one resonance cycle of the piezoelectric resonator (Page 2, Right Col. First Paragraph “zero cycle shorts the resonator (turns on switches S2 and S3 in the stacked topology) for an entire resonant period and does not send any power to the load”; This passage shows that when the zero cycle is selected based on the comparator feedback S1 is kept in the open position for at least one resonance cycle; Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xia to incorporate keeping the first switch open for a resonance cycle as taught by Stolt. The advantage of this design is with Stolt’s zero cycle technique is that it would provide further power reduction which would extend the low power regulation range, reduce energy supplied during light load or overvoltage conditions while improving transient response.
Regarding claim 12, Xia and Stolt teach all the limitations of claim 11. Xia further teaches wherein the at least one characteristic event includes an over-energy event detected when the measured output variable is greater than a threshold variable (Figure 3 Component 310; Paragraph 0056 “if output voltage Vout across load 235 is greater than the reference level based on reference voltage Vo_ref, controller circuitry 240 controls G1 driver circuit 304 to shorten the duration of signal G1 and thus shorten the charging time of piezoelectric resonator 210”).
Regarding claim 18, Xia and Stolt teach all the limitations of claim 11. Xia further teaches wherein the output variable is the output voltage (Figure 3 Component 310 receives the output votlage, Vout).
Regarding claim 19, Xia and Stolt teach all the limitations of claim 11. Xia does not teach wherein the control module is configured to command the first switch into the open position for a duration of successive resonant cycles of the piezoelectric resonator.
Stolt teaches an electronic device for driving a converter (Figure 1; Abstract), comprising: a converter (Figure 1 Converter) that converts an input voltage (Figure 1 Component Vin) into an output voltage (Figure 1 Component Vout); a piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Component BVD Model; Introduction Section); a plurality of switches connected to the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Components S1-S4); a first switch connected between the input voltage and the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Component S1); the first switch is switchable between an open and closed position (Figure 1 Component S1 switches on and off; Table 1) and when the first switch is closed the input voltage is applied to the resonator terminals (Figure 1 Component S1 turns on to connect the resonator to the input voltage; Table 1); a measuring module to measure an output voltage (Figure 1 Comparator receives the output voltage showing that a measuring module is present); a control module to control the switching of the plurality of switches (Figure 1 Component Controller); and a detection module configured to detect at least one characteristic event depending on the measured output voltage (Figure 1 Component Comparator; Page 2 Right Col. Third Paragraph “A comparator senses the output voltage and a reference voltage to determine if the controller should send a forward or zero cycle the next resonant period”); the control module configured to, upon detection of the at least one least one characteristic event, command the first switch into the open position for at least one resonance cycle of the piezoelectric resonator (Page 2, Right Col. First Paragraph “zero cycle shorts the resonator (turns on switches S2 and S3 in the stacked topology) for an entire resonant period and does not send any power to the load”; This passage shows that when the zero cycle is selected based on the comparator feedback S1 is kept in the open position for at least one resonance cycle; Table 1), wherein the control module is configured to command the first switch into the open position for a duration of successive resonant cycles of the piezoelectric resonator (Page 2, Right Col. First Paragraph states that highlights the two switching states and the zero cycle can be selected successively based on the comparator output thus creating an open position for successive resonant cycles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xia to incorporate keeping the first switch open for a resonance cycle as taught by Stolt. The advantage of this design is with Stolt’s zero cycle technique is that it would provide further power reduction which would extend the low power regulation range, reduce energy supplied during light load or overvoltage conditions while improving transient response.
Regarding claim 20, Xia and Stolt teach all the limitations of claim 11. Xia does not teach wherein the control module is configured to command the first switch into the open position as long as the at least one characteristic event is detected.
Stolt teaches an electronic device for driving a converter (Figure 1; Abstract), comprising: a converter (Figure 1 Converter) that converts an input voltage (Figure 1 Component Vin) into an output voltage (Figure 1 Component Vout); a piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Component BVD Model; Introduction Section); a plurality of switches connected to the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Components S1-S4); a first switch connected between the input voltage and the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1 Component S1); the first switch is switchable between an open and closed position (Figure 1 Component S1 switches on and off; Table 1) and when the first switch is closed the input voltage is applied to the resonator terminals (Figure 1 Component S1 turns on to connect the resonator to the input voltage; Table 1); a measuring module to measure an output voltage (Figure 1 Comparator receives the output voltage showing that a measuring module is present); a control module to control the switching of the plurality of switches (Figure 1 Component Controller); and a detection module configured to detect at least one characteristic event depending on the measured output voltage (Figure 1 Component Comparator; Page 2 Right Col. Third Paragraph “A comparator senses the output voltage and a reference voltage to determine if the controller should send a forward or zero cycle the next resonant period”); the control module configured to, upon detection of the at least one least one characteristic event, command the first switch into the open position for at least one resonance cycle of the piezoelectric resonator (Page 2, Right Col. First Paragraph “zero cycle shorts the resonator (turns on switches S2 and S3 in the stacked topology) for an entire resonant period and does not send any power to the load”; This passage shows that when the zero cycle is selected based on the comparator feedback S1 is kept in the open position for at least one resonance cycle; Table 1), wherein the control module is configured to command the first switch into the open position as long as the at least one characteristic event is detected (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xia to incorporate keeping the first switch open for a resonance cycle as taught by Stolt. The advantage of this design is with Stolt’s zero cycle technique is that it would provide further power reduction which would extend the low power regulation range, reduce energy supplied during light load or overvoltage conditions while improving transient response.
Regarding claim 21, Xia and Stolt teach all the limitations of claim 11. Xia further teaches wherein the piezoelectric resonator includes one of the constitutions from the group consisting of: a single piezoelectric element; a plurality of piezoelectric elements connected in series; a plurality of piezoelectric elements connected in parallel; a piezoelectric element and an auxiliary capacitor connected in series; a piezoelectric element and an auxiliary capacitor connected in parallel; and an arrangement of a plurality of parallel branches, each branch including one or a plurality of piezoelectric elements connected in series or an auxiliary capacitor (Figure 1A Component 110 shows a single piezoelectric resonator).
Regarding claim 23, Xia and Stolt teach all the limitations of claim 11. Xia further teaches an electrical energy conversion system (Figure 1A) comprising: an electric energy converter (Figure 1A Component 100) having two input terminals for receiving the input voltage (Figure 1A Component Vin), two output terminals for delivering the output voltage (Figure 1A Component Vout), a piezoelectric resonator having two terminals (Figure 1A Component 110), and a plurality of switches connected to the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1A Components 120 and 122), one of the switches, called first switch (Figure 1A Component 120), being connected between one of the input terminals and the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1A Component 120 is connected between the input terminal and Component 110), the first switch being switchable between an open position and a closed position wherein the input voltage is applied at the terminals of the piezoelectric resonator (Figure 1A Component 120 turns on and off to connect Vin to Component 110); and the electronic device for driving the electric energy converter according to claim 11 (Figure 1A; Rejection for Claim 11 provided above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-17 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, none of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combinations, teaches or fairly suggests wherein the at least one characteristic event includes a minimum energy event detected when the measured output variable is greater than a target variable and a duration during which the first switch in the closed position during a respective resonance cycle is less than or equal to a minimum duration.
Claims 14-17 depend upon claim 13.
Regarding claim 22, none of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combinations, teaches or fairly suggests wherein the auxiliary capacitor has a capacitance greater than a reference capacitance of the piezoelectric element or elements, each piezoelectric element being modeled in a form of a capacitor and a resonant branch connected in parallel with the capacitor, the reference capacitance being the capacitance of the capacitor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Despesse (US 2021/0194386 A1) teaches an electrical converter chosen from the group consisting of an inverter able to generate an AC voltage from a DC voltage and a rectifier able to generate a DC voltage from an AC voltage. This converter comprises a first inductor and a controllable switch that are connected in series between first and second DC voltage ports. The converter comprises a piezoelectric resonator comprising: a first electrode connected directly to a first power terminal of the switch, a second electrode connected directly to a second power terminal of the switch, and a piezoelectric material interposed between the first and second electrodes.
Despesse (US 2020/0098968 A1) teaches a power converter including at least one piezoelectric element in a branch of a bridge of switches, the switches being controlled to alternate phases at substantially constant voltage and at substantially constant charge between the terminals of the piezoelectric element.
Meyer (US 2014/0334192 A1) teaches a bi-directional piezoelectric power converter comprising a piezoelectric transformer. The piezoelectric transformer comprises an input electrode electrically coupled to a primary section of the piezoelectric transformer and an output electrode electrically coupled to an output section of the piezoelectric transformer to provide a transformer output signal. A bi-directional switching circuit is coupled between the output electrode and a DC or AC output voltage of the power converter. Forward and reverse current conducting periods of the bi-directional switching circuit is based on the input drive signal or the transformer output signal such that a forward current is conducted from the output electrode through the bi-directional switching circuit to the DC or AC output voltage in a first state to charge the DC or AC output voltage. In a second state, a reverse current is conducted through the bi-directional switching circuit from the DC or AC output voltage to the output electrode to discharge the DC or AC output voltage and return power to the primary section of the piezoelectric transformer.
/Shahzeb K Ahmad/Examiner, Art Unit 2838