DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to 12/18/2024.
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US Pub. 2018/0275795) in view of Li et al. (US Pub. 2019/0278455), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses a display device (see fig. 1) comprising: a substrate (substrate 11-see fig. 2); an emissive area defined on the substrate (area corresponding to OLED element 14-see fig. 2), the emissive area comprising a light emitting element configured to emit light (OLED 14-see fig. 2 and [0027]); a touch area disposed adjacent to the emissive area and configured to sense whether or not there is a touch (area corresponding to sense capacitor 15 used to generate a signal for touch sensing-see fig. 2 and [0028]).
Takahashi further discloses a sensing line SNS[j] controlled by a scan line SL[i-1] and data writing controlled by a scan line SL[i]-(see figs. 3-4]). Therefore, Takahashi does not appear to expressly disclose and a gate line connected to the emissive area and the touch area in common.
Li, in for example, figs. 2 and 9-10 with description in, for example, [0055]-[0059], illustrates a pixel unit of a touch display panel, which includes a touch area having a touch electrode 120, and an emissive area (illustrated by a pixel electrode 110), wherein a gate line 102 is connected to both the touch electrode (touch area) and the pixel electrode (emissive area). While the line 102 is implemented as separate lines 102a connected to the touch area, and 102 connected to the pixel electrode 110, both lines supply a same signal (see figs. 9-10), and supplying the same signal using a single line or different lines is a design choice and amounts to common sense or ordinary routine practice that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the combined teachings of Takahashi and Li.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li with the invention of Takahashi by supplying a common gate signal to the touch area and the emissive area, as taught by Li, thus synchronous scanning of touch detection and display is realized (see [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Li is further relied upon to teach wherein the gate line is connected in common to a gate of a switching transistor disposed in the emissive area and a gate of a touch transistor disposed in the touch area (gate line 102a is connected to TFT 200 in the touch area, and gate line 102 is connected to TFT 400 in the electrode area pixel-see fig. 2, [0058], and [0070]).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi discloses a display device (see fig. 1) comprising: a display panel comprising a pixel (display panel with pixel circuits 6-see fig. 1 and [0029]) and a gate line (scan line, e.g., SL[i]-see fig. 1), wherein the pixel comprises an emissive area (area corresponding to OLED element 14-see fig. 2) and a touch area disposed adjacent to the emissive area (area corresponding to sense capacitor 15 used to generate a signal for touch sensing-see fig. 2 and [0028]), wherein the emissive area comprises a light emitting element configured to emit light (OLED 14-see fig. 2 and [0027]), wherein the touch area comprises a touch electrode configured to sense whether or not there is a touch (area corresponding to sense capacitor 15 used to generate a signal for touch sensing-see fig. 2 and [0028]); a scan driver connected to a gate line (scan driver 4-see fig. 1); and a data driver connected to the pixel (touch controller-embedded display driver 2-see fig. 1 with description in [0031]), wherein the data driver comprises a first circuit configured to supply a data voltage to the emissive area, and a second circuit configured to supply a touch drive voltage to the touch area (see [0031]-touch controller-embedded display driver 2 supplies data voltages to data lines DL[1] to DL[m] and touch sensing).
Takahashi further discloses a sensing line SNS[j] controlled by a scan line SL[i-1] and data writing controlled by a scan line SL[i]-(see figs. 3-4]). Therefore, Takahashi does not appear to expressly disclose and wherein the gate line is connected to the emissive area and the touch area disposed in the pixel in common.
Li, in for example, figs. 2 and 9-10 with description in, for example, [0055]-[0059], illustrates a pixel unit of a touch display panel, which includes a touch area having a touch electrode 120, and an emissive area (illustrated by a pixel electrode 110), wherein a gate line 102 is connected to both the touch electrode (touch area) and the pixel electrode (emissive area). While the line 102 is implemented as separate lines 102a connected to the touch area, and 102 connected to the pixel electrode 110, both lines supply a same signal (see figs. 9-10), and supplying the same signal using a single line or different lines is a design choice and amounts to common sense or ordinary routine practice that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the combined teachings of Takahashi and Li.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li with the invention of Takahashi by supplying a common gate signal to the touch area and the emissive area, as taught by Li, thus synchronous scanning of touch detection and display is realized (see [0004]).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Li, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 2023/0172015), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi in view of Li does not appear to expressly teach wherein the touch area further comprises at least one dummy touch electrode disposed as a form of a closed curve surrounding a touch electrode, to be spaced apart from the touch electrode.
Lee is relied upon to teach wherein the touch area further comprises at least one dummy touch electrode disposed as a form of a closed curve surrounding a touch electrode, to be spaced apart from the touch electrode (see fig. 6 with description in [0143]-[0145]-at least one electrode pattern can be disposed to surround a touch electrode TE, and the at least one electrode pattern can be a short circuit prevention electrode SPE, a dummy electrode DE-please, note that SPE and DE are herein equated to claimed dummy touch electrode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the inventions of Takahashi and Li such that at least one dummy touch electrode is disposed to surround the touch electrode, as taught by Lee, in order to prevent parasitic capacitance between the touch electrode and a second electrode of a light emitting element in the emissive area or a signal line driving the light emitting element (see [0180]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee is further relied upon to teach wherein the at least one dummy touch electrode includes a first dummy touch electrode (SPE-see fig. 7) and a second dummy touch electrode (dummy electrode DE-see fig. 7) disposed between the first dummy touch electrode and the touch electrode (DE is disposed between touch electrode (TE) and short circuit prevention electrode SPE), and wherein the second dummy touch electrode is disposed at a different layer than the first dummy touch electrode and the touch electrode, so as to be spaced apart from the first dummy touch electrode and the touch electrode vertically (as shown in fig. 7, TE and SPE are disposed on a same layer, while DE is disposed on a layer different layer (on dam structure DAS)).
Regarding claim 18, Lee is further relied upon to teach wherein the touch area comprises a transmission area configured to transmit natural light or an object incident thereto through a front surface or a back surface of the display panel (the touch electrode is disposed in a transmissive area TA (see fig. 7), and the touch electrode TE can be a transparent electrode or an opaque electrode and at least a portion of the touch electrode TE can be opened-see [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the inventions of Takahashi and Li such that the touch area includes a transmission area that transmits natural light, as taught by Lee, in order to provide a touch display device having a high transmittance (see [0098]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 11-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The limitations “wherein, for one frame, the gate line first transmits a scan signal of a first pulse and then transmits a scan signal of a second pulse after a predetermined time elapses from the transmission of the scan signal of the first pulse” recited in claim 3 are not taught or suggested by the references of record. Similar limitations are also recited in claim 11. Claims 4-7 depend from claim 3, and claims 12-17 depend from claim 11, and are therefore further indicated as allowable.
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The references of record fail to teach or suggest “the driving method comprising: outputting a scan signal of a first pulse for one frame through the gate line; and outputting a scan signal of a second pulse for the one frame through the gate line, wherein the scan signal of the second pulse is output after a predetermined time has elapsed from the outputting of the scan signal of the first pulse”, recited in claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bok et al. (US Pub. 2020/0020747)-entire document.
/SARDIS F AZONGHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627