DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
The instant application is a CON of PCT/US2023/069286 filed 06/28/2023 which claims priority to the U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 63/357471 filed June 30, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, except where noted. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement was considered by the examiner. Please see attached initialed Forms 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabuteau (US 2020/0338022 A1), Nofziger (Evaluation of dextromethorphan with select antidepressant therapy for the treatment of depression in the acute care psychiatric setting, mhc, 2019), and Kotlyar et al. (Inhibition of CYP2D6 activity by bupropion, J Clin Psychopharmacol. 2005).
Tabuteau discloses dosage forms, drug delivery systems, and methods related to sustained release of dextromethorphan with bupropion (Abstract). The combination of dextromethorphan and bupropion is a novel and oral NMDA receptor antagonis with multimodal activity for the treatment of central nervous system (CNS) disorders ([0231]). Tabuteau discloses a method of treating neurological disorder comprising administering about 150 mg/day to about 300 mg/day of bupropion and about 15 mg/day to about 60 mg/day of dextromethorphan ([0043]). Tabuteau discloses that dextromethorphan is rapidly metabolized in the human liver. This rapid hepatic metabolism may limit systemic drug exposure in individuals who are extensive metabolizers. Human beings can be: 1) extensive metabolizers of dextromethorphan-those who rapidly metabolize dextromethorphan; 2) poor metabolizers of dextromethorphan- those who only poorly metabolize dextromethorphan; or 3) intermediate metabolizers of dextromethorphan ([0135]). Another potential benefit of co-administration of dextromethorphan and bupropion is that it may be useful to reduce the potential for an adverse event, such as somnolence, associated with treatment by dextromethorphan. This may be useful, for example, in human patients at risk of experiencing adverse events as a result of being treated with dextromethorphan ([0336]). A therapeutically effective amount of a therapeutic compound may vary depending upon the circumstances. For example, a daily dose of dextromethorphan may in some instances range from about 0.1 mg to about 1000 mg ([0439]). A daily dose of bupropion may in some instances range from about 10 mg to about 1000 mg ([0440]).
Nofziger discloses that dextromethorphan (DMX) is extensively metabolized via CYP2D6 (Abstract). Current literature suggests DMX has preliminary efficacy when combined with a CYP2D6 inhibitor (pg 77, left col, 2nd to last paragraph).
Kotlyar conducted a study to assess the effect of bupropion on CYP2D6 activity; twenty-one subjects completed the study in which dextromethorphan was administered to smokers at baseline and after 17 days of treatment with either bupropion or placebo. Those receiving dextromethorphan and bupropion, dextromethorphan/dextrorphan (active metabolite) ratio increased significantly. Bupropion is a potent inhibitor of CYP2D6 (Abstract).
Tabuteau discloses a combination therapy (dextromethorphan/bupropion) for treatment of CNS disorders. Nofziger discloses that dextromethorphan with a CYP2D6 inhibitor has been used within the art. Kotlyar discloses that dextromethorphan with bupropion has synergistic effects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined teachings of above to arrive at a method of treating a CNS disorder by administering a combination of dextromethorphan and bupropion. Since bupropion inhibits CYP2D6, a clinician would routinely consider decreasing the dose of the combination therapy to avoid side effects. This is taking some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Tabuteau discloses that Phenotypic determination of dextromethorphan metabolizer status was performed by calculating the dextromethorphan/ dextrorphan metabolic ratio as described in Jurica et al. Journal of Clinical Pharmacy and Therapeutics, 2012, 37, 486-490. Plasma concentrations of dextromethorphan and dextrorphan 3 hours after dosing were used, with a dextromethorphan/dextrorphan ratio of 0.3 or greater indicating a poor metabolizer phenotype ([0672]). Likewise, one of ordinary skill in the art would determine the phenotype of dextromethorphan metabolism before administering such a drug.
Regarding claim 3, the dose is discussed above. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would routinely adjust the dosage of a drug being administered if such a drug is metabolized by CYP.
Regarding claim 4, the dose is taught above.
Regarding claim 5, Tabuteau discloses that the dextromethorphan is an immediate release (claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Tabuteau discloses that bupropion is formulated as sustained release (claim 6).
Regarding claims 7-8, decreasing the dosage (for example from twice daily administration to once daily administration) of the combination therapy for poor CYP2D6 metabolizers would be an obvious consideration from a clinician. A poor CYP2D6 metabolizer would have an increased plasma level of dextromethorphan and thus an increase in AUC level. One of ordinary skill in the art would routinely adjust the dose as needed.
Regarding claim 9, Tabuteau discloses that a method includes once or twice daily administration ([0093]).
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabuteau (US 2020/0338022 A1), Nofziger (Evaluation of dextromethorphan with select antidepressant therapy for the treatment of depression in the acute care psychiatric setting, mhc, 2019), and Kotlyar et al. (Inhibition of CYP2D6 activity by bupropion, J Clin Psychopharmacol. 2005) as applied to claims 1-9 above, and further in view of Wells et al. (Investigation into the Dissolution Rate Increase on Storage of Wellbutrin SR® 100 mg Tablets, AAPS PharmSciTech, 2010).
Wells discloses composition and attributes of bupropion tablets – bupropion, Hypromellose, microcrystalline cellulose, cysteine hydrochloride monohydrate are mixed to create the composition (pg 115, Tabe 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined teachings of above to create a dosage form of dextromethorphan and bupropion mixed with cysteine hydrochloride monohydrate. This is taking some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, microcrystalline cellulose is routinely used to create pharmaceutical products.
Regarding claim 12, Wells discloses bupropion tablets.
Regarding claims 13-14, adjusting doses is a routine clinical practice for various patients, including different CYP metabolizers. If a drug (dextromethorphan) is metabolized by a CYP enzyme, a poor or extensive metabolizer of such an enzyme would require dose adjustments. Tabuteau discloses figures depicting mean AUC levels for subjects administered dextromethorphan alone or dextromethorphan and bupropion. One of ordinary skill in the art would easily envisage that AUC levels would be different for different treatment groups, phenotype of CYP metabolism, among other characteristics.
Regarding claims 15-19, Tabuteau discloses a method of treating depression ([0094]), agitation, anxiety ([0145]); agitation in Alzheimer’s disease ([0245]), agitation in dementia ([0248]), neuropathic pain ([0268]), generalized anxiety disorder ([0147]).
Regarding claim 20, Tabuteau discloses treatment-emergent adverse event such as falls for people taking dextromethorphan and bupropion. Such an adverse event would be closely monitored clinically.
Double Patenting
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because applications claim a method of co-administering a combination of dextromethorphan with bupropion to a human. Below applications claim methods of delivering dextromethorphan and bupropion as listed for some below.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being
unpatentable over the allowed claims of the following U.S. Patent Nos.
1. 9,198,905 (claims 1-18); A method of increasing the metabolic lifetime of dextromethorphan, comprising co-administering hydroxybupropion or bupropion with dextromethorphan to a human being once or twice a day for at least eight consecutive days
2. 9,205,083 (claims 1-14); A method of decreasing dextrorphan plasma levels in a human being comprising co-administering about 150 mg per day to about 560 mg per day of bupropion with dextromethorphan to the human being for at least eight consecutive days.
3. 9,238,032 (claims 1-20);
4. 9,168,234 (claims 1-12); A method of increasing dextromethorphan plasma levels in a human being, comprising co-administering about 150 mg per day to about 500 mg per day of bupropion with dextromethorphan to the human being for at least eight consecutive days
5. 9,402,844 (claims 1-18);
6. 9,278,095 (claims 1-17) ;
7. 9,314,462 (claims 1-17); A method of increasing dextromethorphan plasma levels in the human being that is an extensive metabolizer of dextromethorphan in need of treatment with dextromethorphan, comprising co-administering hydroxybupropion or bupropion with dextromethorphan to a human being once or twice a day for at least eight consecutive days.
8. 9,375,429 (claims 1-27) ;
9. 9,370,513 (claims 1-28);
10. 9,402,843 (claims 1-18);
11. 9,408,815 (claims 1-30):
12. 9,457,025 (claims 1-30);
13. 9,421,176 (claims 1-19);
14. 9,457,023 (claims 1-25);
15. 9,474,731 (claims 1-29);
16. 9,486,450 (claims 1-30);
17. 9,700,553 (claims 1-30);
18. 9,700,528 (claims 1-27);
19. 9,707,191 (claims 1-30);
20. 9,763932 (claims 1-29);
21. 10,105,327 (claims 1-28); A method of treating a human subject with enhanced plasma levels of a dextromethorphan, wherein the human subject is an extensive metabolizer of the dextromethorphan and suffers from treatment-resistant depression, comprising co-administering to the human subject a daily dose of a combination.
22. 10,548,857 (claims 1-22);
23. 10,780,064 (claims 1-23);
24. 10,772,850 (claims 1-28);
25. 10,799,497 (claims 1-14);
26. 10,786,469 (claims 1-24);
27. 10,864,209 (claims 1-14);
28. 10,864,209 (claims 1-12);
29. 10,874,665 (claims 1-15); and
30. 10,881,657 (claims 1-9).
Conclusion
/JOHN SEUNGJAI KWON/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615