DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08/21/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 14 disclose “a first reference surface” twice, and then refers to the “the first reference surface” it is unclear if there are actually two reference surfaces, and if so, which one “the first reference surface” is referring to. For the purposes of examination, there is only one first reference surface, of the retention feature. Claim 1 and 14 are amended below to reflect this interpretation.
Claim 7 discloses another “a second lateral direction” after having disclosed it in claim 1. It is unclear if this is a different second lateral direction or not. For the purposes of examination, the second lateral directions are the same.
Claims 2-13,15-20 are rejected in view of their dependency on claim 1 or claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4-5,7-8,14-15,16,18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gehrie US 3183029.
Regarding claim 1, Gehrie teaches a mechanism for securing a lid (“A”) to a housing (“B”), the mechanism comprising:
NOTE: Gehrie’s lid is actually considered to be element B, and the housing considered to be element A. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the latch be on the lid B and the latch mechanism portion to be on housing A since the rearrangement of parts are a design consideration that is of routine skill since the rearrangement would not alter the function of the device. This is taken into account in Examiner’s interpretation of the Gehrie reference – see above preamble where lid is given the reference “A” and housing is given the reference “B”.
a latch (18+20) being moveable relative to the lid, the latch extending from the lid and comprising a retention feature (20) having a first reference surface (22); and
a latch mechanism portion (61,61’,28,27,64) coupled to the housing, the latch mechanism portion comprising:
an engagement element (61’), freely movable between a first position (fig4) and a second position (similarly shown in fig5), configured to engage the retention feature in the first position to restrict vertical movement of the lid (restricts further movement of lid into housing), and disengage from the retention feature in the second position to permit vertical movement of the lid; and
a first alignment feature (27) having a first alignment surface (surface of 27), the first alignment feature configured to displace the latch (displaces it in x direction) such that the first reference surface aligns with the first alignment surface (fig4, as the latch moves to the x direction, it enables the alignment of 22 to 27), wherein the first alignment feature is configured to initially displace the latch in a first lateral direction (in x direction) away from the engagement element and then in a second lateral direction (Y direction; after it moves a certain distance in x direction, the latch is once again moving in the second lateral direction to engage, fig4-5) that is opposite to the first lateral direction towards the engagement element (by moving in this direction , portion 20 of the latch is moving towards the engagement element as well, therefore it is considered to move to the first lateral direction towards the engagement element), such that the first reference surface aligns with the first alignment surface when the lid is moved toward the housing and after the latch contacts the first alignment feature. (fig4-5)
Regarding claim 2, Gehrie teaches the mechanism of Claim 1, wherein the first alignment feature is configured to displace the latch when the lid is moved toward the housing such that the first reference surface aligns with the first alignment surface. (fig4-5)
Regarding claim 4, Gehrie teaches the mechanism of Claim 1, wherein the first alignment feature is formed as a portion of the housing (fig4-5).
Regarding claim 5, Gehrie teaches the mechanism of Claim 1, wherein the latch comprises a second reference surface (surface of 18 that is parallel to 64, fig4-5) perpendicular to the first reference surface.
Regarding claim 7, Gehrie teaches the mechanism of Claim 1, further comprising a second alignment feature (64) configured to displace the latch in the second lateral direction. (64 enables realignment with 18 and 20, by engaging 18, therefore moving the latch in the Y direction, fig4-5, col.4 lines 41-75)
Regarding claim 8, Gehrie teaches the mechanism of Claim 7, wherein the second alignment feature is formed as a portion of the housing. (fig4-5)
Regarding claim 14, Gehrie teaches the apparatus of a lid and housing with a latch and latch mechanism and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Gehrie is also capable of teaching the method comprising:
NOTE: Gehrie’s lid is actually considered to be element B, and the housing considered to be element A. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the latch be on the lid B and the latch mechanism portion to be on housing A since the rearrangement of parts are a design consideration that is of routine skill since the rearrangement would not alter the function of the device.
moving a lid (“A”) comprising a first latch mechanism portion (fig1-5) comprising a latch (18+20) extending from the lid and being moveable relative to the lid, toward a housing(“B”), the latch comprising a retention feature(20) having a first reference surface (22), and the housing comprising a second latch mechanism portion (61,61’,28,27,64) comprising a first alignment feature (27) and an engagement element (61’) freely movable between a first position (fig4) and a second position (fig5); and
engaging the latch against the first alignment feature and a second alignment feature (64) to laterally displace the latch such that the first reference surface aligns with a first alignment surface (surface of 27) of the first alignment feature and in a second lateral direction (Y direction) that is opposite a first lateral direction (X direction) toward the engagement element (by moving in this direction , portion 20 of the latch is moving towards the engagement element as well, therefore it is considered to move to the first lateral direction towards the engagement element) after displacing the latch in the first lateral direction, when the lid is moved toward the housing and after the latch contacts the first alignment surface. (fig4-5, col.4 lines 41-75)
Regarding claim 15, Gehrie teaches the method of Claim 14, further comprising engaging the latch against the first alignment feature and the second alignment feature when the lid is moved toward the housing. (fig4-5, col.4 lines 41-75)
Regarding claim 16, Gehrie teaches the method of Claim 14, wherein engaging the latch against the first alignment feature and the second alignment feature further comprises initially displacing the latch in a first lateral direction via the first alignment feature away from the engagement element. (fig4-5, col.4 lines 41-75)
Regarding claim 18, Gehrie teaches the method of Claim 14, further comprising directing the engagement element to the first position such that the engagement element interlocks with the retention feature. (fig4-5, col.4 lines 41-75; NOTE: One definition of ‘interlock’ according to Merriam-Webster online is “to connect so that the motion or operation of any part is considered constrained by another”. In this instance, the engagement element constrains the motion of the retention feature.)
Regarding claim 19, Gehrie teaches the method of Claim 18, further comprising restricting vertical movement of the lid. (fig4-5)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gehrie US 3183029, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Broadfield et al. US 7040504.
Regarding claim 6, Gehrie teaches the mechanism of Claim 1, with a housing but does not teach wherein the housing is configured to contain medications and to be inserted into a drawer of an automated dispensing machine.
Broadfield teaches a mechanism wherein the housing (42) is configured to contain medications and to be inserted into a drawer (114, fig14) of an automated dispensing machine (110). (abstract)
It would have been obvious to on of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mechanism of Gehrie on a housing that is configured to contain medications and to be inserted into a drawer of an automated dispensing machine, as taught by Broadfield, since this is considered intended use of the mechanism and the mechanism would remail functionally equivalent in either use. MPEP2144.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9-13, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, Gehrie does not teach the engagement element moving in a second lateral direction (Y direction of Gehrie) when the lid is brought towards the housing.
Regarding claim 9 (10-13), Gehrie does not teach a third alignment feature to displace the latch in a third direction.
Regarding claim 17, Gehrie does teach the latch moves in the X direction it is not before the latch contacts the first alignment surface (27), rather while and after it contacts it.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12196007. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims disclose a mechanism with a lid and housing, a latch, a latch mechanism.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art is related to latch mechanisms.
PTO892 lists related but not relied upon prior art: US 11845590, US 12365518.
/F.F.A./
Examiner
Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675