DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract exceeds 150 words (167 words). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the gateway hub enclosure" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 depends upon itself, which is not possible. It seems that it should depend upon claim 6. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets claim 11 to depend upon claim 6.
Claim 17 depends upon claim 11, which depends upon itself. Claim 17 is almost identical to claim 11 with the difference being that claim 17 is for a plurality of environmental control sensors. It seems that it should depend upon claim 15. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets the claim to depend upon claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cauchy et al. (US 8291866), hereinafter Cauchy, in view of Conway (US 6710714).
Regarding claim 1, Cauchy teaches of (fig. 1) an animal containment (abstract, portable pet living space) comprising:
four enclosure walls (side walls 14);
an enclosure top (top wall 12);
an enclosure bottom (bottom wall 13),
wherein the four enclosure walls (14), enclosure top (12), and enclosure bottom (13) form a unitary enclosure that defines an interior enclosure space (seen in fig. 1);
a ventilation aperture (vent 21) in one of the enclosure walls (14) (seen in fig. 1);
an enclosure door (openable access port 16) within one of the enclosure walls (seen in fig. 2), wherein the enclosure door opens and closes to allow access to the interior enclosure space (openable access port allows access to the interior enclosure space).
Cauchy does not appear to teach of an automatic release enclosure;
an electric door control device attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, wherein the electric door control device is in communication with and controls the enclosure door to open and close; and
a controller attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, wherein the controller is in communication with the electric door control device, and wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open or close the enclosure door.
Conway teaches of an automatic release enclosure (col. 3 lines 1-6, The electromechanical locking mechanism 18 is an assembly that automatically opens the latch 20);
an electric door control device (18) attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom (seen in fig. 1),
wherein the electric door control device (18) is in communication with and controls the enclosure door to open and close (col. 3 lines 1-6, The electromechanical locking mechanism 18 is an assembly that automatically opens the latch 20); and
a controller (fig. 2, systems controller 30) attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom (controller 30 is attached to the ac source and the latch on the door, which is on the enclosure wall), wherein the controller is in communication with the electric door control device (18) (seen in fig. 2), and wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open or close the enclosure door (col. 4 lines 46-55, If the systems controller 30 recognizes the received signal as being a legitimate alarm signal, the systems controller 30 activates the latch solenoid or motor 26, thereby opening the latch 20 that engages the cage door 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Conway of an automatic release enclosure; an electric door control device attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, wherein the electric door control device is in communication with and controls the enclosure door to open and close; and a controller attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, wherein the controller is in communication with the electric door control device, and wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open or close the enclosure door in order to automatically open and close the door depending on user control or situations, such as to automatically release the animal when a fire is detected as motivated by Conway in the abstract.
Regarding claim 2, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 1, but does not appear to teach of wherein the electric door control device is selected from the group consisting of a linear actuator, a servo drive, a dual solenoid, a spring device, and any combinations thereof.
Conway teaches of wherein the electric door control device is selected from the group consisting of a linear actuator, a servo drive, a dual solenoid, a spring device, and any combinations thereof (col. 3 lines 21-35, of the options, the door 16 of the holding cage 10 is preferably spring loaded to open when released. As such, when the electromechanical locking mechanism 18 opens the latch 20, the door 16 opens and frees any animal held in that holding cage 10. Col. 3 lines 48-57, the latch linkage 24 is moved by an electric solenoid or motor 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Conway of wherein the electric door control device is selected from the group consisting of a linear actuator, a servo drive, a dual solenoid, a spring device, and any combinations thereof in order to use effective mechanisms to open the door when the door is unlocked such that the animal knows it is freed and can leave the enclosure.
Regarding claim 13, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 1, further comprising a charging port and a rechargeable battery in communication with the charging port (col. 5 lines 18-27, Current is supplied to the TE module by a power source, which could be any of a: battery; conductor that connects to a vehicle power source, such as a cigarette lighter outlet; conductor that connects to a wall outlet; rechargeable battery; power adaptor; or other such power source.).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cauchy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brownridge (US 20170027131).
Regarding claim 3, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 1, but does not appear to teach of further comprising a wireless transmitter in communication with the controller and configured to communicate with a personal communication device of a user, so that the user can send a command to the controller through the wireless transmitter to open or close the enclosure door.
Brownridge teaches of further comprising a wireless transmitter (fig. 13, ¶0138, second communication system 102 is a wireless internet connection) in communication with the controller and configured to communicate with a personal communication device of a user (figs. 3-11, use of a personal communication device of a user to the controller), so that the user can send a command to the controller through the wireless transmitter to open or close the enclosure door (figs. 6, 14-A-16-A, ¶0023, user sends commands to the controller through the wireless transmitter from their personal communication device to unlock or lock the enclosure door and to open or close the door).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Brownridge of further comprising a wireless transmitter in communication with the controller and configured to communicate with a personal communication device of a user, so that the user can send a command to the controller through the wireless transmitter to open or close the enclosure door in order to conveniently remotely control the door of the enclosure.
Regarding claim 4, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 3, and Brownridge further teaches of wherein the gateway hub enclosure communicates with the personal communication device using a protocols selected from the group consisting of Z-wave, Zigbee, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth*, and any combinations thereof (¶0138, of the options, communication with the personal communication device is through a wireless internet connection, or Wi-Fi).
Regarding claim 5, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 3, but does not appear to teach of wherein the controller and the wireless transmitter are within a gateway hub enclosure mounted to an exterior surface of one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom.
Brownridge teaches of wherein the controller and the wireless transmitter are within a gateway hub enclosure mounted to an exterior surface of one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom (figs. 1, 2, 12, and 13, the controller and wireless transmitter are within a gateway hub enclosure that is mounted to an exterior surface of the enclosure wall where the user interface 20 and control panel 72 is located).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Brownridge of wherein the controller and the wireless transmitter are within a gateway hub enclosure mounted to an exterior surface of one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom in order to be at a location that can easily communicate with the personal communication device and have less obstacles in between the signals between the controller and the personal communication device.
Claims 6-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cauchy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heath et al. (US 10292369), hereinafter Heath.
Regarding claim 6, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 1, but does not appear to teach of further comprising an environmental control sensor attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, and wherein the environmental control sensor is in communication with the controller.
Heath teaches of (fig. 4) further comprising an environmental control sensor (one or more atmospheric sensors 240) attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom (attached to the enclosure top), and wherein the environmental control sensor is in communication with the controller (col. 8 lines 9-43, data from atmospheric sensors 240 are communicated with one or more controllers 320).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Heath of further comprising an environmental control sensor attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, and wherein the environmental control sensor is in communication with the controller in order to detect environmental conditions and determine if they are suitable for the animal as motivated by Heath in col. 5 line 61 - col. 6 line 20.
Regarding claim 7, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 6, and Heath further teaches of wherein the environmental control sensor is a plurality of environmental control sensors (fig. 4, one or more atmospheric sensors 240).
Regarding claim 8, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 6, but does not appear to teach of wherein the environmental control sensor is selected from the group consisting of a carbon monoxide sensor, a moisture sensor that detects a level of moisture in the interior enclosure space, a temperature sensor, and any combinations thereof.
Heath teaches of wherein the environmental control sensor is selected from the group consisting of a carbon monoxide sensor, a moisture sensor that detects a level of moisture in the interior enclosure space, a temperature sensor, and any combinations thereof (col. 5 line 61 - col. 6 line 20, Sensors 240 can be a humidity sensor to detect humidity inside the enclosure space, a carbon monoxide sensor, and a temperature sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Heath of wherein the environmental control sensor is selected from the group consisting of a carbon monoxide sensor, a moisture sensor that detects a level of moisture in the interior enclosure space, a temperature sensor, and any combinations thereof in order to monitor various different environmental conditions and determine if they are suitable for the animal.
Regarding claim 9, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 6, but does not appear to teach of wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open the enclosure door when the controller receives a measured value from the environmental control sensor that is above a threshold value.
Conway teaches of (fig. 2) wherein the controller (30) is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device (18) to open the enclosure door when the controller receives a measured value from the environmental control sensor (smoke detector 12) that is above a threshold value (abstract, The systems controller monitors alarm signals transmitted to it from a remote smoke detector. The transmitted alarm signals can be audible alarm signals, radio alarm signals or optical alarm signals. Once the alarm signal is received and identified by the systems controller, the systems controller activates the electromechanical locking mechanism and opens the door to the holding cage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Conway of wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open the enclosure door when the controller receives a measured value from the environmental control sensor that is above a threshold value in order to allow the animal to escape if the environmental conditions are not suitable for the animal as motivated by Conway in col. 1 line 21-col. 2 line 6.
Regarding claim 11, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 6, but does not appear to teach of wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open the enclosure door and/or a notification to the personal communication device when the controller receives a measured value from the environmental control sensor that is above a threshold value.
Conway teaches of (fig. 2) wherein the controller (30) is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device (18) to open the enclosure door when the controller receives a measured value from the environmental control sensor that is above a threshold value (abstract, The systems controller monitors alarm signals transmitted to it from a remote smoke detector. The transmitted alarm signals can be audible alarm signals, radio alarm signals or optical alarm signals. Once the alarm signal is received and identified by the systems controller, the systems controller activates the electromechanical locking mechanism and opens the door to the holding cage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Conway of wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open the enclosure door and/or a notification to the personal communication device when the controller receives a measured value from the environmental control sensor that is above a threshold value in order to allow the animal to escape if the environmental conditions are not suitable for the animal as motivated by Conway in col. 1 line 21-col. 2 line 6.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cauchy as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Brownridge (US 20170027131).
Regarding claim 10, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 6, but does not appear to teach of further comprising a wireless transmitter in communication with the controller and configured to communicate with a personal communication device of a user, so that the user can send a command to the controller from the personal communication device through the wireless transmitter to open or close the enclosure door.
Brownridge teaches of further comprising a wireless transmitter (fig. 13, ¶0138, second communication system 102 is a wireless internet connection) in communication with the controller and configured to communicate with a personal communication device of a user (figs. 3-11, use of a personal communication device of a user to the controller), so that the user can send a command to the controller from the personal communication device through the wireless transmitter to open or close the enclosure door (figs. 6, 14-A-16-A, ¶0023, user sends commands to the controller through the wireless transmitter from their personal communication device to unlock or lock the enclosure door and to open or close the door).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Brownridge of further comprising a wireless transmitter in communication with the controller and configured to communicate with a personal communication device of a user, so that the user can send a command to the controller from the personal communication device through the wireless transmitter to open or close the enclosure door in order to conveniently remotely control the door of the enclosure.
Regarding claim 12, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 6, but does not appear to teach of wherein the controller is configured to store measurement data from the environmental control sensor and data relating to when the electric door control device opens or closes the enclosure door.
Brownridge teaches of wherein the controller is configured to store measurement data from the environmental control sensor and data relating to when the electric door control device opens or closes the enclosure door (fig. 16-B, ¶0131-0133, stores measurement data from the environmental monitoring elements 30 and sends the data to user 24. The controller stores data on whether the door has been opened or closed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Brownridge of wherein the controller is configured to store measurement data from the environmental control sensor and data relating to when the electric door control device opens or closes the enclosure door in order to monitor changes of the environment and operation of the enclosure such that the user knows if the animal is comfortable and can monitor when the door has been opened or closed.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cauchy et al. (US 8291866), hereinafter Cauchy, in view of Conway (US 6710714) and Brownridge (US 20170027131).
Regarding claim 14, Cauchy teaches of (fig. 1) an animal containment (abstract, portable pet living space) comprising:
four enclosure walls (side walls 14);
an enclosure top (top wall 12);
an enclosure bottom (bottom wall 13),
wherein the four enclosure walls (14), enclosure top (12), and enclosure bottom (13) form a unitary enclosure that defines an interior enclosure space (seen in fig. 1);
a ventilation aperture (vent 21) in one of the enclosure walls (14) (seen in fig. 1);
an enclosure door (openable access port 16) within one of the enclosure walls (seen in fig. 2), wherein the enclosure door opens and closes to allow access to the interior enclosure space (openable access port allows access to the interior enclosure space).
Cauchy does not appear to teach of an automatic release enclosure;
an electric door control device attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, wherein the electric door control device is in communication with and controls the enclosure door to open and close, wherein the electric door control device is selected from the group consisting of a linear actuator, a servo drive, a dual solenoid, a spring device, and any combinations thereof;
a controller attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, wherein the controller is in communication with the electric door control device, and wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open or close the enclosure door; and
a wireless transmitter in communication with the controller and configured to communicate with a personal communication device of a user, so that the user can send a command to the controller through the wireless transmitter to open or close the enclosure door.
Conway teaches of an automatic release enclosure (col. 3 lines 1-6, The electromechanical locking mechanism 18 is an assembly that automatically opens the latch 20);
an electric door control device (18) attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom (seen in fig. 1),
wherein the electric door control device (18) is in communication with and controls the enclosure door to open and close (col. 3 lines 1-6, The electromechanical locking mechanism 18 is an assembly that automatically opens the latch 20),
wherein the electric door control device is selected from the group consisting of a linear actuator, a servo drive, a dual solenoid, a spring device, and any combinations thereof (col. 3 lines 21-35, of the options, the door 16 of the holding cage 10 is preferably spring loaded to open when released. As such, when the electromechanical locking mechanism 18 opens the latch 20, the door 16 opens and frees any animal held in that holding cage 10. Col. 3 lines 48-57, the latch linkage 24 is moved by an electric solenoid or motor 26);
a controller (fig. 2, systems controller 30) attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom (controller 30 is attached to the ac source and the latch on the door, which is on the enclosure wall), wherein the controller is in communication with the electric door control device (18) (seen in fig. 2), and wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open or close the enclosure door (col. 4 lines 46-55, If the systems controller 30 recognizes the received signal as being a legitimate alarm signal, the systems controller 30 activates the latch solenoid or motor 26, thereby opening the latch 20 that engages the cage door 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Conway of an automatic release enclosure;
an electric door control device attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, wherein the electric door control device is in communication with and controls the enclosure door to open and close, wherein the electric door control device is selected from the group consisting of a linear actuator, a servo drive, a dual solenoid, a spring device, and any combinations thereof;
a controller attached to one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, wherein the controller is in communication with the electric door control device, and wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open or close the enclosure door in order to automatically open and close the door depending on user control or situations, such as to automatically release the animal when a fire is detected as motivated by Conway in the abstract and to use effective mechanisms to open the door when the door is unlocked such that the animal knows it is freed and can leave the enclosure.
Brownridge teaches of a wireless transmitter (fig. 13, ¶0138, second communication system 102 is a wireless internet connection) in communication with the controller and configured to communicate with a personal communication device of a user (figs. 3-11, use of a personal communication device of a user to the controller), so that the user can send a command to the controller through the wireless transmitter to open or close the enclosure door (figs. 6, 14-A-16-A, ¶0023, user sends commands to the controller through the wireless transmitter from their personal communication device to unlock or lock the enclosure door and to open or close the door).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Brownridge of a wireless transmitter in communication with the controller and configured to communicate with a personal communication device of a user, so that the user can send a command to the controller through the wireless transmitter to open or close the enclosure door in order to conveniently remotely control the door of the enclosure.
Regarding claim 20, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 14, and further comprising a charging port and a rechargeable battery in communication with the charging port (col. 5 lines 18-27, Current is supplied to the TE module by a power source, which could be any of a: battery; conductor that connects to a vehicle power source, such as a cigarette lighter outlet; conductor that connects to a wall outlet; rechargeable battery; power adaptor; or other such power source.).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cauchy as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Heath et al. (US 10292369), hereinafter Heath.
Regarding claim 15, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 14, but does not appear to teach of further comprising a plurality of environmental control sensors attached to at least one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, and wherein each of the plurality of environmental control sensors is in communication with the controller.
Heath teaches of further comprising a plurality of environmental control sensors (fig. 4, one or more atmospheric sensors 240) attached to at least one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom (attached to the enclosure top), and wherein each of the plurality of environmental control sensors is in communication with the controller (col. 8 lines 9-43, data from atmospheric sensors 240 are communicated with one or more controllers 320).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Heath of further comprising a plurality of environmental control sensors attached to at least one of the four enclosure walls, enclosure top, and enclosure bottom, and wherein each of the plurality of environmental control sensors is in communication with the controller in order to detect environmental conditions and determine if they are suitable for the animal as motivated by Heath in col. 5 line 61 - col. 6 line 20.
Regarding claim 16, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 15, but does not appear to teach of wherein the plurality of environmental control sensors are selected from the group consisting of a carbon monoxide sensor, a moisture sensor that detects a level of moisture in the interior enclosure space, a temperature sensor, and any combinations thereof.
Heath teaches of wherein the plurality of environmental control sensors are selected from the group consisting of a carbon monoxide sensor, a moisture sensor that detects a level of moisture in the interior enclosure space, a temperature sensor, and any combinations thereof (col. 5 line 61 - col. 6 line 20, Sensors 240 can be a humidity sensor to detect humidity inside the enclosure space, a carbon monoxide sensor, and a temperature sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Heath of wherein the plurality of environmental control sensors are selected from the group consisting of a carbon monoxide sensor, a moisture sensor that detects a level of moisture in the interior enclosure space, a temperature sensor, and any combinations thereof in order to monitor various different environmental conditions and determine if they are suitable for the animal.
Regarding claim 17, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 15, but does not appear to teach of wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open the enclosure door and/or a notification to the personal communication device when the controller receives a measured value from one of the plurality of environmental control sensors that is above a threshold value.
Conway teaches of (fig. 2) wherein the controller (30) is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device (18) to open the enclosure door when the controller receives a measured value from one of the plurality of environmental control sensors that is above a threshold value (abstract, The systems controller monitors alarm signals transmitted to it from a remote smoke detector. The transmitted alarm signals can be audible alarm signals, radio alarm signals or optical alarm signals. Once the alarm signal is received and identified by the systems controller, the systems controller activates the electromechanical locking mechanism and opens the door to the holding cage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Conway of wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the electric door control device to open the enclosure door and/or a notification to the personal communication device when the controller receives a measured value from one of the plurality of environmental control sensors that is above a threshold value in order to allow the animal to escape if the environmental conditions are not suitable for the animal as motivated by Conway in col. 1 line 21-col. 2 line 6.
Regarding claim 18, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 15, but does not appear to teach of wherein the plurality of environmental control sensors are selected from the group consisting of a moisture sensor that detects a level of moisture in the interior enclosure space, a temperature sensor, and a combination thereof.
Heath teaches of wherein the plurality of environmental control sensors are selected from the group consisting of a moisture sensor that detects a level of moisture in the interior enclosure space, a temperature sensor, and a combination thereof (col. 5 line 61 - col. 6 line 20, Sensors 240 can be a humidity sensor to detect humidity inside the enclosure space, a carbon monoxide sensor, and a temperature sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cauchy to incorporate the teachings of Heath of wherein the plurality of environmental control sensors are selected from the group consisting of a moisture sensor that detects a level of moisture in the interior enclosure space, a temperature sensor, and a combination thereof in order to monitor various different environmental conditions and determine if they are suitable for the animal.
Regarding claim 19, Cauchy as modified teaches of claim 18, and Heath further teaches of further comprising a carbon monoxide sensor (col. 5 line 61 - col. 6 line 20, sensors 240 can be a carbon monoxide sensor).
Conclusion
The cited references made of record in the contemporaneously filed PTO-892 form and not relied upon in the instant office action are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and may have one or more of the elements in Applicant’s disclosure and at least claim 1.
/ZOE TAM TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3647