DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: extracting, by a reference analysis engine; extracting, by a user image analysis engine in; generating, by a virtual try-on engine claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (Publication: US 2021/0406996 A1) in view of Ivie et al. (Patent: US 10,395,297 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions configured to, when executed by one or more computing devices of a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising ([0048], [0049] , Fig. 4 - System 40 is a computer device 402, It is known that a computer has instructions stored in the memory and processed by CPU to perform the following methods: ):
extracting by a reference analysis engine, one or more reference attributes of a reference image or graphical avatar ([0139] FIG. 17, a facial-attribute unit 1702 “a reference analysis engine” including processing circuitry configured to extract a plurality of facial attributes from a source image of a face.
In digital environments, an avatar is simply a graphical representation of a person.);
executing a machine learning model using the one or more reference attributes and the one or more target attributes as input to generate target image modification data as output ([0075] processing the source image to apply the at least one facial effect comprises using a deep learning network (e.g. GANs-based) configured to apply the facial effect or other deep-learning models or other image processing techniques are used.
[0081], [0085] - FIG. 8 shows an interface (e.g. a screen 800) for face analysis for presenting facial attributes determined from the source image 420. In the present interface, the source image is presented as modified (420A) to present (e.g. overlay) information 802 about facial attributes. Facial attribute information 803 is presented contextually and in association with regions of the face 420 related to the attributes. the facial attribute information identifies the attribute and associated value from Table 1 as determined for the source image 420. Control 808 (e.g. “Continue to my Make-up Looks”) advances to a recommendation interface, “one or more reference attributes and the one or more target attributes as input”.
[0090], [0093] FIGS. 10A-10D illustrates initial screens 1000, 1010, 1020 and 1030 of a recommendation interface. The looks are keyed (stored in association) with facial attribute information such as where a product or technique to apply it is associated with (e.g. recommended for) one or more particular facial attributes. For example, to achieve a particular look for a face having: an oval face, almond eyes, thick brows, brown brows, red undertone, blond hair, etc.; then applicable products for face, eyes, brows, and lips are determined. After selecting the recommendation, “generate target image modification data as output”, FIGS. 11A and 11B show a product recommendation interface (e.g. screen 1100 shown in two parts as 1100A and 1100B) in which reality is simulated. The selected look with product recommendations determined to match the facial attributes are simulated on source image 420 to present image 420D); and
generating, by a virtual try-on engine, a modified version of the target user image based on the target image modification data generated by the machine learning model ([0075] - An augmented reality (AR) virtual try on method “virtual try-on engine” configured in a (client-side) computing device is used to simulate an effect associated with a recommended product or service on a source image, giving a virtual try user experience. processing the source image to apply the at least one facial effect comprises using a deep learning network (e.g. GANs-based) configured to apply the facial effect or other deep-learning models or other image processing techniques are used, “machine learning model”.
By way of summary, a camera frame or photo (e.g. as a source image) as well as rendering values (such as a red, green blue (RGB) color and color opacity) which represent makeup products are received as input to the method. The source image is processed, using face tracking, to determine key landmarks around a user's face in the source image. Using these landmarks, areas of the face relative to a makeup product, are masked out such as the user's lips for a lip related product. Next, the rendering values are used to draw the makeup onto the user's face in the masked out area, “generating, by a virtual try-on engine, a modified version of the target user image”.
[0090], [0093] FIGS. 10A-10D illustrates initial screens 1000, 1010, 1020 and 1030 of a recommendation interface. After selecting the recommendation, FIGS. 11A and 11B show a product recommendation interface (e.g. screen 1100 shown in two parts as 1100A and 1100B) in which reality is simulated. The selected look with product recommendations determined to match the facial attributes are simulated on source image 420 to present image 420D, “modifying”.).
Yu does not disclose; however, Ivie discloses
extracting, by a user image analysis engine one or more target attributes of a target user image (column 9 line 51 - the presence of faces and other features within a digital photograph may also be extracted from the image file through standard recognition algorithms and procedures.
Column 15 line 46 - As is also shown in FIG. 5A, the outlines or silhouettes of the individuals 510A, 520A may be extracted from the photograph 502A and analyzed in order to identify data, attributes and/or other information regarding the personal tendencies of the person 530A who made the posting 500A. For example, the individual 510A is determined to be wearing a light blue wool hat 512A and a white ski jacket 516A, and having blonde hair 514A.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yu with extracting, by a user image analysis engine one or more target attributes of a target user image as taught by Ivie. The motivation for doing is to be able to customized to the member’s interest thus provide smooth, easy-to-use and functional interfaces.
Regarding claim 2, see rejection on claim 13.
Regarding claim 3, see rejection on claim 13.
Regarding claim 4, see rejection on claim 14.
Regarding claim 5, see rejection on claim 15.
Regarding claim 6, see rejection on claim 16.
Regarding claim 7, see rejection on claim 16.
Regarding claim 8, see rejection on claim 17.
Regarding claim 9, see rejection on claim 17.
Regarding claim 10, see rejection on claim 18.
Regarding claim 11, see rejection on claim 19.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection on claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Yu in view of Ivie disclose all the limitation of claim 12.
Yu discloses wherein the machine learning model is trained on a training set of modified user images using a supervised learning approach (
[0056] Processes the source image of a face using a network model performing deep learning and supervised regression “supervised learning approach” to output a prediction for each of the facial attributes. ), and
wherein the training set of modified user images is labeled with corresponding avatar attributes ( [0087] FIG. 9B shows a region interface 910 to highlight visually the region 912 related to the facial attributes of the brows and provide further information in portion 914 such as brow shape, brow color (e.g. “Brows Shape & Colour Information Make-Up Tips”, “labeled with corresponding avatar attributes”).
[0057] - the network model comprises a convolutional neural network (CNN) model comprising residual blocks performing deep learning to produce a feature vector of shared features for classification by respective classifiers to predict the facial attributes. Duplicates of the feature vector are made to be processed by a respective classifier for a respective one of the facial attributes. In an embodiment, the network model comprises a plurality of respective classifiers, each of the respective classifiers comprising one or more fully connected linear layers, wherein each of the respective classifiers providing as output a prediction of a respective one of the facial attributes “training set of modified user images”. The plurality of respective classifiers, in an embodiment, perform in parallel to provide the facial attributes.
In digital environments, an avatar is simply a graphical representation of a person.).
Regarding claim 14, Yu in view of Ivie disclose all the limitation of claim 13.
Yu discloses wherein the one or more reference attributes comprise a first set of color values, and wherein the target image modification data generated by the machine learning model comprises a second set of color values (
[0087] FIG. 9B shows a region interface 910 to highlight visually the region 912 related to the facial attributes of the brows and provide further information in portion 914 such as brow shape, brow color (e.g. “Brows Shape & Colour Information Make-Up Tips”.). ).
[0043] Table 2 shows outputs and evaluations for a model for predicting color attributes as trained. Attribute outputs annotated with an “*” represent outputs that are rarely predicted by the model. In an embodiment, additional training data is utilized to improve such predictions. Another approach includes combining or bundling these granular predictions together or with more common (and related) predictions, reducing granularity or fineness of the predictions, “a first set of color values; a second set of color values” .
).
Ivie discloses first set of hexadecimal color values and a second set of hexadecimal color values (column 10 line 5 - the colors white and black are expressed in RGB codes as 255, 255, 255 and 0, 0, 0, respectively, while the color National Flag Blue is expressed as 0, 38, 100. Colors may also be expressed according to a six-character hexadecimal model).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yu in view Ivie with first set of hexadecimal color values and a second set of hexadecimal color values as taught by Ivie. The motivation for doing is to be able to customized to the member’s interest thus provide smooth, easy-to-use and functional interfaces.
Regarding claim 15, Yu in view of Ivie disclose all the limitation of claim 12.
Yu discloses wherein the one or more reference attributes comprise one or more hair color values of [[a graphical avatar]], wherein the machine learning model uses the one or more hair color values of the [[graphical avatar]] as input to generate the target image modification data (
[0028], [0029] – hair attributes were trained.
[0100] - On an applicable user interface. An application and its interface is configurable to perform any one or more of: Use the hair color detection to recommend achievable colors; Use the hair color detection to extract hair colors from trending images to recommend related colors;
In digital environments, an avatar is simply a graphical representation of a person. ), and
wherein the target image modification data comprises one or more modified hair color values for the target user image ( [0028] – the hair color attributes are the attributes. During inferencing , the prediction (for each respective attribute) are aggregated at the end.
[0100] - On an applicable user interface. An application and its interface is configurable to perform any one or more of: Use the hair color detection to recommend achievable colors; Use the hair color detection to extract hair colors from trending images to recommend related colors; Use the facial/hair features to predict lifestyle.
In digital environments, an avatar is simply a graphical representation of a person. ).
Ivie discloses
hair color values of a graphical avatar (Column 15 line 46 - As is also shown in FIG. 5A, the outlines or silhouettes of the individuals 510A, 520A may be extracted from the photograph 502A and analyzed in order to identify data, attributes and/or other information regarding the personal tendencies of the person 530A who made the posting 500A. For example, the individual 510A is determined to be wearing a light blue wool hat 512A and a white ski jacket 516A, and having blonde hair 514A.
In digital environments, an avatar is simply a graphical representation of a person.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yu in view Ivie with hair color values of a graphical avatar as taught by Ivie. The motivation for doing is to be able to customized to the member’s interest thus provide smooth, easy-to-use and functional interfaces.
Regarding claim 16, Yu in view of Ivie disclose all the limitation of claim 12.
Yu discloses wherein the one or more reference attributes comprise a face color value of the reference image or graphical avatar ( [0062] - a first network model (e.g. a sub model) processes the source image for color-based facial attributes to produce a color-based feature vector for processing by respective ones of the plurality of classifiers configured to predict color-based facial attributes ) ,
wherein generating the modified version of the target user image comprises modifying a face area of the target user image based on the face color value of the reference image or graphical avatar ([0086] FIG. 9A shows a region interface 900 to highlight visually the region 902 related to the facial attributes of the face overall and provide further information (e.g. in portion 904) such as face shape, skin tone, undertone (e.g. “Shape, Skintone,& Undertone Information Make-Up Tips). Additional information in portion 904 relates to associated products for the region 902 and comprises graphics and/or text, color swatch images, etc.
[0090], [0093] FIGS. 10A-10D illustrates initial screens 1000, 1010, 1020 and 1030 of a recommendation interface. After selecting the recommendation, FIGS. 11A and 11B show a product recommendation interface (e.g. screen 1100 shown in two parts as 1100A and 1100B) in which reality is simulated. The selected look with product recommendations determined to match the facial attributes are simulated on source image 420 to present image 420D, “generating the modified version of the target user image”.),
wherein the modified version of the target user image includes a depiction of a virtual cosmetic applied to the modified face area of the target user image, and wherein a color of the virtual cosmetic corresponds to the face color value of the reference image or graphical avatar (
[0087] - A control 906 is provided (e.g. “See My Recommendations”) to advance to product recommendation interface (e.g. FIG. 10A). A control 918 is provided to advance to another region interface such as for eyes (region interface for eyes not shown). Controls 920 are provided for advancing to specific region interfaces or the “My Results” interface (e.g. FIG. 8). Advancing to specific region interfaces may be navigated by swiping, or taping one of controls 920.
[0090], [0093] FIGS. 10A-10D illustrates initial screens 1000, 1010, 1020 and 1030 of a recommendation interface. After selecting the recommendation, FIGS. 11A and 11B show a product recommendation interface (e.g. screen 1100 shown in two parts as 1100A and 1100B) in which reality is simulated. The selected look with product recommendations determined to match the facial attributes are simulated on source image 420 to present image 420D, “the modified version of the target user image”.).
Regarding claim 17, Yu in view of Ivie disclose all the limitation of claim 12.
Yu discloses wherein the one or more reference attributes comprise a texture value of the reference image or graphical avatar, the method further comprising (
[0081] FIG. 8 shows an interface (e.g. a screen 800) for face analysis for presenting facial attributes determined from the source image 420. The facial attribute information identifies the attribute and associated value from Table 1 as determined for the source image 420. Table 1 shows Hair texture.
):
executing a machine learning model using the texture value of the reference image or graphical avatar as input to generate target image texture modification data as output ([0075] processing the source image to apply the at least one facial effect comprises using a deep learning network (e.g. GANs-based) configured to apply the facial effect or other deep-learning models or other image processing techniques are used. an augmented reality (AR) virtual try on method configured in a (client-side) computing device is used to simulate an effect associated with a recommended product or service on a source image.
[0081], [0085] - FIG. 8 shows an interface (e.g. a screen 800) for face analysis for presenting facial attributes determined from the source image 420. In the present interface, the source image is presented as modified (420A) to present (e.g. overlay) information 802 about facial attributes. Facial attribute information 803 is presented contextually and in association with regions of the face 420 related to the attributes. the facial attribute information identifies the attribute and associated value from Table 1 as determined for the source image 420. Control 808 (e.g. “Continue to my Make-up Looks”) advances to a recommendation interface
) ; and
by the virtual try-on engine, further modifying the target user image based on the target image texture modification data by modifying a face area of the target user image based on the target image texture modification data, wherein the modified face area of the target user image includes a depiction of a virtual cosmetic applied to the modified face area of the target user image, the depicted virtual cosmetic having a texture or finish based on the target image texture modification data (
[0075] - processing the source image to apply the at least one facial effect comprises using a deep learning network (e.g. GANs-based) configured to apply the facial effect or other deep-learning models or other image processing techniques are used. An augmented reality (AR) virtual try on method “virtual try-on engine” configured in a (client-side) computing device is used to simulate an effect associated with a recommended product or service on a source image, giving a virtual try user experience. By way of summary, a camera frame or photo (e.g. as a source image) as well as rendering values (such as a red, green blue (RGB) color and color opacity) which represent makeup products are received as input to the method. The source image is processed, using face tracking, to determine key landmarks around a user's face in the source image, “the modified face area of the target user image”. Using these landmarks, areas of the face relative to a makeup product, are masked out such as the user's lips for a lip related product. Next, the rendering values are used to draw the makeup onto the user's face in the masked out area, “a virtual cosmetic applied to the modified face area of the target user image”.
[0081] FIG. 8 shows an interface (e.g. a screen 800) for face analysis for presenting facial attributes determined from the source image 420. The facial attribute information identifies the attribute and associated value from Table 1 as determined for the source image 420. Table 1 shows Hair texture, “texture”.
[0090], [0093] FIGS. 10A-10D illustrates initial screens 1000, 1010, 1020 and 1030 of a recommendation interface. After selecting the recommendation, FIGS. 11A and 11B show a product recommendation interface (e.g. screen 1100 shown in two parts as 1100A and 1100B) in which reality is simulated. The selected look with product recommendations determined to match the facial attributes are simulated on source image 420 to present image 420D, “generating the modified version of the target user image”.).
Regarding claim 18, Yu in view of Ivie disclose all the limitation of claim 12.
Yu discloses wherein the one or more reference attributes of the reference image or graphical avatar comprise length, texture, or style of hair of the reference image or graphical avatar, the method further comprising (
[0081] FIG. 8 shows an interface (e.g. a screen 800) for face analysis for presenting facial attributes determined from the source image 420. The facial attribute information identifies the attribute and associated value from Table 1 as determined for the source image 420. Table 1 shows Hair texture, “texture”.
):
executing a machine learning model using the length, texture, or style of the hair of the reference image or graphical avatar as input to generate target image hair modification data as output ([0075] processing the source image to apply the at least one facial effect comprises using a deep learning network (e.g. GANs-based) configured to apply the facial effect or other deep-learning models or other image processing techniques are used. an augmented reality (AR) virtual try on method configured in a (client-side) computing device is used to simulate an effect associated with a recommended product or service on a source image.
[0081], [0085] - FIG. 8 shows an interface (e.g. a screen 800) for face analysis for presenting facial attributes determined from the source image 420. In the present interface, the source image is presented as modified (420A) to present (e.g. overlay) information 802 about facial attributes. Facial attribute information 803 is presented contextually and in association with regions of the face 420 related to the attributes. the facial attribute information identifies the attribute and associated value from Table 1 as determined for the source image 420. Control 808 (e.g. “Continue to my Make-up Looks”) advances to a recommendation interface
); and
by the virtual try-on engine, further modifying the target user image based on the target image hair modification data ([0075] - processing the source image to apply the at least one facial effect comprises using a deep learning network (e.g. GANs-based) configured to apply the facial effect or other deep-learning models or other image processing techniques are used. An augmented reality (AR) virtual try on method “virtual try-on engine” configured in a (client-side) computing device is used to simulate an effect associated with a recommended product or service on a source image, giving a virtual try user experience. By way of summary, a camera frame or photo (e.g. as a source image) as well as rendering values (such as a red, green blue (RGB) color and color opacity) which represent makeup products are received as input to the method. The source image is processed, using face tracking, to determine key landmarks around a user's face in the source image. Using these landmarks, areas of the face relative to a makeup product, are masked out such as the user's lips for a lip related product. Next, the rendering values are used to draw the makeup onto the user's face in the masked out area, “a virtual cosmetic applied to the modified face area of the target user image”.
[0081] FIG. 8 shows an interface (e.g. a screen 800) for face analysis for presenting facial attributes determined from the source image 420. The facial attribute information identifies the attribute and associated value from Table 1 as determined for the source image 420. Table 1 shows Hair texture, “texture”.
[0090], [0093] FIGS. 10A-10D illustrates initial screens 1000, 1010, 1020 and 1030 of a recommendation interface. After selecting the recommendation, FIGS. 11A and 11B show a product recommendation interface (e.g. screen 1100 shown in two parts as 1100A and 1100B) in which reality is simulated. The selected look with product recommendations determined to match the facial attributes are simulated on source image 420 to present image 420D, “generating the modified version of the target user image”.).
Regarding claim 19, Yu in view of Ivie disclose all the limitation of claim 12.
Yu discloses wherein the one or more reference attributes of the reference image or graphical avatar comprise length, density, color, or texture of eyelashes of the reference image or graphical avatar, the method further comprising [0081] FIG. 8 shows an interface (e.g. a screen 800) for face analysis for presenting facial attributes determined from the source image 420. The facial attribute information identifies the attribute and associated value from Table 1 as determined for the source image 420. Table 1 shows Hair texture, “texture”.
):
executing a machine learning model using the length, density, color, or texture of eyelashes of the reference image or graphical avatar as input to generate target image eyelash modification data as output ([0075] processing the source image to apply the at least one facial effect comprises using a deep learning network (e.g. GANs-based) configured to apply the facial effect or other deep-learning models or other image processing techniques are used. an augmented reality (AR) virtual try on method configured in a (client-side) computing device is used to simulate an effect associated with a recommended product or service on a source image.
[0081], [0085] - FIG. 8 shows an interface (e.g. a screen 800) for face analysis for presenting facial attributes determined from the source image 420. In the present interface, the source image is presented as modified (420A) to present (e.g. overlay) information 802 about facial attributes. Facial attribute information 803 is presented contextually and in association with regions of the face 420 related to the attributes. the facial attribute information identifies the attribute and associated value from Table 1 as determined for the source image 420. Control 808 (e.g. “Continue to my Make-up Looks”) advances to a recommendation interface. Table 1 includes “eyelashes length”
); and
by the virtual try-on engine, further modifying the target user image based on the target image eyelash modification data ([0075] - processing the source image to apply the at least one facial effect comprises using a deep learning network (e.g. GANs-based) configured to apply the facial effect or other deep-learning models or other image processing techniques are used. An augmented reality (AR) virtual try on method “virtual try-on engine” configured in a (client-side) computing device is used to simulate an effect associated with a recommended product or service on a source image, giving a virtual try user experience. By way of summary, a camera frame or photo (e.g. as a source image) as well as rendering values (such as a red, green blue (RGB) color and color opacity) which represent makeup products are received as input to the method. The source image is processed, using face tracking, to determine key landmarks around a user's face in the source image. Using these landmarks, areas of the face relative to a makeup product, are masked out such as the user's lips for a lip related product. Next, the rendering values are used to draw the makeup onto the user's face in the masked out area, “a virtual cosmetic applied to the modified face area of the target user image”.
[0081] FIG. 8 shows an interface (e.g. a screen 800) for face analysis for presenting facial attributes determined from the source image 420. The facial attribute information identifies the attribute and associated value from Table 1 as determined for the source image 420. Table 1 shows Hair texture, “texture”.
[0090], [0093] FIGS. 10A-10D illustrates initial screens 1000, 1010, 1020 and 1030 of a recommendation interface. After selecting the recommendation, FIGS. 11A and 11B show a product recommendation interface (e.g. screen 1100 shown in two parts as 1100A and 1100B) in which reality is simulated. The selected look with product recommendations determined to match the facial attributes are simulated on source image 420 to present image 420D, “modifying”.).
Regarding claim 20, Yu in view of Ivie disclose all the limitation of claim 12.
Yu discloses presenting in a user interface a product or style recommendation based on the one or more reference attributes, the target image modification data, the modified version of the target user image, or a combination thereof ([0090], [0093] FIGS. 10A-10D illustrates initial screens 1000, 1010, 1020 and 1030 of a recommendation interface. The looks are keyed (stored in association) with facial attribute information such as where a product or technique to apply it is associated with (e.g. recommended for) one or more particular facial attributes. For example, to achieve a particular look for a face having: an oval face, almond eyes, thick brows, brown brows, red undertone, blond hair, etc.; then applicable products for face, eyes, brows, and lips are determined. After selecting the recommendation, FIGS. 11A and 11B show a product recommendation interface (e.g. screen 1100 shown in two parts as 1100A and 1100B) in which reality is simulated. The selected look with product recommendations determined to match the facial attributes are simulated on source image 420 to present image 420D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MING WU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618