DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-6 are pending and examined below. This action is in response to the claims filed 12/18/24.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6 recite the claim element “external apparatus” which is defined in the Specification as “base unit 10, aircraft parking apron 20 and other drone 30′” (¶310).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2019/0265705).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Zhang discloses an autonomous movable object signal transmission based navigation system including a moving body/movement control method, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the processor performs wireless communication with an external apparatus (¶131 – external device/terminal corresponding to the recited external apparatus);
acquires a first index value indicating a transmission path characteristic between the moving body and the external apparatus (¶84-88 and Fig. 6 – signal transmission operating status corresponding to the recited transmission path characteristic between the moving body and the external apparatus which is utilized to determine the classification of the location corresponding to the recited index value); and
determines, based on the first index value, a first position or a first direction to or in which the moving body moves, and causes the moving body to move to the first position or in the first direction (¶87-88 and Fig. 6 – element 606 corresponding to the recited determining a first position to which the moving body moves based on the location classifier corresponding to the recited index value. The “or” element requires only one of the grouping to be present to disclose the invention as claimed.).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang further discloses wherein: the processor acquires a plurality of the first index values corresponding to a plurality of locations, respectively, and determines that the first position is, among the plurality of locations, a location at which a maximum value of the plurality of first index values is acquired (¶87-88 and Fig. 6 – UAV searches among “safe” points for determining a first location given that the “safe” points is classification for locations which are above a threshold data transmission rate where the “safe” location classifier corresponding to the recited the maximum index values for the plurality of locations).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang further discloses wherein the processor determines that the first direction is a direction away from the external apparatus in a case where the first index value is higher than a first threshold (¶81-88 and Figs. 6-9 – starting point being the location of the remote controller corresponding to the recited external apparatus being closer to the UAV than the next point to the destination which is at a first direction farther away from the external apparatus which is selected based on the state of signal transmission at the first point being above a threshold value).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang further discloses wherein the processor causes the moving body to stop at a location at which the first index value is acquired, in a case where the first index value is equal to or less than the first threshold (¶83-84 – after failing to transmit data to a control device for a period of time, corresponding to the recited first index value being equal to or less than the first threshold the UAV can backtrack to a point where wireless transmission strength was strong, a region where data transmission rate was above a threshold corresponding to the recited stopping forward progress at a location where an abnormal signal transmission condition was detected corresponding to the recited index value is equal to or less than the first threshold).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0265705), as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Rikoski (US 2014/0328141).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang further discloses wherein: the processor acquires, based on a first signal transmitted ... to the external apparatus, the first index value (¶71 and ¶84 – operational status including ),
acquires, based on a second signal transmitted ... to the external apparatus, a second index value indicating the transmission path characteristic, after the moving body moves to the first position (¶87 and Fig. 6 – element 608 corresponding to the recited acquiring a second index value indicating the transmission path characteristic, after the moving body moves to the first position), and
determines, based on the second index value, a second position or a second direction to or in which the moving body moves, and causes the moving body to move to the second position or in the second direction (¶87-88 and Fig. 6 – elements 610-612 disclose determining the second destination in real time based on the current state of signal transmission at the first destination to which it will move).
While Zhang does disclose acquiring a first index value at a first position based on signal transmission as well as acquiring a second index value at a second position after moving to it, it does not explicitly disclose utilizing differing transmission powers at each position.
However, Rikoski discloses a system for navigating autonomous underwater vehicles including positioning to achieve maximizing transmission resolution corresponding to the recited maximum index value where the system will aim to minimize transmission power at the next location corresponding to the recited a second signal transmitted with second transmission power lower than the first transmission power (¶30).
The combination of the signal transmission quality based navigation control of Zhang with the signal resolution optimization by minimizing transmission power of Rikoski fully discloses the elements as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have combined the signal transmission quality based navigation control of Zhang with the signal resolution optimization by minimizing transmission power of Rikoski in order to optimize resolution, signal transmission power, as well as reducing variation in signal to noise ratio (Rikoski - ¶30).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18984715 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite the same limitations except the present application includes a broader recitation of utilizing an “index value indicating a transmission path characteristic” whereas the co-pending application utilizes “a communication connection relationship of a communication network”. Both values are utilized to perform the same navigation planning and control and both values are generally reflective of a communications transmission signal quality.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Additional References Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Corbieres et al. (US 2020/0333787) discloses a marine surface drone including: - an on-board multi-beam sonar; - a system for controlling the sonar, configured to command, for a given position of the drone, a plurality of consecutive transmissions of acoustic waves, the control system controlling the sonar transmitters so as to vary the characteristics of the transmitted acoustic waves, from one of the transmissions to the next, and - an acquisition unit configured to determine, from echo signals acquired in response to the plurality of transmissions, a three-dimensional image representing the content of a given observation volume. (Abstract)
Berntsen et al. (US 2014/0086191) discloses a maritime communication networking system including optimizing transmission parameters including optimized speed, range, direction, highest energy content, transmit power and beam forming for achieving as high throughput of data as possible (¶103).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J. REDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665