DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claims 1 and 9,
The phrase “a predefined path” on line 6 is indefinite. A predefined path was already recited on line 4, and as best understood, both recitations refer to the same path but distinctly, making their relationship unclear.
The phrase “the first magnetic field having sufficient intensity to magnetize hard ferromagnetic materials possibly contained in one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or a portion thereof, when the flexible document transported by the conveyor group or the portion thereof is immersed in the first magnetic field at the initial section of the path” is indefinite, as it is unclear what “portion” on lines 6-10 is indefinite.
1) Claims must be definite, and while a phrase can be conditional or optional, it must be present or definitely able to be present. Claiming that a feature can “possibly” be present is not definite, because it does not require any situation in which the hard ferromagnetic materials are present. There is a difference between reciting that these materials “can” be present, in contrast with reciting that these material are “possibly” present. The term “can,” for example, is definite in that while it does not require the materials, they definitive “can” be present. The term “possibly” however never requires the materials to ever be present. This phrase is therefore indefinite, because it is unclear whether the materials are or are not required in the claim.
2) The phrase “the first magnetic field having sufficient intensity to magnetize hard ferromagnetic materials possibly contained in one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or a portion thereof, when the flexible document transported by the conveyor group or the portion thereof is immersed in the first magnetic field at the initial section of the path” is indefinite, as it is unclear what “portion” this phrase is referencing. If the hard ferromagnetic materials are in the flexible document, they must be in a portion of the document. The difference between this materials being in the document in contrast with the materials being in a portion of the document is therefore unclear, and the metes and bounds and difference between these features are unclear.
The phrase “the predefined path” on lines 12, 16, 22, 25, 28, and 30 is indefinite. More than one predefined path was previously recited, and it is unclear which path this phrase is referencing.
The phrase “said second magnetic field having sufficient intensity to magnetize soft ferromagnetic materials possibly contained in one or more of the ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or a portion thereof, when the flexible document or the portion thereof are immersed in the second magnetic field, at the following section of the predefined path , the intensity of the second magnetic field not exceeding a residual magnetization value of the hard ferromagnetic materials possibly present in the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof” on lines 12-18 is indefinite.
1) Claims must be definite, and while a phrase can be conditional or optional, it must be present or definitely able to be present. Claiming that a feature can “possibly” be present is not definite, because it does not require any situation in which the hard ferromagnetic materials are present. There is a difference between reciting that these materials “can” be present, in contrast with reciting that these material are “possibly” present. The term “can,” for example, is definite in that while it does not require the materials, they definitive “can” be present. The term “possibly” however never requires the materials to ever be present. This phrase is therefore indefinite, because it is unclear whether the materials are or are not required in the claim.
2) The phrase “said second magnetic field having sufficient intensity to magnetize soft ferromagnetic materials possibly contained in one or more of the ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or a portion thereof” this phrase is referencing. If the hard ferromagnetic materials are in the flexible document, they must be in a portion of the document. The difference between this materials being in the document in contrast with the materials being in a portion of the document is therefore unclear, and the metes and bounds and difference between these features are unclear.
3) The phrase “a portion” is indefinite, because a portion of the flexible document was already previously recited. As best understood, the above portion is referring to the same portion already recited, and the difference and relationship between these distinctly recited portions are therefore unclear.
4) The phrase “the portion” is indefinite, because more than one portion was previously recited, and it is unclear which portion this phrase is referencing.
The phrase “magnetization sensor, arranged at the second magnetization device and configured to detect the magnetization of the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof, when the flexible document transported by the conveyor group or the portion thereof is at the following section of the predefined path” on lines 19-22 is indefinite.
The phrase “the portion” is indefinite, because more than one portion was previously recited, and it is unclear which portion this phrase is referencing.
The phrase “the magnetization sensor and the second magnetization device being arranged downstream of the first magnetization device, along the predefined path of the flexible document, at a distance from the first magnetization device sufficient to allow the soft ferromagnetic materials possibly comprised in the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof, to demagnetize naturally before reaching the following section of the predefined path, after having been magnetized by the first magnetization device through application of the first magnetic field, at the initial section of the predefined path, so that, when the flexible document or said part thereof reach the following section: - if the second magnetization device is not active and is not generating the second magnetic field, the magnetization signal sensed by the magnetization sensor represents the magnetization of the possible hard ferromagnetic materials of the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof; and - if the second magnetization device is active and is generating the second magnetic field, the magnetization signal sensed by the magnetization sensor represents the magnetization of both the hard ferromagnetic materials and the soft ferromagnetic materials possibly included in the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof” on lines 24-39 is indefinite.
1) Claims must be definite, and while a phrase can be conditional or optional, it must be present or definitely able to be present. Claiming that a feature can “possibly” be present is not definite, because it does not require any situation in which the hard ferromagnetic materials are present. There is a difference between reciting that these materials “can” be present, in contrast with reciting that these material are “possibly” present. The term “can,” for example, is definite in that while it does not require the materials, they definitive “can” be present. The term “possibly” however never requires the materials to ever be present. This phrase is therefore indefinite, because it is unclear whether the materials are or are not required in the claim.
2) The phrase “the portion” is indefinite, because more than one portion was previously recited, and it is unclear which portion this phrase is referencing.
The phrase “a data control and processing unit, operationally connected to the second magnetization device, the magnetization sensor and the conveyor group and configured for synchronizing the movement of the flexible document by sending control signals to the conveyor group, the selective activation-deactivation of the second magnetization device, the receipt of the magnetization signal outputted by the magnetization sensor right before and right after the activation-deactivation and, based on the magnetization signal received right before and right after the activation- deactivation, calculating the magnetization due to the hard ferromagnetic materials and the magnetization due to the soft ferromagnetic materials comprised in the at least one ferromagnetic element of the respective flexible document or the portion thereof and outputting a corresponding detection signal” on lines 40 to the end is indefinite.
1) The phrase “the movement of the flexible document” is indefinite, as no movement was previously recited. It is unclear what movement this phrase is referencing. Furthermore, the claim previously recites the transport of the document, which, as best understood, is movement. As such, the difference and relationship between the above movement and the previously recited transport of the document are unclear.
2) The phrase “the selective activation-deactivation of the second magnetization device” is indefinite. No selective activation-deactivation was previously claimed, and it is therefore unclear what selective activation-deactivation this phrase is referencing. Furthermore, applicant previously claims the second magnetization device being “selectively activated,” “not active,” and “is active,” and the difference between all of these recitations including the above selective activation -deactivation is unclear. Merely because a device is not active does not mean it has been deactivated.
3) The phrase “the receipt of the magnetization signal outputted by the magnetization sensor right before and right after the activation-deactivation” is indefinite. No “receipt” of the magnetization signal was previously recited, and no “activation-deactivation” was previously recited. It is unclear what receipt or activation-deactivation this phrase is referencing. Furthermore, applicant previously claims the second magnetization device being “selectively activated,” “not active,” and “is active,” and the difference between all of these recitations including the above activation-deactivation is unclear. Merely because a device is not active does not mean it has been deactivated.
4) The phrase “the magnetization signal received right before and right after the activation- deactivation” is indefinite, as no magnetization signal was previous claimed to be received before, after, or ever by any component. As such, it is unclear what magnetization signal this phrase is referencing. Furthermore, it is unclear how many magnetization signals are previously recited, because in order for such a signal to exist before or after activation-deactivation as claimed, two different magnetization signals must previously exist. However, no such signals are previously claimed, making it unclear what signals this phrase is referencing. Furthermore, applicant previously claims the second magnetization device being “selectively activated,” “not active,” and “is active,” and the difference between all of these recitations including the above activation-deactivation is unclear. Merely because a device is not active does not mean it has been deactivated.
5) The phrase “the portion” is indefinite, because more than one portion was previously recited, and it is unclear which portion this phrase is referencing.
As to Claim 2,
The phrase “the selective activation-deactivation of the one or more electromagnets” on lines 4-5 is indefinite. No “selective activation-deactivation” of any electromagnets was previously claimed, and it is therefore unclear what selective activation-deactivation this phrase is referencing.
As to Claim 4,
The phrase “the magnetization sensor is arranged along the predefined path of the flexible document so as to intercept the flexible document transported by the conveyor group, along a portion of the length or along the entire length or along a portion of the width or along the entire width of the flexible document” on lines 1 to the end is indefinite.
1) It is unclear what applicant means by claiming that the sensor “intercepts” the flexible document. The sensor detects a magnetic field from the document, but such a feature has already been claimed in Claim 1. The sensor does not have any other relationship pertaining to the document, and thus it is unclear what applicant means by claiming that the sensor intercepts the document, and the difference and relationship between the act of sensing previously claimed and the above interception as claimed is unclear.
2) The phrase “a portion” twice recited in the above phrase is indefinite. A portion of the document was previously claimed in Claim 1, and such a portion must have a length and width of the above document. Similarly, each of the portions recited in this claim likewise must also have a length and a width. As such, the difference and relationship between all of the various “portion” recitations from Claims 1 and 4 are unclear.
3) An entire length and an entire width were not previously recited, and it is unclear what entire length or width these phrases are referencing.
As to Claim 6,
The phrase “wherein each channel of the multi-channel magneto-inductive head is connected to the data control and processing unit and the magnetization signal comprises a bundle of signals, each afferent to a respective channel, optionally wherein the channels of the multi-channel magneto-inductive head are aligned with each other, transversally or parallelly with respect to the direction of movement of the flexible document along the predefined path” on lines 1 to the end is indefinite.
1) The phrase “the magnetization signal” is unclear, as it is which signal this phrase is referencing, and Claim 1 recites that such a signal exists before and after activation-deactivation. This reasonably includes more than one signal, rendering the phrase indefinite.
2) The use of the phrase “each afferent to a respective channel” is indefinite, as it is unclear what this phrase is referencing. No “afferent” was previously recited, and such a term is as a noun, as best understood, refers to physiological features such as a blood vessel. As such, the use of this term is unclear in the context of the disclosure (see “afferent noun: an afferent vessel (as a blood or lymphatic vessel) or nerve” per https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/afferent.
3) The phrase “the direction of movement” is indefinite, as no direction was previously initially introduced, and because the difference and relationship between this movement and the transport recitations of the document in Claim 1 are unclear. As best understood, applicant is distinctly reciting transporting and moving the document distinctly, but where both refer to the same feature.
4) The phrase “the predefined path” is indefinite. More than one predefined path was previously recited, and it is unclear which path this phrase is referencing.
As to Claim 7,
The phrase “the data control and processing unit controls the selective activation-deactivation of the second magnetization device, according to a current amplitude and frequency modulation scheme” on lines 1 to the end is indefinite.
1) Applicant is positively reciting a method step of using the data control and processing unit by stating that it “controls” the selective activation-deactivation of the second magnetization device.” As explained in MPEP 2173.05(p)(II), such a recitation is indefinite, because it has been held that a claim that recites an apparatus and a use or method of that apparatus is indefinite.
2) The phrase “the selective activation-deactivation of the second magnetization device” is indefinite. No selective activation-deactivation was previously claimed, and it is therefore unclear what selective activation-deactivation this phrase is referencing. Furthermore, applicant previously claims the second magnetization device being “selectively activated,” “not active,” and “is active,” and the difference between all of these recitations including the above selective activation -deactivation is unclear. Merely because a device is not active does not mean it has been deactivated.
As to Claim 8,
The phrase “one analysis unit operatively connected to the data control and processing unit and configured to receive and process the detection signal and to transmit the results of the processing thus performed, outside to the system” on lines 1-4 is indefinite.
1) The phrase “the results of the processing” is indefinite, as no results of an processing were previously recited, and it is unclear what results this phrase referencing.
2) The phrase “outside to the system” is indefinite, because it unclear whether this phrase is intended to mean “outside of the system,” or intended to refer to some other aspect within the system but beyond the analysis unit.
As to Claim 9,
The phrase “the method comprising the following operational steps: A. through a first magnetization device, applying a first magnetic field to a flexible document or a part thereof, the first magnetic field sufficient to magnetize the hard ferromagnetic materials possibly comprised in one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof; B. allowing the natural demagnetization of the soft ferromagnetic materials possibly comprised in the one or more ferromagnetic elements comprised in that flexible document or portion thereof; C. through a magnetization sensor, sensing the magnetization of the one or more ferromagnetic elements comprised in the flexible document or in the portion thereof that has been previously magnetized at step A; and D. transmitting the corresponding magnetization signal to the data control and processing unit; E. through a second magnetization device, if not being applied yet, applying a second magnetic field, sufficient to magnetize the soft ferromagnetic materials possibly comprised in the one or more ferromagnetic elements, to the flexible document or the portion thereof that has been previously magnetized at step A; otherwise F. stopping the application, if already being carried out, of the second magnetic field, sufficient to magnetize the soft ferromagnetic materials possibly comprised in the one or more ferromagnetic elements, to the flexible document or the portion thereof previously magnetized at step A; G. through the magnetization sensor, sensing the magnetization of the one or more ferromagnetic elements comprised in the flexible document or in the portion thereof, subjected to the action of the second magnetization device; and H. transmitting the corresponding magnetization signal to the data control and processing unit; I. through the data control and processing unit and based on the magnetization signals transmitted at step D and H, calculating the magnetization due to the hard ferromagnetic materials and the magnetization due to the soft ferromagnetic materials comprised in the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or in the portion thereof being sensed; and J. outputting a corresponding detection signal” on lines 41 to the end is indefinite.
1) First, most of the above features are re-reciting features already recited, but where all distinct recitations refer to the same feature of the disclosure. Such features include a first magnetization device, a flexible document, a magnetization sensor, and a second magnetization device. The difference and relationship between these distinct recitation are unclear.
2) Applicant claims “a flexible document or a part thereof,” and the difference between the “part” and the previously recited “portion” is unclear. As best understood, applicant is using different terminology to refer to the same features of the disclosure, which is indefinite.
3) The phrase “the portion” is indefinite, as more than one portion and a distinctly recited part have previously been recited, and it is unclear which portion this phrase is referencing.
4) This claim stands rejected for repeating many of the same issues raised above in the rejections of Claims 1 and 9. For brevity, these rejections are not repeated here, but the same issues exist, such as the use of the term “possibly,” the distinct recitations of like claim features, the referring to features not clearly previously introduced, such as “the selective activation-deactivation,” and the other noted features above. Claim 9 recites an actual method step of causing the second magnetization device to apply a magnetic field or otherwise stop the application of the field, which as best understood, is the same as the already recited activate and deactivate features for the second magnetization device. As such, the relationship between these features, and all of those recited in the method step, in contrast with the distinctly recited features of the apparatus portion of this claim are therefore unclear, because they are re-reciting claim features and where the difference and relationship between these features are unclear.. As best understood, these distinct recitations are the same as the above active and deactivate feature in Claim 12, and the difference and relationship between all of these distinct recitations are unclear. As such, the above phrase stands rejected for the same reasons already noted in the above rejections of Claims 1 and 9.
As to Claim 10,
The phrase “the first magnetization device of the system comprises one or more permanent magnets or one or more electromagnets, the one or more electromagnets being operatively connected to the data control and processing unit and the data control and processing unit being configured to control the selective activation-deactivation of the one or more electromagnets, for the controlled generation of the first magnetic field, and wherein step A comprises, through the data control and processing unit, selectively activating-deactivating the one or more electromagnets, through emission of suitable control signals by the data control and processing unit operatively connected therewith” on lines 1 to the end is indefinite.
1) The phrase “the selective activation-deactivation of the one or more electromagnets” is indefinite. No “selective activation-deactivation” of any electromagnets was previously claimed, and it is therefore unclear what selective activation-deactivation this phrase is referencing.
2) Applicant for the first time introduces a positive recitation of selectively activating-deactivating the one or more electromagnets, but where the difference between this selective activation/deactivation and the previously recited recitations of the same are indefinite, and the difference and relationship between these features are unclear.
As to Claim 11,
The phrase “wherein step B comprises, transporting, through conveyor group, optionally at constant speed, the flexible document between the first magnetization device and the second magnetization device” on lines 1-3 is indefinite.
Claim 9 already recites that the conveyor group is configured to transport the document, and distinctly recites the movement of the document. Applicant is now reciting a positive recitation of transporting the document distinctly from either previous recitation, but where, as best understood, they are not distinct. The above transporting step is reasonably the same as both the prior transport and movement claim features already recited, and the difference and relationship between these distinctly recitations are therefore unclear.
As to Claim 12,
The phrase “wherein step E and step F comprise activate or deactivate, through the data control and processing unit, the second magnetization device, optionally following a predefined current amplitude and frequency modulation scheme, in coordination with the sending of control signals to the conveyor group, to synchronize the movement of the flexible document along the predefined path with the magnetization-demagnetization by the second magnetization device” on lines 1 to the end is indefinite.
1) Claim 9 already recites an activate and deactivate feature, including an actual method step of causing the second magnetization device to apply a magnetic field or otherwise stop the application of the field. As best understood, these distinct recitations are the same as the above active and deactivate feature in Claim 12, and the difference and relationship between all of these distinct recitations are unclear.
2) The phrase “a predefined current amplitude and frequency modulation scheme” is indefinite as one was already recited in Claim 9, and as best understood, both refer to the same feature of the disclosure. The difference and relationship between these distinctly recited features is therefore unclear.
3) The phrase “the predefined path” is indefinite because more than one predefined path was previously recited, and it is unclear what path this phrase is referencing.
4) The phrase “the magnetization-demagnetization by the second magnetization device” is indefinite, as such a magnetization-demagnetization was not previously recited, and it is therefore unclear what such feature this phrase is referencing. Second, a coil is not magnetized or demagnetized, and instead a coil or electromagnet is activated or deactivated. Placing a current in the coil does not reasonably mean the coil has become magnetized, and this phrase is therefore unclear in light of the disclosure. Lastly, as best understood, this phrase is the same as the previous activation and deactivation feature already recited, and the difference and relationship between this phrase and the previous activation and deactivation and the above phrase are therefore unclear.
As to Claim 13,
The phrase “after step J, in the case wherein at step C the magnetization of a portion only of the flexible document is sensed by the magnetization sensor, one step K comprising: moving the flexible document of one length along the predefined path, through the emission of suitable control signals by the data control and processing unit to the conveyor group, so that another portion of the flexible document, also previously magnetized according to what is provided at steps A and B and adjacent to the one that has been just sensed, is at the following section of the predefined path, and going back to step C, and repeating steps C-K until the magnetization sensor has sensed the magnetization of the whole flexible document” on lines 1 to the end is indefinite.
1) The phrase “a portion” in the above phrase is indefinite, because a portion was already previously recited, and the difference and relationship between the distinctly recited portions are unclear.
2) The phrase “moving the flexible document of one length along the predefined path” is indefinite because Claim 9 already recites the movement and transport of the document, which is the same as the above phrase. The difference and relationship between these distinctly recited features are therefore unclear.
3) No “emission” of any control signals was previously recited, and it is therefore unclear what emission this phrase is referencing.
4) The phrase “the one that has been just sensed” is indefinite, as no “one” was previously recited, and it is unclear what “one” this phrase is referencing.
5) The phrase “the predefined path” is indefinite because more than one predefined path was previously recited, and it is unclear what path this phrase is referencing.
6) The phrase “the whole flexible document” was not previously recited, and it is therefore unclear what whole flexible document this phrase is referencing.
As to Claims 12 and 13,
The phrase “The method according to any claim 9” on line 1 is indefinite. It is unclear if these claims are intended to refer back to and incorporate all of Claim 9 or to some other claim.
As to Claims 2-8 and 10-13,
These claims stand rejected for incorporating and reciting the above rejected subject matter of their respective parent claim(s) and therefore stand rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paul et al. (Paul) (US 2014/0191035 A1).
As to Claims 1 and 9,
Paul discloses A system for detecting the magnetization of a flexible document (1), said detecting system comprising: - a conveyor group (Paragraph [0030] / not transport mechanisms, which are necessary to move the document along the path), configured to transport the flexible document (Paragraph [0030]), received at an inlet opening of the system, along a predefined path having an initial section and a following section; - a first magnetization device (3,4,5,6), configured to generate a first magnetic field toward the initial section of such a predefined path (Figures 1,2 / note the M1 location is the initial section), the first magnetic field having sufficient intensity to magnetize hard ferromagnetic materials possibly contained in one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or a portion thereof (Paragraphs [0009],[0039],[0044]), when the flexible document transported by the conveyor group or the portion thereof is immersed in the first magnetic field at the initial section of the path (Figure 2); - a second magnetization device (5,6 or 8), configured to be selectively activated to generate a second magnetic field toward the following section of the predefined path (Paragraphs [0036],[0042]), said second magnetic field having sufficient intensity to magnetize soft ferromagnetic materials possibly contained in one or more of the ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or a portion thereof (Paragraphs [0042],[0052]), when the flexible document or the portion thereof are immersed in the second magnetic field, at the following section of the predefined path , the intensity of the second magnetic field not exceeding a residual magnetization value of the hard ferromagnetic materials possibly present in the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof (Paragraphs [0042],[0052); - magnetization sensor (12,14), arranged at the second magnetization device and configured to detect the magnetization of the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof (Paragraphs [0051]-[0054]), when the flexible document transported by the conveyor group or the portion thereof is at the following section of the predefined path (Paragraphs [0051]-[0054]); and output a corresponding magnetization signal, based on the magnetization thus sensed (Paragraphs [0051]-[0054]); the magnetization sensor and the second magnetization device being arranged downstream of the first magnetization device (Figures 1,2), along the predefined path of the flexible document, at a distance from the first magnetization device sufficient to allow the soft ferromagnetic materials possibly comprised in the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof, to demagnetize naturally before reaching the following section of the predefined path, after having been magnetized by the first magnetization device through application of the first magnetic field, at the initial section of the predefined path, so that, when the flexible document or said part thereof reach the following section: - if the second magnetization device is not active and is not generating the second magnetic field, the magnetization signal sensed by the magnetization sensor represents the magnetization of the possible hard ferromagnetic materials of the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof; and - if the second magnetization device is active and is generating the second magnetic field, the magnetization signal sensed by the magnetization sensor represents the magnetization of both the hard ferromagnetic materials and the soft ferromagnetic materials possibly included in the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof (Paragraphs [0044]-[0048] / note that this is a property of the system, and that the prior art also meets the claim features when the second magnetization device is active); - a data control and processing unit (9), operationally connected to the second magnetization device, the magnetization sensor and the conveyor group and configured for synchronizing the movement of the flexible document by sending control signals to the conveyor group, the selective activation-deactivation of the second magnetization device, the receipt of the magnetization signal outputted by the magnetization sensor right before and right after the activation-deactivation and, based on the magnetization signal received right before and right after the activation- deactivation, calculating the magnetization due to the hard ferromagnetic materials and the magnetization due to the soft ferromagnetic materials comprised in the at least one ferromagnetic element of the respective flexible document or the portion thereof and outputting a corresponding detection signal (Paragraph [0030] / the evaluation device is reasonably “operationally” connected to the second magnetization device either directly or indirectly by way of the magnetization of the document, but also it is the only disclosed device that can reasonably operate the second magnetization device when implemented as an electromagnet),(Paragraph [0053] / note the localization of the magnetic regions is a magnetization, and note a signal must be output for display), the method comprising the following operational steps: A. through a first magnetization device (20), applying a first magnetic field to a flexible document or a part thereof (Figures 1,2), (Paragraphs [0043]-[0047]), the first magnetic field sufficient to magnetize the hard ferromagnetic materials possibly comprised in one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or the portion thereof (Figures 1,2), (Paragraphs [0043]-[0047]), B. allowing the natural demagnetization of the soft ferromagnetic materials possibly comprised in the one or more ferromagnetic elements comprised in that flexible document or portion thereof (Figures 1,2), (Paragraphs [0043]-[0047] / note this is a property of the system as the document leaves the magnetic fields) ; C. through a magnetization sensor (12,14), sensing the magnetization of the one or more ferromagnetic elements comprised in the flexible document or in the portion thereof that has been previously magnetized at step A (Paragraph [0046]); and D. transmitting the corresponding magnetization signal to the data control and processing unit (Paragraph [0046]), (Figure 1); E. through a second magnetization device, if not being applied yet, applying a second magnetic field, sufficient to magnetize the soft ferromagnetic materials possibly comprised in the one or more ferromagnetic elements, to the flexible document or the portion thereof that has been previously magnetized at step A (Figures 1,2), (Paragraphs [0043]-[0047]); otherwise F. stopping the application, if already being carried out, of the second magnetic field (Figures 1,2), (Paragraphs [0043]-[0047] / note this feature is not positively recited as the term otherwise is only invoked when the second magnetization device is not applying the field, and further that the evaluation device would reasonably turn off the electromagnet when not needed, thus disclosing this feature), sufficient to magnetize the soft ferromagnetic materials possibly comprised in the one or more ferromagnetic elements, to the flexible document or the portion thereof previously magnetized at step A (Figures 1,2), (Paragraphs [0043]-[0047]); G. through the magnetization sensor, sensing the magnetization of the one or more ferromagnetic elements comprised in the flexible document or in the portion thereof, subjected to the action of the second magnetization device (Paragraph [0046]); and H. transmitting the corresponding magnetization signal to the data control and processing unit (Paragraphs [0030],[0031],[0053]); I. through the data control and processing unit and based on the magnetization signals transmitted at step D and H, calculating the magnetization due to the hard ferromagnetic materials and the magnetization due to the soft ferromagnetic materials comprised in the one or more ferromagnetic elements of the flexible document or in the portion thereof being sensed (Paragraphs [0030],[0053] / note the localization of the magnetic regions is a magnetization); and J. outputting a corresponding detection signal (Paragraph [0030] / note a signal must be output for display).
As to Claim 2,
Paul discloses the first magnetization device comprises one or more permanent magnets or one or more electromagnets (Figures 1,2), (Paragraph [0036]), the one or more electromagnets being operatively connected to the data control and processing unit and the data control and processing unit being configured to control the selective activation-deactivation of the one or more electromagnets, for the controlled generation of the first magnetic field (Figures 1,2), (Paragraphs [0036]), (Paragraph [0030] / the evaluation device is reasonably “operationally” connected to the second magnetization device either directly or indirectly by way of the magnetization of the document, but also it is the only disclosed device that can reasonably operate the second magnetization device when implemented as an electromagnet / note also that the entirety of the electromagnet claim feature is optional and is not required to be met when the prior art meets the permanent magnet option).
As to Claim 3,
Paul discloses the second magnetization device includes at least one magnetization coil mounted around said magnetization sensor. (Paragraph [0036] / note that the term “around” does not require surrounding and can mean “near,” which is consistent with the disclosure, and the second magnetization as electromagnets are near the sensor).
As to Claim 4,
Paul discloses the magnetization sensor is arranged along the predefined path of the flexible document so as to intercept the flexible document transported by the conveyor group, along a portion of the length or along the entire length or along a portion of the width or along the entire width of the flexible document (Figure 1).
As to Claim 5,
Paul discloses the magnetization sensor comprises a single or multi-channel magneto-inductive head (Figures 1,2 / note a sensor must be one of the above single or multi-channel devices, and thus must disclose this claim feature as any single must be induced in the head), (Paragraph [0046]).
As to Claim 6,
Paul discloses wherein each channel of the multi-channel magneto-inductive head is connected to the data control and processing unit and the magnetization signal comprises a bundle of signals, each afferent to a respective channel, optionally wherein the channels of the multi-channel magneto-inductive head are aligned with each other, transversally or parallelly with respect to the direction of movement of the flexible document along the predefined path. (Figures 1,2 / note this feature is a property of the system of having more than one channel, that the sensors are transverse to the path as claimed, and because the prior art discloses the features when a single channel is disclosed and when the optional feature above is not invoked as it is optional), (Paragraph [0046]).
As to Claim 7,
Paul discloses the data control and processing unit controls the selective activation-deactivation of the second magnetization device, according to a current amplitude and frequency modulation scheme (Paragraph [0030] / the evaluation device is reasonably the only disclosed device that can reasonably operate the second magnetization device when implemented as an electromagnet, and such a control must be based upon a scheme involving some amplitude and frequency).
As to Claim 8,
Paul discloses one analysis unit operatively connected to the data control and processing unit and configured to receive and process the detection signal and to transmit the results of the processing thus performed, outside to the system (Paragraph [0030] / note the display must reasonably include an analysis unit to obtain the signal from the evaluation device, process it into format for display, and then transmit the signal to the displaying mechanism, which is outside of the system).
As to Claim 10,
Paul discloses the first magnetization device comprises one or more permanent magnets or one or more electromagnets (Figures 1,2), (Paragraph [0036]), the one or more electromagnets being operatively connected to the data control and processing unit and the data control and processing unit being configured to control the selective activation-deactivation of the one or more electromagnets, for the controlled generation of the first magnetic field (Figures 1,2), (Paragraphs [0036]), (Paragraph [0030] / the evaluation device is reasonably “operationally” connected to the second magnetization device either directly or indirectly by way of the magnetization of the document, but also it is the only disclosed device that can reasonably operate the second magnetization device when implemented as an electromagnet / note also that the entirety of the electromagnet claim feature is optional and is not required to be met when the prior art meets the permanent magnet option), and wherein step A comprises, through the data control and processing unit, selectively activating-deactivating the one or more electromagnets, through emission of suitable control signals by the data control and processing unit operatively connected therewith (Figures 1,2), (Paragraphs [0036]), (Paragraph [0030] / the evaluation device is the only disclosed device that can reasonably operate the second magnetization device when implemented as an electromagnet, and such a device must be performing such a control using control signals as claimed).
As to Claim 11,
Paul discloses wherein step B comprises, transporting, through conveyor group, optionally at constant speed, the flexible document between the first magnetization device and the second magnetization device (Figures 1,2), (Paragraph [0030]).
As to Claim 12,
Paul discloses wherein step E and step F comprise activate or deactivate, through the data control and processing unit, the second magnetization device, optionally following a predefined current amplitude and frequency modulation scheme, in coordination with the sending of control signals to the conveyor group, to synchronize the movement of the flexible document along the predefined path with the magnetization-demagnetization by the second magnetization device (Paragraphs [0030],[0036] / note these features are a property of the system, as the evaluation device must be controlling the process to advance the document through the magnetic fields and passed the sensor, control the activation of the electromagnets, and control the process to allow the document to be scanned through the normal and ordinary use of the device).
As to Claim 13,
Paul discloses after step J, in the case wherein at step C the magnetization of a portion only of the flexible document is sensed by the magnetization sensor, one step K comprising: moving the flexible document of one length along the predefined path, through the emission of suitable control signals by the data control and processing unit to the conveyor group, so that another portion of the flexible document, also previously magnetized according to what is provided at steps A and B and adjacent to the one that has been just sensed, is at the following section of the predefined path, and going back to step C, and repeating steps C-K until the magnetization sensor has sensed the magnetization of the whole flexible document (Paragraphs [0030],[0036] / note these features are a property of the system, as the evaluation device must be controlling the process to advance the document through the magnetic fields and passed the sensor, control the activation of the electromagnets, and control the process to allow the document to be scanned through the normal and ordinary use of the device).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 1) US 2006/0279280 to Minamitani et al. which discloses a sensor and magnets used to magnetized money and detect a magnetic pattern which is printed on the money, 2) US 6,310,475 to Kawase et al. which discloses a sensing head used to magnetize and sense magnetic ink printed on an object, and 3) US 2020/0400759 to Ogomi et al. which discloses a magnetic sensor device with plural magnetizing stages having different amounts of coercivity which magnetize currency in a transport direction of the currency and where such a magnetization is then detected.
DAVID M. SCHINDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/DAVID M SCHINDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858