DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim14 objected to because of the following informalities: “unfoldaded” in line3 should be changed to “unfolded”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8 – 10 and 15 – 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oppo (CN 113422898A).
Regarding claim 1, Oppo discloses a camera apparatus (see Fig. 1 (100)), comprising a bearing member (see Fig. 10 (11)), a first drive assembly (see Fig. 10 (51)), a camera module (see Fig. 10 (1)), a rotating member (see Fig. 13 (513)), and a lifting member (see Fig. 10 (514) and (2)), wherein the first drive assembly is mounted on the bearing member, and fits the rotating member (see Fig. 10 and 13); the rotating member (230) is rotatably disposed on the bearing member (210) and fits the lifting member (240), and the rotating member (230) is configured to drive the lifting member (240) to ascend or descend during rotation (see Fig. 13-15, see page 21 lines 19 to 31 of attached translation); and the camera module comprises a camera (see Fig. 10 (3)) and a second drive assembly (see Fig. 10 (4)), the second drive assembly is connected to the camera, and the second drive assembly is configured to drive the camera to ascend or descend (see page 13 line 31 to page 14 line 5 of attached translation).
Regarding claim 8, Oppo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Oppo also teaches wherein a first seal (271) is annularly disposed between the camera module (220) and the lifting member (240) (fig. 49, 6), a first connection end (2711) of the first seal (271) is connected to the lifting member (240) (fig. 49, 1), and a second connection end (2712) of the first seal (271) is connected to the camera module (220) (fig. 49, 2).
Regarding claim 9, Oppo discloses the limitations of claim 8. Oppo also teaches wherein the first seal (271) is a deformable member, and the second connection end (2712) is static relative to at least a part of the camera module (220) (p. 31, ll.21-23).
Regarding claim 10, Oppo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Oppo also teaches the camera apparatus further comprising a sealing ring (2713), wherein the sealing ring (2713) is sleeved on a circumferential outer wall surface of the camera module (220) and is detachably connected to the camera module (220), and the second connection end (2712) is connected to the sealing ring (2713) (fig. 49, 7).
Regarding claim 15, Oppo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Oppo also teaches the camera apparatus further comprising a protective cover (280), wherein at least a part of the protective cover (280) is sleeved on an outer side of the lifting member (240); and a second seal (272) is annularly disposed between the protective cover (280) located on the outer side of the lifting member (240) and the lifting member (240), the second seal (272) is a deformable member, one end of the second seal (272) is connected to the protective cover (280), and the other end of the second seal (272) is connected to the lifting member (240) (fig. 48-50, (1), (6), pages 47-49).
Regarding claim 16, Oppo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Oppo also teaches the camera apparatus further comprising a protective cover (280) and an elastic member, wherein at least a part of the protective cover (280) is connected to the bearing member (210), the elastic member is located between the protective cover (280) connected to the bearing member (210) and the lifting member (240), one end of the elastic member is connected to the protective cover (280), and the other end of the elastic member is connected to a side that is of the lifting member (240) and that is away from the bearing member (210) (fig. 48-50, (1), (6), pages 47-49).
Regarding claim 17, Oppo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Oppo also teaches the camera apparatus further comprising a protective cover (280) and an anti-impact member (204), wherein at least a part of the protective cover (280) is connected to a side that is of the lifting member (240) and that is away from the bearing member (210), and the anti-impact member (204) is located on a side that is of the camera module (220) and that is away from the bearing member (210); and in a thickness direction of the camera apparatus, a spacing between the anti-impact member (204) and the protective cover (280) is less than a spacing between the camera module (220) and the protective cover (280) (fig. 48-50, (1), (6), pages 47-49).
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1, supra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 – 6 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oppo in view of Han (US 2024/0134251).
Regarding claim 2, Oppo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Oppo fails to explicitly disclose wherein both the rotating member (230) and the lifting member (240) are tubular, an accommodation area is provided on an inner side of the rotating member (230) and the lifting member (240), and the camera is located in the accommodation area.
In a same field of endeavor, Han teaches a camera device with the camera being inside the tubular rotating and lifting members (fig. 2). In light of the teaching of Han, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Han’s teaching in Oppo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in miniaturization of a device capable of sufficient focus distance and zoom.
Regarding claim 3, Oppo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Oppo fails to explicitly disclose the camera apparatus further comprising a guide member (250), wherein an inclined guide channel (260) is disposed on one of the rotating member (230) and the lifting member (240), the other of the rotating member (230) and the lifting member (240) is connected to a first end (251) of the guide member (250), a bump (253) that fits the guide channel (260) is disposed on a second end (252) of the guide member (250), and the bump (253) is inserted into the guide channel (260) and moves in an extension direction of the guide channel (260).
In a same field of endeavor, Han teaches a camera device with the drive mechanism 300 may be drivingly connected to the second housing 200, and one of the first housing 100 and the second housing 200 is provided with a first spiral groove 110 and the other of the first housing 100 and the second housing 200 is provided with a first protrusion 210. The first protrusion 210 is guidedly engaged with the first spiral groove 110. For example, the first spiral groove 110 is located on an outer periphery of the second housing 200, and the first protrusion 210 is disposed on an inner wall of the first accommodating hole 140 (fig. 2; 110, 210; ¶28-30). In light of the teaching of Han, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Han’s teaching in Oppo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in miniaturization of a device capable of sufficient focus distance and zoom.
Regarding claim 4, Oppo in view of Han discloses the limitations of claim 3. Han also teaches wherein the guide channel (260) comprises a first inner wall surface (261), and the first inner wall surface (261) is located on a side that is of the bump (253) and that is away from the first end (251) (fig. 2; 110, 210; ¶28-30).
Regarding claim 5, Oppo in view of Han discloses the limitations of claim 4. Han also teaches wherein the guide channel (260) comprises a second inner wall surface (262) spaced apart from the first inner wall surface (261), and the second inner wall surface (262) is located on a side that is of the bump (253) and that faces the first end (251) (fig. 2; 110, 210; ¶28-30).
Regarding claim 6, Oppo in view of Han discloses the limitations of claim 3. Oppo also teaches wherein a cushioning member (205) is disposed on one, connected to the first end (251), of the rotating member (230) and the lifting member (240), the first end (251) is connected to the cushioning member (205), and the cushioning member (205) is configured to implement a cushioning function when the lifting member (240) moves toward the bearing member (210) (fig. 14; 520).
Claim 19 – 20 rejected for the same reasons as claim 2 – 4, supra.
Claim(s) 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oppo in view of Beijing (CN 112825541A).
Regarding claim 7, Oppo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Oppo fails to explicitly disclose the camera apparatus further comprising a distance detection member and a control member, wherein the control member is electrically connected to the distance detection member and the camera module (220), and the distance detection member is configured to detect a distance between the lifting member (240) and the bearing member (210); and when the distance between the lifting member (240) and the bearing member (210) becomes larger, the control member is configured to control the camera to move away from the bearing member (210); or when the distance between the lifting member (240) and the bearing member (210) becomes smaller, the control member is configured to control the camera to move toward the bearing member (210).
In a same field of endeavor, Beijing teaches a camera device with Distance detection and controlling offset (page 1 last line to page 2 line 3 and page 7 lines 16-20). In light of the teaching of Beijing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Beijing’s teaching in Oppo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in miniaturization of a device capable of sufficient focus distance and zoom.
Claim(s) 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oppo in view of Li (US 2022/0146910).
Regarding claim 11, Oppo discloses the limitations of claim 8. Oppo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first seal (271) is a rigid member, the second connection end (2712) is movably connected to the camera module (220), a limiting groove (220a) is annularly provided on a circumferential outer wall surface of the camera module (220), and at least a part of the second connection end (2712) is located in the limiting groove (220a); in a thickness direction of the camera apparatus, the limiting groove (220a) comprises a first groove side wall (221) and a second groove side wall (222) that are spaced apart, and the first groove side wall (221) is located on a side that is of the second groove side wall (222) and that faces the bearing member (210); and the camera apparatus is operable in an extending state or in a retracting state, wherein in the extending state, the second connection end (2712) abuts against the second groove side wall (222); and in the retracting state, the second connection end (2712) abuts against the first groove side wall (221).
In a same field of endeavor, Li teaches a camera device with the annular seal being rigid & moveably connected to a limiting groove in the camera module (see Figs. 5 and 6 (22 and 321 )). In light of the teaching of Li, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Li’s teaching in Oppo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would improve a size of the camera module and facilitate miniaturization development of the mobile terminal.
Claim(s) 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oppo in view of Zeng (US 2020/0244786).
Regarding claim 14, Oppo discloses the limitations of claim 9. Oppo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first seal (271) is an elastic seal in a stretched state; or wherein the first seal (271) is a foldable seal and is operable in an unfolded state or in a folded state, wherein when the camera apparatus is in an extending state, the first seal (271) is in the unfolded state, and when the camera apparatus is in a retracting state, the first seal (271) is in the folded state.
In a same field of endeavor, Zeng teaches a camera device sing an annular flexible seal that is either stretchable or foldable (see Figs. 4, 6, 9; ¶37-42). In light of the teaching of Zeng, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Zeng’s teaching in Oppo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would improve space utilization and reduce the volume of the camera assembly as well as seal the device from foreign materials.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 – 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639