DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 33 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 33 states “The circuit board as claimed in claim 35”. However, a claim should only depend from a previous claim, not a following claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 29, 30, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2009/0315158 A1 (Maetani).
The Examiner notes that terms such as “left”, “right”, “top” and “bottom” are not intrinsic properties of a device, but, rather, are dependent on a particular orientation. Thus, any direction may be considered “left” or “right” and similarly “top” or “bottom” as long as a consistent scheme is used.
Maetani discloses, referring primarily to figures 6 and 7, a circuit board for connectors, comprising: a circuit layer, which further comprises a plurality of parallel circuit traces (16, 16a), a plurality of left metal pads (15a, 15b), and a plurality of right metal pads (42a, 42b), wherein, the plurality of parallel circuit traces extending horizontally; each parallel circuit trace having a left end electrically coupled to a corresponding left metal pad; each parallel circuit trace having a right end electrically coupled to a corresponding right metal pad; the plurality of parallel circuit traces occupies a left elevation of E1; and the plurality of right metal pads occupies a right elevation E2; wherein the left elevation E1 is smaller than the right elevation E2 ([0067]-[0068]) [claim 1], further comprising: a plurality of metal vias (14a, 14b) configured on the left side of the circuit board; wherein each metal vias has its top end electrically couples with a corresponding left metal pad [claim 2], further comprising a plurality of metal balls configured on a bottom side of the circuit board; wherein each metal ball electrically couples with a bottom end of a corresponding metal via ([0076]) [claim 3], wherein a portion of the parallel circuit traces have their right ends arranged in one of the following ways: right-shifted in sequence, left-shifted in sequence, or a combination thereof (figure 7) [claim 4], wherein each trace width of the parallel circuit traces is equal (figure 7) [claim 5], wherein each space width between neighboring parallel circuit traces is equal [claim 6], further comprising: a ground plane (26, figure 12) configured below the circuit layer, with an insulation layer in between; a first clearance formed on the ground plane; wherein for a corresponding metal via, the clearance has a size greater than the metal via; the clearance overlaps the metal via; and the clearance has a flat boundary tangent to but does not contacting a rim of the metal via (figure 12) [claim 29], wherein the flat boundary is normal to a corresponding incoming circuit trace (figure 12) [claim 30].
Additionally, Maetani discloses, referring primarily to figure 10, a circuit board, comprising: a circuit layer having a metal via (14a); a first incoming circuit trace electrically coupled to the metal via (12a), a ground plane (25) configured beneath the circuit layer with an insulation in between; and a first clearance formed on the ground plane; wherein the first clearance has a size greater than and overlaps the metal via; the first clearance has a flat boundary tangent to but does not contacting a rim of the metal via; and the flat boundary is configured normal to the first circuit trace (figure 10) [claim 37].
Claim(s) 33-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2002/0053463 A1 (Slocum).
Slocum discloses, referring primarily to figures 1A-1C, a connector, comprising: a circuit board (301) further comprising a plurality of metal contacts (360); and a plurality of metal springs (358), each metal spring configured on a surface of a corresponding metal contact; wherein each metal spring has V-shaped portion, with a tip point (305) away from the surface of the corresponding metal contact ([0030]) [claim 35], wherein the metal spring has a shape like a lowercase sigma or a teaspoon [claim 36], further comprising: a plurality of metal springs, each metal spring is configured on a surface of a corresponding metal contact (figure 1A) [claim 33], wherein the metal spring has a V-shaped portion, with a tip (305) pointing away from the surface of the corresponding metal contact [claim 34].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maetani.
Regarding claim 7, Maetani discloses the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 1, except Maetani does not specifically state that the space width is the same as the trace width [claim 7]. However, such a modification would amount to a mere change in size of the existing width disclosed in Maetani which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (MPEP 2144). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate this feature into the invention of Maetani. The motivation for doing so would have been to meet the desired frequency design ([0045]).
Additionally, the claimed limitations wherein the left elevation is approximately half or less than the right elevation [claim 8], wherein the left elevation is approximately one-third or less than the right elevation [claim 9] also involve a mere change in size such a modification would be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (MPEP 2144). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate these features into the invention of Maetani. The motivation for doing so would have been to meet the desired frequency design ([0045]).
Furthermore, the modified invention of Maetani teaches wherein each parallel circuit trace is selected from the group consisting of signal trace, ground trace, and differential pair circuit trace ([0043]) [claim 10], wherein each parallel circuit trace having a left end electrically coupled to a corresponding metal via [claim 11], wherein the connection between the parallel circuit trace and the corresponding metal via is one of a direct connection and a turn connection ([0067]) [claim 12], wherein the turn for the connection is at approximately a 45-degree angle relative to the horizontal ([0067]) [claim 13], wherein for a differential pair circuit trace, the two corresponding metal vias are aligned and form an angle between 0 and 90 degrees relative to the horizontal (figure 7) [claim 14], wherein the two corresponding metal vias are aligned in one of: Y direction and X direction (figure 7) [claim 15].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-28, 31, 32, and 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 16-28 state the limitation “for a differential pair circuit trace with a ground trace besides, further comprising: a ground pad, electrically coupled with the corresponding ground trace; and a ground via, electrically coupled with a corresponding ground pad.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 31 states the limitation “further comprising a second clearance formed on the ground plane; wherein for a corresponding rectangular metal contact, the clearance has a size greater than the rectangular metal contact; the clearance overlaps the rectangular metal contact; and the clearance has a flat boundary overlapping a junction between the rectangular metal pad and an incoming circuit trace.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 32 states the limitation “wherein the circuit board is shaped like a funnel.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 38 states the limitation “wherein the circuit layer further comprising a rectangular metal pad, a second incoming circuit trace electrically coupled to the rectangular metal pad; a second clearance formed on the ground plane; wherein the second clearance has a size greater than and overlaps the rectangular metal pad; the second clearance has a flat boundary overlapping a junction between the rectangular metal pad and the second incoming circuit trace.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
JEREMY C. NORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/JEREMY C NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847