Detailed Action
Amendment
1. This office action is in response to applicant’s amendments dated 12-23-25 and this office action is a final rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 ,5-8 and 13 of copending Application No. 18/986,628 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3, 5-8 and 13 of the ‘628 application are substantially similar to claims 1-3, 5-8 and 13 of the present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 9-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-12 of copending Application No. 18/986,628 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 9-12 of the ‘628 application are substantially similar to claims 9-12 of the present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0282416 to Arnote et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,894,473 to Bachtle.
Referring to claim 1, Arnote et al. discloses a method for providing portions of pasty food mass in a casing, the method comprising, portions of pasty food mass located in a casing are provided by a portioning apparatus – at 120, having portioning belts – at 124,126, the portioning apparatus – at 120, having a portioning belt drive – at 220a, and a rotatable looper horn – at 128, drivable by a drive – at 628a, which may adopt different orbital positions due to the rotation – see figure 1 and paragraph [0067], the portions are transferred to hooks – at 132, of a suspension machine – at 130, by the looper horn – at 128, of the portioning apparatus – at 120 – see figure 1, after the transfer of the portions, the hooks – at 132, are further transported – see figure 1, and by a controller – at 140,200,240, at least one of, the drive of the suspension machine – at 630a, the drive of the looper horn – at 628a, and the portioning belt drive – at 220a, of the portioning apparatus are controlled, such that a defined number of portions is transferred from the portioning apparatus – at 120, to a last hook – at 132, of the suspension machine – at 130, by looper horn - at 128, at the end of a production phase – see transfer to the hooks and last hook in figure 1 and see paragraphs [0073] thru [0084] and paragraphs [0088] thru [0091] detailing control of each of the servo motors to control the amount of sausage portions processed. Arnote et al. does not disclose the number is determined as a function of a path from a delivery pipe of a filling machine for providing the food mass up to the closest hook of the suspension machine relative to the looper horn. Bachtle does disclose the number is determined as a function of a path from a delivery pipe of a filling machine – not shown but filled sausage is disclosed, for providing the food mass up to the closest hook – at 2, of the suspension machine relative to the looper horn – at 19 – see figures 9a-10 and column 7 line 9 to column 8 line 28, where distances along the path relative to the hooks which can be the closest hook. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Arnote et al. and add the number of portions as a function of a path between a filling machine and the hooks as disclosed by Bachtle, so as to yield the predictable result of providing more accurate automatic control of the device to produce the desired products.
Referring to claim 2, Arnote et al. as modified by Bachtle further discloses the controller – at 140,200,240, is designed and equipped such that a speed of the portioning belts – at 124,126, in relation to the looper orbital position – at 128, and as a function of a portion length and the path from the delivery pipe – at 112 of Arnote et al. and see filled sausage disclosed by Bachtle, up to the closest hook – at 132 of Arnote et al. and – at 2 of Bachtle, of the suspension machine – at 130, see figure 1 of Arnote et al. and see figures 9a-10 and column 7 line 9 to column 8 line 28 of Bachtle, is adjusted by the controller – at 140,200,240, such that two portions are transferred to the last hook – at 132, at the end of a production phase – see paragraphs [0073] thru [0083] of Arnot et al., detailing calculation of belt speed – see figure 1 detailing belts proximate and in relation to the position of the looper horn – at 128, see paragraphs [0073] and [0085]-[0087] of Arnote et al. detailing control via product length and see paragraphs [0073]-[0083] of Arnote et al., detailing speeds along the path of travel and see column 7 line 9 to column 8 line 28 of Bachtle. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Arnote et al. and add the number of portions as a function of a path between a filling machine and the hooks as disclosed by Bachtle, so as to yield the predictable result of providing more accurate automatic control of the device to produce the desired products.
Referring to claim 3, Arnote et al. as modified by Bachtle further discloses the controller – at 140,200,240 of Arnote et al., is equipped such that a current orbital position of the looper horn may be determined at a specific point in time or at a plurality of points in time – claim limitations not required by the claim given the “may be” clause, and that a loop between the penultimate and last hooks of the production phase may be reduced by the controller – claim limitations not required by the claim given the “may be” clause.
Referring to claim 5, Arnote et al. as modified by Bachtle further discloses a speed of the portioning belts – at 124,126, of the portioning apparatus – at 120, is calculated by the controller – see figure 1 and paragraphs [0073] and [0085]-[0087] of Arnote et al., as a function of the orbital position of the looper horn – not required by the claim given the “or” clause, or as a function of the path, in such a way that the drive of the looper horn – at 119, and the drive of the suspension machine – at 7,14, are driven – see figures 9a-10 and column 7 line 9 to column 8 line 28, where distances along the path relative to the hooks which can be the closest hook, and may be constantly driven – not required by the claim given the “may be” clause. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Arnote et al. and add the number of portions as a function of a path between a filling machine and the hooks as disclosed by Bachtle, so as to yield the predictable result of providing more accurate automatic control of the device to produce the desired products.
Referring to claim 6, Arnote et al. as modified by Bachtle further discloses as a function of the path and the number of portions which are produced in the portioning apparatus, the controller – at 17, controls the drive of the looper horn – at 19, in such a way that a certain number of portions is transferred from the looper horn – at 19, to a hook -at 2, of the suspension machine – see figures 9a-10 and column 7 line 9 to column 8 line 28 of Bachtle. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Arnote et al. and add the number of portions as a function of a path between a filling machine and the hooks as disclosed by Bachtle, so as to yield the predictable result of providing more accurate automatic control of the device to produce the desired products.
Referring to claim 7, Arnote et al. as modified by Bachtle further discloses the controller is equipped such that, the portioning apparatus – at 120, produces a number of portions connected by the casing – see figure 1 of Arnote et al., and transfers them to the looper horn – at 128, such that the number of portions is held there – see figure 1 of Arnote et al., and the number of portions is transferred while the looper horn – at 128, faces substantially downward in a vertical position – see at 128 in figure 1 of Arnote et al., and that subsequently, the predetermined number of portions is then transferred from the looper horn – at 128, to a last hook – at 132, by the looper horn – at 128, to suspend the defined number of portions at the last hook – at 132 – see figure 1 and paragraphs [0073] thru [0084] and paragraphs [0088] thru [0091] of Arnote et al.
Referring to claims 8 and 10, Arnote et al. as modified by Bachtle further discloses the controller – at 140,200,240, has at least one processor, memory and software, and communicates with a user interface – see paragraph [0068] of Arnote et al., where software/executable code would be necessary to control the servo motors as disclosed, and such that the controller – at 140,200,240, is equipped such that the defined number of portions for a last hook – at 132, is input into the software of the controller by an operator via the user interface – see figures 1-3b and paragraph [0068] Arnote et al.
Referring to claim 9, Arnote et al. further discloses a device for providing portions of pasty food mass in a casing, which is configured to carry out the method of claim 1 – see rejection of claim 1 detailed earlier, the device comprising, a portioning apparatus – at 120, for providing portions of pasty food mass located in a casing – see figure 1, which has portioning belts – at 124,126, and a portioning belt drive – at 220a, and a rotatable looper horn – at 128, which may adopt different rotatable positions – see figure 1 and paragraph [0067], drivable by a drive – at 628a, which is designed to transfer multiple portions, connected to one another by the casing, to a suspension machine – at 130 – see figure 1, the suspension machine – at 130, for transporting multiple portions, which has multiple hooks – at 132, for receiving multiple portions connected by the casing – see figure 1, wherein the hooks – at 132, may be further transported by at least one circulating drive element – see conveyor of 130, drivable by a drive – at 630a, of the suspension machine – at 130, and a controller – at 140,200,240, for controlling components of the device, wherein the controller – at 140,200,240, is designed and equipped such that, at least one of: the drive of the suspension machine – at 630a, the drive of the looper horn – at 628a, and a portioning belt drive – at 220a, of the portioning apparatus – at 120, are controlled, such that a defined number of portions is transferred from the portioning apparatus – at 120, to a last hook – at 132, of the suspension machine – at 130, by looper horn – at 128, at the beginning of a production phase – see transfer to the hooks and last hook in figure 1 and see paragraphs [0073] thru [0084] and paragraphs [0088] thru [0091] detailing control of each of the servo motors to control the amount of sausage portions processed. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) analysis, the circulating element – at 130 of Arnote et al. is a chain as seen in figure 1 and paragraph [0067]. Arnote et al. does not disclose the number is determined as a function of a path from a delivery pipe of a filling machine for providing the food mass up to the closest hook of the suspension machine relative to the looper horn. Bachtle does disclose the number is determined as a function of a path from a delivery pipe of a filling machine – not shown but filled sausage is disclosed, for providing the food mass up to the closest hook – at 2, of the suspension machine relative to the looper horn – at 19 – see figures 9a-10 and column 7 line 9 to column 8 line 28, where distances along the path relative to the hooks which can be the closest hook. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Arnote et al. and add the number of portions as a function of a path between a filling machine and the hooks as disclosed by Bachtle, so as to yield the predictable result of providing more accurate automatic control of the device to produce the desired products.
Referring to claim 11, Arnote et al. as modified by Bachtle further discloses the portioning belts of the portioning apparatus – at 120, are defined by two circulating portioning belts – at 124,126, arranged spaced apart from one another and a portioning belt drive – at 220a, and food mass, located in a casing, may be transferred from a filling machine – at 110, upstream of the portioning apparatus – at 120 – see figure 1 of Arnote et al., through the delivery pipe – at 112, to the portioning apparatus – at 120 – see figure 1 of Arnote et al., and that the looper horn – at 128, is arranged at an output area of the portioning apparatus – at 120 – see figure 1 of Arnote et al., to be able to transfer portions in a desired number per time unit and with a desired target weight to the looper horn – at 128 and see controls via weight detailed in paragraphs [0039]-[0040] and [0103] of Arnote et al., and wherein, on an outlet side downstream of the looper horn – at 128, the hooks – at 132, of the suspension machine – at 130, can be moved such that a desired number of portions can be transferred from the looper horn – at 128, to the hooks – at 132, of the suspension machine – at 130 – see figure 1 and paragraphs [0073] thru [0084] and paragraphs [0088] thru [0091] of Arnote et al.
Referring to claims 12 and 13, Arnote et al. as modified by Bachtle further discloses the looper horn – at 128, includes an open end section – see free end of 128, that moves through a circular path during a circulating movement of the looper horn – at 128 – see for example paragraph [0067] of Arnote et al., and the hooks – at 132, on the suspension machine – at 130, are sequentially moved adjacent to the looper horn – at 128, such that the portions are transferred from the looper horn – at 128, onto one of the hooks – at 132, when the looper horn – at 128, faces substantially downwardly in the movement along the circular path – see downward orientation of looper horn 128 in figure 1 of Arnote et al. during transferring and see for example paragraph [0067] of Arnote et al.
Response to Arguments
4. Regarding the non-statutory double patenting rejections, it is noted that applicant will address these rejections at a later time if necessary.
Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks/arguments dated 12-23-25, obviates the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections and the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) analysis resulting in 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1, 3-4 and 7-11 detailed in the last office action dated 9-23-25.
Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks/arguments dated 12-23-25 obviates 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) rejections of claims 1-3 and 7-11 detailed in the last office action dated 9-23-25.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 4-6, the Bachtle reference US 8894473 discloses the defined number is determined as a function of a path from a delivery pipe of a filling machine – not shown but filled sausage is disclosed, for providing the food mass up to the closest hook – at 2, of the suspension machine relative to the looper horn – at 19 – see figures 9a-10 and column 7 line 9 to column 8 line 28, where distances along the path relative to the hooks which can be the closest hook when the closest hook is at the distance a from the looper horn – at 19. Bachtle discloses sausage comprising filled casing and the primary reference to Arnote et al. US 2021/0282416 discloses a filling machine – at 110,112. Further, Bachtle et al. discloses a looper horn – at 19, with item 19 of Bachtle acting as a transfer device for transferring the sausages to hooks as seen in figures 9a-10 and the primary reference to Arnote et al. discloses a looper horn – at 128. Further, Bachtle discloses the defined number is determined as a function of a path from a delivery pipe of the filling machine of the suspension machine relative to the looper horn – see figures 9a-10 and column 7 line 9 to column 8 line 28, where distances along the path relative to the hooks which can be the closest hook when the closest hook is at the distance a from the looper horn – at 19. Applicant argues that Bachtle does not disclose determining any number of portions but the claims only require determining a single defined number of portions. Applicant further argues that it would not have been obvious to combine the Arnote et al. and Bachtle reference in that Arnote et al. already details providing more accurate automatic control of the device to produce the desired products given the speed control of first and second speeds as disclosed by Arnote et al. These arguments are not persuasive in that incorporating the control of the movement of the hooks via hook spacing/distances as disclosed by Bachtle with the speed control of Arnote et al. would allow for a more accurate and better control/operation of the device/method of Arnote et al. in that the Bachtle controls allow for specific speeds of the hooks to be input and controlled by the user as seen in column 7 line 8 to column 8 line 19. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). The combination of the Arnote et al. and Bachtle references takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made in that each of the Arnote et al. and Bachtle reference disclose apparatus having similar structure of looper horn/transfer device with hook conveyors and have similar function of using controls that control the movement of the hooks as detailed earlier and therefore discloses what is withing the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made. Therefore the combination of these references renders the claims obvious as detailed earlier in paragraph 3 of this office action.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the Arnote et al. reference discloses the claim limitations of these claims as detailed earlier in paragraph 3 of this office action.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643