DETAILED ACTION
This office action is based on the claim set filed on 06/30/2026.
Claims 1 and 13 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1-12 are drawn to a system and Claims 13-20 are drawn to a method, which is/are within the four statutory categories (i.e., a machine and a process). Claims 1-20 are further directed to an abstract idea on the grounds set out in detail below.
Under Step 2A, Prong 1, the steps of the claim for the invention represents an abstract idea of a series of steps that recite a process for organizing resource reservation data on an interface. Collecting data for patient, provider, caregiver, etc., for resources reservation and scheduling and organizing/arranging the data on a display, are steps that is/are an abstract idea that could have been performed by a human actor interacting with a system/interface to implement the abstract idea performing the steps maintaining/hosting, receiving, executing/performing, initiating/starting, which both the instant claims and the abstract idea are defined as Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity (managing personal behavior or interactions between people).
Independent Claim 1 recites the steps of:
“a permissioned blockchain network coupled to one or more client devices, wherein the permissioned blockchain network includes an ordering service with three orderer nodes and at least three members comprising a patient member, a provider member, and a caregiver member, the at least three members being connected by a channel that is a private subnetwork for conducting private and confidential transactions, wherein each member includes (i) an endorsing peer node configured to endorse transactions and (ii) a committing peer node configured to validate and commit transactions and wherein each member is configured to host a respective ledger, receive, from a client device of the one or more client devices, a proposal for reserving one or more resources, in response to receiving the reservation proposal, execute a smart contract of a plurality of smart contracts on the respective ledger, to initiate a transaction for reserving the one or more resources;
obtain, using multi-organization consensus of the permissioned blockchain network, agreement by more than two or a majority of organizations before posting the transaction to the respective ledgers, thereby preventing posting of a duplicate or overlapping reservation transaction; and
in response to confirmation or rejection of the transaction, update calendars of only members involved in the transaction and notify only parties that are part of decision making for the reservation, while shielding protected information from a third party
a user interface component coupled to the permissioned blockchain network, wherein the user interface component is configured to provide a plurality of application programmers interfaces (APIs) to access a plurality of graphical user interfaces.”
Independent Claim 13 recites similar steps as in Claim 1 including:
(b) indicating, to a client device, a successful reservation or a rejection of the reservation of one or more resources, via the one or more graphical user interfaces.
These limitations, as drafted, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations by a human user/actor interaction with computing device(s) that constitute Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. For example, the limitations encompass a user the ability to collect patient, provider, and caregiver data from an account of each party and receive request for resource(s) such as scheduling or reserving a resource(s) and start or initiate and agreement for the reserving the resource (appointment) and to be displayed on a user interface, which are steps that that could have been performed by a human actor using generic computing components/units to implement the abstract idea. These limitations encompass activity of a single person or multiple people and a computer, interacting with other users and with computing system(s) to perform the steps of the claimed invention for resource(s) scheduling and reservation, which constitutes Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Accordingly, the claim limitations (in BOLD) recite an abstract idea. Any limitations not identified above as part of the process are deemed "additional elements," and will be discussed in further detail below.
Under Step 2A, Prong 2, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the remaining elements amount to no more than general purpose computer components programmed to perform the abstract ideas, linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements such as “blockchain network, endorsing peer node, committing peer node, smart contract, client device, user interface/graphical user interface (GUI), application programmers interfaces (APIs)” are computing components that iteratively takes input data and analyzes said data to determine an output to performing generic computer functions and are recited at a high level of generality, and is in described in the specification in an arbitrary form without disclosing a specific process how these elements are implemented to perform a task is a mere in instruction(s) that may be performed by human that it amounts no more than adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, (e.g., execute a smart contract, provide a plurality of APIs to access a plurality of GUI), see MPEP 2106.05(f), generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g., block-chain network), see MPEP 2106.05(h), “i.e. an endorsing peer node configured to endorse transactions and (ii) a committing peer node configured to validate and commit transactions...”, which is merely instructing a generic computer without defining a specific, unconventional technical improvement to how the computer performs it which is treated as routine data manipulation. As set forth in the 2019 Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55 "merely include[ing] instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer" is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application. Accordingly, looking at the claim as a whole, individually and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Under step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to "significantly more" than the judicial exception because as mentioned above, the additional elements amount to no more than generic computing components, recited at a high level of generality, do not present improvements to another technology or technical field, nor do they affect an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, that amount to no more than mere instruction to perform the abstract idea such that it amounts no more than adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) to apply the exception using generic computer component, see MPEP 2106.05(f) and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g., block-chain network), see MPEP 2106.05(h), “i.e. an endorsing peer node configured to endorse transactions and (ii) a committing peer node configured to validate and commit transactions...”, which is merely instructing a generic computer without defining a specific, unconventional technical improvement to how the computer performs it which is treated as routine data manipulation and recited at a high-level generic function, and a mere data gathering process that does not add a meaningful limitation to the above abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.04(d). There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept, See Alice, 573 U.S. at 223 ("mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention."). The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims 2-12 and 14-20 include all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 and 13, and therefore likewise incorporate the above-described abstract idea. While the depending claims add additional limitations, such as
As for claims 2, 4, 12, 14, 16, the claim(s) recite limitations that are under the broadest reasonable interpretation, further define the abstract idea noted in the independent claim(s) that covers performance by a human interaction constituting Certain methods of organizing human activity but for, the recitation of the generic computer components which are similarly rejected because, neither of the claims, further, defined the abstract idea and do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide an inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible.
As for claims 3, 5-11, 15, 17-20, the claim(s) recite limitations that are under the broadest reasonable interpretation, further define the abstract idea noted in the independent claim(s) that covers performance by a human interaction constituting Certain methods of organizing human activity but for, the recitation of the generic computer components which are similarly rejected because, neither of the claims, further, defined the abstract idea and do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide an inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible. The claims recite additional elements “smart contract, blockchain network, graphical user interface (GUI), dashboards, interface, client device(s), API”. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements that implement the identified abstract idea. These computing components are recited at a high level of generality and is in described in the specification in an arbitrary form to perform a task as such is a mere in instruction(s) that may be performed by human that it amounts no more than adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent). Similarly, as mentioned above Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of “e.g. blockchain network, smart contract, GUI, API” to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept ("significantly more").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cella et al. (US 20230214925 A1 “Cella”) in view of Gnanasambandam et al. (US 2023/0187036 A1 “Gnanasambandam”)
Regarding Claim 1, Cella teaches a system for resource reservation using smart contracts, the system comprising:
a permissioned blockchain network coupled to one or more client devices, wherein the permissioned blockchain network includes an ordering service with three orderer nodes and at least three members comprising a patient member, a provider member, and a caregiver member, the at least three members being connected by a channel that is a private subnetwork for conducting private and confidential transactions, wherein each member includes (i) an endorsing peer node configured to endorse transactions and (ii) a committing peer node configured to validate and commit transactions and wherein each member is configured to (i) host a respective ledger, receive, from a client device of the one or more client devices, a proposal for reserving one or more resources, in response to receiving the reservation proposal, execute a smart contract of a plurality of smart contracts on the respective ledger, to initiate a transaction for reserving the one or more resources; Cella discloses a transaction platform interacting with different systems such as order matching system in a marketplace system where the transaction platform performed on permissioned blockchain network or distributed ledger and the blockchain network comprises nodes with plurality of different users on a private network to perform operations with respect to the distributed ledger performing private and confidential operations, as such participating node(s), such patient, physician, facilities, affiliates, etc., executing a request or propose an offering for a service or accommodation such as health and wellness to be reserved or booked and/or based on availability, where based on the requested accommodation, blockchain and smart contract platform forward rights for accommodation validating of new block authenticity and accuracy before storing [1106], [1197], (Cella: [0096], [0514-0515], [1416-1417], [1632], [1197], [1203], [1997-1998], [2309], [2411], [2734], [2794-2795], [3143-3144], [3248])
obtain, using multi-organization consensus of the permissioned blockchain network, agreement by more than two or a majority of organizations before posting the transaction to the respective ledgers, thereby preventing posting of a duplicate or overlapping reservation transaction;
in response to confirmation or rejection of the transaction, update calendars of only members involved in the transaction and notify only parties that are part of decision making for the reservation, while shielding protected information from a third party Cella discloses automatically updating the user's calendar to create an entry for the provision of the service upon receiving confirmation from a user and may attempt to notify platform users, such as select clients of the platform, when services requested of the platform and delivering results of operational analysis (Cella: [2310], [2459], [3748],)
a user interface component coupled to the permissioned blockchain network, wherein the user interface component is configured to provide a plurality of application programmers interfaces (APIs) to access a plurality of graphical user interfaces Cella discloses a user interface where an application programmers interface (API) components corresponding to the user interface enable interacting with plurality of users via graphical user interface (GUI) on the marketplace system (Cella: [1656], [1947], [1949], [2422]).
Cella discloses validation of new block authenticity and accuracy before storing, and updating the ledger of events [1106,], [1695]. However, Cella does not expressly teach endorsing transaction and obtaining agreement before posting by the majority of nodes in order to update the information such as calenders and notifying parties in response to the agreement as underlined.
Gnanasambandam teaches
wherein each member includes (i) an endorsing peer node configured to endorse transactions and (ii) a committing peer node configured to validate and commit transactions (Gnanasambandam: [0424]; a group of nodes in the network may validate and/or verify the record of the transaction that provided the medical professional with access to the distributed ledger, [0425], [0483]; cognitive intelligence platform and other nodes of the network of the distributed ledger may endorse, based on the actual use type of the transaction, the transaction, [0505-0507]]
obtain, using multi-organization consensus of the permissioned blockchain network, agreement by more than two or a majority of organizations before posting the transaction to the respective ledgers, thereby preventing posting of a duplicate or overlapping reservation transaction; (Gnanasambandam: [0505], [0506]; cognitive intelligence platform may determine whether a threshold number of nodes of the network of nodes have endorsed the transaction request ... the threshold number of nodes of the network of nodes may be less than a majority of the nodes; [0507]; responsive to determining that the threshold number of nodes of the network of nodes have endorsed the transaction request, cognitive intelligence platform may perform the one or more operations to store the record of the transaction associated with the medical test for the patient and the content pertaining to the medical test for the patient in the distributed ledger... if cognitive intelligence platform determines that the threshold number of nodes of the network of nodes have not endorsed the transaction request, cognitive intelligence platform may block the transaction request)
in response to confirmation or rejection of the transaction, update calendars of only members involved in the transaction and notify only parties that are part of decision making for the reservation, while shielding protected information from a third party (Gnanasambandam: [Fig. 27, 29, 33A-B], [0507]; when applicable rules and/or the consensus protocol is satisfied, the operation in the requested transactions may be completed and a record of the transaction may be added to the distributed ledger... cryptography may be used to secure the distributed ledger and the messages between the nodes of the distributed ledger network and/or the computing devices requesting the transactions. ... just the authorized entities are allowed to perform the transactions on the distributed ledger, and in some instances, just the appropriate entities are allowed to view details of particular transactions in the distributed ledger, [0508]; the one or more nodes may update respective copies of the distributed ledger with the record)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Cella blockchain and smart contract in a marketplace platform to incorporate endorsing and validating a transition before posting and updating information based on agreement of majority, as taught by Gnanasambandam, which may prevent a user without a node to publish misleading and potentially untrue information (Gnanasambandam: [0063]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least three members includes patients, providers, and caregivers Cella discloses a transaction platform interacting with different systems in a marketplace system where the blockchain network comprises nodes with plurality of different users where a knowledge distribution system may include an account management system to facilitate creation and management of a plurality of user accounts corresponding to a plurality of users that includes where the smart contract mange enrollment, collaboration, grants, etc., for patient, physician, facilities, affiliates, etc. (or other personnel associated with the upcoming patient healthcare consultation) (Cella: [0096], [1221], [1998], [2795]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of smart contracts comprises an appointment contract, a patient contract, a provider contract and a caregiver contract Cella discloses a smart contract, where the smart contract mange enrollment, collaboration, grants, etc., for patient, physician, facilities, affiliates, etc. (Cella: [1997-1998]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the patient contract is configured to:
enroll a new patient into the permissioned blockchain network; Cella discloses an account management system may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system and/or the distributed ledger such as configured to facilitate registration of one or more users (Cella: [1087], [1996-1997], [2420])
query patient information in the respective ledger, in response to a query from one or more patients, one or more providers, or one or more caregivers; Cella discloses the account management system with the ledger management system may be configured to facilitate intake of data from registered users of the distributed ledger such as name, address, and any other suitable information related to the registered users (Cella: [1087], [1997], [2420])
update patient information in response to a request from the one or more patients
Gnanasambandam discloses a request to register a user such as a patient may register as a node and may provide personal information (e.g., driver's license number, social security) where just the entities that are registered as nodes may add content to the distributed ledger and when the user completes the requested information, the distributed ledger updates the record with the patient information (Gnanasambandam: [Fig. 6, 33A], [0062-0063], [0073], [0076]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Cella blockchain and smart contract in a marketplace platform to incorporate enrolment/registration of a user and update the distributed ledger, as taught by Gnanasambandam, which may prevent a user without a node to publish misleading and potentially untrue information (Gnanasambandam: [0063]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the provider contract is configured to:
enroll a new provider into the permissioned blockchain network; Cella discloses an account management system may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system and/or the distributed ledger such as configured to facilitate registration of one or more users (Cella: [1087], [1996-1997], [2420])
query provider information in the respective ledger, in response to a query from one or more patients, one or more providers, or one or more caregivers;
update provider information in response to a request from the one or more providers Gnanasambandam discloses a request to register a user such as a provider or physician where a physician may register as a node and may provide information (e.g., National Provider Identifier (NPI), license number, date licensed, date license last updated, etc.) pertaining to their authorization information, specialty of medical practice, location of practice, where just the entities that are registered as nodes may add content to the distributed ledger and when the user completes the requested information, the distributed ledger updates the record with the physician information (Gnanasambandam [Fig. 6, 33A], [0062-0063], [0073], [0076], [0410]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Cella blockchain and smart contract in a marketplace platform to incorporate enrolment/registration of a user and update the distributed ledger, as taught by Gnanasambandam, which may prevent a user without a node to publish misleading and potentially untrue information (Gnanasambandam: [0063]).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the caregiver contract is configured to:
enroll a new caregiver into the permissioned blockchain network Cella discloses an account management system may facilitate creation and/or storage of user accounts related to users of the knowledge distribution system and/or the distributed ledger such as configured to facilitate registration of one or more users (Cella: [1087], [1996-1997], [2420])
query caregiver information in the respective ledger, in response to a query from one or more patients, one or more providers, or one or more caregivers; update caregiver information in response to a request from the one or more caregivers; control appointment of a patient’s appointment Gnanasambandam discloses a request to register a user such as a caregiver/pharmacist where a pharmacist may register as a node and may provide information ( e.g., license number, date licensed, date license last updated, etc.) pertaining to their authorization where just the entities that are registered as nodes may add content to the distributed ledger and when the user completes the requested information, the distributed ledger updates the record with the caregiver information and in turn scheduling a service (Gnanasambandam [Fig. 6, 33A], [0062-0063], [0073], [0076]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Cella blockchain and smart contract in a marketplace platform to incorporate enrolment/registration of a user and update the distributed ledger, as taught by Gnanasambandam, which may prevent a user without a node to publish misleading and potentially untrue information (Gnanasambandam: [0063]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of graphical user interfaces includes one or more graphical user interfaces for client login, client signup, a plurality of dashboards, each dashboard corresponding to a respective member type, an interface for a calendar view, an interface for booking resources, an interface for accepting resource reservation, an interface for rejecting resource booking, an interface for client profile management, an interface for displaying current users Cella discloses a data visualization in the user interface may provide a set of dashboards, interfaces, and integrations for a user of the platform to visualize information (Cella: [0458], [2635]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the permissioned blockchain network is configured to:
at a member of the at least three members: Cella discloses a transaction platform interacting with different systems in a marketplace system where the blockchain network comprises nodes with plurality of different users where a knowledge distribution system may include an account management system to facilitate creation and management of a plurality of user accounts corresponding to a plurality of users (Cella: [0096], [1221])
receive a connection request from a client device of the one or more client devices; Cella discloses a request of connection between entities providing peer-to-peer connection such as connection between a system and user devices (Cella: [0020], [0403], [0658], [2103])
at a smart contract Cella discloses a data and network infrastructure pipeline that is configured to deliver data from a set of assets to set of smart contracts that include terms, conditions and parameters for a set of transaction workflows involving the assets (Cella: [0021]):
process the connection request to select (i) a graphical user interface of the plurality of graphical user interfaces based on the client device and (ii) an API corresponding to the graphical user interface; Cella discloses a user interface where an application programmers interface (API) components corresponding to the user interface enable interacting with plurality of users via graphical user interface (GUI) on the marketplace system (Cella: [1656], [1947], [1949])
provide, via the API, the graphical user interface, to the client device; Cella discloses a user interface where an application programmers interface (API) components corresponding to the user interface enable interacting with plurality of users via graphical user interface (GUI) on the marketplace system (Cella: [1656], [1947], [1949])
receive, via the graphical user interface, a selection of a resource of a plurality of resources, from the client device; Cella discloses transaction request initiated by a user device associated with a user of the plurality of use where the GUI can receive, from the user, a selection of components representing actions that correspond to the steps of the workflow when performed by a human (Cella: [0096], [0751], [0860], [3329])
in response to the selection of the resource, perform, using the plurality of graphical user interfaces and/or the respective ledger, one or more operations selected from the group consisting of: client login, client signup, and display (i) one or more dashboards, each dashboard corresponding to a respective member type, (ii) an interface for a calendar view, (ii) an interface for booking resources, (iii) an interface for accepting resource reservation, (iv) an interface for rejecting resource booking, (v) an interface for client profile management, or (vi) an interface for displaying current users Cella discloses a data visualization in the user interface may provide a set of dashboards, interfaces, and integrations for a user of the platform to visualize information (Cella: [0458], [2635]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each member includes (i) an endorsing peer node configured to endorse transactions and (ii) a committing peer node to validate and commit transactions Cella discloses authenticating a user where the distributed ledgers may be stored on pre-selected or pre-approved nodes that are associated with the parties to a management of digital knowledge via the knowledge distribution system and an offer executed via smart contract for rescores or assets approved by one or more parties related to the offer and commitment of one pr more parties to the smart contract (Cella: [0530], [1073], [2309], [2419]).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches a method for resource reservation using smart contracts, the method comprising:
the claim recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1, as such, are rejected for similar reasons as given above including
(b) indicating, to a client device, a successful reservation or a rejection of the reservation of one or more resources, via the one or more graphical user interfaces Cella discloses the forward marketplace may present the offer to the counterparty, which may accept the offer, reject the offer, and/or submit a counteroffer (e.g., by changing one or more terms) (Cella: [1968], [2028], [2310]).
Regarding Claim 14-15, 17-20, the claim recites substantially similar limitations to claim 2-3, 5-7, and 11 as such, are rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claims 4, 9-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cella et al. (US 20230214925 A1 “Cella”) in view of Gnanasambandam et al. (US 2023/0187036 A1 “Gnanasambandam”) in view of Hall et al. (US 2025/0053685 A1 “Hall”)
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the appointment contract is configured to:
create an appointment initiated by one or more patients, one or more providers, or one or more caregivers;
list an appointment in response to queries for appointments based on a patient identifier from the respective ledger
update one or more appointments with respect to the one or more patients, the one or more providers, or the one or more caregivers
refers appointments to let a provider refer an appointment to another provider
query all the appointments based on a query pattern
the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam discloses scheduling a reservation or booking and patient meeting physician for consultation (Cella: [2795] and automatically updating the user's calendar to create an entry for the provision [2310], however does not expressly disclose the claim limitations as underlined
Hall teaches
create an appointment initiated by one or more patients, one or more providers, or one or more caregivers; Hall discloses a user creating an appointment for health consultation (Hall: [Fig. 6A, 13Q], [0127], [0188-0189])
list an appointment in response to queries for appointments based on a patient identifier from the respective ledger; Hall discloses based on the use request, creating items showing providers and/or appointments available (Hall: [0127], [0181], [0190-0193])
update one or more appointments with respect to the one or more patients, the one or more providers, or the one or more caregivers Hall discloses detecting appointment dynamic changes to a scheduled appointment (Hall: [0132])
refers appointments to let a provider refer an appointment to another provider Hall discloses patient referral process (Hall: [Fig. 20D, 21C-G, [0224-0225])
query all the appointments based on a query pattern Hall discloses query all appointments based on patient search pattern (Hall: [Fig. 21G]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam blockchain and smart contract in a marketplace platform to incorporate appointment booking process and referrals, as taught by Hall, which enables the patient to schedule, via the centralized appointment system, non-conflicting appointments and ensures faster and more convenient appointment booking, and increases the efficiency of healthcare service delivery (Hall: [0128], [0132]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of graphical user interfaces includes a corresponding graphical user interface for patients, a corresponding interface for providers, and a corresponding interface for caregivers Cella discloses the distributed ledger system may include a user interface system configured to present a user interface which may be a graphical user interface configured to facilitate uploading of digital knowledge, generation and/or uploading of a smart contract, and viewing of the digital knowledge and/or the smart contract presenting information to users of the distributed ledger system, information related to the user viewing the user interface and/or other users of the distributed ledger system where the corresponding API components of the circuits may include user interfaces structured to interact with a plurality of users of the system, for example a patient and physician may interact with a user interface of consultation (Cella: [1929], [2422], [2795]).
However, Cella does not expressly discloses interface for caregiver
Hall discloses an application feature accessible by admin, health professionals, and patients and acts as the user interface for each and tailored to the user, providing access to patient information, health professional information, appointments, and more (Hall: [0046], [0065], [0248], [0250], [0254]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam blockchain and smart contract in a marketplace platform to incorporate user interface tailored to each entity, as taught by Hall, which provides an efficient way to manage the complexity of relationships between data points and increases the efficiency of healthcare service delivery (Hall: [0051]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of graphical user interfaces includes an interface with one or more affordances for providers to refer an appointment to another provider
However, Cella does not expressly disclose the feature as underlined.
Hall discloses a user interface provide capability for patient referral process (Hall: [Fig. 20D, 21C-G, [0224-0225]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam blockchain and smart contract in a marketplace platform to incorporate appointment process and referrals, as taught by Hall, which enables the patient to schedule, via the centralized appointment system, non-conflicting appointments and ensures faster and more convenient appointment booking, and increases the efficiency of healthcare service delivery (Hall: [0128], [0132]).
Regarding Claim 16, the claim recites substantially similar limitations to claim 4 as such, are rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered by the Examiner and addressed as the following:
In the remarks, Applicant argues in substance that:
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection on page 9-10.
On page 10 of the remarks, Applicant argues “Applicant respectfully submits that these claim elements integrate any abstract idea into a practical application pursuant to Section 101 and the USPTO guidance... Applicant respectfully submits that these elements are not "mental steps," but rather practical elements that ground the invention technologically”, Examiner respectfully disagree. Examiner asserts that the claims, given their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite an abstract idea which have been analyzed under Step 2A, Prong One reciting a process for scheduling resources using blockchain process which define a judicial exception steps while using computing devices to perform the abstract steps, which are steps can be performed by a user interacting with a device(s) for performing the abstract idea which are concepts that falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping and sub grouping sub-grouping "managing personal behavior or interactions between people".
Furthermore, as described in the rejection above, the claim does not describe a particular improvement of computer’s functionality or a technical field, rather using additional elements, “e.g., blockchain network, endorsing peer node, committing peer node, smart contract, client device, user interface/graphical user interface (GUI), application programmers interfaces (APIs)”, to perform the steps abstract idea through leveraging computing technology in a well understood manner however improving upon an abstract idea does not make the abstract idea any less abstract. For example, the elements argued by the Applicant “i.e. an endorsing peer node configured to endorse transactions and (ii) a committing peer node configured to validate and commit transactions...”, which is merely instructing a generic computer without defining a specific, unconventional technical improvement to how the computer performs it which is treated as routine data manipulation and recited at a high-level generic function. In light of the Alice decision and the guidance provided in the 2019 PEG, the features listed in the claims, are not considered an improvement to another technology or technical field, or an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself rather describes an improvement to save patient time and determine exercise effectiveness to reduce cost and time of travel to and from provider office, which is solving a health facility and patient administrative problem, using computers, for assessing the patient speech language. In addition, by relying on computing devices to perform routine tasks more quickly or more accurately is insufficient to render a claim patent eligible (See Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2359 "use of a computer to create electronic records, track multiple transactions, and issue simultaneous instructions" is not an inventive concept).
Therefore, the Applicant argument is found to be unpersuasive and Examiner remains the 101 rejections of claims which have been updated to address Applicant's argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection on page 10-11.
In response to the Applicant argument that features along with the amended features are not disclosed by Cella, Examiner withdraws the 102 rejection.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection on page 11-12.
On page 12 of the remarks, Applicant argues “The Hall and Gnanasambandam references fail to disclose, teach, or suggest any of the elements discussed above as being absent from the Cella reference”, Examiner respectfully disagree. Although the Applicant argument(s) is/are directed to a newly added features that have not been considered in the prior examination, Examiner asserts that the feature, under BRI, is disclosed in the combination of Cella and Gnanasambandam as described in the above rejection.
Therefore, Examiner finds the Applicant argument unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/ALAAELDIN M. ELSHAER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687