DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The specification does not disclose that a magnetic circuit assembly “elastically” connected to the vibration transmission plate. It appears that the magnetic circuit assembly physically connected to the vibration transmission plate (note the outer support of the vibration assembly that may be physically connected with both sides of the magnetic circuit assembly in paragraphs [0131]-[0132] in the specification).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the magnetic conduction element surrounding the first magnetic element, and the first magnetic element surrounding the second magnetic element (claim 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is claiming the “magnetic conduction element arranged between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element”. However, claim 16 is claiming that “the magnetic conduction element surrounds the first magnetic element, and the first magnetic element surrounds the second magnetic element”. It is not clear how the magnetic conduction element surrounds the first magnetic element, and the first magnetic element surrounds the second magnetic element as claimed in claim 16. It appears that the first magnetic conduction element surrounds the first magnetic element (claim 14), and the third magnetic element surrounds the second magnetic element (note claim 11).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12,192,732. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are claiming an acoustic device comprising a vibration transmission plate configured to transmit vibrations to a user’s head, a voice coil fixedly connected to the vibration transmission plate or the voice coil connected with an inner support of the vibration assembly that is connected with the vibration transmission plate, a magnetic circuit assembly physically connected to the vibration transmission plate and configured to vibrate relative to the vibration transmission plate, or one end of the outer support of the vibration assembly that is physically connected with the magnetic circuit, wherein the magnetic circuit assembly includes a first magnetic element, a second magnetic element and a magnetic conduction element arranged between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element (note claims 10 and 13 in U.S. Patent No.12,192,732), and a magnetic conduction cover configured to surround the magnetic circuit assembly to form a magnetic gap, wherein at least part of the voice coil is arranged in the magnetic gap (also note claim 9 in U.S. Patent No.12,192,732).
The limitations in claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,192,732 cover the limitations in claims 1-20 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2020/0336840).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. teaches an acoustic device (the bone conduction speaker, figures 2, 16, 17) comprising a vibration transmission plate (214, 1618, 1722, figures 2, 16, 17) configured to transmit vibrations to a user’s head, a voice coil (210, 1610, 1712, and see figures 2, 16, 17) fixedly connected to the vibration transmission plate (figures 2, 16, 17), a magnetic circuit assembly (202, 204, 206, 1602, 1604, 1606, 1702, 1704, 1706, 1710) connected to the vibration transmission plate and configured to vibrate relative to the vibration transmission plate (214, 1618, 1722, figures 2, 16, 17), and a magnetic conduction cover (206, 306, 506, 1606, 1704, 1706, figures 2, 3A-3F, 5A-5F, 16, 17) configured to surround the magnetic circuit assembly to form a magnetic gap (figures 2, 3A-3F, 5A-5F, 16, 17), wherein at least part of the voice coil is arranged in the magnetic gap (figures 2, 3A-3F, 5A-5F, 16, 17).
Zhang et al. teaches the magnetic circuit assembly (202, 204, 1602, 1604, 1702, 1710) including a first magnetic element (202, 1602, 1702) and a first magnetic guide element or a magnetic conduction element (204, 1604, 1710, figures 2, 16, 17). Zhang et al. does not specifically show the magnetic circuit assembly figures (figures 2, 16, 17) including a second magnetic element and the magnetic conduction element arranged between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element. However, providing the magnetic circuit assembly including a magnetic conduction element arranged between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element is known in the art.
In the other embodiments, Zhang et al. teaches a magnetic circuit assembly including a second magnetic element and a magnetic conduction element arranged between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element (figures 3D, 3E, 3F, 5A-5F and 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the magnetic circuit assembly, as shown in figures 2, 16 and 17, including a second magnetic element and the magnetic conduction element arranged between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element, as taught in figures 3D, 3E, 3F, 5A-5F and 15 in the system of Zhang et al. for providing a better magnetic flux, depending on the applications and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Regarding claims 2-3, Zhang et al. teaches that an angle between magnetization directions of the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element is between 150°and 180°, wherein the magnetization directions of the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element are opposite as claimed (paragraph [0132], figure 3D).
Regarding claim 4, as broadly claimed, Zhang et al. teaches the magnetic circuit assembly (202, 204, 206, 1602, 1604, 1606, 1702, 1704, 1706, 1710) that is connected to the vibration transmission plate (214, 1618, 1722, figures 2, 16, 17) at least through a vibration diaphragm (208, 212, 1612, 1716).
Regarding claims 11-13, Zhang teaches a third magnetic element (308, 310, 326, figures 3A-3G), wherein at least a part of the third magnetic element surrounds the first magnetic element or the second magnetic element (308, 310, 326, figures 3A-3G), wherein an angle between a magnetization direction of the third magnetic element and a magnetization direction of the first magnetic element or the second magnetic element is between 60°and 120° (paragraphs [0113], [0120]-[0121] and [0147]), wherein an angle between a magnetization direction of the third magnetic element and a magnetization direction of the first magnetic element or the second magnetic element falls between 0°and 30° (paragraphs [0121] and [0147]).
Regarding claim 14, as broadly claimed, Zhang teaches a first magnetic conduction element (310, 312, 320, 322, 324, 326), wherein at least a portion of the first magnetic conduction element surrounds the first magnetic element (302) and the second magnetic element (314, figures 3B-3G).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches a magnetization direction of the first magnetic element and a magnetization direction of the second magnetic element are perpendicular to a connection surface between the first magnetic element and the magnetic conduction element (figures 3A-3E, 3G, paragraphs [0113] and [0132]), and the magnetization direction of the first magnetic element and the magnetization direction of the second magnetic element are opposite (paragraph [0132]).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood with regarding 112, 2nd, Zhang teaches the first magnetic conduction element (310, 312, 320, 322) that surrounds the first magnetic element (302) and the third magnetic element (308, 310, 326, figures 3A-3G) that surrounds second magnetic element (314, figures 3B-3G).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang et al. teaches an upper surface of the magnetic conduction element (304) that is connected with a lower surface of the first magnetic element (314, figures 3D, 3E, 3G), a lower surface of the magnetic conduction element (304) that is connected with a upper surface of the second magnetic element (302, figures 3D, 3E, 3G).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang et al. teaches a bolt that is configured to pass through the first magnetic element, the magnetic conduction element and the second magnetic element (paragraphs [0106], [0111] and [0200]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2020/0336840) in view of Liao et al. (US 2020/0228902).
Zhang et al. does not specifically disclose a shell as claimed. However, providing a shell for a magnetic circuit assembly of a bone conduction speaker is known in the art.
Liao et al. teaches a housing or a shell (2019, 2219, 2319, 2519) for a magnetic circuit assembly of a bone conduction speaker (figures 20, 22A, 23, 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a shell being connected with the vibration transmission plate to form an accommodation cavity to accommodate the magnetic circuit assembly, the magnetic conduction cover and the voice coil for better supporting the magnetic assembly and providing a housing to the speaker assembly in the system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2020/0336840) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 109511043).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang et al.’840 does not specifically disclose a protective element as claimed. However, providing a protective element configured to fit an outer end surface of a vibration transmission plate in a bone conduction speaker is known in the art.
Zhang et al.’043 teaches a bone conduction speaker comprising a protective element (34, 342, 344, 3444, 346) configured to fit an outer end surface of a vibration transmission plate (32, figures 3, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a protective element configured to fit an outer end surface of a vibration transmission plate, as taught by Zhang et al.’043, in the system of Zhang et al.’840 for better supporting and protecting the speaker assembly in the system.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2020/0336840) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 109511043) and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2020/0228902).
Zhang et al.’840 in view Zhang et al.’043 teaches a bone conduction speaker comprising a protective element (34, 342, 344, 346 ,figures 3, 4 in Zhang et al.’043), wherein the protective element (34, 342, 344, 346 in Zhang et al.’043) includes a mesh structure (344, 3444 in Zhang et al.’043) that allows air inside and outside of the accommodation cavity to communicate with each other (figures 3-4 in Zhang et al.’043).
Zhang et al.’840 and Zhang et al.’043 does not specifically disclose a shell as claimed. However, providing a shell for a magnetic circuit assembly of a bone conduction speaker is known in the art.
Liao et al. teaches a housing or a shell (2019, 2219, 2319, 2519) for a magnetic circuit assembly of a bone conduction speaker (figures 20, 22A, 23, 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a shell, as taught by Liao, being connected with the vibration transmission plate to form an accommodation cavity in the system of Zhang et al.’840 and Zhang et al.’043 for better supporting the magnetic assembly and providing a housing to the speaker assembly in the system.
Claims 1-7, 11-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2020/0228902) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0336840).
Regarding claim 1, Liao et al. teaches an acoustic device (the bone conduction speaker, figures 2A-2C, 12, 18A-B, 20, 22A, 23, 25) comprising a vibration transmission plate (1830, 2030, 2213, 2313, 2513) configured to transmit vibrations to a user’s head, a voice coil (1808, 2008, 2215, 2315, 2515) fixedly connected to the vibration transmission plate (figures 18A-B, 20, 22A, 23, 25), a magnetic circuit assembly (1809, 1811, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2210, 2211, 2212, 2310, 2311, 2312, 2510, 2511, 2512) connected to the vibration transmission plate and configured to vibrate relative to the vibration transmission plate (figures 20, 22A, 23, 25), and a magnetic conduction cover (1810, 2012, 2212, 2312, 2512) configured to surround the magnetic circuit assembly (1809, 1811, 2009, 2011, 2210, 2211, 2310, 2311, 2510, 2511) to form a magnetic gap (figures 18A, 20, 22A, 23, 25), wherein at least part of the voice coil is arranged in the magnetic gap (figures 18A, 20, 22A, 23, 25).
Liao et al. teaches the magnetic circuit assembly including a first magnetic element and a first magnetic conduction element (2009, 2011, 2210, 2211, 2310, 2311, 2510, 2511, figures 20, 22A, 23, 25). Liao et al. does not specifically teach the magnetic circuit assembly including a second magnetic element and the magnetic conduction element arranged between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element as claimed. However, providing the magnetic circuit assembly including a magnetic conduction element arranged between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element is known in the art.
Zhang et al. teaches a magnetic circuit assembly including a magnetic conduction element arranged between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element (figures 3D, 3E, 3F, 5A-5F and 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the magnetic circuit assembly in the system of Liao et al. including a second magnetic element and the magnetic conduction element arranged between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element, as taught by Zhang et al. for providing a better magnetic flux depending on the applications and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Regarding claims 2-3, Zhang et al. teaches that an angle between magnetization directions of the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element is between 150°and 180°, wherein the magnetization directions of the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element are opposite as claimed (paragraph [0132], figure 3D).
Regarding claim 4, as broadly claimed, Liao et al. teaches the magnetic circuit assembly (2009, 2011, 2210, 2211, 2310, 2311, 2510, 2511) that is connected to the vibration transmission plate (2030, 2213, 2313, 2513) at least through a vibration diaphragm (2001, 2003, 2216, 2217, 2316, 2317, 2516 and/or 2517).
Regarding claim 5, Liao et al. teaches a housing or a shell (2019, 2219, 2319, 2519) connected with the vibration transmission plate to form an accommodation cavity to accommodate the magnetic circuit assembly, the magnetic conduction cover and the voice coil (figures 20, 22A, 23, 25).
Regarding claim 6, as broadly claimed, Liao et al. shows a vibration assembly (figures 18A, 20, 22A, 23, 25) configured to connect the voice coil (1808, 2008, 2215, 2315, 2515) with the vibration transmission plate (1830, 2030, 2213, 2313, 2513), wherein the vibration assembly includes an inner support (1802, 2002, 2214, 2314, 2514), an outer support (1806, 2006, 2218, 2318, 2518), and a vibration diaphragm (1801, 2001, 2003, 2216, 2217, 2316, 2317, 2516 and/or 2517), and one end of the voice coil is connected with the inner support (1802, 2002, 2214, 2314, 2514), wherein the vibration diaphragm is physically connected with the inner support and the outer support to limit a relative movement of the inner support and the outer support in a first direction (figures 18A, 18B, 20, 22A, 23, 25), wherein the first direction is a radial direction of the accommodation cavity, and wherein at least one of the inner support, the outer support, or the vibration diaphragm is connected with the vibration transmission plate to transmit vibrations to the vibration transmission plate (1830, 2030, 2213, 2313, 2513).
Regarding claim 7, Liao does not specifically teach that the outer support and the inner support are movably connected with the vibration diaphragm to limit the relative movement of the outer support and the inner support in the first direction and allow a movement of the inner support and the vibration diaphragm relative to the outer support in a second direction as claimed. However, Liao et al. does teach a structure of the outer support and the inner support that are movably connected with the vibration diaphragm (figures 18A, 18B, 20, 22A, 23, 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any structure of the outer support, the inner support movably connected with the vibration diaphragm in the system of Liao et al. such as providing the outer support and the inner support movably connected with the vibration diaphragm to limit the relative movement of the outer support and the inner support in the first direction and allow a movement of the inner support and the vibration diaphragm relative to the outer support in a second direction, wherein the second direction is an extension direction of the inner support and the outer support for the same desired purpose of better transmitting the vibration signals and improving the sound quality in the system.
Regarding claims 11-13, Zhang teaches a third magnetic element (308, 310, 326, figures 3A-3G), wherein at least a part of the third magnetic element surrounds the first magnetic element or the second magnetic element (308, 310, 326, figures 3A-3G), wherein an angle between a magnetization direction of the third magnetic element and a magnetization direction of the first magnetic element or the second magnetic element is between 60°and 120° (paragraphs [0113], [0120]-[0121] and [0147]), wherein an angle between a magnetization direction of the third magnetic element and a magnetization direction of the first magnetic element or the second magnetic element falls between 0°and 30° (paragraphs [0121] and [0147]).
Regarding claim 14, as broadly claimed, Zhang teaches a first magnetic conduction element (310, 312, 320, 322, 324, 326), wherein at least a portion of the first magnetic conduction element surrounds the first magnetic element (302 or 314) and the second magnetic element (314 or 302, figures 3B-3G).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches a magnetization direction of the first magnetic element and a magnetization direction of the second magnetic element are perpendicular to a connection surface between the first magnetic element and the magnetic conduction element (figures 3A-3E, 3G, paragraphs [0113] and [0132]), and the magnetization direction of the first magnetic element and the magnetization direction of the second magnetic element are opposite (paragraph [0132]).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood with regarding 112, 2nd, Zhang teaches the first magnetic conduction element (310, 312, 320, 322) that surrounds the first magnetic element (302) and the third magnetic element (308, 310, 326, figures 3A-3G) that surrounds second magnetic element (314, figures 3B-3G).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang et al. teaches an upper surface of the magnetic conduction element (304) that is connected with a lower surface of the first magnetic element (314, figures 3D, 3E, 3G), a lower surface of the magnetic conduction element (304) that is connected with a upper surface of the second magnetic element (302, figures 3D, 3E, 3G).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang et al. teaches a bolt that is configured to pass through the first magnetic element, the magnetic conduction element and the second magnetic element (paragraphs [0106], [0111] and [0200]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2020/0228902) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0336840) and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 109511043).
Regarding claim 18, Liao et al. in view of Zhang et al.’840 does not specifically disclose a protective element as claimed. However, providing a protective element configured to fit an outer end surface of a vibration transmission plate in a bone conduction speaker is known in the art.
Zhang et al.’043 teaches a bone conduction speaker comprising a protective element (34, 342, 344, 346) configured to fit an outer end surface of a vibration transmission plate (32, figures 3, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a protective element configured to fit an outer end surface of a vibration transmission plate, as taught by Zhang et al.’043, in the system of Liao et al. in view of Zhang et al.’840 for better supporting and protecting the speaker assembly in the system.
Regarding claim 19, Liao et al. in view of Zhang et al.’840 and Zhang et al.’043 teaches a shell (2019, 2219, 2319, 2519 in Liao et al.) connected with the vibration transmission plate to form an accommodation cavity (figures 20, 22A, 23, 25 in Liao et al.), wherein the protective element (34, 342, 344, 346 in Zhang et al.’043) includes a mesh structure (344, 3444 in Zhang et al.’043) that allows air inside and outside of the accommodation cavity to communicate with each other (figures 3-4 in Zhang et al.’043).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xu et al. (US 2016/0225362) teaches an acoustic device including a housing having a cover, and a speaker unit including a magnetic circuit unit (22), wherein the magnetic circuit unit includes a base board (220), a main magnetic conduction member (221), an auxiliary magnetic conduction member (222) disposed on a periphery portion of the base board, a main pole plate (223) attached on the main magnetic conduction member (221), and an auxiliary pole plate (224) attached on the auxiliary magnetic conduction member (222).
Kobayashi (US 2006/0098829) teaches a bone conduction speaker device (1) and a case (2) for packaging the speaker unit therein, wherein the speaker unit comprises a voice coil (4) that surrounds a central magnetic pole (3), a magnet (5) disposed on an inner peripheral surface of a peripheral wall (7) in a peripheral edge portion of a yoke (6), a vibrating plate (8) and a vibrating block (9) fixedly mounted on the vibrating plate.
/HUYEN D LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694 HL
June 25, 2026