DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 6-8, 13, 14-17, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "at least one primary electrode is arranged in transverse direction on each side…at least one secondary electrode is arranged in transverse direction on each side" in lines 2-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as claim 1 had already introduced both a primary and a secondary electrode and it is unclear if these newly recited electrodes are independent of the electrodes introduced in claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation " a first data communication unit connected to the primary electrode of second power transfer capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the secondary electrode of the second power transfer capacitor" in lines 4-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because although the specification describes these elements functionally as being capable of superimposing, recovering, demodulating, or filtering communication signals, the claim does not recite any corresponding structural limitations defining the claimed “data communication units.”
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the additional primary electrode and additional secondary electrode forming an additional power transfer capacitor that is configured to provide capacitive data communication between a first data communication unit connected to the additional primary electrode of the additional power transfer capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the additional secondary electrode of the additional power transfer capacitor" in lines 4-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim it is indefinite because it is unclear what structure(s) is/are encompassed by the recitation of a “first data communication unit” and a “second data communication unit .” Although the specification describes these elements functionally as being capable of superimposing, recovering, demodulating, or filtering communication signals, the claim does not recite any corresponding structural limitations defining the claimed “data communication units.”
Claim 8 recites the limitation " wherein the power transfer capacitor formed by at least one primary electrode and the associated at least one secondary electrode is additionally configured to provide capacitive power transfer between a first data communication unit connected to the at least one primary electrode of the power transfer capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the at least one secondary electrode of the power transfer capacitor" in lines 1-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because although the specification describes these elements functionally as being capable of superimposing, recovering, demodulating, or filtering communication signals, the claim does not recite any corresponding structural limitations defining the claimed “data communication units.” Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because the scope of the recitation “configured to provide capacitive power transfer between a first data communication unit…and a second data communication unit” is unclear.
The specification describes the first and second data communication units as being configured for data communication, rather than for transferring electrical power between the data communication units. For example, para. 0053 of the specifications explains that the first data communication unit 25 may “superimpose an AC communication signal” onto the AC primary voltage, while the second data communication unit 26 recovers the communication signal from the AC secondary voltage. Para. 0054 similarly describes a separate capacitor being “used for data communication” and having a first data communication unit connected to the primary electrode and a second data communication unit connected to the secondary electrode.
Thus, it is unclear whether the phrase “capacitive power transfer between a first data communication unit… and a second data communication unit” is intended to require (1) transfer of electrical power between the first and second data communication units, (2) transfer of data between the first and second data communication units using the capacitive power transfer path, or (3) both power transfer and data communication between the units. The specification describes the data communication units as transmitting and receiving communication signals but does not explain what it means for the power transfer capacitor to provide “capacitive power transfer between” those data communication units. The metes and bounds of claim 8 are unclear because a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been able to determine with reasonable certainty whether the recited “capacitive power transfer between” the first and second data communication units refers to electrical power transfer, data communication through the power transfer capacitor, or both.
This ambiguity of claim 8 is further apparent in claim 6, which expressly recites that an additional power transfer capacitor is “configured to provide capacitive data communication” between the first and second data communication units, whereas claim 8 recites that the power transfer capacitor is configured to provide “capacitive power transfer” between the data communication units.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " wherein a first one of the power transfer capacitors is used for capacitive power transfer and a second one of the power transfer capacitors is used for capacitive data communication between a first data communication unit connected to the primary electrode of second power transfer capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the secondary electrode of the second power transfer capacitor" in lines 1-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and it is indefinite because the claim recites “a first data communication unit” and “a second data communication unit” without sufficiently identifying the structure encompassed by these terms, such that the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter be determined with reasonable certainty.
The specification describes the first data communication unit 25 as being coupled to the primary electrode and capable of superimposing an AC communication signal onto an AC primary voltage and describes a second data communication unit 26 as being coupled to the secondary electrode and capable of recovering the communication signal from an AC secondary voltage. However, the specification does not establish structural boundaries or otherwise provide sufficient objective criteria by which a person of ordinary skill in the art could determine what constitutes a “data communication unit” for purposes of the claim.
This lack of clarity is particularly significant in claim 13 because the claim requires the second power transfer capacitor to provide “capacitive data communication between” the first and second data communication units, but does not identify what circuitry or components constitute wither data communication unit or what characteristics distinguish such a unit from other circuitry capable of transmitting or receiving a signal through the capacitor. Accordingly, the scope of the recited “data communication units” is unclear.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " wherein an additional primary electrode is arranged on the stator of the linear motor and an additional secondary electrode is arranged on the at least one shuttle of the linear motor, the additional primary electrode and additional secondary electrode forming an additional power transfer capacitor that is configured to provide capacitive data communication between a first data communication unit connected to the additional primary electrode of the additional power transfer capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the additional secondary electrode of the additional power transfer capacitor" in lines 1-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and is indefinite because the claim recites “a first data communication unit” and “a second data communication unit” without sufficiently defining the structure or objective boundaries of the recited “data communication units.” Although the specification describes exemplary data communication units 25 and 26 as being coupled to respective electrodes and performing signal transmission and reception functions, the specification does not provide sufficient objective criteria by which a person of ordinary skill in the art could determine the boundaries of a “data communication unit” as claimed. Accordingly, the scope of the claimed data communication units cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim 18 recites the limitation " wherein an additional primary electrode is arranged on the stator of the linear motor and an additional secondary electrode is arranged on the at least one shuttle of the linear motor, the additional primary electrode and additional secondary electrode forming an additional power transfer capacitor that is configured to provide capacitive data communication between a first data communication unit connected to the additional primary electrode of the additional power transfer capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the additional secondary electrode of the additional power transfer capacitor" in lines 1-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and is indefinite because the claim recites “a first data communication unit” and “a second data communication unit” without sufficiently defining the structure or objective boundaries of the recited “data communication units.” Although the specification describes exemplary data communication units 25 and 26 as being coupled to respective electrodes and performing signal transmission and reception functions, the specification does not provide sufficient objective criteria by which a person of ordinary skill in the art could determine the boundaries of a “data communication unit” as claimed. Accordingly, the scope of the claimed data communication units cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim limitation “a first data communication unit” and “a second data communication unit” present in claims 5, 6, 8, 13, 14, and 18 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun (US 20210384765 A1).
Claim 1
Sun teaches: As for claim 1, Sun teaches: Linear motor (200) having a stator (10) and at least one shuttle (100) movable along the stator (10) in a direction of movement, wherein;
drive magnets (255) are arranged along the stator (of embodiment of Figs. 12-14) in direction of movement and a number of drive coils (250) are arranged on the at least one shuttle (100) or drive magnets (140) are arranged on the shuttle (100) and a number of drive coils (50) are arranged along the stator (of embodiment of figs. 2-4) in direction of movement,
the drive magnets (140, 255) and the number of drive coils (250, 50) face each other and are separated in a normal direction by a motor air gap (141) with a motor air gap distance (distance along gap direction) in the normal direction,
the motor air gap (141) extends in direction of movement and in a transverse direction that is normal on the direction of movement and the normal direction,
a capacitive power transfer arrangement (see para. 77-80) is provided in the linear motor (200), the capacitive power transfer arrangement (190) comprising at least one primary electrode (192) arranged on the stator and extending in direction of movement and further comprising at least one secondary electrode (194) arranged on the shuttle (100), the at least one secondary electrode (194) facing the at least one primary electrode (192) and being arranged in the normal direction opposite the at least one primary electrode (192),
the at least one primary electrode (192) and the at least one secondary electrode (194) are separated in the normal direction by a power transfer air gap (small air gap; see para. 79) with a power transfer air gap distance (distance along air gap direction),
the power transfer air gap (small air gap; see para. 79) extends in direction of movement and in transverse direction,
the at least one primary electrode (192) and the at least one secondary electrode (194) form a power transfer capacitor (190) with the power transfer air gap (small air gap; see para. 79) as dielectric for capacitive power transfer configured to transfer electrical energy from the stator (10) to the shuttle (100), and
the motor air gap (141) and the power transfer air gap (small air gap; see para. 79) are parallel and are arranged in transverse direction next to each other.
Claim 4/2/1
Sun teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 2, wherein both power transfer capacitors (as taught by Jindo) are used in the capacitive power transfer arrangement (190) for capacitive power transfer (see para. 77).
Claim 12/3
Sun teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 3, wherein both power transfer capacitors are used in the capacitive power transfer arrangement (190) for capacitive power transfer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun.
Claim 10/1
Sun teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 1, wherein the stator (10) comprises at least one curve (rails 20) in which the stator is curved around the normal direction (see fig. 1).
Sun however does not explicitly disclose: wherein the stator comprises at least one bend in which the stator is bent around the normal direction.
Sun does however teach that the track (10) may include different shaped segments, including inward bends, outward bends, up slopes, down slopes, and various combinations thereof. Sun also teaches that the track may be installed in different orientations according to application requirements and that the movers travel along the track and assume various orientations according to the configuration of the track (see para. 0056).
Although Sun does not expressly disclose that the track is bent specifically around the normal direction, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to configure at least one of the bent track segments (12 or 14 for example) as a bend about the normal direction of the track. Sun expressly contemplates configuring the track with different shaped segments, including bends, and expressly indicates that the particular track configuration may be selected according to application requirements. Accordingly, selecting the normal direction as the axis about which an otherwise known track bend is formed would have constituted a predictable variation of Sun’s disclosed bent track configurations. Bending the track about the normal direction would permit the linear motor to follow a curved path while maintaining the relative transverse and normal orientation of the motor components and shuttle. Such a configuration would therefore allow the mover (100) to negotiate a change in direction of the track while continuing to operate along the track in accordance with Sun’s disclosed linear motor arrangement. Sun itself recognizes that the movers assume different orientations according to the configuration of the track.
Claim 11/1
Sun teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 1, wherein the stator (10) comprises at least one curve in which the stator is curved around the transverse direction (see fig. 1).
Sun however does not expressly disclose: wherein the stator comprises at least one bend in which the stator is bent around the transverse direction.
Sun does however teach that the track (10) may include different shaped segments, including inward bends, outward bends, up slopes, down slopes, and various combinations thereof. Sun also teaches that the track may be installed in different orientations according to application requirements and that the movers travel along the track and assume various orientations according to the configuration of the track (see para. 0056).
Although Sun does not expressly state that a bend of the track is made about the claimed transverse direction, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to configure at least one of Sun’s disclosed bends such that the track, and thus the stator, is bent about the transverse direction.
The particular direction of axis about which a disclosed bend is formed represents a predictable geometrical implementation of Sun’s expressly contemplated bent track configurations and may be selected according to the desired path and orientation of the linear motor. Configuring the bend about the transverse direction would merely provide one of the available three dimensional orientations for Sun’s expressly disclosed inward or outward bend, while retaining the same linear motor operating principle.
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Jindo (WO2013088990A1).
Claim 2/1
Sun teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose: wherein: at least one primary electrode (192) is arranged in transverse direction on each side of the drive magnets or drive coils on the stator (10), in that at least one secondary electrode (194) is arranged in transverse direction on each side of the drive coils or drive magnets on the shuttle (100), and the at least one primary electrode (192) on each side is coupled to the at least one secondary electrode (194) on each side to form in each case a power transfer capacitor (190).
Jindo notably teaches a linear motor device (1A) comprising a rail/track member (2), a movable body (3), a plurality of magnets (4) arranged along the rail (2) in the movement direction, and coils (5) provided on the movable body (3). The coils (5) and the magnets (4) cooperate to generate a driving force that moves the movable body along the rail (2). Jindo also teaches a contactless capacitive power arrangement comprising a first contactless electric power supply unit (61) and a second contactless electric power supply unit (62). The first unit (61) includes a first electric power supply electrode plate (61A) and a corresponding electric power reception electrode plate (61B), while the second unit (62) includes a second electric power supply electrode plate (62A) and a corresponding electric power reception electrode plate (62B). The respective electrode pairs form parallel plate capacitors (C1 and C2) for transferring electrical power to the movable body (3).
Significantly, Jindo also teaches that the first and second contactless electric power supply units (61, 62) are arranged symmetrically with respect to a center line (CL) of the rail (2) in the width direction. Thus, the first electric power supply electrode plate (61A) is disposed on one transverse side of the linear motor drive structure, while the second electric power supply electrode plate (62A) is disposed on the opposite transverse side. Jindo specifically discloses that the first electrode plate (61A) covers substantially the inner side surface (22i) of one side plate (22) of the rail (2), while the second electrode plate (62A) is correspondingly provided on the opposite side of the rail.
Although Jindo’s particular embodiment orients its magnets, coils, and electrode plates differently from Sun, Jindo teaches the underlying arrangement of providing the two capacitive power transfer units (61, 62) on opposite sides of a linear motor drive structure, each having a stationary power supply electrode (61A, 62A) and a corresponding movable body electrode (61B, 62B). A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed would have recognized that this two sided arrangement could be implemented in Sun’s existing geometry by transposing the arrangement into Sun’s coordinate system while retaining Sun’s magnets and coils in their existing orientation along the normal direction of the track. Such a modification would merely reposition the known capacitive electrodes relative to the existing drive structure without changing the operating principles of either the linear motor or capacitive power transfer. The person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification to provide capacitive coupling the drive structure, thereby increasing available electrode area and power transfer capacity and providing a balanced electrode arrangement, as taught by Jindo.
Claim 3/1
Sun teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 1, but is silent to” wherein:
two primary electrodes (pair of 192; see para. 77) are arranged in transverse direction on one side of the drive magnets or drive coils on the stator,
two secondary electrodes (pair of 194; see para. 77) are arranged in transverse direction on the same side than the primary electrodes (pair of 192; see para. 77), and
each one of the primary electrodes (pair of 192; see para. 77) is coupled to one of the secondary electrodes (pair of 194; see para. 77) to form in each case a power transfer capacitor (190).
Jindo teaches a capacitive power transfer arrangement having multiple power transfer capacitors, including first and second power transfer units (61, 62), each comprising a stationary power supply electrode (61A, 62A) and a corresponding movable body reception electrode (61B, 62B) and a corresponding movable body reception electrode (61B, 62B), Jindo further teaches that multiple capacitive power transfer units may be employed to increase the available capacitive coupling and power transfer capability.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed, when incorporating Jindo’s multiple capacitor arrangement into Sun, to arrange the two electrode pairs on the same transverse side of the drive magnets or drive coils where the geometry of Sun’s stator and shuttle provides the requisite space on that side. In particular, the skilled artisan would have recognized that the two capacitive coupling pairs need not bee disposed on opposite sides in order to perform capacitive power transfer. Positioning both electrode pairs on the same side would provide a compact arrangement and would facilitate routing of the electrode connections and associated power transfer circuitry along a common side of the stator.
Furthermore, because each primary electrode remains capacitively to its respective secondary electrode across the corresponding power transfer air gap, relocating the second electrode pair adjacent to the first pair on the same side would not change the electrical operation of either capacitor or the operation of the linear motor.
Claim 9/1
Sun teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 1, wherein the capacitive power transfer arrangement (190) is provided in the normal direction on both sides of the at least one shuttle (100) and with a stator (10) provided in the normal direction on both sides of the at least one shuttle (100).
Jindo notably teaches a linear motor device (1A) comprising a rail/track member (2), a movable body (3), a plurality of magnets (4) arranged along the rail (2) in the movement direction, and coils (5) provided on the movable body (3). The coils (5) and the magnets (4) cooperate to generate a driving force that moves the movable body along the rail (2). Jindo also teaches a contactless capacitive power arrangement comprising a first contactless electric power supply unit (61) and a second contactless electric power supply unit (62). The first unit (61) includes a first electric power supply electrode plate (61A) and a corresponding electric power reception electrode plate (61B), while the second unit (62) includes a second electric power supply electrode plate (62A) and a corresponding electric power reception electrode plate (62B). The respective electrode pairs form parallel plate capacitors (C1 and C2) for transferring electrical power to the movable body (3).
Jindo further teaches a contactless capacitive power transfer arrangement having electric power supply electrode plates provided on the track member (2) and corresponding electric power reception electrode plates provided on the movable body (3). The electric power reception electrode plates are disposed on both side surfaces of the movable body (3), while the electric power supply electrode plates are disposed on both inner side surfaces of the track member (2). Thus, Jindo provides a capacitive power transfer arrangement on both sides of the movable body (3), with the corresponding portions of the track member (2) likewise provided on both sides.
Jindo further explains that providing the electrode plates on both sides increases the facing area between the electric power supply electrode plates and electric power reception electrode plates, thereby increasing the electrostatic capacitance and allowing greater power transfer capacity and efficiency.
Although Jindo’s particular embodiment orients its magnets, coils, and electrode plates differently from Sun, Jindo teaches the underlying arrangement of providing the two capacitive power transfer units (61, 62) on opposite sides of a linear motor drive structure, each having a stationary power supply electrode (61A, 62A) and a corresponding movable body electrode (61B, 62B). A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed would have recognized that this two sided arrangement could be implemented in Sun’s existing geometry by transposing the arrangement into Sun’s coordinate system while retaining Sun’s magnets and coils in their existing orientation along the normal direction of the track. Such a modification would merely reposition the known capacitive electrodes relative to the existing drive structure without changing the operating principles of either the linear motor or capacitive power transfer. The person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification to provide capacitive coupling the drive structure, thereby increasing available electrode area and power transfer capacity and providing a balanced electrode arrangement, as taught by Jindo.
Claim(s) 5, and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun as modified by Jindo in view of Culurciello (see attached NPL and refer to 892).
Claim 5/2/1
Sun as modified by Jindo teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 2, wherein a first one of the power transfer capacitors (190 forward or reverse) is used for capacitive power transfer (both are used for power transfer) but is silent to: a second one of the power transfer capacitors is used for capacitive data communication between a first data communication unit connected to the primary electrode of second power transfer capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the secondary electrode of the second power transfer capacitor.
Sun discloses a sliding capacitor 190 for contactless power transfer between a track and mover, the sliding capacitor includes a pair of primary plates (192) and a pair of secondary plates (194). Sun therefore teaches multiple capacitive coupling paths between the track and mover for transferring power (see para. 77-80).
Culurciello supplies the missing concept of using capacitive coupling for both power and data communication. Culurciello teaches capacitive inter-device transfer in which capacitive coupling is used for both power transfer and bidirectional data communication (see abstract). In particular, Culurciello discloses a floating device that receives power through capacitive coupling while simultaneously communicating data through capacitive coupling.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to modify Sun’s capacitive power transfer arrangement to employ a first capacitive coupling path for power transfer and a second capacitive coupling path for data communication, as taught by Culurciello. Such a modification would have provided the benefit of simultaneously supplying power to and communicating data with the mover without requiring an additional wired communication connection. This modification would simply involve using Sun’s separately available primary/secondary plate pairs for their known capacitive transfer functions, while applying the known capacitive data transfer technique of Curciello to one of the plate pairs.
Claim 13/3/1
Sun as modified by Jindo teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 3, wherein a first one of the power transfer capacitors (190) is used for capacitive power transfer but does not explicitly disclose: a second one of the power transfer capacitors is used for capacitive data communication between a first data communication unit connected to the primary electrode (192) of second power transfer capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the secondary electrode (194) of the second power transfer capacitor.
Culurciello discloses capacitive coupling for both power transfer and bidirectional data communication between two electrically isolated structures. In particular, Culurciello discloses a plurality of facing metal pads, wherein four pads are used by a charge pump circuit for capacitive power transfer and two additional pads used for bidirectional communication. Culurciello further discloses communication circuitry associated with respective sides of the capacitive coupling for transmitting and receiving communication signals.
Thus, Culurciello teaches a first capacitive coupling arrangement used for power transfer and a second, separate capacitive coupling arrangement used for data communication, with communication circuitry connected to the respective electrodes of the second capacitive coupling arrangement.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to modify the contactless power transfer arrangement of Sun to employ the capacitive coupling arrangements of Culurciello, including a first pair of opposing electrodes or capacitive power transfer and a second pair of opposing electrodes for capacitive data communication. Such a modification would provide Sun’s movable mover with contactless data communication in addition to contactless power transfer while maintaining electrical isolation between the stationary power transfer while maintaining electrical isolation between the stationary track and the mover.
This would result in the system to have a first power transfer capacitor used fir capacitive power transfer and a second power transfer capacitor used for capacitive data communication, with a first data communication unit connected to the primary electrode of the second capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the secondary electrode of the second capacitor, as recited in claim 13.
Claim 14/2/1
Sun as modified by Jindo teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 2, wherein an additional primary electrode (192) is arranged on the stator of the linear motor (200) and an additional secondary electrode (194) is arranged on the at least one shuttle of the linear motor (200), but does not explicitly disclose: the additional primary electrode and additional secondary electrode forming an additional power transfer capacitor that is configured to provide capacitive data communication between a first data communication unit connected to the additional primary electrode (192) of the additional power transfer capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the additional secondary electrode of the additional power transfer capacitor.
Culurciello teaches capacitive data communication between a first circuit associated with a first capacitive coupling electrode and a second circuit associated with a second capacitive coupling electrode. In particular, Culurciello discloses a capacitive coupling arrangement between facing metal pads of separate dies for bidirectional communication, with a transmitter side circuit and receiver side circuit coupled to the respective capacitive electrodes. Culurciello further teaches that capacitive coupling may be employed for both power transfer and data communication and describes separate coupling structurers for those functions.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to modify Sun’s capacitive power transfer arrangement to provide an additional pair of facing electrodes forming an additional capacitive coupling structure dedicated to data communication, as taught by Culurciello, thereby permitting data communication between circuitry associated with the stator and circuitry associated with the shuttle while maintaining capacitive power transfer through the existing power transfer capacitor(s).
Claim 15/14/2/1
Sun as modified by Jindo and Culurciello teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 14, wherein:
the additional secondary electrode (194) faces the additional primary electrode (192) and is arranged in the normal direction opposite the additional primary electrode (192),
the additional primary electrode (192) and the additional secondary electrode (194) are separated by an additional air gap (141) with an additional air gap distance in the normal direction,
the additional air gap extends in direction of movement and in transverse direction,
the additional primary electrode (192) and the additional secondary electrode (194) form the additional capacitor with the additional air gap as dielectric, and
the motor air gap and the additional air gap (141) are parallel and are arranged in transverse direction next to each other.
Claim 16/15/14/2/1
Sun as modified by Jindo and Culurciello teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 15, wherein the capacitive power transfer arrangement (190) is provided in the normal direction on both sides of the at least one shuttle and with a stator provided in the normal direction on both sides of the at least one shuttle.
Claim 17/16/15/14/2/1
Sun as modified by Culurciello teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 16, wherein the stator comprises at least one bend (20) in which the stator is bent around the normal direction.
Claim 18/3/1
Sun as modified by Jindo teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 3, wherein an additional primary electrode (192) is arranged on the stator of the linear motor (200) and an additional secondary electrode (194) is arranged on the at least one shuttle of the linear motor (200), but does not explicitly disclose: the additional primary electrode and additional secondary electrode forming an additional power transfer capacitor that is configured to provide capacitive data communication between a first data communication unit connected to the additional primary electrode of the additional power transfer capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the additional secondary electrode of the additional power transfer capacitor.
Culurciello teaches capacitive data communication between a first circuit associated with a first capacitive coupling electrode and a second circuit associated with a second capacitive coupling electrode. Culurciello discloses a capacitive coupling arrangement between facing metal pads of separate dies for bidirectional communication, with a transmitter side circuit and receiver side circuit coupled to the respective capacitive electrodes. Culurciello further teaches that capacitive coupling may be employed for both power transfer and data communication and describes separate coupling structures for those functions.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to modify Sun’s capacitive power transfer arrangement to provide an additional pair of facing electrodes forming an additional capacitive coupling structure dedicated to data communication, as taught by Culurciello, thereby permitting data communication between circuitry associated with the stator and circuitry associated with the shuttle while maintaining capacitive power transfer through the existing power transfer capacitor(s).
Claim 19/18/3/1
Sun as modified by Jindo and Culurciello teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 18, wherein:
the additional secondary electrode (194) faces the additional primary electrode (192) and is arranged in the normal direction opposite the additional primary electrode (192),
the additional primary electrode (192) and the additional secondary electrode (194) are separated by an additional air gap with an additional air gap (141) distance in the normal direction,
the additional air gap extends in direction of movement and in transverse direction,
the additional primary electrode (192) and the additional secondary electrode (194) form the additional capacitor with the additional air gap (141) as dielectric, and the motor air gap and the additional air gap are parallel and are arranged in transverse direction next to each other.
Claim 20/19/18/3/1
Sun as modified by Jindo and Culurciello teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 19, wherein the capacitive power transfer arrangement (190) is provided in the normal direction on both sides of the at least one shuttle (100) and with a stator (10) provided in the normal direction on both sides of the at least one shuttle (100), and wherein the stator comprises at least one bend (20) in which the stator is bent around the normal direction.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Culurciello (see attached NPL and refer to 892).
Claim 6/1
Sun teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 1, wherein an additional (one of the pairs disclosed in para. 77) primary electrode (192) is arranged on the stator of the linear motor (200) and an additional (one of the pairs disclosed in para. 77) secondary electrode (194) is arranged on the at least one shuttle (100) of the linear motor (200), but is silent to: the additional primary electrode and additional secondary electrode forming an additional power transfer capacitor that is configured to provide capacitive data communication between a first data communication unit connected to the additional primary electrode of the additional power transfer capacitor and a second data communication unit connected to the additional secondary electrode of the additional power transfer capacitor.
Culurciello supplies the missing concept of an additional capacitive coupling path dedicated to data communication, including communication circuitry coupled to the respective electrodes.
The term “data communication unit” as best understood in view of Applicant’s specification to encompass circuitry configured to transmit, receive, modulate, demodulate, buffer, or otherwise process a communication signal capacitively coupled between the primary and secondary sides. Culurciello teaches such circuitry, including circuitry on the respective dies that drives, receives, buffers, and relays signals through capacitive coupling.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill ion the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to provide an additional pair of opposing electrodes in Sun’s system, separate from the power transfer electrodes, and couple respective data communication circuitry to the additional electrodes as taught by Culurciello, thereby providing a separate capacitive communication channel between the stationary and movable portions of the linear motor.
Claim 7/6/1
Sun as modified by Culurciello teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 6, wherein:
the additional secondary electrode (194) faces the additional primary electrode (192) and is arranged in the normal direction opposite the additional primary electrode (192),
the additional primary electrode (192) and the additional secondary electrode (194) are separated by an additional air gap (141) with an additional air gap distance in the normal direction (direction of gap),
the additional air gap extends in direction of movement and in transverse direction,
the additional primary electrode (192) and the additional secondary electrode (194) form the additional capacitor with the additional air gap as dielectric, and
the motor air gap and the additional air gap are parallel and are arranged in transverse direction next to each other.
Claim 8/1
Sun teaches: The linear motor (200) according to claim 1, wherein the power transfer capacitor formed by at least one primary electrode (192) and the associated at least one secondary electrode (194) is additionally configured to provide capacitive power transfer between a first data communication unit connected to the at least one primary electrode (192) of the power transfer capacitor but does not explicitly disclose: a second data communication unit connected to the at least one secondary electrode of the power transfer capacitor.
Sun discloses a contactless power transfer system between a track and a movable mover. Sun further teaches that the power transfer coupling may additionally be utilized for data communication (para. 2). In particular, Sun describes a modulator that superimposes data onto the voltage being transferred over the inductive coupling and a demodulator that detects and recovers the modulated data from the coupled voltage. Sun further teaches that modulation may be provided on the primary side and detected on the secondary side, thereby permitting data communication over the same power transfer coupling (see para. 14-19, and 132-139).
Culurciello teaches nongalvanic capacitive transfer of both power and data between opposing structures Culurciello discloses capacitive coupling between facing conductive plates and communication circuitry associated with the respective sides of the capacitive coupling. Culurciello further demonstrates bidirectional data communication in conjunction with capacitive power transfer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to modify the contactless power transfer and communication arrangement of Sun to employ capacitive coupling, including opposing primary and secondary electrodes, as taught by Culurciello. Such a modification would have provided the known advantages of capacitive, electrically isolated power transfer while retaining Sun’s advantageous use of the power transfer coupling for communication, thereby providing both power transfer and data communication through the same capacitive interface.
The resulting combination would therefore have a primary electrode and secondary electrode forming a power transfer capacitor for capacitive power transfer, with the same capacitor additionally carrying a communication signal between communication circuitry connected to the respective electrodes.
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834