DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/07/2025, 03/19/2025 and 07/02/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20130161543, hereinafter “Park”) in view of Hamano et al. (US 20090097381, hereinafter “Hamano”).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an optical system for a metrology system (Figs. 1-4 and 9; Paras. [0029]-[0032], [0059], [0070]) for measuring an object (200; Para. [0059] teaching 200 is provided to be measured),
having an object holder (see Para. [0077] teaching a moving unit holding 200) for holding an object in an object plane (Fig. 9; Para. [0077]),
having an optical focusing component (100; Paras. [0050], [0078]) arranged in the beam path of illumination light between a light source (300) of the metrology system and an object field in the object plane (Fig. 9) and serving to create an illumination focus in the beam path of illumination light downstream of the optical focusing component (Fig. 9; Para. [0050]), and
having a detection device (500; Para. [0070]) for capturing the illumination light in the beam path downstream of the object field,
wherein the optical focusing component is embodied as a zone plate (Para. [0042]) with at least two zones (Fig. 1; Para. [0044]), wherein a portion of the illumination light that is incident on a first of the zones interacts by diffraction with a further portion of the illumination light that is incident on a further one of the zones (Fig. 2 and Para. [0015]).
Park does not explicitly disclose the zones of the zone plate are arranged in such a way that the zone plate is chromatically corrected for the illumination light, and/or
the zones of the zone plate are arranged in such a way that the zone plate is aspherically corrected for the illumination light.
However, Hamano teaches zones of a zone plate are arranged in such a way that the zone plate is chromatically corrected for the illumination light (Figs. 3-4, 26; Para. [0191]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the zone plate as disclosed by Park with the teachings of Hamano, wherein the zones of the zone plate are arranged in such a way that the zone plate is chromatically corrected for the illumination light, and/or the zones of the zone plate are arranged in such a way that the zone plate is aspherically corrected for the illumination light, for the purpose of correcting chromatic aberration (Hamano: Para. [0191]).
Regarding claim 4, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Park further discloses wherein the zone plate is embodied as a transmitting phase plate, the zones each having a different influence on the phase of the illumination light incident on the zone plate (see Para. [0024] teaching the first and second patterns include a light transmissive material, and see Para. [0016] teaching the zones each having a different influence on the phase of the light).
Regarding claim 5, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Park further disclose wherein the zone plate is embodied as a photon sieve (Para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 6, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 5 above, and Park further discloses wherein the photon sieve is embodied such that an illumination light focus of a specific order of diffraction is preferred in comparison with an illumination light focus of at least one further order of diffraction as regards the used illumination light intensity guided by the zone plate (see Paras. [0051]-[0054] describing 0th order diffraction light passing through the first pattern 10 and 1st order diffraction light passing through the second pattern 20).
Regarding claim 8, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Park further discloses wherein a zone layer comprising the zones is applied to a reflection layer of the zone plate (see Para. [0076] teaching the upper surface of 200 includes a reflective material).
Regarding claim 12, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Park further discloses a metrology system for measuring an object (Fig. 9; Paras. [0029]-[0032], [0059], [0070]),
having an optical system according to claim 1, and
having a light source (300; Para. [0072]) for creating illumination light.
Regarding claim 13, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 12 above, and Park further discloses wherein the light source is an EUV light source (Para. [0072]).
Claims 2 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Yun et al. (US 20040165165, hereinafter “Yun”).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses an optical system for a metrology system (Figs. 1-4 and 9; Paras. [0029]-[0032], [0059], [0070]) for measuring an object (200; Para. [0059] teaching 200 is provided to be measured),
having an object holder (see Para. [0077] teaching a moving unit holding 200) for holding an object in an object plane (Fig. 9; Para. [0077]),
having an optical focusing component (100; Paras. [0050], [0078]) arranged in the beam path of illumination light between a light source (300) of the metrology system and an object field in the object plane (Fig. 9) and serving to create an illumination focus in the beam path of illumination light downstream of the optical focusing component (Fig. 9; Para. [0050]), and
having a detection device (500; Para. [0070]) for capturing the illumination light in the beam path downstream of the object field,
wherein the optical focusing component is embodied as a zone plate (Para. [0042]) with at least two zones (Fig. 1; Para. [0044]) wherein a portion of the illumination light that is incident on a first of the zones interacts by diffraction with a further portion of the illumination light that is incident on a further one of the zones (Fig. 2 and Para. [0015]),
wherein
the zones of the zone plate have a reflective embodiment for the illumination light, and/or
the zones of the zone plate are arranged in such a way that at least one order of diffraction of the illumination light is preferred as predetermined order of diffraction in comparison with at least one further order of diffraction as regards the used illumination light intensity guided by the zone plate (see Paras. [0051]-[0054] describing 0th order diffraction light passing through the first pattern 10 and 1st order diffraction light passing through the second pattern 20).
Park does not explicitly disclose a focal length of the optical focusing component is no more than 10 mm.
However, Yun teaches a focal length of the optical focusing component is no more than 10 mm (see Para. [0058] teaching a zone plate 12 having a focal length greater than 1.5 mm) (A prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art [MPEP 2144.05]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the zone plate as disclosed by Park with the teachings of Yun, wherein a focal length of the optical focusing component is no more than 10 mm, for the purpose of minimizing aberrations for imaging applications (Yun: Para. [0058]).
Regarding claim 14, Park as modified by Yun discloses the limitations of claim 2 above, and Park further discloses wherein the zones are arranged in the form of a ring (Figs. 1-2).
Park does not disclose, with the zone rings in the zone plate totalling more than 100.
However, Yun teaches zones are arranged in the form of a ring, with the zone rings in the zone plate totalling more than 100 (Fig. 2 and TABLE 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the zone plate as disclosed by Park with the teachings of Yun, to have the zone rings in the zone plate totalling more than 100, for the purpose of controlling required spectral bandwidth (Yun: Para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 15, Park as modified by Yun discloses the limitations of claim 2 above, and Park further discloses wherein the zone plate is embodied as a transmitting phase plate, the zones each having a different influence on the phase of the illumination light incident on the zone plate (see Para. [0024] teaching the first and second patterns include a light transmissive material and see Para. [0016] teaching the zones each having a different influence on the phase of the light).
Regarding claim 16, Park as modified by Yun discloses the limitations of claim 2 above, and Park further disclose wherein the zone plate is embodied as a photon sieve (Para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 17, Park as modified by Yun discloses the limitations of claim 2 above.
Park does not disclose an aspherical correction is impressed via a discontinuous radial distribution of ring widths of the zone rings of the zone plate or of pinholes of the photon sieve.
However, Yun teaches an aspherical correction is impressed via a discontinuous radial distribution of ring widths of the zone rings of the zone plate or of pinholes of the photon sieve (see Fig. 15 where zone rings include a discontinuous radial distribution of ring widths; Paras. [0107]-[0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the zone plate as disclosed by Park with the teachings of Yun, wherein an aspherical correction is impressed via a discontinuous radial distribution of ring widths of the zone rings of the zone plate or of pinholes of the photon sieve, for the purpose of obtaining some areas which are open by design (Yun: Para. [0108]).
Regarding claim 18, Park as modified by Yun discloses the limitations of claim 2 above, and Park further discloses wherein a zone layer comprising the zones is applied to a reflection layer of the zone plate (see Para. [0076] teaching the upper surface of 200 includes a reflective material).
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Hamano, and in further view of Yun.
Regarding claim 3, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Park further discloses wherein the zones are arranged in the form of a ring (Figs. 1-2).
Park does not disclose, with the zone rings in the zone plate totalling more than 100.
However, Yun teaches zones are arranged in the form of a ring, with the zone rings in the zone plate totalling more than 100 (Fig. 2 and TABLE 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the zone plate as disclosed by Park with the teachings of Yun, to have the zone rings in the zone plate totalling more than 100, for the purpose of controlling required spectral bandwidth (Yun: Para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Park does not disclose an aspherical correction is impressed via a discontinuous radial distribution of ring widths of the zone rings of the zone plate or of pinholes of the photon sieve.
However, Yun teaches an aspherical correction is impressed via a discontinuous radial distribution of ring widths of the zone rings of the zone plate or of pinholes of the photon sieve (see Fig. 15 where zone rings include a discontinuous radial distribution of ring widths; Paras. [0107]-[0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the zone plate as disclosed by Park with the teachings of Yun, wherein an aspherical correction is impressed via a discontinuous radial distribution of ring widths of the zone rings of the zone plate or of pinholes of the photon sieve, for the purpose of obtaining some areas which are open by design (Yun: Para. [0108]).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Hamano, and in further view of Lee (US 20230121748).
Regarding claim 9, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 8 above.
Park does not disclose the zone layer comprises at least one absorber layer made of an absorber material.
However, Lee teaches a zone layer comprises at least one absorber layer made of an absorber material (240 in Fig. 5(a); Para. [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the zone layer as disclosed by Park with the teachings of Lee, wherein the zone layer comprises at least one absorber layer made of an absorber material, for the purpose of forming a multilayer reflection zone plate which can be further controlled to absorb or reflect some of the incident light (Lee: Paras. [0064]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 10, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 8 above.
Park does not disclose the reflection layer is embodied as a multilayer layer, wherein the zone layer comprises at least a multilayer portion of the reflection layer.
However, Lee teaches a reflection layer is embodied as a multilayer layer (220 in Fig. 5(a); Para. [0064]), wherein the zone layer comprises at least a multilayer portion of the reflection layer (Fig. 5(a)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the zone layer as disclosed by Park with the teachings of Lee, wherein the reflection layer is embodied as a multilayer layer, wherein the zone layer comprises at least a multilayer portion of the reflection layer, for the purpose of using one of various methods for forming a zone plate pattern (Lee: Para. [0064]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Hamano, and in further view of Schuetz et al. (US 20150022892, hereinafter “Schuetz”).
Regarding claim 11, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Park does not disclose at least some of the zones deviate from a rectangular profile in the meridional section of the zone plate.
However, Schuetz teaches zones deviate from a rectangular profile in the meridional section of the zone plate (see Fig. 8(1) through (4) and Para. [0035] teaching deviations from a rectangular profile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the zones as disclosed by Park with the teachings of Schuetz, wherein at least some of the zones deviate from a rectangular profile in the meridional section of the zone plate, for the purpose of minimizing the production steps (Schuetz: Para. [0033]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Yun, and in further view of Schuetz.
Regarding claim 19, Park as modified by Yun discloses the limitations of claim 2 above.
Park does not disclose at least some of the zones deviate from a rectangular profile in the meridional section of the zone plate.
However, Schuetz teaches zones deviate from a rectangular profile in the meridional section of the zone plate (see Fig. 8(1) through (4) and Para. [0035] teaching deviations from a rectangular profile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the zones as disclosed by Park with the teachings of Schuetz, wherein at least some of the zones deviate from a rectangular profile in the meridional section of the zone plate, for the purpose of minimizing the production steps (Schuetz: Para. [0033]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Hamano, and in further view of Yun.
Regarding claim 20, Park as modified by Hamano discloses the limitations of claim 12 above, and Park further discloses wherein the zones are arranged in the form of a ring (Figs. 1-2).
Park does not disclose the zone rings in the zone plate totalling more than 100.
However, Yun teaches zones are arranged in the form of a ring, with the zone rings in the zone plate totalling more than 100 (Fig. 2 and TABLE 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the zone plate as disclosed by Park with the teachings of Yun, to have the zone rings in the zone plate totalling more than 100, for the purpose of controlling required spectral bandwidth (Yun: Para. [0057]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Capelli et al. (US 20220236648) disclose a method for measuring a reflectivity of an object.
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871