Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “data transmission means” and “viewing means” in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20170151027) in view of Cappadona et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20190183589) and further in view of Masaki et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240382168).
With respect to claim 1, Walker et al. disclose a system for setting the orientation of a 3d model of an anatomical part (paragraph 42, Disclosed herein are robot-assisted, image-guided instrument driving systems and methods for navigating a medical instrument through an anatomical three-dimensional space where no direct line of sight is available to a medical practitioner, paragraph 50, The various components of the robotically-assisted instrument driving system 10 are further visible in FIG. 3), the system comprising:
a 3d model of an anatomical part having a model reference frame (paragraph 54, a pre-operative 3-D anatomical model reference frame AMF for the model depicted on the visual display 35);
a tracker device configured to be attached to a surgical instrument active on a surgical object having a surgical reference frame (paragraph 46, the tracking subsystem 36 includes one or more sensors placed on or in the medical instrument 18 to enable tracking of the instrument 18, paragraph 54, a patient reference frame PRR for the patient 14), the tracker device comprising:
sensing means configured to detect the orientation of the tracker device in a fixed reference frame to define a tracker device reference frame (paragraph 46, The term “localization” is used in the art in reference to systems and methods for determining and/or monitoring the position (i.e., location and/or orientation) of objects, such as medical instruments or tools in a reference coordinate system, paragraph 54, the robotic surgical system 10 is designed to relate a coordinate system of the tracking sensor FRF of the elongate member 18 to either a fluoroscopy coordinate system FF or a pre-operative 3-D coordinate system AMF, as shown in FIG. 5),
data transmission means configured to emit an orientation signal representative of the orientation of the tracker device reference frame (paragraph 53, A communication link 32 transfers signals between the user workstation 31, the controller 34, and the robotic instrument driver 22, paragraph 55, As the instrument 18 moves through the patient, the tracking information of the sensor can be used to update the position of the elongate instrument 18 relative to the anatomy, image, or model such that the representation of the elongate instrument can be displayed moving in real-time in an anatomical image or model);
a processing unit (paragraph 51, The controller 34 is a computing device. As shown in FIG. 4, the controller 34 includes electronics, including a processor 50, and memory 52 having instructions stored thereon) comprising:
a video output module configured to be placed in signal communication with viewing means to display the 3d model in a viewing reference frame (paragraph 50, The user workstation 31 includes a computer, a control console having a user input device 33, and a visual display 35. The visual display 35 may be a touch screen, LCD screen, or any other suitable display configured to present one or more images to a user);
a memory module configured to hold the 3d model (paragraph 52, The memory 52 may be any suitable computer-readable medium that stores computer-readable instructions for execution by computer-executable components. The software, when executed by the processor 50, causes the processor 50 to perform one or more operations described elsewhere herein, software comprises 3D models);
a signal acquisition module configured to be placed in signal communication with the tracker device to receive the orientation signal (paragraph 53, A communication link 32 transfers signals between the user workstation 31, the controller 34, and the robotic instrument driver 22). However, Walker et al. do not expressly disclose the tracker device being distinct from the surgical instrument and comprising: sensing means, comprising at least one gyroscope and/or at least one accelerometer; data transmission means comprised in the tracker device; and a viewpoint shift module configured to adjust the viewing reference frame as a function of the orientation signal so that the orientation of the viewing reference frame with respect to the model reference frame is the same as the orientation of the tracker device reference frame with respect to the surgical reference frame, wherein the model reference frame is distinct from the surgical reference frame.
Cappadona et al., who also deal with medical imaging, disclose a method for the tracker device being distinct from the surgical instrument (paragraph 73, The modified surgical instruments pursuant to the present invention each contain a tracking system preferably comprising a plurality of trackers disposed at predetermined mutually spaced locations on or within the respective instrument) and comprising: sensing means, comprising at least one gyroscope and/or at least one accelerometer (paragraph 73, The tracking systems are each composed of (a) the trackers, each comprising three IMUs… The three IMUs each include subcomponents of (i) an accelerometer, (ii) a gyroscope); data transmission means comprised in the tracker device (paragraph 73, The tracking systems are each composed of (a) the trackers, each comprising three IMUs, (b) a short range wireless transmitter).
Walker et al. and Cappadona et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of the tracker device being distinct from the surgical instrument and comprising: sensing means, comprising at least one gyroscope and/or at least one accelerometer; data transmission means comprised in the tracker device, as taught by Cappadona et al., to the Walker et al. system, because this implements facilitating or improving accurate, real-time tracking of surgical instruments within a surgical operative field, so that instrument positions and orientations can be accurately overlaid onto, or correlated with, three dimensional renderings of the patient's internal organs (paragraph 50 of Cappadona et al.) and each instrument contains an area for which to house the IMUs; this area is often hollow and housed toward the core of the instrument—for purposes of insulating the technology (paragraph 72 of Cappadona et al.) and the short range wireless transmitter broadcasts data collected by the IMUs at a unique frequency in any variety of modalities in isolation or in combination including but not limited to radiofrequency or RF, WiFi, Bluetooth, or possibly infrared or IR or ultraviolet or UV to a receiver in, or connected to, a nearby computer (paragraph 73 of Cappadona et al.).
Masaki et al., who also deal with medical imaging, disclose a method for including a viewpoint shift module configured to adjust the viewing reference frame as a function of the orientation signal so that the orientation of the viewing reference frame with respect to the model reference frame is the same as the orientation of the tracker device reference frame with respect to the surgical reference frame, wherein the model reference frame is distinct from the surgical reference frame (paragraph 140, the system controller 11 generates a reference-frame mapping between the reference frame {Sd} of the C-arm scanner 31 and the reference frame {Se} of the distal end 252 based on one or more intermediate reference frames… Additionally, the reference frame of the distal end 252 may be used as the reference frame of a first-person view of the 3D model, which shows the 3D model from the viewpoint of the distal end's location and orientation and which may simulate an endoscopic image).
Walker et al., Cappadona et al., and Masaki et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein a viewpoint shift module configured to adjust the viewing reference frame as a function of the orientation signal so that the orientation of the viewing reference frame with respect to the model reference frame is the same as the orientation of the tracker device reference frame with respect to the surgical reference frame, wherein the model reference frame is distinct from the surgical reference frame, as taught by Masaki et al., to the Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. system, because this would automatically map control directions (instructed directions) from the fluoroscopic viewpoint to the endoscopic viewpoint. This allows a physician to input an instructed direction in the fluoroscopic viewpoint even if the corresponding movement direction in the endoscopic viewpoint is a different direction (paragraph 57 of Masaki et al.), thus facilitate navigation and visualization of the medical image.
With respect to claim 2, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the orientation signal is updated substantially in real time (Walker et al.: paragraph 55, the position or shape tracking sensors incorporated into the medical instrument 18 allow for real-time sensing of the instrument's position (i.e., location, orientation, and/or shape)).
With respect to claim 3, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the tracker device is configured to also emit a translation signal representative of a translation of the tracker device with respect to the fixed reference frame (Cappadona et al.: paragraph 166, Gyroscope/accelerometer assembly 24 generates signals in response to motion, thereby enabling a surgical navigation computer 140 (FIG. 16) to track changes in relative position and orientation (pose). Transmitter 26 is a short range wireless transmitter broadcasting data collected by the gyroscope/accelerometer assembly 24 to a receiver (not shown) in navigation computer 140, Cappadona et al.: paragraph 181, there exists a known matrix representing the translation and rotation of the each Pose Tracker relative to another (FIG. 11)), the translation being detected by the sensing means and the translation signal being emitted by the data transmission means (Cappadona et al.: paragraph 166, Gyroscope/accelerometer assembly 24 [sensing means] generates signals in response to motion, thereby enabling a surgical navigation computer 140 (FIG. 16) to track changes in relative position and orientation (pose). Transmitter 26 is a short range wireless transmitter [data transmission means] broadcasting data collected by the gyroscope/accelerometer assembly 24 to a receiver (not shown) in navigation computer 140), the viewpoint shift module being configured to adjust a position of the viewing reference frame with respect to the model reference frame as a function of the translation signal (Masaki et al.: paragraph 140, the reference frame of the distal end 252 may be used as the reference frame of a first-person view of the 3D model, which shows the 3D model from the viewpoint of the distal end's location and orientation and which may simulate an endoscopic image). It would have been obvious to apply the teachings of Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al.; see rationale for rejection or claim 1.
With respect to claim 4, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. disclose the system according to claim 3, wherein the viewpoint shift module is configured to adjust a zoom factor of the viewing means as a function of either the translation signal or either an optical or digital zoom of image acquisition means connected to or part of the surgical instrument (Masaki et al.: paragraph 47, And the cardinal direction of the joystick or control pad is mapped to an endoscopic viewpoint, which is a first-person view (first person point-of-view) at the distal end 252 of the tubular flexible body 250, so that the physician can operate the tubular flexible body 250 from the perspective of the endoscopic viewpoint, Masaki et al.: paragraph 48, FIG. 2A illustrates an example of an endoscopic image and an input device, which is a control pad 29 in this example. The endoscopic image shows an endoscopic viewpoint (a first-person view) from the distal end 252, Masaki et al.: paragraph 83, if the instructed direction is defined relative to a viewer's perspective, then in FIG. 9A, if the instructed direction was “right,” the movement direction in the image plane would also be approximately the +zd direction). As shown in Fig. 9B, movement along the z-axis (depth direction) corresponds to adjusting a zoom factor of the displayed view. It would have been obvious to adjust a zoom factor of the viewing means because this would facilitate view navigation during the surgical procedure.
With respect to claim 5, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the viewpoint shift module is configured to update the viewing reference frame substantially in real time (Masaki et al.: paragraph 51, the 2D or 3D model can be generated in real-time (in parallel with the navigation), thus inferring real-time navigation). It would have been obvious to implement the viewpoint shift module is configured to update the viewing reference frame substantially in real time because this would allow for use during a surgical procedure.
With respect to claim 7, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the data transmission means is wireless (Cappadona et al.: paragraph 73, The tracking systems are each composed of (a) the trackers, each comprising three IMUs, (b) a short range wireless transmitter).
With respect to claim 8, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, further comprising input means configured to emit an input signal representative of the state of the input means, the viewpoint shift module being configured to adjust the viewing reference frame as a function of the input signal (Masaki et al.: paragraph 48, FIG. 2A illustrates an example of an endoscopic image and an input device, which is a control pad 29 in this example. The endoscopic image shows an endoscopic viewpoint (a first-person view) from the distal end 252, Masaki et al.: paragraph 83, if the instructed direction is defined relative to a viewer's perspective, then in FIG. 9A, if the instructed direction was “right,” the movement direction in the image plane would also be approximately the +zd direction, Masaki et al.: paragraph 139, The distal-end positional information may be obtained from the bendable medical device 24 or from a position-tracking system, Masaki et al.: paragraph 140, the system controller 11 generates a reference-frame mapping between the reference frame {Sd} of the C-arm scanner 31 and the reference frame {Se} of the distal end 252 based on one or more intermediate reference frames… Additionally, the reference frame of the distal end 252 may be used as the reference frame of a first-person view of the 3D model, which shows the 3D model from the viewpoint of the distal end's location and orientation and which may simulate an endoscopic image).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20170151027) in view of Cappadona et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20190183589), Masaki et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240382168), and further in view of Rawat et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20120182291).
With respect to claim 6, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. disclose the system according to claim 3, the processing unit being further configured to display the 3d model on the viewing means in the viewing reference frame, which is adjusted with respect to the model reference frame as a function of the translation signal (Masaki et al.: paragraph 48, FIG. 2A illustrates an example of an endoscopic image and an input device, which is a control pad 29 in this example. The endoscopic image shows an endoscopic viewpoint (a first-person view) from the distal end 252), simultaneously with a real image of the surgical object acquired by image acquisition means connected to or part of the surgical instrument, for direct comparison therewith (Masaki et al.: paragraph 143, FIG. 17 illustrates an example embodiment of a display device 15 that is displaying a fluoroscopic image and a first-person view of a 3D model of a branching structure. The fluoroscopic image and the first-person view of the 3D model are shown together in a combined image 154, and the displayed fluoroscopic image is a projection of the obtained fluoroscopic image onto a plane below the 3D model. The fluoroscopic image that is shown in the combined image 154 also indicates where both the location and the orientation of the viewpoint of the first-person view of the 3D model are in the fluoroscopic image, Masaki et al.: paragraph 144, the system controller 11 uses the reference-frame mapping to map the instructed direction to a movement direction in the reference frame of the distal end 252 and controls the distal end 252 to move according to the mapped movement direction). It would have been obvious to display the 3d model simultaneously with a real image of the surgical object because this would facilitate visualizing the anatomical structure during the surgical procedure. However, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. do not expressly disclose the 3d model comprises a plurality of layers each representative of a respective anatomical structure part of the surgical object, the processing unit being configured to show/hide each layer on the viewing means.
Rawat et al., who also deal with medical imaging, disclose a method wherein the 3d model comprises a plurality of layers each representative of a respective anatomical structure part of the surgical object, the processing unit being configured to show/hide each layer on the viewing means (paragraph 66, Body Layers can be shown or hidden by changing the information that is contained within the 3D scene. That is, removing the 3D model representing the Body Layer's structure from the scene can hide a Body Layer that is visible on the display. Conversely, a Body Layer that was previously hidden can be brought back into display by adding its 3D model to the virtual scene).
Walker et al., Cappadona et al., Masaki et al., and Rawat et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the 3d model comprises a plurality of layers each representative of a respective anatomical structure part of the surgical object, the processing unit being configured to show/hide each layer on the viewing means, as taught by Rawat et al., to the Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. system, because user input entered via a Graphical User Interface (GUI) element, such as a menu, can change which layers are displayed. The menu allows a user to communicate information about which Body Layers to display and which Body Layers to hide to the processor 101. Then, the processor can alter objects in memory, such as the virtual 3D scene, in a manner that complies with the user's intent (paragraph 66 of Rawat et al.).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20170151027) in view of Cappadona et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20190183589), Masaki et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240382168), and further in view of Kilroy et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20150157410).
With respect to claim 9, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. disclose the system according to claim 8, wherein the input means comprises one or more buttons placed on the tracker device (Walker et al.: paragraph 120, icons to the side of the virtual instrument or lighting on the user input device may indicate when various assisted driving buttons are enabled, Walker et al.: paragraph 122, motion stops when the user stops actuating an automated driving button or other user input device). However, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. do not expressly disclose the input means is configured to decouple the viewing reference frame from the tracker device reference frame, so as to allow the surgical instrument to be moved without a corresponding movement of the 3d model on the viewing means.
Kilroy et al., who also deal with medical imaging, disclose a method wherein the input means is configured to decouple the viewing reference frame from the tracker device reference frame, so as to allow the surgical instrument to be moved without a corresponding movement of the 3d model on the viewing means (paragraph 274, The display 600 enables the operator 1 such as a surgeon to lock one or more of the hyperdexterous surgical tools 300. The top portion of the screen shot shows the input devices 500 and the controllable objects, such as hyperdexterous surgical tools 300. FIG. 40 shows five hyperdexterous surgical tools 300 including camera 304, paragraph 277, The operator 1 such as a surgeon may engage or disengage the selected hyperdexterous surgical tools 300 from actively following the single tool. The operator can utilize the clutch 112, such as a foot pedal. For example, when the clutch 112 is depressed, the selected hyperdexterous surgical tools 300 will follow the single tool. When the clutch 112 is released, the selected hyperdexterous surgical tools 300 will stop moving and remain in place, paragraph 314, The operator 1 can switch to a world-grounded frame of reference (e.g., a view of the operating arena and the patient) for one or more hyperdexterous surgical tools 300, paragraph 315, the frames of reference may be in motion. As a non-limiting example, a frame of reference may be attached to a manual tool 350 that may be in the process of being moved. The control system 400 may lock one or more hyperdexterous surgical tools 300 to the manual tool 350, such that the set of tools moves together), thus locking or unlocking the camera view to a surgical instrument tool.
Walker et al., Cappadona et al., Masaki et al. and Kilroy et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the input means is configured to decouple the viewing reference frame from the tracker device reference frame, so as to allow the surgical instrument to be moved without a corresponding movement of the 3d model on the viewing means, as taught by Kilroy et al., to the Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. system, because this allows the operator to dynamically change the frame of reference to back to the frame of reference of the camera 304 (paragraph 314 of Kilroy et al.) and the display 600, 702 may show a frame of reference associated with the moving tools and may provide assurance that the set of tools is moving as a group as intended (paragraph 315 of Kilroy et al.) and the control system 400 of the hyperdexterous surgical system 100 advantageously allows the motion of the hyperdexterous surgical tools 300 and/or manual tools in various frames of reference (paragraph 318 of Kilroy et al.).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20170151027) in view of Cappadona et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20190183589), Masaki et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20240382168), and further in view of Zhao et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20230380669).
With respect to claim 10, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. disclose the system according to claim 8, wherein the input means comprises a 3d pointing device (Walker et al.: paragraph 122, the system fully controls navigation of the medical instrument including one or more of the articulation, roll, and translation, which infers a 3d pointing device for controlling multiple degrees of freedom). However, Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al. and Masaki et al. do not expressly disclose input means configured to calibrate the tracker device and/or system prior to use thereof.
Zhao et al., who also deal with medical imaging, disclose a method wherein the input means is configured to calibrate the tracker device and/or system prior to use thereof (paragraph 153, the plurality of tactile buttons 550 may include a calibration button 534. In some embodiments, the calibration button 534 may be configured to set a neutral reference frame for the orientation of the input device 500 wherein within the reference frame the input device 500 has zero roll, zero pitch, zero yaw, etc. After calibration, the reference frame will be used to sense and/or capture roll, pitch, yaw, etc. during the procedure).
Walker et al., Cappadona et al., Masaki et al., and Zhao et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the input means is configured to calibrate the tracker device and/or system prior to use thereof, as taught by Zhao et al., to the Walker et al. as modified by Cappadona et al., and Masaki et al. system, because the plurality of motion sensors 560 and the reference frame will sense and/or capture the amount of commanded roll, pitch, yaw, etc. relative to the reference frame to control motion and/or movement of the surgical robot 50, the arm 52 of the surgical robot 50, and/or the plurality of joints 54 of the surgical robot 50 (paragraph 153 of Zhao et al.), thus ensuring proper use of the tracking sensor apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant argues that Walker does not disclose the tracker device is distinct from the surgical instrument (bottom of page 6 of remarks) and data transmission means comprised in such a device. However, this is taught by Cappadona et al. (paragraph 73, The modified surgical instruments pursuant to the present invention each contain a tracking system preferably comprising a plurality of trackers disposed at predetermined mutually spaced locations on or within the respective instrument, paragraph 73, The tracking systems are each composed of (a) the trackers, each comprising three IMUs, (b) a short range wireless transmitter). Applicant’s arguments for claims 3-4 and 6-10 are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed August 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Walker does not disclose a fixed reference frame in that the coordinate system FF is moveable (page 6, second paragraph of remarks). However, the fluoroscopy reference frame FF is for the fluoroscopy panel 30 (paragraph 54 of Walker), not the C-arm. Furthermore, registering the tracking coordinate system to the image coordinate system is viable because the tracking coordinate system itself is not anchored.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW G YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614
10/23/26