Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species B, L1, and the configuration of the heat transfer elements corresponding to three-dimensional geometric elements with a core material of graphite in the reply filed on 8/12/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 7-8, 12-15, 22, 24, 31-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions and/or Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/12/26; see p. 14 of the Remarks.
Regarding claim 9. The claim does not recite the elected species of “the configuration of the heat transfer elements corresponding to three-dimensional geometric elements with a core material of graphite”, and is therefore being additionally withdrawn at this time.
Regarding claim 11. The claim recites “wherein the material from which the set of heat transfer and storage elements, the structure, the outer duct, the inner duct, the intermediate duct and the partitions are made is …” Here, the outer duct, inner duct, intermediate duct, and partitions lack antecedent basis, but also appear to be directed to non-elected species A, fig. 3, and is therefore being additionally withdrawn at this time.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 4 is being interpreted such that any structure selected from the group is configured to support gage pressures above 0.1 bar. For example, if the structure is a vessel, it would need to support gage pressures above 0.1 bar.
Claim 29 is being interpreted such the claimed fluid is a radiant gas having ALL of the subsequent limitations, due to the word “and”. The phrase comprising means that the radiant gas could have additional components beyond that which is claimed, see MPEP 2111.03.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Heat transfer and storage subsystem in claim 1, modified by the functional language of “configured to change the temperature of a fluid”, while not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
The Applicant’s PGPUB describes the heat transfer and storage subsystem in paras. 42 and 51, “In any of the embodiments of the system (100), the heat transfer and storage subsystem (20) comprises a heat exchanger apparatus (21), wherein said heat exchanger apparatus (21) comprises a structure (22) with an inlet (22A) and an outlet (22B), and wherein the structure (22) has a longitudinal axis. The structure (22) serves as a conduit or channel for the fluid (1), the inlet (22A) is the point of entry for the fluid (1) into the structure (22), it may be a port, opening, or connection point designed to receive the incoming fluid (1). The outlet (22B) is the point of exit for the fluid (1) from the structure (22), and as the inlet (22A), the outlet (22B) may be a port, opening, or connection point designed to release the outgoing fluid (1).”
Post heating subsystem in claim 1, modified by the functional language of “configured to change the temperature of a fluid”, while not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
The Applicant’s PGPUB describes the post heating subsystem in paras. 141 and 144, “Referring to FIG. 1, in one embodiment of the system (100), the fluid (1) heated by the heat transfer and storage subsystem (20) is post-heated by the post-heating subsystem (50) after passing through the set of heat transfer and storage elements (23) by changing the phase of the fluid (1) heated into plasma.”
Driving device in claim 3, modified by the functional language of “configured to generate the displacement of the fluid inside the structure”, while not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
The Applicant’s PGPUB describes the driving device in para. 57, “The fluid (1) entering the system (100), moved by, for instance, the driving device (25), e.g., a fan, a compressor, a pump, or any other suitable device for moving fluids”
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 should read, “wherein the heat transfer and storage subsystem comprises a heat exchanger apparatus”
Regarding claim 26. The claim is worded in a way that requires revision. For example, the presence of a second source and the use of the word delivering, “… an off grid electricity source, source, wherein … delivering …” It appears the claim is intended to recite the subsystem “delivers”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6, 10, 16-21, 23, 27-28, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3. The claim recites, “… wherein the heat exchanger apparatus comprises: a structure comprising an inlet and an outlet …”. However, the claim depends from claim 2, which already recites, “… wherein said heat exchanger apparatus comprises a structure with an inlet and an outlet …” It is unclear if claim 3 is referencing the same structure introduced in claim 2, or if claim 3 is introducing another different structure. For the purpose of substantive examination, Examiner will consider claim 3 as if referencing the same structure introduced in claim 2.
Regarding claim 27. The claim recites the limitation "the off-grid electricity source". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of substantive examination, Examiner will consider claim 27 as if first introducing “an off-grid electricity source”.
Please note: It appears claim 27 may have been intended to depend from claim 26, which introduces “an off-grid electricity source”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240328722 A1 to Olkis.
Regarding Claim 1. Olkis teaches a system for generation, storage and transfer of thermal energy (fig. 4, copied below), comprising:
a heating subsystem (heat pump 24 and/or heating circuit 25);
a heat transfer and storage subsystem (see 112(f) interpretation, PCM material of the tank 1 split up into zones 14-17) connected to the heating subsystem (as seen in fig. 4, the heat pump 24 and/or heating circuit 25 is connected to the tank 1 with PCM material);
a post heating subsystem (see 112(f) interpretation, fig. 17 second electrical booster heater 41, being interpreted as an equivalent to the structure described in the specification because it further heats the fluid downstream of the heat transfer and storage subsystem in a known way) connected to the heat transfer and storage subsystem (fig. 17, heater 41 is downstream from the tank 1 with PCM material); and
an electrical feeding subsystem (para. 58, “wherein the system preferably comprises a controller which is configured to control the semi-continuous operation mode.”) connected to the heating subsystem, the heat transfer and storage subsystem (fig. 4, state of charger analyser 27 and a controller 28, which is connected to at least the heat pump 24 and tank 1), and the post heating subsystem (para. 77, “the second electrical booster heater 41 in the location 2 can be activated when the DHW outlet temperature drops below and threshold to further extend the DHW output volume from the tank 1 and/or in peak demand times.” Therefore, it is understood that the heater 41 is connected to an electrical feeding subsystem, i.e. a controller to regulate the heater 41),
wherein the heat transfer and storage subsystem and the post heating subsystem are configured to change the temperature of a fluid (as noted in para. 77, cited above, the heater 41 is used to boost the temperature of the water from the tank 1, where the water in the tank is heated by the PCM).
Regarding Claim 2. Olkis teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the heat transfer and storage subsystem comprises a heat exchanger apparatus (fig. 2),
wherein said heat exchanger apparatus comprises a structure with an inlet (first opening 3) and an outlet (second opening 18); and wherein the structure has a longitudinal axis (vertical axis in fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4. Olkis teaches the system of Claim 2, wherein the structure is selected from the group which includes vessels, ducts, conduits, containers, tubes, channels and pipes (fig. 2, the tank 1 could be considered as a vessel, duct, conduit, container, tube, channel, or a pipe) configured to support gage pressures above 0.1 bar (from para. 64, “Here, the tank 1 is connected to a mains water connection 22 at its bottom and to a DHW outlet at its top.” Where a mains water connection is understood to have a gage pressure above 0.1 bar, or about 1.4 psi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 10, 16, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olkis in view of US 20220042718 A1 to Liu.
Regarding Claim 3. Olkis teaches the system of Claim 2, wherein the heat exchanger apparatus comprises:
a structure comprising an inlet and an outlet (see rejection to claim 2 and claim interpretation section above), wherein the structure comprises at least one wall having an internal surface through which the fluid flows (see fig. 2);
a set of heat transfer and storage elements disposed inside the structure (containers 4, 4’);
an insulation subsystem covering the structure and configured to minimize heat losses to the surrounding environment (para. 40, “The wall of the tank can be thermally insulated. The advantage is that heat losses to the environment are minimized.”); and
a driving device (see 112(f) interpretation, fig. 4, as shown below, shows at least two pumps capable of performing the claimed function) connected to the structure and configured to generate the displacement of the fluid inside the structure (as noted above, either of the two pumps would be capable of generating a displacement of fluid inside the structure);
wherein the fluid interacts with the set of heat transfer and storage elements (the fluid is understood to interact with the PCM while flowing through them, see fig. 2); and
wherein the heat exchanger apparatus is configured to allow the passage of the fluid from the inlet to the outlet and vice versa (there is nothing preventing the flow of fluid to flow backwards from that shown in fig. 2 when a suitable pressure differential is provided),
wherein the temperature of the heat transfer and storage elements is different from the temperature of the fluid (the device is known to operate in conditions wherein the PCM material is at a different temperature than the circulating fluid, to achieve a transfer of heat).
But fails to teach said at least one wall being formed with a reticulated or lattice structure.
Liu teaches a wall being formed with a reticulated or lattice structure (fig. structure 615, paras. 120-123, where para. 124 further states, “structure 615 can be … a more complex structure such as a sheathed honeycomb lattice or another sheathed grid; or any combination of such structural units. Any of these structural configurations can be dubbed a “wall.””).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Olkis to implement a suitable surrounding tank with separating structure 615, as taught by Liu; in particular, a more complex structure as described in para. 124. This would provide the predictable result and benefit of suitably forming a wall between portions of PCM tanks, as suggested by Liu in the portion cited above, para. 124.
Regarding Claim 6. Modified Olkis teaches the system of Claim 3, wherein the fluid flows through the heat transfer and storage elements and nonparallel to the axis of the structure (Olkis fig. 2, the fluid flows primarily radially inward and outward through the PCMs).
Regarding Claim 10. Modified Olkis teaches the system of Claim 3, wherein the heat transfer and storage elements are made of a material configured to conduct energy (PCM) in the form of heat (the PCMs are understood to conduct energy via heat), electricity, electromagnetic fields or a combination thereof (optional limitations, see mapping to alternative).
Regarding Claim 16. Modified Olkis teaches the system of Claim 3, wherein the heat transfer and storage elements are heated by means of electromagnetic fields, electromagnetic radiation, joule effect, radiant (optional limitations, see mapping to alternative) or convective heat (para. 64 of Olkis, “The two charging sections can be charged separately from the heat pump 24 which allows charging of the first section at higher heat pump efficiency, while the section is still available to provide domestic hot water.” From this, it is understood that the PCMs are charged, or heated, by circulating a fluid, which would correspond to convective heat) or a combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 21. Modified Olkis teaches the system of Claim 3, wherein the set of heat transfer and storage elements is configured to increase its temperature due to the action of a hot fluid (Olkis para. 64, “The two charging sections can be charged separately from the heat pump 24 which allows charging of the first section at higher heat pump efficiency, while the section is still available to provide domestic hot water.” This is being interpreted as a hot fluid increasing the temperature of or “charging” the PCM sections);
wherein the energy of the hot fluid is transferred to the set of heat transfer and storage elements (heating or charging the PCMs),
wherein the set of heat transfer and storage elements are colder than the hot fluid (for this heat transfer to occur, the PCMs would be colder than the heating fluid from the heat pump 24 and or heating circuit 25), and the set of heat transfer and storage elements increases its temperature as the hot fluid passes through it (the PCMs heat up or are charged, resulting in a temperature change except where storing energy as latent heat, which is only part of the desired operation, para. 4 of Olkis, “Phase change materials have been proposed as an alternative thermal energy storage means, where the energy is largely stored as heat of fusion within a small temperature range.”), and
wherein the energy of the hot fluid is absorbed and stored by the set of heat transfer and storage elements (see para. 4, above).
Regarding Claim 23. Modified Olkis teaches the system of Claim 3, wherein the energy supplied by the heating subsystem heats up the set of heat transfer and storage elements (Olkis para. 64, “The two charging sections can be charged separately from the heat pump 24 which allows charging of the first section at higher heat pump efficiency, while the section is still available to provide domestic hot water.” This is being interpreted as a hot fluid increasing the temperature of or “charging” the PCM sections),
wherein the energy supplied is stored in the set of heat transfer and storage elements for immediate or later use (para. 4 of Olkis, “Phase change materials have been proposed as an alternative thermal energy storage means, where the energy is largely stored as heat of fusion within a small temperature range.”), and
wherein a closed energy balance between the energy input from the heating subsystem, the energy stored in the set of heat transfer and storage elements and the energy absorbed by the fluid leaving the system and the system energy losses is generated (from Olkis fig. 4, this energy balance is apparent).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olkis in view of Liu as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US 20160146546 A1 to Holub.
Regarding Claim 20. Modified Olkis teaches the system of Claim 3, wherein the insulation subsystem comprises at least one insulation layer (Olkis para. 40, “The wall of the tank can be thermally insulated. The advantage is that heat losses to the environment are minimized.”)
But fails to teach at least one insulation layer which comprises a vacuum chamber, or a chamber filled with a low thermal conductivity fluid.
Holub teaches an insulation layer which comprises a vacuum chamber (fig. 1, intermediate region 3, which is connected to a vacuum pump 4, see para. 49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the device of Olkis to implement a suitable vacuum insulation outside of the tank, as taught by Holub. This would provide the predictable result and benefit of achieving a high thermal insulation, as suggested by Holub in para. 11, “The mean free path length of the gas molecules is (greatly) reduced in the supported vacuum. It is thus not necessary to reduce the pressure excessively in order to achieve a high thermal insulation.”
Claim(s) 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olkis as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of the attached NPL to HotSpot Energy, DC Air Conditioner, accessed 5/28/23.
Regarding Claim 25. Olkis teaches the system of Claim 2, wherein an energy source to which the heating subsystem is connected is selected from electricity in the form of direct current or alternating current, at any voltage level and at any frequency, in the form of continuous or intermittent power, drawn from the grid or from off-grid electricity sources (it is understood that at least the heat pump 24 operates on this broad category of available electricity),
But fails to explicitly disclose wherein the heating subsystem is frequency and voltage independent.
HotSpot Energy teaches a DC heat pump connected to off grid power (“If your power source is native 48VDC (or -48VDC) as part of a telecom or off-grid solar application, HotSpot DC4812VRF all-DC air conditioners are your most efficient cooling choice. DC48 air conditioners can substantially reduce power supply/generation costs and battery requirements. An all-DC system means you get the advantage of extreme high efficiency without the need for inverters. The HotSpot DC4812VRF is a purpose-built DC powered air conditioner heat pump for native DC power. It's designed to conserve power, and operate reliably for many years without maintenance.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Olkis to implement a suitable heat pump with DC power source, as taught by HotSpot Energy. This would provide the predictable result and benefit of allowing the heat pump to operate off grid, as suggested by HotSpot Energy in the portion cited above. With this configuration, the heating system is frequency and voltage independent since it operates on DC power.
Regarding Claim 26. Olkis teaches the system of Claim 1,
But fails to teach wherein the electrical feeding subsystem is connected to an off-grid electricity source, source, wherein the components required to match the grid frequency are removed and delivering direct current or variable frequency current to the heating subsystem.
As described above in the rejection to claim 25, HotSpot Energy teaches a DC powered heat pump which can operate on an off grid power supply, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement such a suitable heat pump in the system of Olkis. This would result in a heat pump connected to an off grid electricity source where there are no inverters or components required to match grid frequency.
Regarding Claim 27. The system of Claim 1,
But fails to teach wherein the electrical feeding subsystem is connected to an off-grid electricity source, wherein the frequency of the source is configured in such a way that it matches the frequency required by the heating subsystem.
As described above in the rejection to claim 25, HotSpot Energy teaches a DC powered heat pump which can operate on an off grid power supply, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement such a suitable heat pump in the system of Olkis. This would result in a heat pump supplied with a DC power, i.e. an electrical power having a frequency of 0 Hz, which matches the frequency required by the DC heat pump.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19, 28, 30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 17. The combination of Olkis in view of Liu, applied to claim 3, represents the closest prior art of record to the claimed invention.
The prior art fails to teach, “wherein the heat transfer and storage elements are heated by means of electromagnetic fields, wherein the frequency and shape of the electromagnetic field is tuned for increasing the electromagnetic coupling with the set of heat transfer and storage elements or the structure, wherein the heat transfer and storage elements, the structure or both are heated by means of induced eddy and other currents by hysteretic heating or a combination thereof.”, in addition to the rest of the claim.
Instead, Olkis teaches a tank housing PCMs that are heated by circulation of fluid from at least a heat pump, see Olkis para. 64 and fig. 4. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to heat the PCMs by means of electromagnetic fields, as claimed, since it is desired to use the heat pump for efficiency purposes, see para. 64, “The two charging sections can be charged separately from the heat pump 24 which allows charging of the first section at higher heat pump efficiency, while the section is still available to provide domestic hot water.”.
Regarding claim 18. The combination of Olkis in view of Liu, applied to claim 3, represents the closest prior art of record to the claimed invention. The claim would be allowable for substantially the same reason as claim 17, where electromagnetic radiation is a form of an electromagnetic field.
Regarding claim 19. The combination of Olkis in view of Liu, applied to claim 3, represents the closest prior art of record to the claimed invention. As noted above, modified Olkis fails to teach an electromagnetic heating energy source or an electromagnetic field source, and therefore claim 19 would be allowable for failing to teach the cooling fluid for the heating subsystem, as claimed.
Regarding claim 28. The combination of Olkis in view of Liu, applied to claim 3, represents the closest prior art of record to the claimed invention.
Modified Olkis teaches the system of Claim 3, wherein the fluid heated is post-heated by the post heating subsystem after passing through the set of heat transfer and storage elements (fig. 17 of Olkis, and para. 77, “the second electrical booster heater 41 in the location 2 can be activated when the DHW outlet temperature drops below and threshold to further extend the DHW output volume from the tank 1 and/or in peak demand times.”).
The prior art fails to teach, “wherein the fluid heated is post-heated by the post heating subsystem … by changing the phase of the fluid heated into plasma.”, in addition to the rest of the claim.
Instead, the heater 41 of Olkis is simply an electrical booster heater, and the water that flows through it is not phase changed into plasma, as claimed. Further, it would not have been obvious to arrange the system such that the water is phase changed into plasma, based on the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 30. The combination of Olkis in view of Liu, applied to claim 3, represents the closest prior art of record to the claimed invention. The prior art fails to teach, “wherein the heat transfer and storage elements are completely or partially coated with one or more catalysts to promote a chemical reaction in the fluid.”, in addition to the rest of the claim.
Instead, the PCMs of Olkis are used to effect a simple heat transfer to a liquid water flowing through the tank 1, in order to raise its temperature. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange one or more catalysts on the surface of the PCMs to promote a chemical reaction in the heated water, as claimed, based on the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 29. Olkis, applied to claim 1, represents the closest prior art of record to the claimed invention. The prior art fails to teach, “wherein the fluid is a radiant gas comprising: polar bonds and/or permanent dipole moments such as H20 or CO2; multiple bonds such as C=0 or N=N, wherein the multiple bonds are double or triple bonds; polyatomic molecules with a wide range of vibrational and rotational modes such as CH4 and N20; molecules with resonance structures wherein electrons are delocalized across multiple atoms such as 03; and heavy atoms with strong bonds such as S02.”, in addition to the rest of the claim.
Instead, Olkis teaches a system in which liquid water is heated through a tank 1 housing PCMs. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the fluid, which is described as liquid water in Olkis, as a radiant gas with the very specific composition, as claimed, based on the prior art of record. Please note, the radiant gas is being interpreted very narrowly, as described in the claim interpretation section above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20150113806 A1 to Couturier, teaches a tank partially filled with PCM elements, see fig. 3A.
US 5220954 A to Longardner, teaches a PCM heat exchanger, see fig. 1.
/KURT J WOLFORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN S ANDERSON II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762