DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, in the reply filed on 07/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2 and 5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isoyama et al. (US 2021/0163025 A1).
As to clais 1 and 6, Isoyama discloses a vehicle control system/method that establishes an in-vehicle network provided in a vehicle, the vehicle control system comprising: an obtainer (Fig. 1, data acquisition device 131) that obtains vehicle information on the vehicle from the in-vehicle network; a communicator (Fig. 1, network 20, para. 0161-0164) that is capable of communicating with an external device via an external network and transmits the vehicle information obtained by the obtainer to the external device via the external network (para. 0161-0164); an anomaly detector that detects a security anomaly in the in-vehicle network (para. 0123-0131); and a controller that restricts communication between the communicator and the external device when the security anomaly is detected by the anomaly detector (para. 0210-0211, 0225-0226, communication is limited).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isoyama in view of Sasaki et al. (US 2021/0240838 A1).
As to claim 4, Isoyama does not explicitly disclose when the security anomaly is detected by the anomaly detector, the controller determines a risk level indicating a degree of risk corresponding to the security anomaly detected, and restricts communication between the communicator and the external device, in stages, in accordance with the risk level determined. However, Sasaki teaches when the security anomaly is detected by the anomaly detector, the controller determines a risk level indicating a degree of risk corresponding to the security anomaly detected, and restricts communication between the communicator and the external device, in stages, in accordance with the risk level determined (Fig. 15, para. 0057-0074, 0187-0196). Therefore, give the teaching of Sasaki, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the system of Isoyama, by employing the well-known or conventional features of restricts communication in stages, in accordance with the risk level determined, to improve the overall vehicle safety.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isoyama in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2022/0183052 A1).
As to claim 3, Isoyama further discloses the plurality of vehicle information items each being the vehicle information, and the communicator transmits the specific vehicle information item output from the controller to the external device via the external network (Fig. 1), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the in-vehicle network is virtually divided into a plurality of virtual local area networks (VLANs), when the security anomaly is detected by the anomaly detector, the controller outputs, to the communicator, a specific vehicle information item from a specific VLAN among a plurality of vehicle information items from the plurality of VLANs obtained by the obtainer. However, Yamamoto teaches the in-vehicle network is virtually divided into a plurality of virtual local area networks (Fig. 8, para. 0097-0099, 0184), when the security anomaly is detected by the anomaly detector (para. 0102-0103), the controller outputs, to the communicator, a specific vehicle information item from a specific VLAN among a plurality of vehicle information items from the plurality of VLANs obtained by the obtainer (Fig. 3). Therefore, give the teaching of Yamamoto, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the system of Isoyama, by employing the well-known or conventional features of VLANs, to use different VLANs for different sensor communications.
Conclusion
CE LI . LI
Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661