DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply to applicant communication filed on June 29, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on June 29, 2026 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant’s argues that the prior art on record fails to teach the amended limitation of independent claims. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made using the newly find prior arts to Liu (US Pub. No. 2016/0119316).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub. No. 2021/0120602) in view of Liu (US Pub. No. 2016/0119316).
As per claim 1 Huang discloses:
An access point (AP) configured to communicate with a non- AP station in a wireless local area network (WLAN), (paragraph 52 of Huang, wireless network 300 may include one or more user devices 320 and one or more access points(s) (AP) 302, which may communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11 communication standards) and (paragraph 100 of Huang, the WLAN FEM circuitry 1504a may include a receive signal path comprising circuitry configured to operate on WLAN RF signals received from one or more antennas 1501, to amplify the received signals and to provide the amplified versions of the received signals to the WLAN radio IC circuitry 1506a for further processing).
Wherein the AP comprises: a processor configured to generate a nonce; and a communication interface configured to transmit a first message to the non-AP station, wherein the first message comprises the nonce; (see EAPOL-key (0, 0, 01, 0, P, 0, 0, ANonce, 0, {}) from AP MLD to Non-AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang).
Wherein, in response to receiving a second message from the non-AP station, (see EAPLO-key (0, 1, 0, 0, P, 0, 0, SNonce, MIC, {RSNE[PMKR1Name], MDE, FTE}) from non-AP MLD to AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang) the processor is further configured to negotiated with, and applied by the non-AP station; (paragraph 73 of Huang, moreover, during the computation of a key and ID, such as PMK-R0, PMK-R1, PMKR1Name, PMKID, PTK, PTKName, the S0KH-ID and S1KH-ID uses a non-AP MLD MAC address while R1KH-ID uses the AP MLD MAC address. Also, the Authenticator Address (AA) may be adjusted to the AP MLD MAC address and single packet authentication (SPA) may be adjusted to the non-AP MLD MAC address when computing the PMKID for PMK-R1 between the AP MLD and non-AP MLD. Similarly, the BSSID may be changed to the AP MLD MAC address and the STA-ADDR may be changed to the non-AP MLD address when computing the PTK and PTKName between the AP MLD and non-AP MLD).
Wherein the communication interface is further configured to transmit a third message to the non-AP station, (see EAPLO-key (1, 1, 1, 1, P, 0, 0, ANonce, MIC, {RSNE[PMKR1Name], MDE, GTK[N], IGTK[M], FTE, TE[ReassociationDeadline], TE[KeyLifetime]}) from AP MLD to Non-AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang).
Huang teaches the method of communicating/negotiating EAOPL key message (see fig. 9 of Huang) but fails to clearly disclose the method of encrypting information about one or more network policies, wherein the information about the one or more network policies identifies one or more network policies that are to manage network traffic that are be communicated to non-AP station and wherein the third message comprises the encrypted information about the one or more network policies.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches this limitation as, (paragraph 81 of Liu, formulate a network service policy according to history access information of the client device that succeeds in the authentication, wherein the history access information may comprise information such as the number of times that the client device accesses a corresponding wireless network and a history network service policy) and (paragraph 130 of Liu, the sending module 630 is further configured to: after the client device and the AP negotiate the link key to ensure the security of a communications link between the client device and the AP, send, by using a negotiated encryption policy, the corresponding updated history access information to the client device that succeeds in the authentication) and (paragraph 110 of Liu, after the encryption key is generated, all or a part of the history access information and objects such as a random number may be encrypted by using the encryption key, so as to generate the to-be-verified address).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Huang and include the above limitation using the teaching of Loi in order to formulate a network service policy according to access history and secure communication according to the formulated policy (see paragraph 81 of Liu).
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 2 Huang in view of Liu discloses:
The AP of claim 1, wherein the first message is a first Extensible Authentication Protocol over Local Area Network (EAPOL) key message, the second message is a second EAPOL key message and the third message is a third EAPOL key message of a 4-way handshake between the AP and the non-AP station, wherein the second EAPOL key message comprises a further nonce. (See EAPOL-key (0, 0, 01, 0, P, 0, 0, ANonce, 0, {}) from AP MLD to Non-AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang) and (see EAPLO-key (0, 1, 0, 0, P, 0, 0, SNonce, MIC, {RSNE[PMKR1Name], MDE, FTE}) from non-AP MLD to AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang) and (paragraph 74 of Huang, delivery of a group temporal key (GTK)/integrity group temporal key (IGTK)/beacon integrity group transient key (BIGTK) of different links may be allowed in one FT 4-way handshake and FTE during a reassociation response from a Target MLD).
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 2.
As per claim 3 Huang in view of Liu discloses:
The AP of claim 2, wherein, in response to transmitting the third EAPOL key message to the non-AP station, the communication interface is further configured to receive a fourth EAPOL key message from the non-AP station. (See the EAPOL-key (1, 1, 0, 0, P, 0, 0, 0, MIC, {}) in Fig. 9 of Huang).
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 3.
As per claim 4 Huang in view of Liu discloses:
The AP of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to derive one or more cryptographic keys based on at least one of the nonce or the further nonce. (Paragraph 86 of Huang, PTK=KDF-Hash-Length(PMK-R1, “FT-PTK”, SNonce|ANonce|BSSID|STA ADDR)).
Claim 17 is rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 4.
As per claim 5 Huang in view of Liu discloses:
The AP of claim 2, wherein the second EAPOL key message comprises a request for the information about the one or more policies by the non-AP station. (see EAPLO-key (0, 1, 0, 0, P, 0, 0, SNonce, MIC, {RSNE[PMKR1Name], MDE, FTE}) from non-AP MLD to AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang).
As per claim 6 Huang in view of Liu discloses:
The AP of claim 1, wherein the first message is an IEEE 802.11 authentication response, the second message is an association request, and the third message is an association response of a fast transition or a fast initial link setup between the AP and the non-AP station. (Paragraph 45 of Huang, communications over the networks may include one or more different protocols, such as Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 family of standards known as Wi-Fi, IEEE 802.16 family of standards known as WiMax, IEEE 802.15.4 family of standards, a Long Term Evolution (LTE) family of standards, a Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) family of standards, peer-to-peer (P2P) networks, a next generation (NG)/5.sup.th generation (5G) standards among others).
As per claim 7 Huang in view of Liu discloses:
The AP of claim 6, wherein the communication interface is configured to transmit the IEEE 802.11 authentication response to the non-AP station, in response to receiving an IEEE 802.11 authentication request from the non-AP station, wherein the IEEE 802.11 authentication request comprises a further nonce. Paragraph 45 of Huang, communications over the networks may include one or more different protocols, such as Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 family of standards known as Wi-Fi, IEEE 802.16 family of standards known as WiMax, IEEE 802.15.4 family of standards, a Long Term Evolution (LTE) family of standards, a Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) family of standards, peer-to-peer (P2P) networks, a next generation (NG)/5.sup.th generation (5G) standards among others).
As per claim 8 Huang in view of Liu discloses:
The AP of claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to derive one or more cryptographic keys based on at least one of the nonce or the further nonce. (Paragraph 86 of Huang, PTK=KDF-Hash-Length(PMK-R1, “FT-PTK”, SNonce|ANonce|BSSID|STA ADDR)).
As per claim 9 Huang in view of Liu discloses:
The AP of claim 6, wherein the association response comprises a mobility domain element (MDE) and wherein the encrypted information about the one or more policies is part of the MDE. (Paragraph 62 of Huang, after the authentication request/response exchange, an association request/response is used to exchange mobility domain information in mobility domain element (MDE) and FT information in a Fast BSS Transition element (FTE)).
As per claim 10 Huang in view of Liu discloses:
The AP of claim 6, wherein the IEEE 802.11 authentication request from the non-AP station comprises a request for the information about the one or more policies by the non-AP station. Paragraph 45 of Huang, communications over the networks may include one or more different protocols, such as Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 family of standards known as Wi-Fi, IEEE 802.16 family of standards known as WiMax, IEEE 802.15.4 family of standards, a Long Term Evolution (LTE) family of standards, a Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) family of standards, peer-to-peer (P2P) networks, a next generation (NG)/5.sup.th generation (5G) standards among others).
As per claim 11 Huang in view of Liu discloses:
The AP of claim 1, wherein third message comprising the encrypted information about the one or more policies comprises information about a number of the one or more policies. (Paragraph 81 of Liu, formulate a network service policy according to history access information of the client device that succeeds in the authentication, wherein the history access information may comprise information such as the number of times that the client device accesses a corresponding wireless network and a history network service policy) and (paragraph 130 of Liu, the sending module 630 is further configured to: after the client device and the AP negotiate the link key to ensure the security of a communications link between the client device and the AP, send, by using a negotiated encryption policy, the corresponding updated history access information to the client device that succeeds in the authentication) and (paragraph 110 of Liu, after the encryption key is generated, all or a part of the history access information and objects such as a random number may be encrypted by using the encryption key, so as to generate the to-be-verified address).
As per claim 12 Huang in view of Liu discloses:
The AP of claim 1, wherein the third message comprising the encrypted information about the one or more policies comprises at least one of an indicator of a respective type of the one or more policies or information about a respective size of the one or more policies. (Paragraph 81 of Liu, formulate a network service policy according to history access information of the client device that succeeds in the authentication, wherein the history access information may comprise information such as the number of times that the client device accesses a corresponding wireless network and a history network service policy) and (paragraph 130 of Liu, the sending module 630 is further configured to: after the client device and the AP negotiate the link key to ensure the security of a communications link between the client device and the AP, send, by using a negotiated encryption policy, the corresponding updated history access information to the client device that succeeds in the authentication) and (paragraph 110 of Liu, after the encryption key is generated, all or a part of the history access information and objects such as a random number may be encrypted by using the encryption key, so as to generate the to-be-verified address)..
Conclusion
The prior art made or record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure is Sun (US 2015/0281962).
Sun’s reference discloses:
A method includes transmitting, by a station to an access point (AP), a fast initial link setup (FILS) authentication request and transmitting, by the station to the AP, an authorization request, where the authorization request includes an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) over local area network (LAN) (EAPOL) key. The method also includes receiving, by the station from the AP, an association response, where the association response includes the EAPOL key.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TESHOME HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434