CTNF 18/986,994 CTNF 83789 DETAILED ACTION This office action is in response to the original application filed on December 17,2024. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub. No. 2021/0120602) in view of Luo (US Pub. No. 2023/0156461) . As per claim 1 Huang discloses: An access point (AP) configured to communicate with a non- AP station in a wireless local area network (WLAN), (paragraph 52 of Huang, wireless network 300 may include one or more user devices 320 and one or more access points(s) (AP) 302, which may communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11 communication standards ) and (paragraph 100 of Huang, the WLAN FEM circuitry 1504a may include a receive signal path comprising circuitry configured to operate on WLAN RF signals received from one or more antennas 1501, to amplify the received signals and to provide the amplified versions of the received signals to the WLAN radio IC circuitry 1506a for further processing ). Wherein the AP comprises: a processor configured to generate a nonce; and a communication interface configured to transmit a first message to the non-AP station, wherein the first message comprises the nonce; ( see EAPOL-key (0, 0, 01, 0, P, 0, 0, ANonce, 0, {}) from AP MLD to Non-AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang ). Wherein, in response to receiving a second message from the non-AP station, ( see EAPLO-key (0, 1, 0, 0, P, 0, 0, SNonce, MIC, {RSNE[PMKR1Name], MDE, FTE}) from non-AP MLD to AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang ) the processor is further configured to negotiated with, and applied by the non-AP station; (paragraph 73 of Huang, moreover, during the computation of a key and ID, such as PMK-R0, PMK-R1, PMKR1Name, PMKID, PTK, PTKName, the S0KH-ID and S1KH-ID uses a non-AP MLD MAC address while R1KH-ID uses the AP MLD MAC address. Also, the Authenticator Address (AA) may be adjusted to the AP MLD MAC address and single packet authentication (SPA) may be adjusted to the non-AP MLD MAC address when computing the PMKID for PMK-R1 between the AP MLD and non-AP MLD. Similarly, the BSSID may be changed to the AP MLD MAC address and the STA-ADDR may be changed to the non-AP MLD address when computing the PTK and PTKName between the AP MLD and non-AP MLD ). Wherein the communication interface is further configured to transmit a third message to the non-AP station, (see EAPLO-key (1, 1, 1, 1, P, 0, 0, ANonce, MIC, {RSNE[PMKR1Name], MDE, GTK[N], IGTK[M], FTE, TE[ReassociationDeadline], TE[KeyLifetime]}) from AP MLD to Non-AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang). Huang teaches the method of communicating/negotiating EAOPL key message (see fig. 9 of Huang) but fails to clearly disclose the method of encrypting information about one or more policies, wherein the information about the one or more policies identifies one or more policies that are to be communicated to non-AP station and wherein the third message comprises the encrypted information about the one or more policies. However, in the same field of endeavor, Luo teaches this limitation as, (paragraph 26 of Luo, the AP 304 can send a third message 319 to the STA 302. The third message can include the encrypted GTK 317 and a request for a permanent MAC address. The request for the permanent MAC address can be an indication (e.g., labeled “MAC Ind”) that the permanent MAC address is requested or an indication that the permanent MAC address is required by the AP 304 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Huang and include the above limitation using the teaching of Luo in order to encrypt and securely communicate between the access point and one of the station (non-AP) device (see paragraph 27 of Luo). Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 1. As per claim 2 Huang in view of Luo discloses: The AP of claim 1, wherein the first message is a first Extensible Authentication Protocol over Local Area Network (EAPOL) key message, the second message is a second EAPOL key message and the third message is a third EAPOL key message of a 4-way handshake between the AP and the non-AP station, wherein the second EAPOL key message comprises a further nonce. (S ee EAPOL-key (0, 0, 01, 0, P, 0, 0, ANonce, 0, {}) from AP MLD to Non-AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang ) and ( see EAPLO-key (0, 1, 0, 0, P, 0, 0, SNonce, MIC, {RSNE[PMKR1Name], MDE, FTE}) from non-AP MLD to AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang ) and (paragraph 74 of Huang, delivery of a group temporal key (GTK)/integrity group temporal key (IGTK)/beacon integrity group transient key (BIGTK) of different links may be allowed in one FT 4-way handshake and FTE during a reassociation response from a Target MLD ). Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 2. As per claim 3 Huang in view of Luo discloses: The AP of claim 2, wherein, in response to transmitting the third EAPOL key message to the non-AP station, the communication interface is further configured to receive a fourth EAPOL key message from the non-AP station. ( See the EAPOL-key (1, 1, 0, 0, P, 0, 0, 0, MIC, {}) in Fig. 9 of Huang ). Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 3. As per claim 4 Huang in view of Luo discloses: The AP of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to derive one or more cryptographic keys based on at least one of the nonce or the further nonce. (Paragraph 86 of Huang, PTK=KDF-Hash-Length(PMK-R1, “FT-PTK”, SNonce|ANonce|BSSID|STA ADDR) ). Claim 17 is rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 4. As per claim 5 Huang in view of Luo discloses: The AP of claim 2, wherein the second EAPOL key message comprises a request for the information about the one or more policies by the non-AP station. ( see EAPLO-key (0, 1, 0, 0, P, 0, 0, SNonce, MIC, {RSNE[PMKR1Name], MDE, FTE}) from non-AP MLD to AP MLD in fig. 9 of Huang ). As per claim 6 Huang in view of Luo discloses: The AP of claim 1, wherein the first message is an IEEE 802.11 authentication response, the second message is an association request, and the third message is an association response of a fast transition or a fast initial link setup between the AP and the non-AP station. (Paragraph 45 of Huang, communications over the networks may include one or more different protocols, such as Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 family of standards known as Wi-Fi, IEEE 802.16 family of standards known as WiMax, IEEE 802.15.4 family of standards , a Long Term Evolution (LTE) family of standards, a Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) family of standards, peer-to-peer (P2P) networks, a next generation (NG)/5.sup.th generation (5G) standards among others). As per claim 7 Huang in view of Luo discloses: The AP of claim 6, wherein the communication interface is configured to transmit the IEEE 802.11 authentication response to the non-AP station, in response to receiving an IEEE 802.11 authentication request from the non-AP station, wherein the IEEE 802.11 authentication request comprises a further nonce. Paragraph 45 of Huang, communications over the networks may include one or more different protocols, such as Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 family of standards known as Wi-Fi, IEEE 802.16 family of standards known as WiMax, IEEE 802.15.4 family of standards , a Long Term Evolution (LTE) family of standards, a Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) family of standards, peer-to-peer (P2P) networks, a next generation (NG)/5.sup.th generation (5G) standards among others). As per claim 8 Huang in view of Luo discloses: The AP of claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to derive one or more cryptographic keys based on at least one of the nonce or the further nonce. (Paragraph 86 of Huang, PTK=KDF-Hash-Length(PMK-R1, “FT-PTK”, SNonce|ANonce|BSSID|STA ADDR) ). As per claim 9 Huang in view of Luo discloses: The AP of claim 6, wherein the association response comprises a mobility domain element (MDE) and wherein the encrypted information about the one or more policies is part of the MDE. (Paragraph 62 of Huang, after the authentication request/response exchange, an association request/response is used to exchange mobility domain information in mobility domain element (MDE) and FT information in a Fast BSS Transition element (FTE) ). As per claim 10 Huang in view of Luo discloses: The AP of claim 6, wherein the IEEE 802.11 authentication request from the non-AP station comprises a request for the information about the one or more policies by the non-AP station. Paragraph 45 of Huang, communications over the networks may include one or more different protocols, such as Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 family of standards known as Wi-Fi, IEEE 802.16 family of standards known as WiMax, IEEE 802.15.4 family of standards , a Long Term Evolution (LTE) family of standards, a Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) family of standards, peer-to-peer (P2P) networks, a next generation (NG)/5.sup.th generation (5G) standards among others). As per claim 11 Huang in view of Luo discloses: The AP of claim 1, wherein third message comprising the encrypted information about the one or more policies comprises information about a number of the one or more policies. (Paragraph 26 of Luo, the AP 304 can send a third message 319 to the STA 302. The third message can include the encrypted GTK 317 and a request for a permanent MAC address. The request for the permanent MAC address can be an indication (e.g., labeled “MAC Ind”) that the permanent MAC address is requested or an indication that the permanent MAC address is required by the AP 304 ). As per claim 12 Huang in view of Luo discloses: The AP of claim 1, wherein the third message comprising the encrypted information about the one or more policies comprises at least one of an indicator of a respective type of the one or more policies or information about a respective size of the one or more policies. (Paragraph 26 of Luo, the AP 304 can send a third message 319 to the STA 302. The third message can include the encrypted GTK 317 and a request for a permanent MAC address. The request for the permanent MAC address can be an indication (e.g., labeled “MAC Ind”) that the permanent MAC address is requested or an indication that the permanent MAC address is required by the AP 304 ). Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made or record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure is Sun (US 2015/0281962). Sun’s reference discloses: A method includes transmitting, by a station to an access point (AP), a fast initial link setup (FILS) authentication request and transmitting, by the station to the AP, an authorization request, where the authorization request includes an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) over local area network (LAN) (EAPOL) key. The method also includes receiving, by the station from the AP, an association response, where the association response includes the EAPOL key. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TESHOME HAILU whose telephone number is (571)270-3159. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ali Shayanfar can be reached at (571) 270-1050. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TESHOME HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/986,994 Page 2 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/986,994 Page 3 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/986,994 Page 4 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/986,994 Page 5 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/986,994 Page 6 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/986,994 Page 7 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/986,994 Page 8 Art Unit: 2434