DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 07/27/2026.
Per the instant Amendment, filed on 07/27/2026, claims 1-11 have been examined and are pending; claims 1, 2 and 8-11 are independent. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
As to the double patenting rejections to claims 1-11, which were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, the Applicant traverses this rejection, and submitted that the amended pending claims are directed to implementation of security-policy-based control and network-specific filtering control and require actual control for restricting use of server functions, rather than merely notifying or recommending that such control be performed. In contrast, the claims of the co-pending '042 application are directed to notification or recommendation of security-related actions rather than actual control. Accordingly, the features of the amended claims are neither recited nor suggested by the claims of the co-pending '042 application (Applicant Argument/Remarks, 07/27/2026, pages 1-2).
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicant. The double patenting issue still remains even claims of both applications are amended. While the scope of the instant application’s claims directed to application/implementation of security-policy-based control, network-specific filtering control and require actual control for restricting use of server functions, in an active function steps, the claims of the reference application, captures a scope, citing, give notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions in the computing environment when the server functions are set to be enabled [with respect to disable] and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the computing environment, in a passive function steps, an obvious linguistic citation variation of the instant claims, keeping the scope of the claims same. Thus, the provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejections are maintained. Please, see the double patenting rejection section for mor detail.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior-art rejections to claims 1-11, filed on 07/27/2026, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection, where a new ground of rejection is applied with new art that is necessitated based on the amendment.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, respectively, of the co-pending Application No. 18/987042. Although, the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the reference claims.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
The following claims are presented side by side for comparison. The comparison shows how the claim 1, of the instant application, along with the user’s notification/confirmation limitation, captured in the dependent claim 3 of the instant application, captures the claim scope of claim 1 of the reference application. Then, shows how the claim 2, of the instant application, with the user’s notification/confirmation limitation, captured in the dependent claim 5 of the instant application, captures the claim scope of claim 1 the reference application, along with and the dependent claim 7 and/or claim 9, for filter setting limitation, of the reference application. Scope of the other claims are also, captured by the claim of the reference application, respectively
Instant Application 18/987012
Reference Application 18/987042
1. A server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to:
perform settings as to whether server functions are enabled or disabled,
perform settings as to whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment in which the server functions of the information processing apparatus are not used;
set a security policy including a setting for disabling the server functions when the information processing apparatus is used in the serverless computing environment; and
apply the security policy perform settings to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set so that to connect the information processing apparatus is to be connected to the serverless computing environment.
3. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: present a user a confirmation as to whether or not to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment, and perform settings to disable the server functions when the user approves disable in the confirmation regarding the settings to disable the server functions.
1. A server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to:
perform a setting whether server functions are enabled or disabled, perform a setting whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment in which the server functions of the information processing apparatus are not used, and
give notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions in the serverless computing environment when the server functions are set to be enabled and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment.
2. A server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to:
perform settings as to whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment in which the server functions of the information processing apparatus are not used;
perform filter settings as to whether or not to perform filtering on communication with each of a plurality of networks to which the information processing apparatus is connected, the filter settings being respectively associated with the plurality of networks;
perform filtering of communication with each of the plurality of networks based on the filter settings; and
when the settings of connection are set so that one of the plurality of networks is to be connected to the serverless computing environment, set the filter setting associated with the one of the plurality of networks so as to block communication to the server functions via the one of the plurality of networks while allowing the server functions to be used via another one of the plurality of networks.
5. The information processing apparatus to claim 4, wherein the one or more first processors execute the set of instructions to: present a user a confirmation to a user as to whether or not to overwrite existing filter settings in a case where the existing filter settings associated with the one of the plurality of networks are enabled when setting the filter setting associated with the one of the plurality of networks so as to block communication to the server functions via with the one of the plurality of networks.
.
1. A server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to:
perform a setting whether server functions are enabled or disabled, perform a setting whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment in which the server functions of the information processing apparatus are not used, and
give notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions in the serverless computing environment when the server functions are set to be enabled and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment.
7. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein giving the notification prompting the user to change the setting so as to restrict use of the server functions is giving notification prompting the user to perform a setting of a network filter.
9. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: give notification prompting the user to perform a setting of a network filter when the information processing apparatus is connected to a plurality of networks, the server functions are set to be enabled, and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (“Ishikawa,” JP 2020154832, published on 09/24/2020 (used an English translated copy for mapping), in view of Segal et al (“Segal,” US 20220329597, published on 10/13/2022).
As to claim 1, Ishikawa teaches a server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions (Ishikawa: pages 2-4; Fig 1, a Multi-Function Peripheral device (MPF), comprising, processor, a controller unit, and operational uni. The MPF operates to configure and manage connection with a first communication interface and a second communication interface with two separate Local Area Network (LAN) connections) to:
perform settings as to whether server functions are enabled or disabled, perform settings as to whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a computing environment (Ishikawa: pages 3-4; Fig 1, the MPF performs proses to identify the network communication lines connecting to the network devices, such as main line and subline, and makes configuration decision to activate both lines or one of the lines), and
apply the/[a] security policy to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set so that the information processing apparatus is to be connected to the computing environment (Ishikawa: pages 3-4, selectively disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs).
Ishikawa does not explicitly teach computing environment to be a serverless computing environment, in which the server functions of the information processing apparatus are not used; set a security policy including a setting for disabling the server functions when the information processing apparatus is used in the serverless computing environment.
However, in an analogous art, Segal teaches serverless computing environment (Segal: pars 0006, 0068, teaches of securing a serverless application. Where, the serverless computing is used by organizations to develop microservice-based applications, by implementing the different services as functions, each with its own specific role,), in which the server functions of the information processing apparatus are not used; set a security policy including a setting for disabling the server functions when the information processing apparatus is used in the serverless computing environment (Segal: pars 0068-0070, creates and applies a security policy for each component of the serverless application. Where the policy denies all access requests except for requests that come from authorized components [i.e., any function other than the allowed serverless function, are not used]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Segal with the method/system of Ishikawa to include the limitation(s), serverless computing environment, in which the server functions of the information processing apparatus are not used, where one would have been motivated to implement the connection setting of connection in a serverless environment and allocating computing resources for microservice under specific role and policy, and allowing and denying the access to the components of serverless domain, based on the permitted function(s) (Segal: pars 0006, 0068-0070).
As to claim 2, Ishikawa teaches a server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions (Ishikawa: pages 2-4, a Multi-Function Peripheral device (MPF), comprising, processor, a controller unit, and operational uni. The MPF operates to configure and manage connection with a first communication interface and a second communication interface with two separate Local Area Network (LAN) connections) to:
perform settings as to whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a computing environment, perform filter settings as to whether or not to perform filtering on communication with each of a plurality of networks to which the information processing apparatus is connected, the filter settings being respectively associated with the plurality of networks, perform filtering of communication with each of a plurality of networks based on the filter settings (Ishikawa: pages 3-4; Fig 1, perform proses to identify the network communication lines connecting to the network devices, such as main line and subline, and the MPF makes configuration decision to activate both lines or one of the lines. Specifies whether to enable or disable the network filter setting for the line(s) using the enable / disable setting feature), and
when the settings of connection are set so that one of the plurality of networks is to be connected to the [ ] computing environment, set the filter setting associated with the one of the plurality of networks so as to block communication to the server functions via the one of the plurality of networks while allowing the server functions to be used via another one of the plurality of networks (Ishikawa: pages 3-4; Fig 1, the MPF specifies whether to enable or disable the network filter setting for the line(s) using the enable / disable setting feature. Then applying the network policy set the network filter table [i.e., setting the filter settings]).
Ishikawa does not explicitly teach computing environment to be a serverless computing environment in which the server functions of the information processing apparatus are not used.
However, in an analogous art, Segal teaches serverless computing environment (Segal: pars 0006, 0068, teaches of securing a serverless application. Where, the serverless computing is used by organizations to develop microservice-based applications, by implementing the different services as functions, each with its own specific role,), in which the server functions of the information processing apparatus are not used (Segal: pars 0068-0070, creates and applies a security policy for each component of the serverless application. Where the policy denies all access requests except for requests that come from authorized components [i.e., any function other than the allowed serverless function, are not used]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Segal with the method/system of Ishikawa to include the limitation(s), serverless computing environment, in which the server functions of the information processing apparatus are not used, where one would have been motivated to implement the connection setting of connection in a serverless environment and allocating computing resources for microservice under specific role and policy, and allowing and denying the access to the components of serverless domain, based on the permitted function(s) (Segal: pars 0006, 0068-0070).
As to claim 3, the combination of Ishikawa and Segal teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Ishikawa further teaches wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: present a user a confirmation as to whether or not to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment, and perform settings to disable the server functions when the user approves disable in the confirmation regarding the settings to disable the server functions (Ishikawa: pages 3-4, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs).
As to claim 4, the combination of Ishikawa and Segal teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2,
Ishikawa further teaches wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: present a user a confirmation as to whether or not to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment, and set the filter settings so as to perform filtering of communication with the network when the user approves disable in the confirmation (Ishikawa: pages 3-4, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs. Filter policy specification unit can specify the filter policy for the lines by the user. Displaying network filter rule, and receiving the selection input from user).
As to claim 5, the combination of Ishikawa and Segal teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 4,
Ishikawa further teaches wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: present a user a confirmation as to whether or not to overwrite existing filter settings in a case where the existing filter settings are enabled when setting the filter settings so as to perform filtering of communication with the network (Ishikawa: pages 3-4; Fig 1, the MPF specifies whether to enable or disable the network filter setting for the line(s) using the enable / disable setting feature. Displaying network filter rule, and receiving the selection input from user. User is able to change setting).
As to claim 6, the combination of Ishikawa and Segal teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Ishikawa further teaches wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: set a security policy, and give a user notification of a recommendation to review setting of the security policy when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment and a security policy is set (Ishikawa: pages 3-4, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs. Based on the user’s selection, disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs. selectively disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs).
As to claim 7, the combination of Ishikawa and Segal teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 6,
Ishikawa further teaches wherein the notification of a recommendation to review setting of the security policy is given to the user by display of a warning screen including display prompting a change of the settings of the security policy, and the warning screen includes an operation object calling the settings of the security policy (Ishikawa: pages 3-5; Fig 1, user is able to change setting, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs, and confirms user setting choice. Displays various messages related to the routing setting, including a message when an error or the like occurs).
As to claim 8, the claim is directed to a method, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of the apparatus claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 9, the claim is directed to a method, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of the apparatus claim 2, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 2.
As to claim 10, the claim is directed to a storage medium, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of the apparatus claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 11, the claim is directed to a storage medium, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of the apparatus claim 2, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 2.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAHANGIR KABIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439