DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/980012, filed on 12/19/2024.
Claims 1-11 have been examined and are pending in this application. Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, and 11 are independent.
Priority/Continuity
This application has a Foreign Priority of Application No. JP2024-000805, filed on 01/05/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 12/19/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, respectively, of the co-pending Application No. 18/987042. Although, the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the reference claims.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
The following claims are presented side by side for comparison. The comparison shows how the claim 1, of the instant application, along with the user’s notification/confirmation limitation, captured in the dependent claim 3 of the instant application, captures the claim scope of claim 1 of the reference application. Then, shows how the claim 2, of the instant application, with the user’s notification/confirmation limitation, captured in the dependent claim 5 of the instant application, captures the claim scope of claim 1 the reference application, along with and the dependent claim 7 and/or claim 9, for filter setting limitation, of the reference application. Scope of the other claims are also, captured by the claim of the reference application, respectively
Instant Application 18/987012
Reference Application 18/987042
1. A server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to:
perform settings as to whether server functions are enabled or disabled, perform settings as to whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment, and
perform settings to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment.
3. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: present a user a confirmation as to whether or not to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment, and perform settings to disable the server functions when the user approves disable in the confirmation regarding the settings to disable the server functions.
1. A server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to:
perform a setting whether server functions are enabled or disabled, perform a setting whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment, and
give notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions in the serverless computing environment when the server functions are set to be enabled and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment.
2. A server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to:
perform settings as to whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment, perform filter settings as to whether or not to perform filtering on communication with a network, perform filtering of communication with the network based on the filter settings, and
set the filter settings so as to perform filtering of communication with the network when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment.
5. The information processing apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: present a user a confirmation as to whether or not to overwrite existing filter settings in a case where the existing filter settings are enabled when setting the filter settings so as to perform filtering of communication with the network.
1. A server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to:
perform a setting whether server functions are enabled or disabled, perform a setting whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment, and
give notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions in the serverless computing environment when the server functions are set to be enabled and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment.
7. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein giving the notification prompting the user to change the setting so as to restrict use of the server functions is giving notification prompting the user to perform a setting of a network filter.
9. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: give notification prompting the user to perform a setting of a network filter when the information processing apparatus is connected to a plurality of networks, the server functions are set to be enabled, and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (“Ishikawa,” JP 2020154832, published on 09/24/2020 (used an English translated copy for mapping), in view of Mystestskyi et al (“Mystestskyi,” US 2025/0173162, filed on 12/29/2023).
As to claim 1, Ishikawa teaches a server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions (Ishikawa: pages 2-4; Fig 1, a Multi-Function Peripheral device (MPF), comprising, processor, a controller unit, and operational uni. The MPF operates to configure and manage connection with a first communication interface and a second communication interface with two separate Local Area Network (LAN) connections) to:
perform settings as to whether server functions are enabled or disabled, perform settings as to whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a computing environment (Ishikawa: pages 3-4; Fig 1, the MPF performs proses to identify the network communication lines connecting to the network devices, such as main line and subline, and makes configuration decision to activate both lines or one of the lines), and
perform settings to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the computing environment (Ishikawa: pages 3-4, selectively disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs).
Ishikawa does not explicitly teach computing environment to be a serverless computing environment.
However, in an analogous art, Mystestskyi teaches serverless computing environment (Mystestskyi: Abstract, pars 0173, 0225 0246 teaches of a configuring a serverless environment by integrating a set of rules into the serverless environment. Where, the rules are to set of restrictions and/or permissions for a first tenant connection and second tenant connection separately).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mystestskyi with the method/system of Ishikawa to include the limitation(s), serverless computing environment, where one would have been motivated to implement the connection setting of first connection and the connection setting the second connection in a serverless environment for dynamically manages and allocates computing resources for running applications within limited connection environment (Mystestskyi: pars 0173, 0225 0246).
As to claim 2, Ishikawa teaches a server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions (Ishikawa: pages 2-4, a Multi-Function Peripheral device (MPF), comprising, processor, a controller unit, and operational uni. The MPF operates to configure and manage connection with a first communication interface and a second communication interface with two separate Local Area Network (LAN) connections) to:
perform settings as to whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a computing environment, perform filter settings as to whether or not to perform filtering on communication with a network, perform filtering of communication with the network based on the filter settings (Ishikawa: pages 3-4; Fig 1, perform proses to identify the network communication lines connecting to the network devices, such as main line and subline, and the MPF makes configuration decision to activate both lines or one of the lines. Specifies whether to enable or disable the network filter setting for the line(s) using the enable / disable setting feature), and
set the filter settings so as to perform filtering of communication with the network when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the computing environment (Ishikawa: pages 3-4; Fig 1, the MPF specifies whether to enable or disable the network filter setting for the line(s) using the enable / disable setting feature. Then applying the network policy set the network filter table [i.e., setting the filter settings]).
Ishikawa does not explicitly teach computing environment to be a serverless computing environment.
However, in an analogous art, Mystestskyi teaches serverless computing environment (Mystestskyi: Abstract, pars 0173, 0225 0246 teaches of a configuring a serverless environment by integrating a set of rules into the serverless environment. Where, the rules are to set of restrictions and/or permissions for a first tenant connection and second tenant connection separately).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mystestskyi with the method/system of Ishikawa to include the limitation(s), serverless computing environment, where one would have been motivated to implement the connection setting of first connection and the connection setting the second connection in a serverless environment for dynamically manages and allocates computing resources for running applications within limited connection environment (Mystestskyi: pars 0173, 0225 0246).
As to claim 3, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Ishikawa further teaches wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: present a user a confirmation as to whether or not to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment, and perform settings to disable the server functions when the user approves disable in the confirmation regarding the settings to disable the server functions (Ishikawa: pages 3-4, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs).
As to claim 4, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2,
Ishikawa further teaches wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: present a user a confirmation as to whether or not to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment, and set the filter settings so as to perform filtering of communication with the network when the user approves disable in the confirmation (Ishikawa: pages 3-4, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs. Filter policy specification unit can specify the filter policy for the lines by the user. Displaying network filter rule, and receiving the selection input from user).
As to claim 5, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 4,
Mystestskyi further teaches wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: present a user a confirmation as to whether or not to overwrite existing filter settings in a case where the existing filter settings are enabled when setting the filter settings so as to perform filtering of communication with the network (Ishikawa: pages 3-4; Fig 1, the MPF specifies whether to enable or disable the network filter setting for the line(s) using the enable / disable setting feature. Displaying network filter rule, and receiving the selection input from user. User is able to change setting).
As to claim 6, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Mystestskyi further teaches wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: set a security policy, and give a user notification of a recommendation to review setting of the security policy when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment and a security policy is set (Ishikawa: pages 3-4, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs. Based on the user’s selection, disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs. selectively disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs).
As to claim 7, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 6,
Mystestskyi further teaches wherein the notification of a recommendation to review setting of the security policy is given to the user by display of a warning screen including display prompting a change of the settings of the security policy, and the warning screen includes an operation object calling the settings of the security policy (Ishikawa: pages 3-5; Fig 1, user is able to change setting, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs, and confirms user setting choice. Displays various messages related to the routing setting, including a message when an error or the like occurs).
As to claim 8, the claim is directed to a method, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of the apparatus claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 9, the claim is directed to a method, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of the apparatus claim 2, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 2.
As to claim 10, the claim is directed to a storage medium, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of the apparatus claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 11, the claim is directed to a storage medium, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of the apparatus claim 2, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 2.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Luu Pham can be reached on (571) 270-5002. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAHANGIR KABIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439