DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 7/28/2026. Claims 1, 2, and 4-10 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 have been amended.
The rejections of claims 2-4 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roberto (US 2,936,770) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1, 4-6, and 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishimura (JP 10-175515) in view of Perez (ES 2368290) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments. Accordingly, the rejections of claims 2, 3, 7, and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combinations of Ishimura, Perez, Marine et al. (US 6,779,744), Braunger (US 3,321,793), Smith (US 2,597,132), Tamburri (US 2,981,266), and Aaron (US 3,832,953) are also withdrawn.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that no motivation exists to modify Ishimura or Perez to arrive at the claimed structure. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because no explicit motivation to combine is required, and a “motivation to combine may be found explicitly or implicitly in market forces; design incentives; the ‘interrelated teachings of multiple patents’; ‘any need or problem known in the field of endeavor at the time of invention and addressed by the patent’; and the background knowledge, creativity, and common sense of the person of ordinary skill." Zup v. Nash Mfg., 896 F.3d 1365, 1371, 127 USPQ2d 1423, 1427 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (quoting Plantronics, Inc. v. Aliph, Inc., 724 F.3d 1343, 1354 [107 USPQ2d 1706] (Fed. Cir. 2013) (citing Perfect Web Techs., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328 [92 USPQ2d 1849] (Fed. Cir. 2009) (quoting KSR, 550 U.S. at 418-21)). MPEP 2143.01.
Further regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the analysis is merely conclusory and provides no articulated rationale that explains why a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to arrange a grating plate with a peripheral grating frame and fixed pipe clamps in the middle of a tunnel-type conveying track. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because the rejection explains why each modification is made, and the Examiner further notes that the motivation may be implicit within the teachings of the references. In this instance, Perez has been relied upon for teaching a centrally located lower group of nozzles for underbody washing (Figure 2: 5). It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to modify Ishimura as taught by Perez in order to obtain the underbody washing benefit. Braunger discloses a device for steam cleaning and de-icing the low portions of automobiles, including a grilles of heavy bars (11) placed at marginal portions (12) of cavities (13), and pipes (28, 29) connected with nozzles (31, 33) to spray upwardly. Smith discloses an industrial washing machine including sprayer tubes (11) that are attached to a frame (12) via a U-bolt (15). It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to modify Ishimura to provide a grille over the modified underbody nozzles, and to mount/fix the pipes and the nozzles to the frame/body of Ishimura supporting the grilles to obtain the benefit of protecting the nozzles and pipes and effectively mounting them to the frame/body so they stay in place. All of the elements are known in the prior art and all of the modifications would be predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Applicant argues that the analysis is merely conclusory and provides no articulated rationale that explains why a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine a three-way joint with two branch pipes and upward first nozzles in the middle of a tunnel-type track device. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the motivation may be implicit within the teachings of the references. In this instance, Marine discloses an automobile undercarriage cleaner including pipes with upwardly facing holes and at least one T-joint (Figures 1, 2: 64, 106) having a water inlet connected to a pipe (62) on a hose attachment mechanism side of the T-joint (30), and water outlets connected to additional pipes (66, 100). It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to modify Ishimura as taught by Marine in order to obtain the underbody washing benefit from a plural pipe arrangement.
Regarding claim 4, Applicant argues that the claims are not met because Perez does not disclose side-mounted downward-spraying pipes for washing the bottom surface of the working area. First it is noted that the arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims. Regarding the claim language, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Ishimura discloses
wherein the spraying assembly for mud and sand removal comprises bottom mud and sand washing-off pipes on two sides of the track device (10), a plurality of second nozzles are arranged on the bottom mud and sand washing-off pipes to spray water downwards (translation, page 3, “nozzles”).
Regarding claim 6, Applicant argues that the elements 3a and 5a of Ishimura are not “platform components” and the relationship of “upper-end surfaces of the platform components are flush with an upper-end surface of the track device” is not expressly disclosed. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because elements 3a and 5a of Ishimura are broadly and reasonably platform components because a component is merely a part or element, and no special definition of component has been provided. Additionally, the figures show that the top edges of elements 3a and 5a are even or level with the top surface of element 4.
Regarding claim 8, Applicant appears to argue that the prior art does not meet the claims because both elements are not threaded to a single screw rod. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Aaron discloses a conveyor for wheeled vehicles including a bulk head (8) at ends of track sections (4) with base members (6) fit over threaded studs (10) to adjust the height of the track sections (4) by turning nuts (12), and the track sections are held firmly in place by nuts (14). The turning nuts (12) and nuts (14) are threaded to studs (10) and
broadly and reasonably a supporting member and locking nut.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Applicant argues that Ishimura and Perez do not disclose a parking area, a washing area and a completion area, and the arrangement of an entrance ramp platen and an exit ramp plate. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Ishimura discloses see regions upstream of element 10, at element 10, and downstream of element 10, which are broadly and reasonably a parking area, a washing area and a completion area. Ishimura also discloses inclined surfaces 3a and 5a which are broadly and reasonably an entrance ramp plate and an exit ramp plate.
Applicant reiterates the argument against the combination of Ishimura, Perez, Braunger, and Smith. Specifically, Applicant argues that the marginal portions (12) of Braunger are not a grating frame on a periphery of the grating plate. The Examiner respectfully disagrees since any supporting structure for the grilles (10) are broadly and reasonably a supporting frame for the grilles. Additionally, the combination of Ishimura with Perez (teaching centrally located lower group of nozzles for underbody washing; Figure 2: 5) and Braunger (teaching a grille 10, over pipes 28, 29 and nozzles 31 ,supported at peripheral portions by a marginal portion 12 of a cavity 13) would result in a modification of Ishimura at the containers (31, 32) to contain the pipes and nozzles and to support the grilles at the periphery. "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. MPEP 2141.03.
Applicant reiterates the argument that this rejection is merely conclusory and lacks an articulated rationale. This argument has already been addressed above. Applicant also questions what predictable result would result from bottom spraying pipes connected to a grating frame on a periphery of the grating plate by the fixed pipe clamps. This argument has already been addressed above.
In response to applicant's argument that synergistic effects are produced by the invention, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to Applicant’s amendments, new/modified ground(s) of rejection are applied below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the bottom spraying pipes." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishimura (JP 10-175515), in view of Perez (ES 2368290), and further in view of Braunger (US 3,321,793) and Smith (US 2,597,132).
Regarding claim 1, Ishimura discloses a conveying track for a tunnel-type vehicle washing machine, comprising a track device arranged in a working area (4) and a spraying assembly for mud and sand removal (9, 10), wherein the track device is configured to bear a vehicle and drive the vehicle to move (4; machine translation, page 4, paragraph 2); the spraying assembly for mud and sand removal is configured to wash a bottom surface of the working area (see 4, 9 and 10).
Ishimura does not expressly disclose a bottom spraying assembly is arranged in a middle of the track device to spray water to wash a bottom of the vehicle.
Perez discloses a ground vehicle washing facility having a centrally located lower group of nozzles for underbody washing (Figure 2: 5).
Because it is known in the art to have nozzles for underbody washing as claimed, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known means of washing the underbody, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a bottom spraying assembly is arranged in a middle of the track device to spray water to wash a bottom of the vehicle.
Ishimura does not expressly disclose wherein a grating plate is arranged in the middle of the track device, and the bottom spraying pipes are connected to a grating frame on a periphery of the grating plate by fixed pipe clamps.
Braunger discloses a device for steam cleaning and de-icing the low portions of automobiles, including a grilles of heavy bars (11) placed at marginal portions (12) of cavities (13), and pipes (28, 29) connected with nozzles (31, 33) to spray upwardly. Smith discloses an industrial washing machine including sprayer tubes (11) that are attached to a frame (12) via a U-bolt (15).
Because it is known in the art to provide a grate and grate frame, as taught by Braunger, and to clamp a conduit, as taught be Smith, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known means of protecting and mounting the conduits/nozzles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a grating plate is arranged in the middle of the track device, and the bottom spraying pipes are connected to a grating frame on a periphery of the grating plate by fixed pipe clamps.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ishimura is relied upon as above, and which further discloses wherein the spraying assembly for mud and sand removal comprises bottom mud and sand washing-off pipes on two sides of the track device (10), a plurality of second nozzles are arranged on the bottom mud and sand washing-off pipes to spray water downwards (Ishimura: translation, page 3, “nozzles”), and a water-inlet joint is arranged at one end of a bottom mud and sand washing-off pipes (see 10 and 29).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ishimura does not expressly disclose a water-inlet joint is arranged at one end of each bottom mud and sand washing-off pipes. However, this limitation would be met by duplication of the washing water spray pipe and its washing water supply pipe. It has been established that duplication of parts is obvious to a PHOSITA. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B) – Duplication of Parts. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Ishimura, and to additional water spraying pipes and water supply pipes, yielding a water-inlet joint is arranged at one end of each bottom mud and sand washing-off pipes, predictably resulting in additional water supply and enhanced washing.
Claims 5-6 are considered to be met by modified Ishimura, as applied above and which results in: wherein platform components are arranged on the two sides of the track device, and upper-end surfaces of the platform components are flush with an upper-end surface of the track device (Ishimura: 3a, 5a); wherein each platform component is constructed out of a plurality of platform frame units, and platform plates are arranged at upper ends of the platform frame units (Ishimura: upper surfaces of 3a, 5a);
Claims 9-10 are considered to be met by modified Ishimura, as applied above and which results in: wherein the working area is divided into a parking area, a washing area and a completion area (Ishimura: see regions upstream of element 10, at element 10, and downstream of element 10); wherein an entrance ramp plate and an exit ramp plate are arranged at two ends of the track device respectively (Ishimura: 3a, 5a).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishimura (JP 10-175515), in view of Perez (ES 2368290), and further in view of Braunger (US 3,321,793) and Smith (US 2,597,132), and further in view of Marine et al. (US 6,779,744).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ishimura is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the bottom spraying assembly comprises a three-way joint and two bottom spraying pipes, one port of the three-way joint is a water inlet, while the other two ports are connected to the two bottom spraying pipes respectively, and a plurality of first nozzles are arranged on the bottom spraying pipes to spray water upwards.
Marine discloses an automobile undercarriage cleaner including pipes with upwardly facing holes and at least one T-joint (Figures 1, 2: 64, 106) having a water inlet connected to a pipe (62) on a hose attachment mechanism side of the T-joint (30), and water outlets connected to additional pipes (66, 100).
Because it is known in the art to distribute cleaning water as claimed, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known means of washing the underbody, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the bottom spraying assembly comprises a three-way joint and two bottom spraying pipes, one port of the three-way joint is a water inlet, while the other two ports are connected to the two bottom spraying pipes respectively, and a plurality of first nozzles are arranged on the bottom spraying pipes to spray water upwards.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ishimura (JP 10-175515), in view of Perez (ES 2368290), and further in view of Braunger (US 3,321,793) and Smith (US 2,597,132), and further in view of Tamburri (US 2,981,266).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ishimura does not expressly disclose wherein movable casters and a leveling assembly are arranged at a lower end of the track device.
Tamburri discloses a mobile car washing system including wheels (B; broadly and reasonably a caster) and removable legs or feet (S; broadly and reasonably a leveling assembly).
Because it is known in the art to provide wheels and removable feet/legs, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known means of moving and setting up the washing system, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein movable casters and a leveling assembly are arranged at a lower end of the track device.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ishimura (JP 10-175515), in view of Perez (ES 2368290), and further in view of Braunger (US 3,321,793) and Smith (US 2,597,132), in view of Tamburri (US 2,981,266), and further in view of Aaron (US 3,832,953).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ishimura does not expressly disclose wherein the leveling assembly comprises a screw rod, a track frame supporting member and a locking nut, both the track frame supporting member and the locking nut are in threaded connection to the screw rod, and a frame body of the track device is placed on the track frame supporting member.
Aaron discloses a conveyor for wheeled vehicles including a bulk head (8) at ends of track sections (4) with base members (6) fit over threaded studs (10) to adjust the height of the track sections (4) by turning nuts (12), and the track sections are held firmly in place by nuts (14).
Because it is known in the art to adjust a height of a conveyor for wheeled vehicles, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known means of adjusting the height/leveling the system, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the leveling assembly comprises a screw rod, a track frame supporting member and a locking nut, both the track frame supporting member and the locking nut are in threaded connection to the screw rod, and a frame body of the track device is placed on the track frame supporting member.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711