CTNF 18/987,042 CTNF 86666 DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to the application 18/980042, filed on 12/19/2024. 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-14 have been examined and are pending in this application. Claims 1, 13, and 14 are independent. Priority/Continuity This application has a Foreign Priority of Application No. JP2024-000806, filed on 01/05/2024. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 12/19/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp. Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, respectively, of the co-pending Application No. 18/987012, in view of Ishikawa (“Ishikawa,” JP 2020154832, published on 09/24/2020 (used an English translated copy for mapping). This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented. The following addressed claims 1, 8, and 10 of the reference Application 118/987012 capture the scope of the independent claims 1, 13, and 14 of the instant Application 118/987042, but not citing the limitation, “ give[ing] notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions ” However, Ishikawa, in an analogous art, discloses the scope of the limitation, “ give[ing] notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions ” (Ishikawa: pages 3-4, selectively disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs. The configuration settings are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ishikawa with the method/system of reference applications, to include the limitation, give[ing] notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions where one would have been motivated to implement feature for user to select in enabling/disabling lines for network environment managing, based on the priority and needs ( Ishikawa: pages 3-4 ) . Therefore claims 1, 13, and 14, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting. The dependent claims 2-10 are also subject to double patenting over, the reference, respectively. Instant Application 18/987042 Reference Application 18/987012 1. A server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising: one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: perform a setting whether server functions are enabled or disabled, perform a setting whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment, and give notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions in the serverless computing environment when the server functions are set to be enabled and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment. 1. A server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising: one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: perform settings as to whether server functions are enabled or disabled, perform settings as to whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment, and perform settings to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment. 13. A method for network setting of a server-configurable information processing apparatus, the method comprising: performing a setting whether server functions are enabled or disabled, performing a setting whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment, and giving notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions in the serverless computing environment when the server functions are set to be enabled and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment. 8. A network setting method in a server-configurable information processing apparatus, the network setting method, comprising: performing settings as to whether server functions are enabled or disabled, performing settings as to whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment, and performing settings to disable the server functions to a server function setting unit when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment. 14. A method non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute each step of a method for network setting of a server-configurable information processing apparatus, the method comprising: performing a setting whether server functions are enabled or disabled, performing a setting whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment, and giving notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions in the serverless computing environment when the server functions are set to be enabled and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment. 10. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute each step of a method for network settings of an information processing apparatus, the method comprising: performing settings as to whether server functions are enabled or disabled, performing settings as to whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a serverless computing environment, and performing settings to disable the server functions when the settings of connection are set to connect the information processing apparatus to the serverless computing environment. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the Examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the Examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (“Ishikawa,” JP 2020154832, published on 09/24/2020 (used an English translated copy for mapping), in view of Mystestskyi et al (“Mystestskyi,” US 2025/0173162, filed on 12/29/2023) . As to claim 1, Ishikawa teaches a server-configurable information processing apparatus, comprising: one or more first memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions (Ishikawa: pages 2-4; Fig 1, a Multi-Function Peripheral device (MPF), comprising, processor, a controller unit, and operational uni. The MPF operates to configure and manage connection with a first communication interface and a second communication interface with two separate Local Area Network (LAN) connections) to: perform a setting whether server functions are enabled or disabled, perform a setting whether or not to connect the information processing apparatus to a computing environment (Ishikawa: pages 3-4; Fig 1, the MPF performs proses to identify the network communication lines connecting to the network devices, such as main line and subline, and makes configuration decision to activate both lines or one of the lines , and give notification prompting a user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions in the computing environment when the server functions are set to be enabled and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the computing environment (Ishikawa: pages 3-4, selectively disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs. The configuration settings are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing, based on the priority and needs) . Ishikawa does not explicitly teach computing environment to be a serverless computing environment. However, in an analogous art, Mystestskyi teaches serverless computing environment (Mystestskyi: Abstract, pars 0173, 0225 0246 teaches of a configuring a serverless environment by integrating a set of rules into the serverless environment. Where, the rules are to set of restrictions and/or permissions for a first tenant connection and second tenant connection separately) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mystestskyi with the method/system of Ishikawa to include the limitation(s), serverless computing environment, where one would have been motivated to implement the connection setting of first connection and the connection setting the second connection in a serverless environment for dynamically manages and allocates computing resources for running applications within limited connection environment (Mystestskyi: pars 0173, 0225 0246) . As to claim 2, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Ishikawa further teaches wherein giving the notification of prompting the user to change the setting so as to restrict use of the server functions includes displaying a warning screen including display prompting to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions (Ishikawa: pages 3-5; Fig 1, user is able to change setting, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs, and confirms user setting choice.) . As to claim 3, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, Ishikawa further teaches wherein the warning screen further includes a first object, and the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: block data reception to the information processing apparatus while the warning screen is displayed, and close the warning screen and cancel blocking of the data reception when the first object is operated (Ishikawa: pages 3-5; Fig 1, user is able to change setting, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs, and confirms user setting choice. Displays various messages related to the routing setting, including a message when an error or the like occurs) . As to claim 4, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, Ishikawa further teaches wherein the warning screen further includes a second object, and giving the notification of prompting the user to change the setting so as to restrict use of the server functions is closing the warning screen and performing display, on a status line, prompting to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions when the second object is operated (Ishikawa: pages 3-5; Fig 1, user is able to change setting, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs, and confirms user setting choice) . As to claim 5, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, Ishikawa further teaches wherein the warning screen further includes a third object for calling a setting to restrict use of the server functions (Ishikawa: pages 3-5; Fig 5(a), 5(b) a button is used [i.e., third object] for the user to instruct the user to change the setting of the device. When the button is pressed, the setting screen is shown) . As to claim 6, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Ishikawa further teaches wherein giving the notification prompting the user to change the setting so as to restrict use of the server functions is notification prompting to set to disable a setting of the server functions (Ishikawa: pages 3-5; Fig 1, user is able to change setting, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs) . As to claim 7, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Ishikawa further teaches wherein giving the notification prompting the user to change the setting so as to restrict use of the server functions is giving notification prompting the user to perform a setting of a network filter (Ishikawa: pages 3-4; Fig 1, the MPF specifies whether to enable or disable the network filter setting for the line(s) using the enable / disable setting feature. Then applying the network policy set the network filter table [i.e., setting the filter settings]) . As to claim 8, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Ishikawa further teaches wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: perform a setting of a security policy, wherein giving the notification of prompting the user to change the setting so as to restrict use of the server functions is giving notification of recommending a review of the setting of the security policy (Ishikawa: pages 3-5; Fig 1, user is able to change setting, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs, and confirms user setting choice. Displays various messages related to the routing setting, including a message when an error or the like occurs) . As to claim 9, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Ishikawa further teaches wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: give notification prompting the user to perform a setting of a network filter when the information processing apparatus is connected to a plurality of networks, the server functions are set to be enabled, and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment (Ishikawa: pages 3-4, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs. Filter policy specification unit can specify the filter policy for the lines by the user. Displaying network filter rule, and receiving the selection input from user) . As to claim 10, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Ishikawa further teaches wherein the one or more first processors that execute the set of instructions to: give notification prompting the user to perform a setting of disabling the server functions when there is one line of the network to which the information processing apparatus is connected, the server functions are set to be enabled, and the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment (Ishikawa: pages 3-4; Fig 1, the MPF performs proses to identify the network communication lines, and makes configuration decision to activate both lines or one of the lines) . As to claim 11, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Ishikawa further teaches wherein the one or more processors execute instructions in the one or more memory devices to: set a security policy, and give notification of a recommendation to review setting of the security policy when the server functions are set to be enabled, the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment, and the security policy is set (Ishikawa: pages 3-5; Fig 1, user is able to change setting, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs, and confirms user setting choice. Displays various messages related to the routing setting, including a message when an error or the like occurs) . As to claim 12, the combination of Ishikawa and Mystestskyi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Ishikawa further teaches wherein the one or more processors execute instructions in the one or more memory devices to: perform a setting whether to give notification prompting the user to change a setting so as to disable the server functions in the serverless computing environment, and give notification prompting the user to change a setting so as to restrict use of the server functions in the serverless computing environment when the server functions are set to be enabled, the information processing apparatus is set to be connected to the serverless computing environment, and a setting to give notification prompting the user is set (Ishikawa: pages 3-5; Fig 1, user is able to change setting, the configuration setting are displayed on the operation unit, for user to selectively enabling/disabling one of the lines for network environment managing based on the priority and needs, and confirms user setting choice. [i.e., both disabling and enabling operation setting process]) . As to claim 13, the claim is directed to a method, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of the apparatus claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1. As to claim 14, the claim is directed to a storage medium, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of the apparatus claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1. Conclusion 07-101 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Jahangir Kabir whose telephone number is (571) 270-3355. The Examiner can normally be reached on 9:00- 5:00 Mon-Thu. If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Luu Pham can be reached on (571) 270-5002. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center and the Private Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center or Private PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center and Private PAIR for authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form. /JAHANGIR KABIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 2 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 3 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 4 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 5 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 6 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 7 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 8 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 9 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 11 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 12 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 13 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 14 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 15 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 16 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 17 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/987,042 Page 18 Art Unit: 2439