DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Drawings
3. The drawing has been filed on 12/19/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. [hereafter Bhatt], US Patent 12,175,140 in view of Achiwa, US Pub 2017/0206628.
As to claim 1 [independent], Bhatt teaches a method for managing printing operations, the method comprising:
determining a page of a job is a complex page according to a raster image processing (RIP) system accessible by a printing device [abstract, col. 2 (para., # 6), lines 4-11 Bhatt teaches that determination has to be made whether first page is complex page or simple page, if the determination is made that the first page is complex page, storing the rendered first page in a first memory drive of a hierarchy of memory drives accessible by the RIP system 110];
dividing the page into a number of bands, wherein each band includes a portion of the page [fig. 3; col. 12 (paras., # 63-67), lines 19-65 Bhatt teaches that numbers of RIPs are determined to distribute the segmented page obviously provides band or tile image of the page];
processing the number of bands using a number of parallel RIPs, wherein each band of the number of bands is processed by a respective parallel RIP of the number of RIPs [fig. 3; col. 12 (paras., # 63-67), lines 19-65 Bhatt teaches that a RIP having a certain number of renderers. For example, RIP instance 3081 may be a standard RIP having a normal number of renderers, such as 4. RIP instance 3082 may be a high performance RIP that has a higher number of renders, such as 6, then distributes pages or segments of job 103 to RIP instances 3081, 3082, and 308n. Job 103 may be a print job that is split into segments or pages for parallel processing. As RIP instance 3082 is a high performance RIP, then it may receive specific segments of job 103. Pages may refer to one or more pages of job 103. Segments of job 103 also may refer to a number of pages or a block of data within job 103];
processing the number of bands using a number of parallel RIPs, wherein each band of the number of bands is processed by a respective parallel RIP of the number of RIPs [fig. 3; col. 12 (paras., # 63-67), lines 19-65 Bhatt teaches that a RIP having a certain number of renderers. For example, RIP instance 3081 may be a standard RIP having a normal number of renderers, such as 4. RIP instance 3082 may be a high performance RIP that has a higher number of renders, such as 6, then distributes pages or segments of job 103 to RIP instances 3081, 3082, and 308n. Job 103 may be a print job that is split into segments or pages for parallel processing];
Bhatt doesn’t teach (but teaches implicitly) assembling the number of processed bands into the page; and
providing the assembled page to another component of the printing device for further printing operations.
Achiwa teaches dividing the page into a number of bands, wherein each band includes a portion of the page [fig. 1, element 114 & fig. 3; 0038-0039, 0044, 0046, 0049, 0054-0055 Achiwa teaches that the RIP 114 executes image rendering/drawing processes in parallel on rectangular regions which are a plurality of bands or tiles within a single page. The RIP 114 generates raster image data (raster data) 204 of the plurality of bands or tiles by performing the parallel drawing processes and temporarily holds the raster data in memory115];
processing the number of bands using a number of parallel RIPs, wherein each band of the number of bands is processed by a respective parallel RIP of the number of RIPs [fig. 1, element 114 & fig. 3; 0038-0039, 0044, 0046, 0049, 0054-0055 Achiwa teaches that the RIP 114 executes image rendering/drawing processes in parallel on rectangular regions which are a plurality of bands or tiles within a single page. The RIP 114 generates raster image data (raster data) 204 of the plurality of bands or tiles by performing the parallel drawing processes and temporarily holds the raster data in memory115];
assembling the number of processed bands into the page [0074-0077 Achiwa teaches that the processor 108 transfers the processed image data 206 from the band or tile data to the printing unit 105 Then, the processor 108 performs a correction image process based on a device characteristic of the printing unit 105 on the processed image data 206 and then transfers the processed image data to the printing unit 105 for printing operation or task]; and
providing the assembled page to another component of the printing device for further printing operations [0074-0077 Achiwa teaches that the processor 108 transfers the processed image data 206 from the band or tile data to the printing unit 105 Then, the processor 108 performs a correction image process based on a device characteristic of the printing unit 105 on the processed image data 206 and then transfers the processed image data to the printing unit 105 for printing operation or task].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Achiwa teaching to assemble the number of processed bands or tiles into the page for printer to print page on sheet to modify Bhatt’s teaching to generate a raster image of a region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height by rendering unit which performs rendering in regions each having the predetermined width and a height smaller than the predetermined height based on the print data. A segmenting unit segments the generated raster image of the region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height into raster images of segment regions. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to apply rasterizing technique that minimizes the overhead of a drawing process rather than dividing a page in a main scanning direction, and thus ensures higher efficiency in parallel operations.
As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Bhatt teaches wherein the number of parallel RIPs is equal to the number of bands for the page [fig. 3; col. 12 (paras., # 63-67), lines 19-65 Bhatt teaches that a RIP having a certain number of renderers. For example, RIP instance 3081 may be a standard RIP having a normal number of renderers, such as 4. RIP instance 3082 may be a high performance RIP that has a higher number of renders, such as 6, then distributes pages or segments of job 103 to RIP instances 3081, 3082, and 308n. Job 103 may be a print job that is split into segments or pages for parallel processing].
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 1], Achiwa teaches wherein the number of bands is fixed for the RIP system [figs. 3a-b; 0046-0047].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Achiwa teaching to assemble the number of processed bands or tiles into the page for printer to print page on sheet to modify Bhatt’s teaching to generate a raster image of a region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height by rendering unit which performs rendering in regions each having the predetermined width and a height smaller than the predetermined height based on the print data. A segmenting unit segments the generated raster image of the region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height into raster images of segment regions. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to apply rasterizing technique that minimizes the overhead of a drawing process rather than dividing a page in a main scanning direction, and thus ensures higher efficiency in parallel operations.
As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 1], Achiwa teaches wherein a dimension for each of the number of bands is fixed [figs. 3a-b; abstract, 0046-0047 Achiwa teaches that the dimension for each of the number of bands or tiles is fixed as shown figs. 3a-b].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Achiwa teaching to assemble the number of processed bands or tiles into the page for printer to print page on sheet to modify Bhatt’s teaching to generate a raster image of a region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height by rendering unit which performs rendering in regions each having the predetermined width and a height smaller than the predetermined height based on the print data. A segmenting unit segments the generated raster image of the region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height into raster images of segment regions. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to apply rasterizing technique that minimizes the overhead of a drawing process rather than dividing a page in a main scanning direction, and thus ensures higher efficiency in parallel operations.
As to claim 5 [dependent from claim 1], Bhatt teaches wherein the page is within a plurality of pages of the job [abstract].
As to claim 6 [dependent from claim 5], Bhatt teaches classifying each page of the plurality of pages as simple or complex [abstract, col. 2 (para., # 6), lines 4-11 Bhatt teaches that determination has to be made whether first page is complex page or simple page].
As to claim 7 [dependent from claim 1], Bhatt teaches wherein determining the page is complex includes determining a complexity score for the page [abstract, col. 2 (para., # 6), lines 4-11 Bhatt teaches that determination has to be made whether first page is complex page or simple page].
As to claim 8 [dependent from claim 7], Bhatt teaches wherein the number of bands for the page corresponds to the complexity score [abstract, col. 2 (para., # 6), lines 4-11, col. 12 (paras., # 147, 150), lines 4-13, 37-43 Bhatt teaches that determination has to be made whether first page is complex page, if the determination is made by applying rule that the first page is complex page when determining an actual rendering time or that a page is marked complex if page weight 1306 exceeds base page weight 1310. If page weight 1306 exceeds base page weight 1310, then page 1105 is marked complex. If page weight 1306 is equal or less than base page weight 1310, then page 1105 is marked as simple].
As to claim 9 [independent], However, the independent claim 9 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 9 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1.
As to claim 10 [dependent from 9], However, the dependent claim 10 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 2 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 10 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 2.
As to claim 11 [dependent from 9], However, the dependent claim 11 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 3 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 11 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 3.
As to claim 12 [dependent from 9], However, the dependent claim 12 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 4 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 12 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 4.
As to claim 13 [dependent from 9], However, the dependent claim 13 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 5 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 13 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 5.
As to claim 14 [dependent from 13], However, the dependent claim 14 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 6 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 14 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 6.
As to claim 15 [dependent from 9], However, the dependent claim 15 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 7 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 15 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 7.
As to claim 16 [dependent from 15], However, the dependent claim 16 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 8 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 16 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 8.
As to claim 17 [independent], Bhatt teaches a method for managing printing operations, the method comprising:
receiving a print job having a plurality of pages at a printing device [fig. 1, elements 102-104; cols. 7-8 (paras., # 37-38), lines 61-67 thru lines 1-9 Bhatt teaches that the printer 104 receives print jobs from client device 101], wherein the printing device includes a digital front end having a raster image processing (RIP) system to process the print job [fig. 1, element 106; cols. 7-8 (paras., # 37-40), lines 61-67 thru lines 1-36 Bhatt teaches that the printer 104 includes a controller, or digital front end (DFE), 106, which facilitates processing job 103 & RIP system 110 to convert bitmap images, vector graphics, fonts, and the like associated with pages in job 103 to bitmap/rasterized representations of the pages, such as C, M, Y, and K pixels. The RIP system 110 may rasterize pages of job 103 according to various image rasterization settings];
determining a first page of the plurality of pages is a complex page according to the RIP system [abstract, col. 2 (para., # 6), lines 4-11 Bhatt teaches that determination has to be made whether first page is complex page or simple page, if the determination is made that the first page is complex page, storing the rendered first page in a first memory drive of a hierarchy of memory drives accessible by the RIP system];
determining a second page of the plurality of pages is a simple page according to the RIP system [abstract, col. 2 (paras., # 6, 98), lines 4-11, col. 23 (paras., # 136-140), lines 16-67 Bhatt teaches that determination has to be made whether first page is complex page or simple page, if the determination is made that the second page is simple page, then executing by not rendering and not storing a simple page. The RIP will not render or store page 605, for example, in memory 506, a simple page may be rendered when printing operations commence without any significant impact on print engine 260];
dividing the first page into a number of portions [fig. 3; col. 12 (paras., # 63-67), lines 19-65 Bhatt teaches that numbers of RIPs are determined to distribute the segmented page obviously provides band or tile image of the page];
rendering the number of portions using a number of first parallel RIPs of a plurality of RIPs of the RIP system, wherein each portion of the number of portions is processed by a respective parallel RIP of the number of RIPs [fig. 3; col. 12 (paras., # 63-67), lines 19-65 Bhatt teaches that a RIP having a certain number of renderers. For example, RIP instance 3081 may be a standard RIP having a normal number of renderers, such as 4. RIP instance 3082 may be a high performance RIP that has a higher number of renders, such as 6, then distributes pages or segments of job 103 to RIP instances 3081, 3082, and 308n. Job 103 may be a print job that is split into segments or pages for parallel processing];
Bhatt doesn’t teach (but teaches implicitly) assembling the number of processed portions into the first page;
rendering the second page using a second RIP of the plurality of RIPs of the RIP system; and
providing the first page and the second page to a print engine of the printing device.
Achiwa teaches assembling the number of processed portions into the first page [0074-0077 Achiwa teaches that the processor 108 transfers the processed image data 206 from the band or tile data to the printing unit 105 Then, the processor 108 performs a correction image process based on a device characteristic of the printing unit 105 on the processed image data 206 and then transfers the processed image data to the printing unit 105 for printing operation or task];
rendering the second page using a second RIP of the plurality of RIPs of the RIP system [0074-0077 Achiwa teaches that the processor 108 transfers the processed image data 206 from the band or tile data to the printing unit 105 Then, the processor 108 performs a correction image process based on a device characteristic of the printing unit 105 on the processed image data 206 and then transfers the processed image data to the printing unit 105 for printing operation or task]; and
providing the first page and the second page to a print engine of the printing device [0074-0077 Achiwa teaches that the processor 108 transfers the processed image data 206 from the band or tile data to the printing unit 105 Then, the processor 108 performs a correction image process based on a device characteristic of the printing unit 105 on the processed image data 206 and then transfers the processed image data to the printing unit 105 for printing operation or task].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Achiwa teaching to assemble the number of processed bands or tiles into the page for printer to print page on sheet to modify Bhatt’s teaching to generate a raster image of a region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height by rendering unit which performs rendering in regions each having the predetermined width and a height smaller than the predetermined height based on the print data. A segmenting unit segments the generated raster image of the region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height into raster images of segment regions. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to apply rasterizing technique that minimizes the overhead of a drawing process rather than dividing a page in a main scanning direction, and thus ensures higher efficiency in parallel operations.
As to claim 18 [dependent from claim 17], Achiwa teaches wherein the number of portions includes a number of bands within the first page [figs. 3a-b; abstract, 0046-0047 Achiwa teaches that the dimension for each of the number of bands or tiles is fixed as shown figs. 3a-b].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Achiwa teaching to assemble the number of processed bands or tiles into the page for printer to print page on sheet to modify Bhatt’s teaching to generate a raster image of a region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height by rendering unit which performs rendering in regions each having the predetermined width and a height smaller than the predetermined height based on the print data. A segmenting unit segments the generated raster image of the region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height into raster images of segment regions. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to apply rasterizing technique that minimizes the overhead of a drawing process rather than dividing a page in a main scanning direction, and thus ensures higher efficiency in parallel operations.
As to claim 19 [dependent from claim 17], Achiwa teaches wherein the number of portions includes a number of tiles within the first page [figs. 3a-b; abstract, 0046-0047 Achiwa teaches that the dimension for each of the number of bands or tiles is fixed as shown figs. 3a-b].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Achiwa teaching to assemble the number of processed bands or tiles into the page for printer to print page on sheet to modify Bhatt’s teaching to generate a raster image of a region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height by rendering unit which performs rendering in regions each having the predetermined width and a height smaller than the predetermined height based on the print data. A segmenting unit segments the generated raster image of the region having the predetermined width and the predetermined height into raster images of segment regions. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to apply rasterizing technique that minimizes the overhead of a drawing process rather than dividing a page in a main scanning direction, and thus ensures higher efficiency in parallel operations.
As to claim 20 [dependent from claim 17], Bhatt teaches wherein the first page and the second page are assigned complexity scores [abstract, col. 2 (para., # 6), lines 4-11, col. 12 (paras., # 147, 150), lines 4-13, 37-43 Bhatt teaches that determination has to be made whether first page is complex page, if the determination is made by applying rule that the first page is complex page when determining an actual rendering time or that a page is marked complex if page weight 1306 exceeds base page weight 1310. If page weight 1306 exceeds base page weight 1310, then page 1105 is marked complex. If page weight 1306 is equal or less than base page weight 1310, then page 1105 is marked as simple].
Conclusion
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682