DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Moore et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2017/0210098.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 8-9, Moore’s reference claim 1 discloses a fire resistant structural panel comprising a base layer with a first surface and a second surface; at least one fire resistant layer substantially coating the first or second surface or both; at least one water resistant layer substantially coating the one fire resistant layer. It is disclosed in paragraph 0011 that the fire resistant coating is integrally applied. Paragraph 0010 discloses a multi-layered panel wherein the multilayered panel comprises a wood structural panel such as an oriented strand board (OSB), coated or treated with a product that provides fire resistance. Also, paragraph 0010 discloses that the treatment may be integrated with the material forming the wood structural panel is also coated with a weather or water resistive barrier layer. Paragraph 0027 discloses that the fire resistant layer is applied to one side of the panel. Paragraph 0029 discloses that the water resistive layer can be applied to both sides of the panel. Figure 9 shows the production process wherein the fire resistant layer is applied first. It is disclosed in paragraphs 0011 and 0027 that the fire resistant treatment includes non-combustible magnesium oxide coating or a non-combustible fiberglass reinforced magnesium oxide coating. Figure 4 shows that the water resistive layer coats the first surface entirely. Paragraph 0040 discloses that the panel is cured. Paragraph 0039 of Moore discloses that The finished product is an OSB panel with integral fire resistive layers and one or more water resistive layers. Applicant’s claim 1 is directed to a product and the manner in which the coating is applied is given minimal patentable weight in a product claim. The manner in which the product is made does not make the product different from the prior art when the product of the prior art has the same components as claimed.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 9-10, the abstract of Moore discloses that base layer can include an OSB or plywood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2017/0210098 in view of Gutierrez et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2021/0285216.
Moore, above, remains relied upon for claims 1 and 8.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 11, Moore is silent to the water resistant layer comprising a resin impregnated paper overlayer. Gutierrez discloses a multi-layered panel with a base layer comprising engineered or manufactured wood; a water resistant barrier layer (WRB) covering at least the outer face of the base layer. Paragraph 0027 of Gutierrez discloses that the wood may be an oriented strand board. Additionally, paragraph 0027 of Gutierrez discloses that the panel may be treated on one or both surfaces with a product that provides fire resistance. Also, paragraph 0027 discloses that the water resistive barrier layer (WRB) can include a paper overlay wherein the WRB may be coated with a polymer or adhesive [resin impregnated paper]. Moore and Gutierrez both disclose multi- layer panels having a base layer formed of an oriented strand board; a water resistive barrier layer coating on one side of the base layer. Moore and Gutierrez are analogous art. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize the resin impregnated paper of Gutierrez as the water resistive barrier layer in Moore for the benefit of enhanced water resistance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 8-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,188,230. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite
A fire-resistant structural panel, comprising: a base layer with a first surface and a second surface; at least one water-resistant layer substantially coating the first surface, the at least one water-resistant layer comprising a resin-impregnated paper overlay; and at least one fire-resistant layer substantially coating the second surface, the at least one fire-resistant layer comprising non-combustible magnesium oxide, the magnesium oxide layer applied as a coating of slurry to substantially cover the second surface; wherein the base layer, the at least one fire-resistant layer, and the at least one water-resistant layer form are pre-formed and then cured into an integral panel as recited in present claims 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11 and patented claims 1 and 8.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the base layer comprises wood or engineered composite material as recited in present claims 2 and 9 and patented claim 2.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the base layer comprises oriented-strand board, fiberboard, particleboard, or plywood as recited in present claims 3 and 10 and patented claims 3 and 9-10.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein further comprising a second fire-resistant layer substantially coating the at least one water-resistant layer as recited in present claim 6 and patented claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the patented reference recites A fire-resistant structural panel, comprising: a base layer with a first surface and a second surface; at least one water-resistant layer substantially coating the first surface, the at least one water-resistant layer comprising a resin-impregnated paper overlay; and at least one fire-resistant layer substantially coating the second surface, the at least one fire-resistant layer comprising non-combustible magnesium oxide, the magnesium oxide layer applied as a coating of slurry to substantially cover the second surface. The “at least one” water-resistant layer can include a second water resistant layer.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786