DETAILED ACTION
In Response to Election filed on 07/02/2026, claims 1-24 are pending. Claims 16-24 are withdrawn based on the restriction requirement. Claims 1-15 are considered in the current Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/02/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 07/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/29/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities. Furthermore, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon as per MPEP §2115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2017/0157843 (“Nystrom et al” hereinafter Nystrom).
Regarding Claim 1, Nystrom teaches a three-dimensional (3D) printing apparatus (Figure 3 and abstract), comprising:
a material extrusion portion (Figure 3), comprising a material accommodation chamber (Figure 3, material chamber 120) and an extrusion outlet (Figure 3, orifice or nozzle 110) in communication with the material accommodation chamber (Figure 3), wherein the material accommodation chamber is configured to accommodate a molten material (Figure 3, material chamber 120 holds liquid material 200 [0057]), and the extrusion outlet is configured to extrude the molten material to a current printing layer (Figure 3, orifice or nozzle 110 eject the material 200 in liquid form into layer [0057]); and
a switch assembly (Figure 3, pin chamber 140 with actuated pin 150), coupled to the extrusion outlet (Figure 3 and [0027], pin chamber 140 is couple to the nozzle 110), wherein the switch assembly is configured to perform on-off control on an area at which the extrusion outlet is located (Figure 3 and [0035]) to form a plurality of sub-extrusion outlets with continuously adjustable widths ([0035]-[0038] and Figure 3. Based on the number of actuated pin moved within the pin chamber, the width of the plurality of sub-extrusion outlet is also adjusted), the plurality of sub- extrusion outlets are configured to simultaneously print a plurality of partitions in the current printing layer ([0035]-[0038]), and in a process of printing the plurality of partitions (the plurality of partitions are directed to the product formed by the claimed apparatus, thus, patentable weight are only given to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115) by using the plurality of sub-extrusion outlets, a width of each of the plurality of sub-extrusion outlets is changed with change of a contour line of a partition corresponding to the sub-extrusion outlet ([0035]-[0038]), so that the molten material is filled into the partition corresponding to the sub-extrusion outlet at one time ([0035]-[0038]. Based on the number of actuated pin moved within the pin chamber, the width of the plurality of sub-extrusion outlet is adjusted, thus, the partition of the printed layer is also adjusted. Thus, the apparatus discloses by Nystrom is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed).
Regarding Claim 2, Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of partitions comprise a first partition and a second partition (the plurality of partitions are directed to the product formed by the claimed apparatus; thus, patentable weight are only given to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115. In this case, the number of partition formed does not add any additional structural limitations to the apparatus), the plurality of sub-extrusion outlets comprise a first sub-extrusion outlet and a second sub-extrusion outlet (see annotated Figure 3), the first sub-extrusion outlet and the second sub-extrusion outlet are configured to print the first partition and the second partition, respectively ([0035]-[0038]), the first partition and the second partition have mutually isolated areas and mutually connected areas (Figure 3, the plurality of sub-extrusion outlets do not overlap with each thus, the partitions formed by these outlets also do not overlap with each other), and during printing of the mutually connected areas, the on-off control by the switch assembly causes the first sub-extrusion outlet and the second sub- extrusion outlet to be merged into one sub-extrusion outlet ([0035]-[0038], the width of the sub-extrusion outlet can be controlled to form into one outlet).
Regarding Claim 8, Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the switch assembly comprises one or more of following switches: a motor-controlled switch (Figure 3 and [0026], actuated pins 150 which implied that it is motor/machine controlled), a pneumatic-controlled switch, or a hydraulic-controlled switch.
Regarding Claim 9, Nystrom teaches a three-dimensional (3D) printing apparatus (Figure 3 and abstract), comprising:
a material extrusion portion (Figure 3), comprising a material accommodation chamber (Figure 3, material chamber 120) and an extrusion outlet (Figure 3, orifice or nozzle 110), wherein the material accommodation chamber is configured to accommodate a molten material (Figure 3, material chamber 120 holds liquid material 200 [0057]), the extrusion outlet comprises a plurality of channels in communication with the material accommodation chamber (Figure 3), the plurality of channels are configured to extrude the molten material to a current printing layer (Figure 3, orifice or nozzle 110 eject the material 200 in liquid form into layer [0057]), and materials extruded from adjacent channels in the plurality of channels are fused together in the current printing layer ([0057], limitation directed to the product worked upon by the apparatus thus, patentable weight are only given to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115. In this case, the limitation does not add additional structure to the apparatus); and
a switch assembly (Figure 3, pin chamber 140 with actuated pin 150), coupled to the plurality of channels (Figure 3 and [0027], pin chamber 140 is couple to the nozzle 110), wherein the switch assembly is configured to perform on-off control on the plurality of channels to form a plurality of sub-extrusion outlets with continuously adjustable widths ([0035]-[0038] and Figure 3. Based on the number of actuated pin moved within the pin chamber, the width of the plurality of sub-extrusion outlet is also adjusted).
Regarding Claim 10, Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the plurality of sub-extrusion outlets are configured to simultaneously print a plurality of partitions in the current printing layer ([0035]-[0038]), and in a process of printing the plurality of partitions (the plurality of partitions are directed to the product formed by the claimed apparatus; thus, patentable weight are only given to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115) by using the plurality of sub-extrusion outlets, a width of each of the plurality of sub-extrusion outlets is changed with change of a contour line of a partition corresponding to the sub-extrusion outlet ([0035]-[0038]), so that the molten material is filled into the partition corresponding to the sub-extrusion outlet at one time ([0035]-[0038]. Based on the number of actuated pin moved within the pin chamber, the width of the plurality of sub-extrusion outlet is adjusted, thus, the partition of the printed layer is also adjusted. Thus, the apparatus discloses by Nystrom is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed).
Regarding Claim 11, Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the plurality of partitions comprise a first partition and a second partition (the plurality of partitions are directed to the product formed by the claimed apparatus; thus, patentable weight are only given to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115. In this case, the number of partition formed does not add any additional structural limitations to the apparatus), the plurality of sub-extrusion outlets comprise a first sub-extrusion outlet and a second sub-extrusion outlet (see annotated Figure 3), the first sub-extrusion outlet and the second sub-extrusion outlet are configured to print the first partition and the second partition, respectively ([0035]-[0038]), the first partition and the second partition have mutually isolated areas and mutually connected areas (Figure 3, the plurality of sub-extrusion outlets do not overlap with each thus, the partitions formed by these outlets also do not overlap with each other), and during printing of the mutually connected areas, the on-off control by the switch assembly causes the first sub-extrusion outlet and the second sub- extrusion outlet to be merged into one sub-extrusion outlet ([0035]-[0038], the width of the sub-extrusion outlet can be controlled to form into one outlet).
Regarding Claim 15, Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the plurality of channels are arranged in a staggered manner (Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2017/0157843 (“Nystrom et al” hereinafter Nystrom) as applied to claims 1 or 9 above, and further in view of US2018/0162049 (“Taniguchi et al” hereinafter Taniguchi).
Regarding Claim 3, Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the switch assembly comprises a plurality of sheet switches, and the plurality of sheet switches are changed in shape under the control of temperature and/or voltage, to perform the on-off control on the area at which the extrusion outlet is located.
However, Taniguchi teaches the switch assembly comprises a plurality of sheet switches (Figure 1A, thermal strain generating member 3 comprises of pieces 32 formed from a metal piece [0060]), and the plurality of sheet switches are changed in shape under the control of temperature ([0060], when the piece 32 is heated, warpage deformation occurs to the thin plate 31 due to the difference in the thermal expansion coefficients between the thin plate 31 and the piece 32 . In this case, a width of the piece 32 is preferably narrower than a width of the flow path because the thin plate 31 is deformed and pierces into the flow path 12 when the thermal expansion coefficient of the piece 32 is larger than that of the thin plate 31) and/or voltage, to perform the on-off control on the area at which the extrusion outlet is located ([0060]).
Nystrom and Taniguchi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing with a controlled and adjusted flow path width. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Nystrom such that it discloses all of the above mention limitations as taught by Taniguchi to instantaneously adjust the width of the discharge material flow path through temperature control ([0086]).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of switches are disposed inside the material accommodation chamber (Nystrom, Figure 3, pins 150 are located within the material chamber 120), and disposed above the area at which the extrusion outlet is located (Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, Nystrom fails to teach wherein the plurality of sheet switches are disposed outside the material accommodation chamber, the plurality of sheet switches are respectively connected to a plurality of transmission members, and the on-off control is performed on the area at which the extrusion outlet is located by using the plurality of transmission members.
However, Taniguchi teaches the plurality of sheet switches are disposed outside the material accommodation chamber (Figure 4A, the plurality of thermal strain generating member 32 are located within the flow path and not the material accommodation chamber), the plurality of sheet switches are respectively connected to a plurality of transmission members (Figure 1, the thermal strain generating member 32 are connected to heating plate 4), and the on-off control is performed on the area at which the extrusion outlet is located by using the plurality of transmission members ([0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Nystrom such that it discloses all of the above mention limitations as taught by Taniguchi to instantaneously adjust the width of the discharge material flow path through temperature control ([0086]). Furthermore, a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, Nystrom further teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises: a control chamber (Figure 9, printhead 100 which comprises of control unit which considered as a control chamber [0051]), wherein the plurality of sheet switches are located inside the control chamber (Figure 9, pins 150 are located within printhead 100); a material storage box (Figure 9, material delivery system 900 store material 904), in communication with the material accommodation chamber of the material extrusion portion (Figure 9); and a pneumatic conveying pipeline, in communication with both the material storage box and the control chamber (Figure 9, pipeline that convey filament 902 from supply reel 904 to printhead 100 driven by driver 906).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of sheet switches comprises one or more of following: piezoelectric bimorphs, bimetallic strips (Taniguchi, Figure 1A, thermal strain generating member 3 comprises of pieces 32 formed from a bimetal piece [0060]), heat-expandable metal resistors, or memory alloys.
Regarding Claim 12, Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, but fails to teach wherein the switch assembly comprises a plurality of sheet switches in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of channels, and the plurality of sheet switches are changed in shape under the control of temperature and/or voltage, to perform the on-off control on the plurality of channels.
However, Taniguchi teaches the switch assembly comprises a plurality of sheet switches (Figure 1A, thermal strain generating member 3 comprises of pieces 32 formed from a metal piece [0060]) in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of channels (Figure 3), and the plurality of sheet switches are changed in shape under the control of temperature ([0060], when the piece 32 is heated, warpage deformation occurs to the thin plate 31 due to the difference in the thermal expansion coefficients between the thin plate 31 and the piece 32 . In this case, a width of the piece 32 is preferably narrower than a width of the flow path because the thin plate 31 is deformed and pierces into the flow path 12 when the thermal expansion coefficient of the piece 32 is larger than that of the thin plate 31) and/or voltage, to perform the on-off control on the plurality of channels ([0060]).
Nystrom and Taniguchi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing with a controlled and adjusted flow path width. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Nystrom such that it discloses all of the above mention limitations as taught by Taniguchi to instantaneously adjust the width of the discharge material flow path through temperature control ([0086]).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of sheet switches are disposed inside the material accommodation chamber (Nystrom, Figure 3, pins 150 are located within the material chamber 120), and disposed above the plurality of channels (Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 14, the modified Nystrom teaches the apparatus according to claim 12, Nystrom further teaches wherein the apparatus (Figure 9) further comprises: a control chamber (Figure 9, printhead 100 which comprises of control unit which considered as a control chamber [0051]), wherein the plurality of sheet switches are located inside the control chamber (Figure 9, pins 150 are located within printhead 100); a material storage box (Figure 9, material delivery system 900 store material 904), in communication with the material accommodation chamber of the material extrusion portion (Figure 9); and a pneumatic conveying pipeline, in communication with both the material storage box and the control chamber (Figure 9, pipeline that convey filament 902 from supply reel 904 to printhead 100 driven by driver 906).
Conclusion
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754