DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 18-31,33,36,57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (USPN 2012/0132525-Cited by the Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al. discloses an analyte sensor comprising a sensing layer and a membrane polymer, wherein the sensing layer comprises glucose oxidase enzyme and wherein the sensing layer and/or the membrane polymer comprise a carbohydrate. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 2, Liu et al. discloses the sensing layer comprises a redox polymer. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 3, Liu et al. discloses the redox polymer comprises a transition metal complex, a polymeric backbone, and a crosslinker. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 18, Liu et al. discloses the carbohydrate is a pyranose, furanose, disaccharide, oligosaccharide, polysaccharide, iminosugar, sugar alcohol, glycoside, amino sugar, or a combination thereof. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 19, Liu et al. discloses the pyranose is glucose, galactose, mannose, or a combination thereof. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 20, Liu et al. discloses the furanose is fructose, xylose, ribose, or a combination thereof. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 21, Liu et al. discloses the disaccharide is lactose, maltose, cellobiose, or a combination thereof. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 22, Liu et al. discloses the oligo- or polysaccharide is starch, maltotriose, amylose, cellulose, inulin, or a combination thereof. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 23, Liu et al. discloses the iminosugar is nojirimycin. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 24, Liu et al. discloses said sugar alcohol is inositol. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 25, Liu et al. discloses said glycoside is a glucoside. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 26, Liu et al. discloses the glucoside is 1-O-methyl glucose. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 27, Liu et al. discloses the glycoside comprises an aryl group. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 28, Liu et al. discloses the glycoside comprises an acyl group. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 29, Liu et al. discloses the amino sugar is a glucosamine or N- acetylglucosamine. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 30, Liu et al. discloses method of manufacturing an analyte sensor, the method comprising contacting a sensing layer of the analyte sensor with a carbohydrate, wherein the sensing layer comprises glucose oxidase enzyme. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 31, Liu et al. discloses said contacting comprises contacting the sensing layer with a solution comprising the carbohydrate, followed by coating the sensing layer with a membrane polymer. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 33, Liu et al. discloses said contacting comprises contacting the sensing layer with a solution comprising the carbohydrate, a membrane polymer, and a crosslinker. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 36, Liu et al. discloses the analyte sensor comprises a sensing layer coated with a membrane polymer, and wherein said contacting comprises contacting the electrochemical sensor device with a solution comprising the carbohydrate, wherein the carbohydrate diffuses through the membrane polymer and into the sensing layer. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Regarding claim 57, Liu et al. discloses a method of monitoring blood glucose levels in a subject, comprising contacting the subject with the analyte sensor of claim 1. See [0169]-[0180], claims 7-10, figure 2.
Conclusion
/MARJAN FARDANESH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791