Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Beaufrere (US 20220314738, disclosed in IDS submitted on 07/14/2025) in view of Lowe (US 20230174008).
For claim 1, Bea teaches: A power system for optimizing power supply to an Electrified Transportation Refrigeration Unit (E-TRU) of an electric vehicle (abstract, disclosing a controller monitoring a vehicle and controlling axle generator), the power system comprising:
an energy storage unit configured to supply power to the E-TRU ([0017], disclosing power management system may comprise an energy storage device. The energy storage device may be operable to power the transport refrigeration unit);
an axle generator in communication with the energy storage unit and adapted to supply power to at least one of the energy storage unit and the E-TRU (abstract, disclosing an axle generator. [0008], disclosing axle generator powers TRU. [0017], disclosing energy storage device may be charged by the generator);
monitor a charge management system in communication with the E-TRU, the energy storage unit, and the axle generator ([0010-0015], disclosing power management system charges battery, provides power to TRU and controls axle generator), the charge management system configured to:
monitor a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit ([0019], disclosing he generator may recharge the energy storage device when a state-of-charge of the energy storage device is below a predetermined threshold);
access route information associated with the at least one of information retrieved from a Geographical Information System (GIS) ([0042-0042], disclosing receiving geographical data such as weather, headwind or tailwind), information associated with driver behavior ([0062], disclosing monitoring operational parameters as brake pedal position and accelerator pedal position), and information retrieved from a sensing system associated with the
predict a power requirement of at least the E-TRU based on the accessed route information (abstract, disclosing a controller configured to monitor a speed of the vehicle and to selectively couple and decouple the generator from the axle. Hence accessed route information is used to predict requirement);
control the axle generator in at least one of an engaged mode and a disengaged mode based on the monitored SoC and the predicted power requirement of at least the E-TRU(abstract, disclosing selectively coupling and decoupling generator. [0020-0023], disclosing generator is selectively engaged based on demand of TRU i.e., predicted power requirement. [0019], disclosing energy storage device may be selectively recharged by the generator. That is, the generator may recharge the energy storage device when a state-of-charge of the energy storage device is below a predetermined threshold. [0038-0043], disclosing coupling generator when vehicle is decelerating and location data when transmitted in real time will allow the controller to determine a change in the vehicle's position with respect to time, such that the rate of change of speed of the vehicle may be determined. Accordingly it can be determined if the generator should be coupled to the axle or not, depending on the state the vehicle is in).
Bea does not teach the vehicle to be an electric vehicle.
Lowe teaches an electric vehicle with TRU (abstract, disclosing Refrigeration units for cooling the interior of a trailer or vehicle, related software, systems and methods for deploying and managing such units. The refrigeration unit comprises a refrigeration system configured to mount to the trailer or vehicle. [0012-0042], disclosing advantage of a hybrid powertrain to reduce emissions. And excess power on the electrical system may be exported to the tractor unit, e.g. where a hybrid unit, to reduce diesel emissions. Vehicle with hybrid powertrain is an electric vehicle).
Bea and Lowe are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., Vehicles with TRU. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Bea to use an electric vehicle as taught by Lowe to reduce emissions.
Method of claim 11 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 1, I similarly rejected.
For claim 2, modified Bea teaches: The power system according to claim 1, wherein controlling the axle generator comprises:
determining whether the monitored SOC is greater than a configurable threshold level ([0025-0026], disclosing monitor and/or determine a state-of-charge of the energy storage device. And decouple the generator from the axle when the state-of-charge exceeds a first threshold ); and
controlling the axle generator in the disengaged mode if the monitored SOC is determined to be greater than the configurable threshold level ([0025-0026], disclosing monitor and/or determine a state-of-charge of the energy storage device. And decouple the generator from the axle when the state-of-charge exceeds a first threshold).
Method of claim 12 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 2, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 3, modified Bea teaches: The power system according to claim 1, wherein in the disengaged mode, the power requirement of the electric vehicle and the E-TRU is supplied by the energy storage unit ([0108], disclosing generator 11 is not coupled to the axle 10, i.e. such that the generator 11 is not generating electricity, the TRU 3 is powered solely by the battery).
Method of claim 13 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 3, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 4, modified Bea teaches: The power system according to claim 1, wherein controlling the axle generator comprises:
determining whether the monitored SOC equals a configurable threshold level; and
controlling the axle generator in the engaged mode if the monitored SOC is determined to be equal to or lower than the configurable threshold level ([0019-0026], disclosing energy storage device may be selectively recharged by the generator. That is, the generator may recharge the energy storage device when a state-of-charge of the energy storage device is below a predetermined threshold).
Method of claim 14 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 4, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 5, modified Lowe teaches: The power system according to claim 1, wherein in the engaged mode, the power requirement of the electric vehicle and the E-TRU is supplied by the axle generator (abstract, disclosing a power management system for supplying power to the transport refrigeration unit. The power management system includes: a generator configured to be selectively coupled to an axle of the vehicle, wherein the generator is configured to generate electricity when coupled to the axle. Modification through Lowe teaches supplying power requirement of the electric vehicle by axle generator).
Method of claim 15 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 5, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 7, modified Bea teaches: The power system according to claim 1, wherein the charge management system comprises a battery management controller and an E-TRU controller in communication with each other and an electronic drive controller configured to control the axle generator ([0018], disclosing controller may be configured to determine a power demand of the transport refrigeration unit. The controller may also be configured to determine a power generation rate of the generator, i.e. a rate at which electricity is generated when the generator is coupled to the axle. [0025], disclosing controller may be configured to monitor and/or determine a state-of-charge of the energy storage device. Controller of Bea is interpreted to serve as battery management controller and E-TRU controller. [0093], disclosing power management system 2 supplies electrical power to the TRU 3 via the generator 11 and/or the battery 13, depending on the demand of the TRU. [0070], disclosing railer may comprise a first wireless module. The first wireless module may be in communication with the controller. The first wireless module may be part of the power management system. The first wireless module may be configured to both send and receive wireless transmissions)
If applicant deems communication between battery management controller and an E-TRU controller not explicitly taught Bea, as an alternative Lowe teaches: a battery management controller and an E-TRU controller in communication with each other (figure 3 and [0093], disclosing controller 70. [0105], disclosing controller 70 alters frequency of AC power to control compressor i.e., TRU. [0093] and figure 3, disclosing power management system in communication with controller 70. [0092], disclosing CAN communications)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Bea to a battery management controller and an E-TRU controller in communication with each other as taught by Lowe to effectively provide power to TRU.
Method of claim 17 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 7, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 8, modified Bea teaches: The power system according to claim 1, wherein the information retrieved from the sensing system comprises information associated with detection of at least one of an acceleration condition, a de-acceleration condition ([0010], disclosing monitoring if the speed of the vehicle is increasing, the power management system may selectively couple or decouple the generator from the axle. When the speed of the vehicle is substantially constant, i.e. the vehicle is not accelerating or decelerating), a coasting condition ([0010], disclosing monitoring if the speed of the vehicle is increasing, the power management system may selectively couple or decouple the generator from the axle. When the speed of the vehicle is substantially constant, i.e. the vehicle is not accelerating or decelerating. Decelerating is coasting condition), and a braking condition ([0033], disclosing determine if the vehicle is braking. The vehicle may be braking in the fourth state. The vehicle may be in a state when the vehicle is braking wherein the controller is configured to couple the generator to the axle), and an idling condition of the electric vehicle (abstract, disclosing a controller configured to monitor a speed of the vehicle and to selectively couple and decouple the generator from the axle. Speed encompasses idling condition).
Method of claim 18 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 8, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 10 modified Bea teaches: The power system according to claim 1, wherein the information associated with driver behavior is modified based on the information retrieved from the sensing system ([0062-0064], disclosing operational parameters include determining position of brake pedal and accelerator pedal. Position of these pedals driver behavior and change in position of either pedal leads to a different parameter).
Method of claim 20 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 10, hence is similarly rejected.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Bea in view of Lowe and Bennett (US 20230029389).
For claim 9, modified Bea teaches: The power system according to claim 1,
Bea does not teach: wherein the information associated with driver behavior is stored for different driver profiles in a memory unit.
Bennett teaches information associated with driver behavior is stored for different driver profiles in a memory unit (abstract, disclosing current vehicle range of the electric vehicle may be determined, and a range selection of the electric vehicle may be determined. Based on the current vehicle range and a charging range associated with the range selection, an intermediate charging range between the current vehicle range and the charging range associated with the range selection is determined. [0025], disclosing vehicle 101 may be an electric vehicle or a hybrid electric vehicle. Battery system 108 may comprise electric battery 110, which may include one or more battery modules. [0036], disclosing determining charging range based on user profile of driver. [0044], disclosing estimating time to reach a destination based on user profile of driver. As profile of one user is disclosed, profile of each user of vehicle is necessarily stored)
Bennett and Bea are analogous arts as they are in same field od endeavor i.e., vehicles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Bea to wherein the information associated with driver behavior is stored for different driver profiles in a memory unit as taught by Bennett to accurately estimate driving range of vehicle.
Claim 19 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 9, hence is similarly rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iglizn (US-20240042824) teaches of providing power to TRU through axle mounted generator. See [0229-0046].
Augenstein (US-20240059235) teaches of monitoring state of charge of a battery and required voltage to be provided to TRU and an axle generator. See [0014], [0038].
/ARSLAN AZHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3656