DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication filed on 6/9/2026. Claims 1-19 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informality:
For claim 4, the examiner suggests amending an instance of the word ‘offsett’ (line 5) as ‘offset’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhakal et al. (US 20250321890 A1) in view of Kwon et al. (Kwon, Woosuk, et al. "Efficient memory management for large language model serving with pagedattention." Proceedings of the 29th symposium on operating systems principles. 2023. (Year: 2023)) in view of Yoshida et al. (US 20200133879 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 20220300157 A1).
As per claim 1,
1. A transformer acceleration device for performing an attention calculation comprising: a memory device … [Dhakal teaches an SSD storing key and value vectors (KV cache) associated with tokens generated through accelerators associated with a transformer architecture and self-attention mechanism (para. 18-20, 24-25, 30, 35-38, 10-13; figs. 1-3 and associated paragraphs)] a memory striding circuit configured to access the first and second memory blocks in response to a first striding request provided from an external device, the memory striding circuit including a memory block address management circuit configured to store a first memory block base address for the first memory block, and store a second memory block base address for the second memory block; a target address generation circuit configured to calculate, [Dhakal teaches a network controller (NIC) (memory striding circuit and components therein) that may receive a KV-cache-transfer request from a compute node and access a storage location to obtain the KV cache from the SSD for transfer to a GPU (para. 29-30, 40), where the NIC can queue a data-transfer command to the SSD for the transfer and transfer, to the GPU, an initial portion of the KV cache corresponding to the first layers to allow start of inference operations (para. 45-46; fig. 4 and associated paragraphs)]
Dhakal does not explicitly disclose, but Kwon discloses:
… including a first memory block configured to store a first plurality of cache vectors for a first plurality of tokens, and a second memory block configured to store a second plurality of cache vectors for a second plurality of tokens; and; the first and second memory blocks [Kwon teaches storing key and value vectors for tokens to memory, wherein the key and value vectors are stored sequentially in a plurality of blocks as the associated tokens are generated, and where first vectors generated according to tokens for an initial prompt and first decoding step may be stored in multiple blocks (section 4.1, para. 1; section. 4.3, para. 1-3; figs. 5-6)]
Dhakal and Kwon are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal and Kwon, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal to include disclosures by Kwon since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Kwon is directed towards more flexible paged memory management in LLM (Kwon: section: 4.1). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (sequentially storing key and value vectors, including those of tokens of an initial prompt and first decoding step, across multiple memory blocks) to a known device (system for storing key and value vectors in an SSD which transfers an initial portion of the key and value vectors from the SSD according to a request) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (system for sequentially storing key and value vectors across multiple memory blocks in an SSD, and, responsive to a request, transferring initial portion of the key and value vectors from the corresponding memory blocks; doing so would provide for more flexible storage of and access to key and value vectors). MPEP 2143
Dhakal in view of Kwon does not explicitly disclose, but Yoshida discloses:
store a first memory block base address for the first memory block, and store a second memory block base address for the second memory block; in response to the first striding request, a first target address included in the first memory block based on the first memory block base address and a first subblock offset, and calculate, in response to the first striding request, a second target address included in the second memory block based on the second memory block base address and the first subblock offset; and [Dhakal in view of Kwon as shown above teaches a NIC receiving transfer requests and transmitting initial key and value vectors in memory blocks as shown above (Dhakal: para. 45-46); Dhakal in view of Kwon does not explicitly disclose, but Yoshida discloses a controller receiving, from a host, a read request corresponding to a plurality of blocks, the command comprising a plurality of block numbers, offsets, and lengths of data to be read (para. 187-188, 299-311; figs. 24-25 and associated paragraphs); Yoshida teaches determining the physical storage location to be read based on the read command (para. 187-188, 299-311; figs. 24-25 and associated paragraphs)] a command issue circuit configured to issue a first plurality of memory access commands for a first target subblock located in the first target address, and issue a second plurality of memory access commands for a second target subblock located in the second target address; [Yoshida teaches reading the data in units of pages (see para. 307 showing an entire page being read for extracting data smaller than the page when the read length is smaller than a page); while Yoshida does not explicitly provide for an example of a situation of a read length exceeding a page size for a read command, where Yoshida as shown above teaches read length of data to be read and performing reads in page units, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts that multiple reads corresponding to multiple pages may be performed in event of a read length exceeding a page size in order to provide for an efficient read process capable of processing read sizes exceeding a page]
Dhakal, Kwon, and Yoshida are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal in view of Kwon and Yoshida, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon to include disclosures by Yoshida since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Yoshida is directed towards improved interfacing between host and storage (para. 5). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (read command comprising memory block number, offset, and read length for a plurality of memory blocks) to a known device (transmitting vectors in memory blocks according to a transfer command) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (transmitting vectors in memory blocks according to a command indicating the blocks, offsets, and length of data to be read in order to provide for improved host control over data to be read from storage). MPEP 2143
Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida does not explicitly disclose, but Park discloses:
the first subblock offset; wherein the first subblock offset indicates a relative location of the first target subblock in the first memory block and the relative location of the second target subblock in the second memory block. [Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida as shown above teaches reading a plurality of blocks according to a read command comprising respective offsets and lengths; it does not explicitly recite the same offset being used for the relative location of the first target subblock and the relative location of the second target subblock in the first/second memory blocks, but Park teaches a partial block comprising a plurality of pages within a memory block, where a memory block may comprise a plurality of partial blocks, and partial blocks across a plurality of respective memory blocks may form a partial superblock (para. 49-54, 119-127, 153-157, 170-175; see figs. 1, 7A-B and associated paragraphs), where partial blocks in a partial superblock may be accessed in parallel (para. 49, 153, 156-157), and a partial superblock may include partial blocks having the same relative pages across multiple blocks (see para. 119 on first and second partial blocks respectively corresponding to pages 1-4 and 5-8 of a block; see para. 170-171 on third partial superblock programming including programming first partial blocks of two blocks; see fig. 7A showing partial superblocks 3~6 including at least two partial blocks having the same relative locations within their blocks)]
Dhakal, Kwon, Yoshida, and Park are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida and Park, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida to include disclosures by Park since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Park is directed towards improved storage device and operation thereof (para. 2). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (accessing partial blocks across multiple blocks in parallel, the partial blocks including partial blocks having pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks) to a known device (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data length for reading/transferring data) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data lengths for reading/transferring data, wherein the command may indicate same offsets and lengths for multiple blocks for accessing pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks in order to provide for parallel memory access involving improved power consumption (para. 175)). MPEP 2143
As per claim 2, Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park teaches claim 1 as shown above and further teaches:
2. The transformer acceleration device of claim 1, wherein: a size of each of the first and second target subblocks is a first reading size. [Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park as shown above teaches read command comprising a length of data to be read for the blocks (see claim 1 above; Yoshida: para. 187-188, 299-311; Park: para. 49-54, 119-127, 153-157, 170-175)]
Dhakal, Kwon, Yoshida, and Park are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida and Park, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida to include disclosures by Park since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Park is directed towards improved storage device and operation thereof (para. 2). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (accessing partial blocks across multiple blocks in parallel, the partial blocks including partial blocks having pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks) to a known device (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data length for reading/transferring data) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data lengths for reading/transferring data, wherein the command may indicate same offsets and lengths for multiple blocks for accessing pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks in order to provide for parallel memory access involving improved power consumption (para. 175)). MPEP 2143
As per claim 3, Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park teaches claim 2 as shown above and further teaches:
3. The transformer acceleration device of claim 2, wherein: the first striding request comprises the first memory block base address, the second memory block base address, the first subblock offset, and the first reading size. [Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida as shown above teaches read request a plurality of block numbers as well as offset and length of data to be read (see claim 1-2 above; Yoshida: para. 187-188, 299-311; Park: para. 49-54, 119-127, 153-157, 170-175)]
Dhakal, Kwon, Yoshida, and Park are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida and Park, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida to include disclosures by Park since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Park is directed towards improved storage device and operation thereof (para. 2). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (accessing partial blocks across multiple blocks in parallel, the partial blocks including partial blocks having pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks) to a known device (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data length for reading/transferring data) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data lengths for reading/transferring data, wherein the command may indicate same offsets and lengths for multiple blocks for accessing pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks in order to provide for parallel memory access involving improved power consumption (para. 175)). MPEP 2143
As per claim 4, Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park teaches claim 2 as shown above and further teaches:
4. The transformer acceleration device of claim 2, wherein: the target address generation circuit is configured to, in response to the first striding request, calculate a third target address included in the first memory block based on the first memory block base address and a second subblock offset; and calculate a fourth target address included in the second memory block based on the second memory block base address and the second subblock offset, and the command issue circuit is further configured to, issue a third plurality of memory access commands for a third target subblock located in the third target address, and issue a fourth plurality of memory access commands for a fourth target subblock located in the fourth target address. [Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park as shown above teaches the command directed towards the respective partial blocks of the memory blocks being accessed in parallel, where a memory block may comprise a plurality of partial blocks (see claims 1-2 above; Yoshida: para. 187-188, 299-311; Park: 49-54, 119-127, 153-157, 170-175; see fig. 7A showing partial superblocks 3 and 4 may respectively include first partial blocks and second partial blocks of different memory blocks), where Park also provides that the partial superblocks comprising partial blocks across the blocks may be accessed in order (para. 122), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts, provided with the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park directed towards the command comprising memory block numbers and respective offsets for reading partial blocks in parallel across the memory blocks and additional disclosures by Park directed towards also reading additional sets of parallel partial blocks in order, to provide for a combination where a command may further comprise at least second offsets for also subsequently reading a second set of partial blocks across said memory blocks in order to provide for improved throughput.]
Dhakal, Kwon, Yoshida, and Park are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida and Park, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida to include disclosures by Park since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Park is directed towards improved storage device and operation thereof (para. 2). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (accessing partial blocks across multiple blocks in parallel, the partial blocks including partial blocks having pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks) to a known device (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data length for reading/transferring data) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data lengths for reading/transferring data, wherein the command may indicate same offsets and lengths for multiple blocks for accessing pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks in order to provide for parallel memory access involving improved power consumption (para. 175)). MPEP 2143
As per claim 9, Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park teaches claim 1 as shown above and further teaches:
The transformer acceleration device of claim 1, wherein the memory device is configured to store cache vectors included in the first target subblock among the plurality of first cache vectors in addresses adjacent to each other, and store cache vectors included in the second target subblock among the plurality of second cache vectors in addresses adjacent to each other. [Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park teaches key and value vectors stored sequentially according to their tokens (Kwon: section 4.1, para. 1; section. 4.3, para. 1-3; figs. 5-6) and access according to the command comprising a contiguous area within the blocks (Yoshida: para. 187-188, 299-311; para. 49-54, 119-127, 153-157, 170-175)]
Dhakal and Kwon are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal and Kwon, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal to include disclosures by Kwon since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Kwon is directed towards more flexible paged memory management in LLM (Kwon: section: 4.1). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (sequentially storing key and value vectors, including those of tokens of an initial prompt, across multiple memory blocks) to a known device (system for storing key and value vectors in an SSD which transfers an initial portion of the key and value vectors from the SSD according to a request) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (system for sequentially storing key and value vectors across multiple memory blocks in an SSD, and, responsive to a request, transferring initial portion of the key and value vectors from the corresponding memory blocks; doing so would provide for more flexible storage of and access to key and value vectors). MPEP 2143
Dhakal, Kwon, and Yoshida are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal in view of Kwon and Yoshida, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon to include disclosures by Yoshida since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Yoshida is directed towards improved interfacing between host and storage (para. 5). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (read command comprising memory block number, offset, and read length for a plurality of memory blocks) to a known device (transmitting vectors in memory blocks according to a transfer command) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (transmitting vectors in memory blocks according to a command indicating the blocks, offsets, and length of data to be read in order to provide for improved host control over data to be read from storage). MPEP 2143
Dhakal, Kwon, Yoshida, and Park are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida and Park, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida to include disclosures by Park since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Park is directed towards improved storage device and operation thereof (para. 2). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (accessing partial blocks across multiple blocks in parallel, the partial blocks including partial blocks having pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks) to a known device (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data length for reading/transferring data) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data lengths for reading/transferring data, wherein the command may indicate same offsets and lengths for multiple blocks for accessing pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks in order to provide for parallel memory access involving improved power consumption (para. 175)). MPEP 2143
As per claim 10, Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park teaches claim 1 as shown above and further teaches:
The transformer acceleration device of claim 1, wherein: the first plurality of tokens and the second plurality of tokens are included in a first token sequence, and the first plurality of tokens and the second plurality of tokens are continuous in the first token sequence. [Kwon teaches sequentially storing vectors for tokens into the blocks as they are generated and provides an example of two blocks comprising initially generated tokens sequentially followed by a token generated in the next step (see claim 1 above; section. 4.3, para. 1-3; figs. 6; see fig. 6 on blocks 1 and 7 comprising key and value vectors for an initial set of tokens and a subsequent token generated in the following step based on physical blocks 1 and 7)]
Dhakal and Kwon are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal and Kwon, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal to include disclosures by Kwon since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Kwon is directed towards more flexible paged memory management in LLM (Kwon: section: 4.1). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (sequentially storing key and value vectors, including those of tokens of an initial prompt, across multiple memory blocks) to a known device (system for storing key and value vectors in an SSD which transfers an initial portion of the key and value vectors from the SSD according to a request) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (system for sequentially storing key and value vectors across multiple memory blocks in an SSD, and, responsive to a request, transferring initial portion of the key and value vectors from the corresponding memory blocks; doing so would provide for more flexible storage of and access to key and value vectors). MPEP 2143
As per claim 11, Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park teaches claim 10 as shown above and further teaches:
11. The transformer acceleration device of claim 10, further comprising: a calculation circuit configured to perform the attention calculation based on cache vectors included in the first target subblock among the first plurality of cache vectors and cache vectors included in the second target subblock among the second plurality of cache vectors. [Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park as shown above teaches that the data from the SSD are being retrieved to start inference on a query by the GPU (Dhakal: para. 24-25, 30, 45-46)]
As per claim 12, Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park teaches claim 1 as shown above and further teaches:
12. The transformer acceleration device of claim 1, wherein: the first plurality of memory access commands include a first plurality of active commands and a first plurality of read commands, and the second plurality of memory access commands include a second plurality of active commands and a second plurality of read commands. [Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park as shown above teaches issuing a plurality of read commands corresponding to each page being read according to read data length (see claim 1 above; Yoshida: para. 307, para. 187-188, 299-311), wherein a read command may necessarily comprise an active command at least by the virtues of comprising an action.]
Dhakal, Kwon, and Yoshida are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal in view of Kwon and Yoshida, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon to include disclosures by Yoshida since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Yoshida is directed towards improved interfacing between host and storage (para. 5). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (read command comprising memory block number, offset, and read length for a plurality of memory blocks) to a known device (transmitting vectors in memory blocks according to a transfer command) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (transmitting vectors in memory blocks according to a command indicating the blocks, offsets, and length of data to be read in order to provide for improved host control over data to be read from storage). MPEP 2143
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhakal et al. (US 20250321890 A1) in view of Kwon et al. (Kwon, Woosuk, et al. "Efficient memory management for large language model serving with pagedattention." Proceedings of the 29th symposium on operating systems principles. 2023. (Year: 2023)) in view of Yoshida et al. (US 20200133879 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 20220300157 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 11550736 B1).
As per claim 5, Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park teaches claim 4 as shown above. It does not explicitly disclose, but Xu discloses:
5. The transformer acceleration device of claim 4, wherein the first striding request includes the first memory block base address, the second memory block base address, a head address interval, a layer address interval, and the first reading size. [Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park as shown above teaches a command comprising block numbers, offset, and read data length (Yoshida: para. 187-188, 299-311); it does not explicitly disclose, but Xu discloses performing memory access according to a data transfer size, address, and stride, where the stride may be a multi-dimensional stride comprising a memory row offset and a memory column offset used for performing successive memory access (col. 8, lines 26-42; col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line 16; col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 5; figs. 4-6 and associated paragraphs); it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts, provided with the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park, directed towards a command comprising parameters including block number, offset, and read data length, and disclosures Xu, directed towards performing successive accesses according to address, data transfer size, and a multi-dimensional stride, to provide for a combination where the command may also comprise the multi-dimensional stride to provide support for performing successive memory operations]
Dhakal, Kwon, Yoshida, Park, and Xu are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park and Xu, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park to include disclosures by Xu since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Xu is directed towards improved memory access efficiency (col. 1, lines 41-57). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (performing successive memory access using an address, read data size, and a multi-dimensional stride) to a known device (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data length for reading/transferring data) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data length for reading/transferring data, where the command may further comprise a multi-dimensional stride usable for performing successive memory accesses; doing so would provide for greater variety of options in targeting desired storage locations). MPEP 2143
As per claim 8, Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park in view of Xu teaches claim 5 as shown above and further teaches:
8. The transformer acceleration device of claim 5, wherein the command issue circuit is configured to: read the first and second plurality of memory access commands during a first time period; and read the third and fourth plurality of memory access commands during a second time period after the first time period. [Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida in view of Park as shown above teaches the command having block numbers and offsets corresponding to respective partial blocks of the blocks, where the partial blocks may be accessed together as partial super blocks and accessed in order based on their partial super block grouping (see claims 4-5 above; Park: para. 49-54, 119-127, 153-157, 170-175)]
Dhakal, Kwon, Yoshida, and Park are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor involving data storage.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having knowledge of Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida and Park, to modify the disclosures by Dhakal in view of Kwon in view of Yoshida to include disclosures by Park since they both teach data storage and memory access, wherein Park is directed towards improved storage device and operation thereof (para. 2). Therefore, it would be applying a known technique (accessing partial blocks across multiple blocks in parallel, the partial blocks including partial blocks having pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks) to a known device (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data length for reading/transferring data) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (a command indicating respective blocks, offsets, and read data lengths for reading/transferring data, wherein the command may indicate same offsets and lengths for multiple blocks for accessing pages on the same relative locations within their respective blocks in order to provide for parallel memory access involving improved power consumption (para. 175)). MPEP 2143
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-19 are allowed.
Claims 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 6, “… wherein the target address generation circuit is further configured to calculate the first and second subblock offsets based on the head address interval and the layer address interval.” in conjunction with the other limitations of the claim and the limitations of the base claim and the intervening claims, are not disclosed by the prior art of record.
The closest prior art of record are Dhakal et al. (US 20250321890 A1), Kwon et al. (Kwon, Woosuk, et al. "Efficient memory management for large language model serving with pagedattention." Proceedings of the 29th symposium on operating systems principles. 2023. (Year: 2023)), Yoshida et al. (US 20200133879 A1), Park et al. (US 20220300157 A1), Xu et al. (US 11550736 B1), Seo et al. (US 20110087821 A1), Minato et al. (US 20210294529 A1), and Schuster et al. (US 20180121134 A1).
Dhakal teaches performing fetch and prefetch for KV cache. Kwon teaches storing key and value vectors through multiple blocks. Yoshida teaches host read command comprising read data size, block number, and offset. Park teaches accessing multiple partial blocks of blocks as partial super blocks. Xu teaches use of strides for successive memory accesses in a DRAM storing tensors. Seo teaches a stride register having stride values for successive row and column directions. Mintao teaches command comprising page and column addresses. Schuster teaches reading pages of multiple blocks in parallel according to an offset.
However, the prior arts of record, neither individually nor in combination, teaches, in association with a striding command comprising a first memory block base address, a second memory block base addresses, a head address interval, a layer address interval, and a first reading size, a striding circuit receiving the command calculating a first subblock offset and a second subblock offset based on the head address interval and the layer address interval, wherein the first subblock offset corresponds to the relative location of both a first and a second subblock respectively located within a first memory block having the first memory block base address and a second memory block the second memory block base addresses, wherein the second subblock offset corresponds to the relative location of both a third and a fourth subblock also respectively located within the first memory block and the second memory block, wherein the striding circuit is configured to calculate the addresses of the respective subblocks based on the memory block base addresses for the first and second memory blocks as well as the first and second subblock offsets and issue a respective plurality of memory access commands for each of the respective subblocks.
Therefore, the prior arts of record, neither individually nor in combination disclose, in conjunction with the other limitations of the claim and the limitations of the base claim and the intervening claims, the claim as a whole.
Claim 7 is objected to for being dependent on an objected claim but would be allowable if claim 6 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 13, “…execute a plurality of decoder layers including multi head attention calculations respectively performed based on a plurality of heads, the transformer acceleration device comprising: a first memory block including a first subblock configured to store a first plurality of cache vectors generated for a first plurality of tokens based on a first head and a first decoder layer, the first head being one of the plurality of heads and the first decoder layer being one of the plurality of decoder layers; a second memory block including a second subblock configured to store a second plurality of cache vectors generated for a second plurality of tokens based on the first head and the first decoder layer; a memory striding circuit configured to read the first plurality of cache vectors and the second plurality of cache vectors based on sequentially accessing the first subblock and the second subblock in response to a first striding request provided from an external device; and a calculation circuit configured to perform a first attention calculation for the first head and the first decoder layer based on the first plurality of cache vectors and the second plurality of cache vectors.” in conjunction with the other limitations of the claim, are not disclosed by the prior art of record.
The closest prior art of record are Dhakal et al. (US 20250321890 A1), Kwon et al. (Kwon, Woosuk, et al. "Efficient memory management for large language model serving with pagedattention." Proceedings of the 29th symposium on operating systems principles. 2023. (Year: 2023)), Xu et al. (US 11550736 B1), Foo et al. (US 20250147905 A1), Yu et al. (US 11442775 B1), Hirisave Chandra Shekhara et al. (US 20240176663 A1), Proctor et al. (US 20240354320 A1), and Yeh (US 20250103683 A1).
Dhakal teaches performing fetch and prefetch for KV cache. Kwon teaches storing key and value vectors through multiple blocks. Xu teaches use of strides for successive memory accesses in a DRAM storing tensors. Foo teaches a ring buffer configured to reconfigure storage location of its cached vectors as vectors are added. Yu teaches a plurality of memory banks arranged to store respective key and value vectors. Hirisave Chandra Shekhara teaches a tensor memory access unit for generating queries, keys, and values. Proctor teaches multi-head self-attention mechanism comprising a plurality of heads comprising a set of learnable parameters. Yeh teaches multi-head attention involving normalization for non-parametric layers for ensuring matrix addition and multiplication remain within a specific range.
However, the prior arts of record, neither individually nor in combination, teaches, in association with a transformer acceleration device executing a plurality of decoder layers based on a plurality of heads, a first subblock of a first memory block and a second subblock of a second memory block respectively storing a first plurality of cache vectors and a second plurality of cache vectors, wherein the first plurality of cache vectors are generated for a first plurality of tokens and the second plurality of cache vectors are generated for a second plurality of tokens, where the first and the second plurality of cache vectors are both generated based on a first head and a first decoder layer among the plurality of heads and the plurality of decoder layers, wherein a memory striding circuit is configured to read the first and second plurality of cache vectors responsive to a striding request, and a calculation circuit is configured to perform a first attention calculation for the first head and the first decoder layer based on the first and second plurality of cache vectors.
Therefore, the prior arts of record, neither individually nor in combination disclose, in conjunction with the other limitations of the claim, the claim as a whole.
Claims 14-18 are allowed at least by the virtues of their dependency from claim 13.
With respect to claim 19, “… a memory device including a plurality of memory blocks including a plurality of subblocks; a memory striding circuit configured to sequentially access the plurality of subblocks in response to a first striding request provided from an external device; and a calculation circuit configured to perform a first attention calculation based on a first plurality of subblocks accessed by the memory striding circuit during a first time period, and perform a second attention calculation based on a second plurality of subblocks accessed by the memory striding circuit during a second time period after the first time period, the plurality of subblocks include the first plurality of subblocks and the second plurality of subblocks; wherein: each of the plurality of memory blocks include one of the first plurality of subblocks, and each of the plurality of memory blocks include one of the second plurality of subblocks.” in conjunction with the other limitations of the claim and the limitations of the base claim, are not disclosed by the prior art of record.
The closest prior art of record are Dhakal et al. (US 20250321890 A1), Kwon et al. (Kwon, Woosuk, et al. "Efficient memory management for large language model serving with pagedattention." Proceedings of the 29th symposium on operating systems principles. 2023. (Year: 2023)), Xu et al. (US 11550736 B1), Foo et al. (US 20250147905 A1), Yu et al. (US 11442775 B1), Hirisave Chandra Shekhara et al. (US 20240176663 A1), Proctor et al. (US 20240354320 A1), and Yeh (US 20250103683 A1).
Dhakal teaches performing fetch and prefetch for KV cache. Kwon teaches storing key and value vectors through multiple blocks. Xu teaches use of strides for successive memory accesses in a DRAM storing tensors. Foo teaches a ring buffer configured to reconfigure storage location of its cached vectors as vectors are added. Yu teaches a plurality of memory banks arranged to store respective key and value vectors. Hirisave Chandra Shekhara teaches a tensor memory access unit for generating queries, keys, and values. Proctor teaches multi-head self-attention mechanism comprising a plurality of heads comprising a set of learnable parameters. Yeh teaches multi-head attention involving normalization for non-parametric layers for ensuring matrix addition and multiplication remain within a specific range.
However, the prior arts of record, neither individually nor in combination, teaches, in association with a calculation circuit configured to perform a first attention calculation based on a first plurality of subblocks accessed by a memory striding circuit during a first time period and a second attention calculation based on a second plurality of subblocks accessed by the memory striding circuit during a second time period after the first time period, the memory striding circuit being configured to access a plurality of memory blocks comprising the first and second plurality of subblocks responsive to a striding request from an external device, wherein each of the plurality of memory blocks as accessed include one of the first plurality of subblocks used during the first attention calculation and each of the plurality of memory blocks also includes one of the second plurality of subblocks used during the second attention calculation.
Therefore, the prior arts of record, neither individually nor in combination disclose, in conjunction with the other limitations of the claim and the limitations of the base claim, the claim as a whole.
Response to Arguments
The claim objection pertaining to claim 13 has been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claims 13-19 are allowed in view of the amendments by the applicant.
With respect to claim 1, the applicant’s remarks provide that the prior arts of record do not teach the newly added feature to claim 1 concerning the first subblock offset indicating relative location of the first target subblock in the first memory block and the relative location of the second target subblock in the second memory block. The examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the combination of Dhakal, Kwon, Yoshida, and Park, as cited above, teaches the amended feature. For instance, Yoshida provides for a read command addressing multiple blocks with respective offsets and length (Yoshida: para. 187-188, 299-311; figs. 24-25 and associated paragraphs) and Park provides for accessing a plurality memory blocks in parallel, where the pages of each memory block may respectively be grouped, in order, into at least a first and a second partial block (relative locations), and said parallel access of the plurality of memory blocks may involve, for example, accessing the first partial blocks of at least some of the memory blocks among of the plurality of memory blocks in parallel. (same relative locations across the at least some of the memory blocks) (please see rejection 1 above; Park: 119, 170-175; 7A and associated paragraphs).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.Y.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2135
/JARED I RUTZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2135