DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 19 December 2024 and 21 April 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 22 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mundra et al., USPN 2020/0127984.
With regard to claims 1, 9, and 21, Mundra discloses a method including generating one or more stream ciphers for encrypting one or more data units (0044, 0086, 0096), encrypting a data unit of the one or more data units using a stream cipher of the one or more stream ciphers to generate an encrypted data unit (0096, 0101), generating a new media access control (MAC) address to add to the data unit based on the one or more stream ciphers (0085, 0114, Table 16), and wirelessly transmitting the encrypted data unit with the new MAC address (0063, 0077, 0115).
With regard to claims 2, 10, and 22, Mundra discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses using a portion of the stream cipher as the new MAC address (“Master Key or Pre-computed inner digest for HMAC Hash“ table 16).
With regard to claims 3, 11, and 23, Mundra discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses generating the new MAC address includes performing an exclusive-or operation with a portion of the stream cipher and a previous MAC address of a transmitter device associated with the data unit to generate the new MAC address (“Master Key or Pre-computed inner digest for HMAC Hash“ table 16).
With regard to claims 4, 12, and 24, Mundra discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses generating the new MAC address includes performing an exclusive-or operation with a portion of one of the stream cipher and a predetermined tag to generate the new MAC address (“Master Key or Pre-computed inner digest for HMAC Hash“ table 16).
With regard to claims 5, 13, and 25, Mundra discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses generating the new MAC address includes adding a padding to the data unit, encrypting the padding using the stream cipher of the one or more stream ciphers to generate an encrypted padding for the data unit, storing the encrypted padding for the data unit in a data store; performing a lookup in the data store to identify a previous encrypted padding associated with a previous data unit, and using the previous encrypted padding for the previous data unit as the new MAC address for the data unit (0167, Table 16).
With regard to claim 6, Mundra discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses receiving, at a receiver device, the encrypted data unit with the previous encrypted padding associated with the previous data unit as the new MAC address; performing a lookup in a second data store using the previous encrypted padding associated with the previous data unit to identify a device that transmitted the data unit and a key used to generate the stream cipher; and decrypting the data unit using the key (0094, 0115, 0159, 0188, Table 16).
With regard to claims 7, 14, and 26, Mundra discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the data unit is a MAC protocol data unit (0085, 0093) and wirelessly transmitting comprises wirelessly transmitting the encrypted data unit with the new MAC address according to an IEEE 802.11 wireless networking protocol (0273, Table 1, 0022).
With regard to claim 8, Mundra discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the method is performed by a client device or an access point (0032-0034, 0092).
References Cited
Jung et al., USPN 2016/0029215, discloses pairing encryption keys to MAC addresses (0086-0089), but not that the addresses are generated using the key.
Le Guillou et al., USPN 2024/0305630 discloses using a key to generate a MAC address (0119, 0113).
Vegas et al., USPN 2023/0262464, discloses MAC address rotation (0017) by using keys in generating addresses (0094).
Ansley, USPN 2024/0291797, discloses MAC address rotation (0017) by using keys in generating addresses (0017, claim 3).
Conclusion
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434