DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0288858 A1 to Fee.
With respect to claim 1 Fee discloses, in Fig. 1-63, a shoulder adapter system (10) that makes a camera for broadcasting and filming attachable to and detachable from a tripod attachment for broadcasting (paragraph 62 and 107; where the camera is not part of the claim and the shoulder adapter system must merely be capable of attaching such a camera, one of ordinary skill would recognize it can), comprising: a shoulder adapter main body (42); and a front attachment adapter (530), wherein the shoulder adapter system is configured to allow the camera to be attached to at least one of the front attachment adapter and the shoulder adapter main body to make the camera placeable on a shoulder and attachable to and detachable from a tripod (paragraph 99).
With respect to claim 4 Fee discloses, in Fig. 1-63, the shoulder adapter system of Claim 1, wherein the front attachment adapter (530) includes a lens support rod attachment portion (542, 546) to which a lens support rod (22, 26) is attachable (paragraph 77).
With respect to claim 5 Fee discloses, in Fig. 1-63, the shoulder adapter system of Claim 1, wherein the shoulder adapter system is configured to allow the camera to be attached to both of the front attachment adapter and the shoulder adapter main body (Fig. 54; where the legs of the shoulder mount could be the accessory attachment and as seen in the figure formed to attach the camera mount also).
With respect to claim 6 Fee discloses, in Fig. 1-63, the shoulder adapter system of Claim 1, wherein the shoulder adapter system is configured to allow the camera to be attached to the front attachment adapter (Fig. 54; where the legs of the shoulder mount could be the accessory attachment and as seen in the figure formed to attach the camera mount also).
With respect to claim 7 Fee discloses, in Fig. 1-63, the shoulder adapter system of Claim 1, wherein the shoulder adapter system is configured to allow the camera to be attached to the shoulder adapter main body (paragraph 68-69).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0288858 A1 to Fee.
With respect to claim 2 Fee discloses, in Fig. 1-63, the shoulder adapter system of Claim 1 (see above), further comprising: an optical transmission device attachment adapter (534), wherein the optical transmission device attachment adapter is attached to the shoulder adapter main body in such a way to extend rearward of the shoulder adapter main body (paragraph 77 and 91; where the back mount could be for accessory attachment).
Fee additionally discloses the optical transmission device attachment adapter is attached to accessories such as “battery plates, video recorders, or other related components” (paragraph 91) but does not expressly disclose the accessory is an optical transmission device accompanying the camera.
However, Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03) is taken that both the concepts and advantages of a shoulder used video camera comprising an accessory that is an optical transmission device are well known and expected in the art. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have included an optical transmission device as the accessory of Fee at it would merely be a combining of prior art elements according to the known methods (i.e. attachment to a cheese plate of Fee) to yield predictable results.
With respect to claim 3 Fee further discloses wherein the optical transmission device attachment adapter includes an air hole (paragraph 91; where it is a cheese plate with multiple air holes).
Claim 8 is rejected for similar reasons as already addressed above with respect to claims 1, 2 and 4.
Claim 9 is rejected for similar reason as claim 3 above.
Conclusion
/DANIEL M PASIEWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699
June 3, 2026