DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-11, 13-15, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 Line 4 could read, “…cups are arranged near a center of the base.”
Claim 13 Line 4 could read, “…a vertical direction between a top side ….”
Claim 20 Line 3 could read, “…are arranged near a center of the base ….”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "such as" [Line 3] renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vaughn (10,010,203).
Re Claim 1, Vaughn – a beverage coaster – discloses a system [Fig. 1], comprising: a cup holding unit including a body [101] defining a cavity, a cup holder positioned on the body, wherein the cup holder is configured to receive a cup [100], a basket [104] positioned in the cavity on the body, wherein the basket is removable [by pegs 106] from the cavity on the body, wherein the basket extends around the cup holder, and wherein the basket is configured to catch liquid that spills when pouring into the cup [through sponge 102, Col. 2 Lines 59-63].
Re Claim 2, Vaughn discloses the basket defines multiple perforations [103]; and the perforations allow liquid to drain from the basket into the cavity on the body [Col. 2 Lines 59-63].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Easley (533,584).
Vaughn does not expressly disclose that the body includes multiple pegs extending into the cavity; and the pegs are configured to disrupt the flow of liquid such as to inhibit the liquid from splashing. However, Easley – a lemon squeezer – discloses multiple pegs [Easley, C] extending into the cavity; and the pegs are configured to disrupt the flow of liquid such as to inhibit the liquid from splashing [Easley, Page 1 Col. 1 Line 51 to Col. 2 Line 59]. The examiner notes the pegs allow for the pulp to stay on the top of the squeezer, while the pegs allow for the flow of the liquid into the catcher. The Applicant believes the claimed invention has an improvement over the prior art, when the prior art discloses the pegs are able to allow for smooth flow of liquid to prevent splashing. See MPEP 2143 (I)(C). One of ordinary skill would be able to modify the body of the Vaughn beverage coaster to have pegs to allow for the flow of liquid into the catcher, before the effective filing date of the invention with predictable and obvious results, to allow the liquid to flow into the catcher without spilling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re Claim 4, the prior art discloses most of the claimed invention. However, the prior art does not expressly disclose a suction cup positioned under the body; and wherein the suction cup is configured to secure the body in place against a surface during pouring.
Re Claim 9, the prior art discloses most of the claimed invention. However, the prior art does not expressly disclose that the base is mounted to multiple suction cups; one or more of the suction cups are arranged along a perimeter of the base; and one or more of the suction cups are arranged near the center of the base.
Claims 12-20 appear to have allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Re Claim 12, the prior art discloses most of the claimed invention. However, the prior art does not expressly disclose that the spout is rotatable from the body, wherein the spout allows liquid to flow when rotated away from the body, and wherein the spout prevents liquid from flowing when rotated into the body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
/ROBERT J HICKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736